Micro Mechanic Reviews

Micro Mechanic

Overall Rating

1.7

39 Customer Reviews

Summary

Micro Mechanic is an OBD-II device that attaches underneath your dashboard and allows you to identify, diagnose, and clear check engine lights.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.7 Stars out of 39 Reviews
5 Star:12% 4 Star:2% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:10% 1 Star:74%
18% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Micro Mechanic:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Oct 31, 2018

Great device to reset codes

By Bryan O., Greencastle, PA, Verified Reviewer

My 2010 GMC Acadia kept throwing a check engine light due to cylinder 4 misfire. Thus not allowing my remote start to function. I didn't know this was an issue until I bought this device, since it ran fine on the other 5. This device allowed me to know what was wrong with my car, fix the problem, clear the cold and use my remote and start again, since winters are cold in Pennsylvania.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 15, 2019

Works as it should

By Lance A., Kentucky, Verified Reviewer

I have not had any problems with the Micro Mechanic on my 2010 Equinox. My check engine light was on and told me my oxygen sensor was bad, replaced it and reset check engine light no problems at all for me.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 7, 2019

Works great with careful study of directions

By Mike P., Cartersville, GA, Verified Reviewer

I had read all the bad reviews. I followed the advice of several reviewers and downloaded the ELM OBD2 app instead of the Micro Mechanic app. I must admit the startup and use of the features runs a little counterintuitive. Especially if you are familiar with using a traditional corded type scanner. After several uses on several different vehicles, I must say I am impressed. Most importantly, one of the vehicles has a known bad PCM/ ECU. This has been verified by a dealership after my previous private label scanner suddenly began failing to communicate with the cars OBD2. I suspected the failure to communicate with my $200.00 scanner might have been because of a failing OBD system.

Without telling the dealership what my theory was, they got the code for bad PCM by using their multi-thousand dollar scan tool. Well, guess what? I wasn't expecting much of a result but WOW! The Micro Mechanic was able to communicate with the failing OBD2 system and gave the exact same code as the dealer. I find it far superior to my previous scan tool. Again - I must admit there is a learning curve to learning how to use it.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 20, 2020

Love it!

By Josh P., Flatwoods, KY, Verified Reviewer

Works just as advertised with my Android phone. If you know how to use the play store to get any other app, then you can use this device. Pairs very easy, but you have to plug it in after the vehicle is started! It will not pair if you plug it in then start your vehicle! I haven't checked out the "pro code" version yet, but am about to. But the regular out of the box version works great!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Jul 16, 2020

Love it

By Brenda D., Federal Way, WA, Verified Reviewer

I purchased it two years ago. I have put it in over six automobiles and it has verified if the check engine light was on what the problem was, and if the check engine light is not on, it says no problem. And I was able to download the app on my phone and it works perfectly well, no problems. Recommended it to many people.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It works fine

It was cheap

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Aug 14, 2019

Good for the price.

By Van A., Arkansas, Verified Reviewer

Micro Mechanic is easy to use with any smartphone. It uses Bluetooth to connect. There are free apps that work better than the one they sell. Sometimes codes are misleading with OBD-II so research the code on the internet before you just start throwing money at your car. In my experience I have found a high percentage of codes are caused by cracked vacuum hoses. I highly recomend a device like this.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 29, 2018

Sometimes

By Kool J., Louisiana, Verified Reviewer

I plugged it in my friend's 2006 BMW and it works and gave problem codes, but my check engine light came on on my 2008 Chevy Silverado, and it said no code found and safe to drive. I brought to AutoZone and it says bank 1 O2 sensor.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 16, 2019

Connection issue

By Raymond G., Iuka, MS, Verified Reviewer

It works well enough, when it does finally connect to my wife’s car tells me the code and lets me clear it, but it will not connect to my truck under any circumstance, and I know it is supposed to work on vehicles 96 or newer. So I am disappointed in it in that aspect, so now it looks like my wife has her own personal scanner since it only connects to her car.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 10, 2019

Doesn't work with Nissan El Grand 2003

By David R., Sydney, Australia, Verified Reviewer

Hi,

Tried with many apps but the best I got out of it once was, "NO Problems Safe to Drive". There is a problem, that's why I wanted it!

It was quite hard to attach to Bluetooth but when it did pair it just could not get the data.

I put it in a 2016 Hyundai i30 and it did work and gave me figures.

How can I get the same result on the Nissan?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 8, 2020

Get a different app

By Mike G., Waterford, MI, Verified Reviewer

For this thing to work you can't use the Micro Mechanic app, I know that sounds stupid but it's true, you have to download a different app. I downloaded one called "Car Scanner," it's a way better app. If you do get this app it will work but it is still limited in function. Hey, what did anyone expect for such little money, hey, it's a toy, go spend 100 bucks and get a real one.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 12, 2018

Doesn't work

By Geoffrey C., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

Hi. My check engine light has been on for a month now, so instead of taking it to a mechanic, I bought Micro Mechanic. I plugged it into my car and followed the instructions. When it scanned my car, it said "no problems found, safe to drive," so I thought how can this be, my check engine light is on. So I decided to test the Micro Mechanic. I took off my gas cap and scanned my car again and it said "no problems found, safe to drive." Now, how can that be?

So I thought maybe it's because my car is a 2000 and it's too old, so I decided to try it on my roommate's car, which is a 2016. So I loosened the gas cap, plugged in the Micro Mechanic and scanned his car. It also said "no problems found, safe to drive." So I took the gas cap completely off and rescanned it and again it said "no problems found."

So I came to the conclusion that the Micro Mechanic is a bunch of bull. It is nothing but a scam, so don't waste your money on this crap product. I will be reporting them to the BBB.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 43 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 16, 2018

Save your money! Worthless.

By Andrew I., Indiana, Verified Reviewer

I also bought because of an engine light, and also there is a recall on the wife’s 2013 Ford Escape and I wanted some info before taking it to the dealer.

After downloading the app on an iPhone (states that it works with iPhones), it scanned for about 5 seconds and quickly stated that there are no problems and the vehicle is safe to drive. It might be safe to drive but the engine light is on and the fog lights will not come on.

A complete waste of money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 43 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 4, 2018

Would not recommend

By Emmanuel O., Nevada, Verified Reviewer

I connected the Micro Mechanic to a 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix and it's a worthless device. I downloaded about four apps, including the original app, and it wouldn't connect to any. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 33 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 24, 2018

Scam

By Judith S., Louisiana, Verified Reviewer

I paid for the "pro" version. I got shafted. Robbed of money by a useless company selling a useless product.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 30, 2018

Micro Mechanic review

By Charles A., Michigan, Verified Reviewer

My engine light is on in my 2007 Chevy Silverado VortecMax. When I plugged in the device, it is telling me nothing is wrong, safe to drive. But it does not tell me why my engine light is on. I want this issue fixed so others won't experience the same thing.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 10, 2018

Yes does not work

By Dale M., Colorado, Verified Reviewer

I have a scan tool but got this for on the road, so I don't have the big scan toll in my 2008 Toyota 4 Runner. I know I have EVAP codes and check engine light is on, but the Micro Mechanic said no problems, safe to drive.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 31 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 13, 2018

Don't buy, does not deliver

By Brian H., Georgia, Verified Reviewer

I have had an issue with 2002 Ford F150. Check engine light was on. Using a more expensive scanner the vehicle is throwing codes 0172 and 0174. I was trying to get more detail. I purchased the Micro Mechanic. Even though the check engine light is on and knowing there are stored codes, the Micro Mechanic says no issues, safe to drive. I called customer service and they said to buy the $10 upgrade. I asked if it can't read simple codes, what difference would the upgrade do. Her reply - "I don't know." She also said maybe using another app other than theirs to read it. REALLY! I am taking it back today. It was totally useless. Does not operate as the packaging says. Best use, skipping it across a lake!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 42 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 14, 2018

Scam product

By Mike L., Champaign, IL, Verified Reviewer

I bought this device at a Walmart because I had a check engine light come on frequently. Scanned many times and always says no problems found, safe to drive. I had the dealership run a scan and found out there was a serious issue. This product does not scan, or reset the check engine light. Do not purchase.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 46 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 19, 2018

Junk

By Josh R., Wisconsin, Verified Reviewer

Go buy FIXD, this one is bad, and they make you buy a $10 upgrade to get the features all the other units come with. I got the FIXD one and it works great. I'm sure it works for some, but don't waste your money on this unit when you can have a better one for just a bit more.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 34 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 10, 2019

Micro Mechanic NOT as advertised

By Robert K., Oklahoma, Verified Reviewer

Micro Mechanic does connect with my 2012 Chevrolet Impala and does not connect with my 2004 Chevrolet Suburban. The only thing it does is show the pro-live dashboard and the Performance Timer. Even though I do have errors with the electrical system, A/C system, and engine faults, it does not display them. It continues to show "no problems found" and "safe to drive." I did pay for Micro Mechanic and the Pro App Upgrade.

Also, the following apps advertised to work with the Micro Mechanic on the Micro Mechanic Web site at https://www.getmicromechanic.com, do not recognize the Micro Mechanic OBD-II adapter: MINI OBDII, CAR SCANNER ELM OBD2, CARISTA, DASHCOMMAND, OBD CAR DOCTOR, TORQUE. The app OBD AUTO DOCTOR does connect sometimes, but when it does, it gives no information on faults.

DO NOT purchase this item!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 15, 2019

Junk

By Randy J., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

I bought this device, followed instructions and performed the scan. It said save to drive no problems. Check engine light is shining bright on my face. It will not reset anything. I am taking it back and getting my money back. If there was a zero rating that's what I would rate it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 19, 2019

Total crap

By Chad I., Alabama, Verified Reviewer

Do not purchase. Does not read codes on 2004 Silverado. Pro dashboard shows zero info on my truck. Pro dashboard worked for about two minutes on my wife's 2015 Infinity but quit. This is a complete scam, which I should have known when I purchased due to the 19 pages I had to decline "extras," but still ended up spending 40 bucks on something I thought I was going to get for 20.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 19, 2019

No good, car now won't start at all

By Christy L., Mira Loma, CA, Verified Reviewer

The car is worthless now after using it on 2002 Saturn SL100. My car had no problems that kept me from getting in my car, starting it, and driving off. It had two codes error, and after clearing it, my car never started again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 2, 2019

Most worthless thing I ever purchased

By Leon K., Edmond, OK, Verified Reviewer

I had no problem connecting, had three dash lights on, Micro Mechanic came back, no problems found. I tried three times and got the same result. I went to AutoZone and within 5 minutes found two trouble codes. I feel like this product is all hype, absolutely worthless. I called customer service and all they said was, quote, "have a nice day and thank you for purchasing Micro Mechanic." Really?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 17, 2019

Do not buy this piece of crap!

By Carl D., Centerville, SD, Verified Reviewer

This does not work. When you give them your payment stuff they say that it will not go through, "do you have any other card to use," and I just hung up returning it to where I bought it from.

This place is BS! DO NOT get this item, it does NOT work!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 5, 2019

Don't buy

By William B., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

It's a big scam. Class action lawsuit headed your way. Can't wait. Doesn't say anything unless you want to pay, doubt it that it does, paid enough for this scam. Big time scam. It just tells you what regular maintenance you should do. We all know this. Says you need to pay for more info. Right, I'm going to pay for you to tell me the same crap. No way. You got $20, you will get no more. I would rather spend the hundred dollars and get the truth than be scammed. You all are such liars, your product doesn't do anything but Bluetooth. Such liars. Can't wait for a class action lawsuit. Which I will actively be involved in. What a lie you promote. It's time to take our money back for this piece of crap.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 8, 2019

Wouldn't waste my money

By Lacer P., Indiana, Verified Reviewer

I hooked it up to about 7 or 8 different cars and tried it and with the app they have it says just random stuff like one was bad ECM. Then you close the app, reopen, and nothing. And on another said my wife's turbo wastegate is bad, it doesnt even have a turbo. Such junk, save you cash and get an ELM off Amazon.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 39

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.