Micro Mechanic Reviews

Micro Mechanic

Overall Rating

1.7

39 Customer Reviews

Summary

Micro Mechanic is an OBD-II device that attaches underneath your dashboard and allows you to identify, diagnose, and clear check engine lights.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.7 Stars out of 39 Reviews
5 Star:12% 4 Star:2% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:10% 1 Star:74%
18% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Micro Mechanic:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Dec 14, 2018

Scam product

By Mike L., Champaign, IL, Verified Reviewer

I bought this device at a Walmart because I had a check engine light come on frequently. Scanned many times and always says no problems found, safe to drive. I had the dealership run a scan and found out there was a serious issue. This product does not scan, or reset the check engine light. Do not purchase.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 46 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 12, 2018

Doesn't work

By Geoffrey C., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

Hi. My check engine light has been on for a month now, so instead of taking it to a mechanic, I bought Micro Mechanic. I plugged it into my car and followed the instructions. When it scanned my car, it said "no problems found, safe to drive," so I thought how can this be, my check engine light is on. So I decided to test the Micro Mechanic. I took off my gas cap and scanned my car again and it said "no problems found, safe to drive." Now, how can that be?

So I thought maybe it's because my car is a 2000 and it's too old, so I decided to try it on my roommate's car, which is a 2016. So I loosened the gas cap, plugged in the Micro Mechanic and scanned his car. It also said "no problems found, safe to drive." So I took the gas cap completely off and rescanned it and again it said "no problems found."

So I came to the conclusion that the Micro Mechanic is a bunch of bull. It is nothing but a scam, so don't waste your money on this crap product. I will be reporting them to the BBB.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 43 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 16, 2018

Save your money! Worthless.

By Andrew I., Indiana, Verified Reviewer

I also bought because of an engine light, and also there is a recall on the wife’s 2013 Ford Escape and I wanted some info before taking it to the dealer.

After downloading the app on an iPhone (states that it works with iPhones), it scanned for about 5 seconds and quickly stated that there are no problems and the vehicle is safe to drive. It might be safe to drive but the engine light is on and the fog lights will not come on.

A complete waste of money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 43 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 13, 2018

Don't buy, does not deliver

By Brian H., Georgia, Verified Reviewer

I have had an issue with 2002 Ford F150. Check engine light was on. Using a more expensive scanner the vehicle is throwing codes 0172 and 0174. I was trying to get more detail. I purchased the Micro Mechanic. Even though the check engine light is on and knowing there are stored codes, the Micro Mechanic says no issues, safe to drive. I called customer service and they said to buy the $10 upgrade. I asked if it can't read simple codes, what difference would the upgrade do. Her reply - "I don't know." She also said maybe using another app other than theirs to read it. REALLY! I am taking it back today. It was totally useless. Does not operate as the packaging says. Best use, skipping it across a lake!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 42 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 19, 2018

Junk

By Josh R., Wisconsin, Verified Reviewer

Go buy FIXD, this one is bad, and they make you buy a $10 upgrade to get the features all the other units come with. I got the FIXD one and it works great. I'm sure it works for some, but don't waste your money on this unit when you can have a better one for just a bit more.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 34 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 4, 2018

Would not recommend

By Emmanuel O., Nevada, Verified Reviewer

I connected the Micro Mechanic to a 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix and it's a worthless device. I downloaded about four apps, including the original app, and it wouldn't connect to any. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 33 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 10, 2018

Yes does not work

By Dale M., Colorado, Verified Reviewer

I have a scan tool but got this for on the road, so I don't have the big scan toll in my 2008 Toyota 4 Runner. I know I have EVAP codes and check engine light is on, but the Micro Mechanic said no problems, safe to drive.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 31 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 24, 2018

Scam

By Judith S., Louisiana, Verified Reviewer

I paid for the "pro" version. I got shafted. Robbed of money by a useless company selling a useless product.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 29, 2018

Sometimes

By Kool J., Louisiana, Verified Reviewer

I plugged it in my friend's 2006 BMW and it works and gave problem codes, but my check engine light came on on my 2008 Chevy Silverado, and it said no code found and safe to drive. I brought to AutoZone and it says bank 1 O2 sensor.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 31, 2018

Great device to reset codes

By Bryan O., Greencastle, PA, Verified Reviewer

My 2010 GMC Acadia kept throwing a check engine light due to cylinder 4 misfire. Thus not allowing my remote start to function. I didn't know this was an issue until I bought this device, since it ran fine on the other 5. This device allowed me to know what was wrong with my car, fix the problem, clear the cold and use my remote and start again, since winters are cold in Pennsylvania.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 30, 2018

Micro Mechanic review

By Charles A., Michigan, Verified Reviewer

My engine light is on in my 2007 Chevy Silverado VortecMax. When I plugged in the device, it is telling me nothing is wrong, safe to drive. But it does not tell me why my engine light is on. I want this issue fixed so others won't experience the same thing.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 2, 2019

Most worthless thing I ever purchased

By Leon K., Edmond, OK, Verified Reviewer

I had no problem connecting, had three dash lights on, Micro Mechanic came back, no problems found. I tried three times and got the same result. I went to AutoZone and within 5 minutes found two trouble codes. I feel like this product is all hype, absolutely worthless. I called customer service and all they said was, quote, "have a nice day and thank you for purchasing Micro Mechanic." Really?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 17, 2019

Do not buy this piece of crap!

By Carl D., Centerville, SD, Verified Reviewer

This does not work. When you give them your payment stuff they say that it will not go through, "do you have any other card to use," and I just hung up returning it to where I bought it from.

This place is BS! DO NOT get this item, it does NOT work!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 22, 2019

Zero results on known troubles

By G S., Denver, CO, Verified Reviewer

I tested on two vehicles that are known to have issues that were verified by O'Reilly Auto Parts using their OBD-II system. Both vehicles showed zero results and we tried using multiple compatible apps. Returned to O'Reilly and got the correct (expected) results a second time. This device is no good. Simply does not work at all. The apps may be fine, but the device is not reporting.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 10, 2019

Micro Mechanic NOT as advertised

By Robert K., Oklahoma, Verified Reviewer

Micro Mechanic does connect with my 2012 Chevrolet Impala and does not connect with my 2004 Chevrolet Suburban. The only thing it does is show the pro-live dashboard and the Performance Timer. Even though I do have errors with the electrical system, A/C system, and engine faults, it does not display them. It continues to show "no problems found" and "safe to drive." I did pay for Micro Mechanic and the Pro App Upgrade.

Also, the following apps advertised to work with the Micro Mechanic on the Micro Mechanic Web site at https://www.getmicromechanic.com, do not recognize the Micro Mechanic OBD-II adapter: MINI OBDII, CAR SCANNER ELM OBD2, CARISTA, DASHCOMMAND, OBD CAR DOCTOR, TORQUE. The app OBD AUTO DOCTOR does connect sometimes, but when it does, it gives no information on faults.

DO NOT purchase this item!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 8, 2019

Micro Mechanic rating

By Michael A., Baltimore, MD, Verified Reviewer

False advertising! Out of the box, all this scan tool will do is tell you whether your check engine light problem is making the vehicle unsafe to drive or OK to drive! It will not tell you what the code is, or give you the ability to reset the light. To do this, YOU MUST SPEND MORE MONEY TO PURCHASE THE PRO VERSION. Basically, you can't do anything the device says it can do on the box, unless you purchase a code on the internet to unlock it! I felt lied to and ripped off one more!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 5, 2019

Don't buy

By William B., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

It's a big scam. Class action lawsuit headed your way. Can't wait. Doesn't say anything unless you want to pay, doubt it that it does, paid enough for this scam. Big time scam. It just tells you what regular maintenance you should do. We all know this. Says you need to pay for more info. Right, I'm going to pay for you to tell me the same crap. No way. You got $20, you will get no more. I would rather spend the hundred dollars and get the truth than be scammed. You all are such liars, your product doesn't do anything but Bluetooth. Such liars. Can't wait for a class action lawsuit. Which I will actively be involved in. What a lie you promote. It's time to take our money back for this piece of crap.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 20, 2019

Do not buy, I'm a Master Mechanic, was curious

By Peter T., Alabama, Verified Reviewer

I'm a Master Mechanic of 30 years, my home scan tool got melted in a house fire. Picking up medicine from Walgreens and I saw this. Ok, 20 bucks, so I thought I'd check it out. I figured it would do basic stuff until I replaced my good one. This is a joke, said no problems found and my check engine light was on. The device would do NOTHING else. Going to take it back. I can get more information with a couple of pieces of wire by shorting two contacts on the plug. That will at least blink the code number then you can look the code up. Not worth the effort to plug it up.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 8, 2019

Wouldn't waste my money

By Lacer P., Indiana, Verified Reviewer

I hooked it up to about 7 or 8 different cars and tried it and with the app they have it says just random stuff like one was bad ECM. Then you close the app, reopen, and nothing. And on another said my wife's turbo wastegate is bad, it doesnt even have a turbo. Such junk, save you cash and get an ELM off Amazon.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 20, 2019

Just got one, left it in the car and the engine stalled, so I took it out and it runs fine!

By John V., Kalamazoo, MI, Verified Reviewer

I tried and it said all systems were fine and I have a brake warning light on for pad wear! In any case, I will try it on my other car, which has an EVAP code pending! The additional code purchase makes me leary, but we will see, so far not impressed!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 15, 2019

Junk

By Randy J., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

I bought this device, followed instructions and performed the scan. It said save to drive no problems. Check engine light is shining bright on my face. It will not reset anything. I am taking it back and getting my money back. If there was a zero rating that's what I would rate it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 19, 2019

No good, car now won't start at all

By Christy L., Mira Loma, CA, Verified Reviewer

The car is worthless now after using it on 2002 Saturn SL100. My car had no problems that kept me from getting in my car, starting it, and driving off. It had two codes error, and after clearing it, my car never started again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 18, 2019

Micro Mechanic

By Wilbur R., Illinois, Verified Reviewer

This is the worst piece of crap, never worked. I failed the emissions test, this device scanned and said safe to drive. Doesn't pick up any issues, I am very disappointed with this purchase.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on May 23, 2020

Not compatible

By John B., Costa Mesa, CA, Verified Reviewer

I ordered two Micro Mechanic units - one for a 2006 Jeep, the other for a 2007 Honda (as a gift). Neither work with our iPhones running the latest IOS (05/20/2020). Message Reads on iPhones "Micro Mechanic not Compatible".

Sad, but at least I saved myself (as was my plan) the "upgrade option".

If Technical Support has suggestions - happy to cooperate. Opened units today, May 20, 2020, spent a couple of hours but the "Not Compatible", being both automobiles easily fall within the operable years - was an instant negative thought.

The "App" loaded was OBD Auto Doctor.

Hope to hear from technical support.

Thank you.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 15, 2019

Works as it should

By Lance A., Kentucky, Verified Reviewer

I have not had any problems with the Micro Mechanic on my 2010 Equinox. My check engine light was on and told me my oxygen sensor was bad, replaced it and reset check engine light no problems at all for me.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 19, 2019

Total crap

By Chad I., Alabama, Verified Reviewer

Do not purchase. Does not read codes on 2004 Silverado. Pro dashboard shows zero info on my truck. Pro dashboard worked for about two minutes on my wife's 2015 Infinity but quit. This is a complete scam, which I should have known when I purchased due to the 19 pages I had to decline "extras," but still ended up spending 40 bucks on something I thought I was going to get for 20.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 6, 2019

Not worth the money.

By Roger C., Michigan, Verified Reviewer

I connected this to my car with 3 codes in it and this device said no problems found, safe to drive. DON'T BUY THIS! Also, my car is in limp home mode and can not be driven. I bought it through a 3rd party and can't even get a refund. Buyer beware...

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 39

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.