Micro Mechanic Reviews

Micro Mechanic

Overall Rating

1.7

39 Customer Reviews

Summary

Micro Mechanic is an OBD-II device that attaches underneath your dashboard and allows you to identify, diagnose, and clear check engine lights.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.7 Stars out of 39 Reviews
5 Star:12% 4 Star:2% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:10% 1 Star:74%
18% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Micro Mechanic:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jan 10, 2019

Micro Mechanic NOT as advertised

By Robert K., Oklahoma, Verified Reviewer

Micro Mechanic does connect with my 2012 Chevrolet Impala and does not connect with my 2004 Chevrolet Suburban. The only thing it does is show the pro-live dashboard and the Performance Timer. Even though I do have errors with the electrical system, A/C system, and engine faults, it does not display them. It continues to show "no problems found" and "safe to drive." I did pay for Micro Mechanic and the Pro App Upgrade.

Also, the following apps advertised to work with the Micro Mechanic on the Micro Mechanic Web site at https://www.getmicromechanic.com, do not recognize the Micro Mechanic OBD-II adapter: MINI OBDII, CAR SCANNER ELM OBD2, CARISTA, DASHCOMMAND, OBD CAR DOCTOR, TORQUE. The app OBD AUTO DOCTOR does connect sometimes, but when it does, it gives no information on faults.

DO NOT purchase this item!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 19, 2018

Junk

By Josh R., Wisconsin, Verified Reviewer

Go buy FIXD, this one is bad, and they make you buy a $10 upgrade to get the features all the other units come with. I got the FIXD one and it works great. I'm sure it works for some, but don't waste your money on this unit when you can have a better one for just a bit more.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 34 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 14, 2018

Scam product

By Mike L., Champaign, IL, Verified Reviewer

I bought this device at a Walmart because I had a check engine light come on frequently. Scanned many times and always says no problems found, safe to drive. I had the dealership run a scan and found out there was a serious issue. This product does not scan, or reset the check engine light. Do not purchase.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 46 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 13, 2018

Don't buy, does not deliver

By Brian H., Georgia, Verified Reviewer

I have had an issue with 2002 Ford F150. Check engine light was on. Using a more expensive scanner the vehicle is throwing codes 0172 and 0174. I was trying to get more detail. I purchased the Micro Mechanic. Even though the check engine light is on and knowing there are stored codes, the Micro Mechanic says no issues, safe to drive. I called customer service and they said to buy the $10 upgrade. I asked if it can't read simple codes, what difference would the upgrade do. Her reply - "I don't know." She also said maybe using another app other than theirs to read it. REALLY! I am taking it back today. It was totally useless. Does not operate as the packaging says. Best use, skipping it across a lake!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 42 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 10, 2018

Yes does not work

By Dale M., Colorado, Verified Reviewer

I have a scan tool but got this for on the road, so I don't have the big scan toll in my 2008 Toyota 4 Runner. I know I have EVAP codes and check engine light is on, but the Micro Mechanic said no problems, safe to drive.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 31 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 30, 2018

Micro Mechanic review

By Charles A., Michigan, Verified Reviewer

My engine light is on in my 2007 Chevy Silverado VortecMax. When I plugged in the device, it is telling me nothing is wrong, safe to drive. But it does not tell me why my engine light is on. I want this issue fixed so others won't experience the same thing.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 31, 2018

Great device to reset codes

By Bryan O., Greencastle, PA, Verified Reviewer

My 2010 GMC Acadia kept throwing a check engine light due to cylinder 4 misfire. Thus not allowing my remote start to function. I didn't know this was an issue until I bought this device, since it ran fine on the other 5. This device allowed me to know what was wrong with my car, fix the problem, clear the cold and use my remote and start again, since winters are cold in Pennsylvania.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 29, 2018

Sometimes

By Kool J., Louisiana, Verified Reviewer

I plugged it in my friend's 2006 BMW and it works and gave problem codes, but my check engine light came on on my 2008 Chevy Silverado, and it said no code found and safe to drive. I brought to AutoZone and it says bank 1 O2 sensor.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 24, 2018

Scam

By Judith S., Louisiana, Verified Reviewer

I paid for the "pro" version. I got shafted. Robbed of money by a useless company selling a useless product.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 4, 2018

Would not recommend

By Emmanuel O., Nevada, Verified Reviewer

I connected the Micro Mechanic to a 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix and it's a worthless device. I downloaded about four apps, including the original app, and it wouldn't connect to any. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 33 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 16, 2018

Save your money! Worthless.

By Andrew I., Indiana, Verified Reviewer

I also bought because of an engine light, and also there is a recall on the wife’s 2013 Ford Escape and I wanted some info before taking it to the dealer.

After downloading the app on an iPhone (states that it works with iPhones), it scanned for about 5 seconds and quickly stated that there are no problems and the vehicle is safe to drive. It might be safe to drive but the engine light is on and the fog lights will not come on.

A complete waste of money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 43 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 12, 2018

Doesn't work

By Geoffrey C., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

Hi. My check engine light has been on for a month now, so instead of taking it to a mechanic, I bought Micro Mechanic. I plugged it into my car and followed the instructions. When it scanned my car, it said "no problems found, safe to drive," so I thought how can this be, my check engine light is on. So I decided to test the Micro Mechanic. I took off my gas cap and scanned my car again and it said "no problems found, safe to drive." Now, how can that be?

So I thought maybe it's because my car is a 2000 and it's too old, so I decided to try it on my roommate's car, which is a 2016. So I loosened the gas cap, plugged in the Micro Mechanic and scanned his car. It also said "no problems found, safe to drive." So I took the gas cap completely off and rescanned it and again it said "no problems found."

So I came to the conclusion that the Micro Mechanic is a bunch of bull. It is nothing but a scam, so don't waste your money on this crap product. I will be reporting them to the BBB.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 43 People Have Voted
Showing 28-39 of 39

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.