About Micro Touch One Razor

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Jul 6, 2015

Micro Touch One Razor is a razor-and-blade system that harkens back to the days of yore, when men were men and shavers weren’t disposable. The Micro Touch Max is what is called a “safety razor,” which uses an old-school double-sided razor blade placed inside a weighted shaver, and promises to give you the best shave of your life.

But is Micro Touch One safety razor really safe? We’ve received a lot of reviews from consumers, which we will discuss below.

How Micro Touch One Razor Works

The makers of Micro Touch One Razor claim that it’s a modern version of a “timeless classic;” i.e. the men’s safety razor. It is pitched by Rick Harrison, bald-and-goateed star of the reality program Pawn Stars. According to the company, it’s the “best way to shave for over 100 years,” and that barbershops still use only one blade (although they use a straight razor or “throat cutter” blade).

The Micro Touch Razor—and safety razors in general—consist of a weighted base and a removable, curved shaving head that holds and keeps the blade centered, while resting against a safety bar. This exposes the tiny straight edge to your skin/face. The Micro Touch Razor is said to be made from solid brass that is chrome-plated.

The manufacturer claims that the key to Micro Touch One Razor, and any safety razor, is practice, practice, practice. In fact, Rick Harrison is even quoted on the website saying: "Like anything new, it may take you a few shaves to get used to…”

How to Use Micro Touch One Razor

The instructions listed on Micro Touch One Razor’s “Quick Start” page are quite simple.

All you have to do is hold it by the tip of the handle at a 45-degree angle and shave with the grain of your beard. You should use as little pressure as possible against your face, letting the razor do most of the work.

This has also been confirmed by some sources we’ve spoken to who have used the product.

Micro Touch One Razor Pricing and Returns

Micro Touch One Razor sells for $19.99 plus $7.99 shipping, plus $4.99 more for the “bonus” razor blades. Ultimately, this brings you to a total of $32.97 for 24 blades, the safety razor, and a carrying case.

Micro Touch One Razor has a 30-day money-back guarantee, minus any fees, plus return shipping.

Bottom Line: Does Micro Touch One Razor Work as It Claims?

Based on over 250 customer reviews here on HighYa, Micro Touch One Razor seems to have generated quite a buzz. Currently, it averages a three-star rating, which seems to be due to the fact that there are extremely passionate people on both ends of the spectrum.

First, we’ll highlight some of its BEST reviews:

“Perfect solution for me… GREAT! If you know how… I certainly recommend it… great razor and easy to clean… Best Shave Ever… give it a chance… didn’t cut myself once…”

These people generally felt that Micro Touch One Razor was a good, well-made product and they were happy with their purchase and the resulting shave.

However, some of them recommend buying better razor blades and using special shaving cream (Cremo is a brand that is mentioned) because it doesn’t work so well with the regular kind. Some reviewers also claimed they bought the product at their local CVS or online at eBay for a better price.

The main takeaway from these positive reviews is that, with a little patience and practice, Micro Touch One Razor seems to be a good shaver, especially for the price.

On the other hand, here are some snippets from some of the WORST:

“What a scam… getting soliciting phone calls… took 30 days to receive it… wife calls me Scar Face… scam… Made in China… almost injured myself… billed $30 per month… sells your phone number and address… charged $68 and I did not purchase $68 of merchandise…”

These people have a mixture of complaints that reference not only cutting themselves and the product’s low quality, but they also mention feeling like a victim of deceptive marketing and upsell tactics by the company.

According to these people, the product takes a long time to be delivered (if at all) and they are excessively billed. In addition, many talk about constant phone calls with solicitors who encouraged and/or automatically signed them up for a $100 gas card with savings vouchers, and then billing them $30 a month for the pleasure.

Here is our assessment of Micro Touch One Razor:

  • The product itself seems to generally work so long as you use it correctly.
  • It may not be best for elderly people with wrinkled skin.
  • If you do want to purchase this online, it is available at Walgreens, CVS, and other retail outlets at a discounted price.
  • Do NOT buy from the website as you will be barraged with spam.
  • Buy some stainless steel double-edged razor blades elsewhere.
  • Buy special shaving cream (one brand is Cremo).

Here is a home-made video a consumer posted of himself using a Micro Touch One Razor to cleanly shave their full goatee with just one pass of the razor blade:

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 253 Micro Touch One Razor Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 76 4 star: 30 3 star: 10 2 star: 11 1 star:  126
Bottom Line: 43% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 253
Sort reviews by:

  • 19 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Micro Touch One

    • Ohio,
    • Jan 23, 2014

    Reading these reviews makes one thing very obvious to me, no one here has any idea how to use a DE razor. They require a bit more time, prep, skill, and patience to use than a cartridge style razor, but deliver, if used properly, a very close, smooth, comfortable shave. Clearly, the other reviewers purchased this for economic l reasons (very inexpensive blades) rather than wanting a safety razor. Used properly you'll get no razor burn at all. I think people are being completely unfair to this product. It's like someone buying a manual car only to save money on gas, if you don't know how to drive a manual it isn't the car's fault, just like if you don't know how to use DE razor, don't be surprised when you get poor results.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Fantastic. I certainly recommend it.

    • Florida,
    • Jun 24, 2015

    I remember my Dad using one just like this. I went electric early but the last few years have been using a multi blade razor. I was concerned about the quality of the blades. No worry. I'm on my third week on the same blade. Great.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    great razor and easy to clean

    • Kansas City,
    • Mar 4, 2014

    I ordered mine through Amazon so apparently I side stepped some of the issues mentioned here. Having spent a few weeks using this product, I fully endorse it. Even though it's light, it's sturdy and well crafted.

    How does it hold up to traditional safety razors?

    It more than holds its own. The lightweight makes it less likely to cause any nicks or bloodshed.

    I like the one piece aspect of the razor, that makes it easy to keep clean just dip it in some rubbing alcohol and it's good as new. Hair does tend to build up on the underside of the blade, but that's not an issue since it's easy to open and remove the blade for cleaning. I was slightly concerned that it might be a bit stiff to twist open, but it easily opens and closes.

    Order from amazon.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Well these razors are awesome but best way hurt a company, is you shop with your wallet, take your business else where.

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    These single blades are awesome, you get the best shave with less resistant, but the best way hurt a company is you shop with your wallet. Take your business else where, I bought the same exact razor today at target for 19.99, it comes with five blades instead of 24 and it don't come with a case but who cares? Fact is it took me awhile to find one, and after reading this site I wouldn't order from this company off a dead persons credit card, but single blade razors are wonderful and work great if you shave your head.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Best Shave Ever.

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Aug 7, 2015

    I have been shaving for 20 years now and have mainly used a three blade razor, my girlfriend and I saw the commercial for this razor, she said I should try it, I did and got it about a couple weeks ago. I have to say I love it.

    No learning curve for me no cuts or pulls just enjoyment. I grow hair fast and thick and often dread having to shave but since I got this I can't wait to shave, it's like I am 16 again just starting out. I can't grow hair fast enough I look forward to it thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 13 people found this review helpful

    I love it!

    • Olney, IL,
    • Mar 15, 2014

    I bought mine at Wal-Mart, so there was no order horror story. Obviously with this style of razor, you can only shave your face and head (why anyone would think that shaving their genitalia with a razor like this is beyond me, though someone else's review states they did. :) That being said, this razor provides an excellent shave, provided you have some inkling of wits about you. The product came with instructions on how to effectively use and master this style of razor. I found this particularly helpful as this style has long since been "antiquated". I feel like I've never actually shaved before, all other razors feel cheap compared to this.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 15 people found this review helpful

    I really like this razor.

    • Citrus Heights, CA,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    After seeing this on TV I thought about it but I had previously learned about all the pitfalls from ordering that way (shipping fees, phone calls, e-mails, etc.). So I decided against it. Then I saw it at a "As Seen on TV" store and decided to fork over the $21.99 and give it a try. It came with 12 blades.

    My main concern was that it would cut or nick my face, as many razors do. Surprisingly though, I didn't get one nick and I even decided to shave both my face and head. It gave me a very close shave, was super easy to use and it is at a minimum equal if not a closer shave. It's like the Mach 5 shavers that I have been using, at a much better price.

    I just wanted to share my experience, I hope that helps others who are as cautious as I am about trying something new make up their mind.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Works great!

    • Apr 4, 2014

    Followed directions and it works as good as anything out there. I think all these people bashing are foolish and are not capable of reading much less following directions.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Worth making the switch, with a caveat

    • Vienna, VA,
    • Jun 9, 2015

    I have never bothered to write a review about a product I've purchased, but I feel the need to in this case. I, like many, bought the OneTouch because I was tired of spending such astronomical amounts for complex blades you just throw away, and they would only last about a week and a half. The one touch seemed like the solution was looking for, and I had heard of others getting up to a month out of a very inexpensive blade. My first few uses were much like the bad reviews you read about here, but the difference is, I didn't give up at that and I looked into it more.

    Turns out, you CANNOT expect to just substitute one of these in for your modern, expensive razor. You do need to accept that a shaving brush and soap/mug is part of the required kit. Once I watched some YouTube videos about how to do that right, I made that change and saw great results. After a few more days, I had the procedure down. I think I now get a nick more often than I did before, but here's the end result, after using these things for about 3-4 months now: I get 3-4 weeks out of each very cheap blade. I bought a brush/mug/soap kit on amazon for maybe $25.

    It appears the soap will last me about 6 months (still plenty). I have only been through about 3 blades. Shaving is kind of fun, and it does a good job. The razor/blades/box/blade stand are all quality products. I can basically cross shaving supplies off the regular drug store shopping list, products last a LONG time See it through, give it a chance, and you'll be happy to not support the big companies in their over-advanced, overcharged blades, and your shave will be good. I haven't looked back.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Excellent shave

    • NJ,
    • Apr 24, 2014

    I cannot say enough great things about this razor. The blades it comes with are decent, not great. Once I put a better quality blade in, BAM, like night and day. I get 100 top quality blades for 14.00! I am getting about 5 shaves per blade. Takes a little to get the hang of it, but once you do it's all good.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Best Shave Ever

    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Apr 26, 2014

    I shave my head and face every week, this is by far the closest best shave ever. I haven't cut myself once. I bought it at an as seen on TV store, so no harassment. I highly recommend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 253

Write a Review for Micro Touch One Razor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review