Micro Mechanic Reviews

Micro Mechanic

Overall Rating

1.7

39 Customer Reviews

Summary

Micro Mechanic is an OBD-II device that attaches underneath your dashboard and allows you to identify, diagnose, and clear check engine lights.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.7 Stars out of 39 Reviews
5 Star:12% 4 Star:2% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:10% 1 Star:74%
18% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Micro Mechanic:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Sep 12, 2020

Don't work on 2002 Jeep Liberty Limited

By Steve D., Maryland, Verified Reviewer

I tried it on my wife's 2007 Nissan Xterra. It connected and said no problems, safe to drive. However, the check engine light was on. Hmmm. Then I tried it on my 2002 Jeep Liberty Limited and all it does is spin and spin. Never gives me a reading, nothing. So I'm guessing this thing really doesn't work. Well, at least not on my vehicles. Good luck on your vehicle.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It actually connected

Bad reading on one vehicle

Couldn't read anything on Jeep Liberty Limited even though it connected

Posted on Jul 16, 2020

Love it

By Brenda D., Federal Way, WA, Verified Reviewer

I purchased it two years ago. I have put it in over six automobiles and it has verified if the check engine light was on what the problem was, and if the check engine light is not on, it says no problem. And I was able to download the app on my phone and it works perfectly well, no problems. Recommended it to many people.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It works fine

It was cheap

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jul 6, 2020

No matter what your auto problem is, IT'S SAFE TO DRIVE

By Byron B., Newport News, VA, Verified Reviewer

This is a useless piece of plastic with connection to an app that always tells you no problem, safe to drive. So am I to believe that I have a check engine light on, engine running rough and this thing stating no problem, safe to drive? I don't think so, and I sure I am not going to pay extra money for the so-called PRO version. Do what you want (like I did) or trust the many 1-star reviews (would be zeros but can only go as low as 1 star).

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Does not work

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jun 20, 2020

Love it!

By Josh P., Flatwoods, KY, Verified Reviewer

Works just as advertised with my Android phone. If you know how to use the play store to get any other app, then you can use this device. Pairs very easy, but you have to plug it in after the vehicle is started! It will not pair if you plug it in then start your vehicle! I haven't checked out the "pro code" version yet, but am about to. But the regular out of the box version works great!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on May 23, 2020

Not compatible

By John B., Costa Mesa, CA, Verified Reviewer

I ordered two Micro Mechanic units - one for a 2006 Jeep, the other for a 2007 Honda (as a gift). Neither work with our iPhones running the latest IOS (05/20/2020). Message Reads on iPhones "Micro Mechanic not Compatible".

Sad, but at least I saved myself (as was my plan) the "upgrade option".

If Technical Support has suggestions - happy to cooperate. Opened units today, May 20, 2020, spent a couple of hours but the "Not Compatible", being both automobiles easily fall within the operable years - was an instant negative thought.

The "App" loaded was OBD Auto Doctor.

Hope to hear from technical support.

Thank you.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 8, 2020

Get a different app

By Mike G., Waterford, MI, Verified Reviewer

For this thing to work you can't use the Micro Mechanic app, I know that sounds stupid but it's true, you have to download a different app. I downloaded one called "Car Scanner," it's a way better app. If you do get this app it will work but it is still limited in function. Hey, what did anyone expect for such little money, hey, it's a toy, go spend 100 bucks and get a real one.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 2, 2020

If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is

By Jacob D., Nevada, Verified Reviewer

Same as these other guys, I have tried this thing in 3 different vehicles, a 2004 Chrysler Sebring, a 2002 Ford F150, and a 2006 Mercedes-Benz, all have check engine light on and this stupid thing says no problems, ok to drive, with every one of them. What a piece of crap.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 26, 2020

Not good

By Robert F., Massachusetts, Verified Reviewer

My engine light is on and when I scan it says no problems, drive safe, and yes, my vehicle is a waste of money and time, not happy at all. I wish it worked because I do have a problem with my engine, that's why I bought it to begin with, but no now I have to find a place that has a REAL one, or I should say a WORKING one. Thanks for the wasted product. Note too self, don't buy another one.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 10, 2019

Doesn't work with Nissan El Grand 2003

By David R., Sydney, Australia, Verified Reviewer

Hi,

Tried with many apps but the best I got out of it once was, "NO Problems Safe to Drive". There is a problem, that's why I wanted it!

It was quite hard to attach to Bluetooth but when it did pair it just could not get the data.

I put it in a 2016 Hyundai i30 and it did work and gave me figures.

How can I get the same result on the Nissan?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 7, 2019

Works great with careful study of directions

By Mike P., Cartersville, GA, Verified Reviewer

I had read all the bad reviews. I followed the advice of several reviewers and downloaded the ELM OBD2 app instead of the Micro Mechanic app. I must admit the startup and use of the features runs a little counterintuitive. Especially if you are familiar with using a traditional corded type scanner. After several uses on several different vehicles, I must say I am impressed. Most importantly, one of the vehicles has a known bad PCM/ ECU. This has been verified by a dealership after my previous private label scanner suddenly began failing to communicate with the cars OBD2. I suspected the failure to communicate with my $200.00 scanner might have been because of a failing OBD system.

Without telling the dealership what my theory was, they got the code for bad PCM by using their multi-thousand dollar scan tool. Well, guess what? I wasn't expecting much of a result but WOW! The Micro Mechanic was able to communicate with the failing OBD2 system and gave the exact same code as the dealer. I find it far superior to my previous scan tool. Again - I must admit there is a learning curve to learning how to use it.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 21, 2019

Worthless

By Tina G., Missouri, Verified Reviewer

My check engine light is on. My powertrain failure light was on too. My transmission sensor is bad. It's going to be at least a $350 fix but it shows there is nothing wrong at all!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 16, 2019

Connection issue

By Raymond G., Iuka, MS, Verified Reviewer

It works well enough, when it does finally connect to my wife’s car tells me the code and lets me clear it, but it will not connect to my truck under any circumstance, and I know it is supposed to work on vehicles 96 or newer. So I am disappointed in it in that aspect, so now it looks like my wife has her own personal scanner since it only connects to her car.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 6, 2019

Not worth the money.

By Roger C., Michigan, Verified Reviewer

I connected this to my car with 3 codes in it and this device said no problems found, safe to drive. DON'T BUY THIS! Also, my car is in limp home mode and can not be driven. I bought it through a 3rd party and can't even get a refund. Buyer beware...

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 14, 2019

Good for the price.

By Van A., Arkansas, Verified Reviewer

Micro Mechanic is easy to use with any smartphone. It uses Bluetooth to connect. There are free apps that work better than the one they sell. Sometimes codes are misleading with OBD-II so research the code on the internet before you just start throwing money at your car. In my experience I have found a high percentage of codes are caused by cracked vacuum hoses. I highly recomend a device like this.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 8, 2019

Micro Mechanic rating

By Michael A., Baltimore, MD, Verified Reviewer

False advertising! Out of the box, all this scan tool will do is tell you whether your check engine light problem is making the vehicle unsafe to drive or OK to drive! It will not tell you what the code is, or give you the ability to reset the light. To do this, YOU MUST SPEND MORE MONEY TO PURCHASE THE PRO VERSION. Basically, you can't do anything the device says it can do on the box, unless you purchase a code on the internet to unlock it! I felt lied to and ripped off one more!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 22, 2019

Zero results on known troubles

By G S., Denver, CO, Verified Reviewer

I tested on two vehicles that are known to have issues that were verified by O'Reilly Auto Parts using their OBD-II system. Both vehicles showed zero results and we tried using multiple compatible apps. Returned to O'Reilly and got the correct (expected) results a second time. This device is no good. Simply does not work at all. The apps may be fine, but the device is not reporting.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 20, 2019

Just got one, left it in the car and the engine stalled, so I took it out and it runs fine!

By John V., Kalamazoo, MI, Verified Reviewer

I tried and it said all systems were fine and I have a brake warning light on for pad wear! In any case, I will try it on my other car, which has an EVAP code pending! The additional code purchase makes me leary, but we will see, so far not impressed!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 20, 2019

Do not buy, I'm a Master Mechanic, was curious

By Peter T., Alabama, Verified Reviewer

I'm a Master Mechanic of 30 years, my home scan tool got melted in a house fire. Picking up medicine from Walgreens and I saw this. Ok, 20 bucks, so I thought I'd check it out. I figured it would do basic stuff until I replaced my good one. This is a joke, said no problems found and my check engine light was on. The device would do NOTHING else. Going to take it back. I can get more information with a couple of pieces of wire by shorting two contacts on the plug. That will at least blink the code number then you can look the code up. Not worth the effort to plug it up.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 18, 2019

Micro Mechanic

By Wilbur R., Illinois, Verified Reviewer

This is the worst piece of crap, never worked. I failed the emissions test, this device scanned and said safe to drive. Doesn't pick up any issues, I am very disappointed with this purchase.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 8, 2019

Wouldn't waste my money

By Lacer P., Indiana, Verified Reviewer

I hooked it up to about 7 or 8 different cars and tried it and with the app they have it says just random stuff like one was bad ECM. Then you close the app, reopen, and nothing. And on another said my wife's turbo wastegate is bad, it doesnt even have a turbo. Such junk, save you cash and get an ELM off Amazon.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 5, 2019

Don't buy

By William B., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

It's a big scam. Class action lawsuit headed your way. Can't wait. Doesn't say anything unless you want to pay, doubt it that it does, paid enough for this scam. Big time scam. It just tells you what regular maintenance you should do. We all know this. Says you need to pay for more info. Right, I'm going to pay for you to tell me the same crap. No way. You got $20, you will get no more. I would rather spend the hundred dollars and get the truth than be scammed. You all are such liars, your product doesn't do anything but Bluetooth. Such liars. Can't wait for a class action lawsuit. Which I will actively be involved in. What a lie you promote. It's time to take our money back for this piece of crap.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 17, 2019

Do not buy this piece of crap!

By Carl D., Centerville, SD, Verified Reviewer

This does not work. When you give them your payment stuff they say that it will not go through, "do you have any other card to use," and I just hung up returning it to where I bought it from.

This place is BS! DO NOT get this item, it does NOT work!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 15, 2019

Works as it should

By Lance A., Kentucky, Verified Reviewer

I have not had any problems with the Micro Mechanic on my 2010 Equinox. My check engine light was on and told me my oxygen sensor was bad, replaced it and reset check engine light no problems at all for me.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 2, 2019

Most worthless thing I ever purchased

By Leon K., Edmond, OK, Verified Reviewer

I had no problem connecting, had three dash lights on, Micro Mechanic came back, no problems found. I tried three times and got the same result. I went to AutoZone and within 5 minutes found two trouble codes. I feel like this product is all hype, absolutely worthless. I called customer service and all they said was, quote, "have a nice day and thank you for purchasing Micro Mechanic." Really?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 19, 2019

No good, car now won't start at all

By Christy L., Mira Loma, CA, Verified Reviewer

The car is worthless now after using it on 2002 Saturn SL100. My car had no problems that kept me from getting in my car, starting it, and driving off. It had two codes error, and after clearing it, my car never started again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 19, 2019

Total crap

By Chad I., Alabama, Verified Reviewer

Do not purchase. Does not read codes on 2004 Silverado. Pro dashboard shows zero info on my truck. Pro dashboard worked for about two minutes on my wife's 2015 Infinity but quit. This is a complete scam, which I should have known when I purchased due to the 19 pages I had to decline "extras," but still ended up spending 40 bucks on something I thought I was going to get for 20.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 15, 2019

Junk

By Randy J., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

I bought this device, followed instructions and performed the scan. It said save to drive no problems. Check engine light is shining bright on my face. It will not reset anything. I am taking it back and getting my money back. If there was a zero rating that's what I would rate it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 39

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.