About Micro Touch One Razor

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Jul 6, 2015

Micro Touch One Razor is a razor-and-blade system that harkens back to the days of yore, when men were men and shavers weren’t disposable. The Micro Touch Max is what is called a “safety razor,” which uses an old-school double-sided razor blade placed inside a weighted shaver, and promises to give you the best shave of your life.

But is Micro Touch One safety razor really safe? We’ve received a lot of reviews from consumers, which we will discuss below.

How Micro Touch One Razor Works

The makers of Micro Touch One Razor claim that it’s a modern version of a “timeless classic;” i.e. the men’s safety razor. It is pitched by Rick Harrison, bald-and-goateed star of the reality program Pawn Stars. According to the company, it’s the “best way to shave for over 100 years,” and that barbershops still use only one blade (although they use a straight razor or “throat cutter” blade).

The Micro Touch Razor—and safety razors in general—consist of a weighted base and a removable, curved shaving head that holds and keeps the blade centered, while resting against a safety bar. This exposes the tiny straight edge to your skin/face. The Micro Touch Razor is said to be made from solid brass that is chrome-plated.

The manufacturer claims that the key to Micro Touch One Razor, and any safety razor, is practice, practice, practice. In fact, Rick Harrison is even quoted on the website saying: "Like anything new, it may take you a few shaves to get used to…”

How to Use Micro Touch One Razor

The instructions listed on Micro Touch One Razor’s “Quick Start” page are quite simple.

All you have to do is hold it by the tip of the handle at a 45-degree angle and shave with the grain of your beard. You should use as little pressure as possible against your face, letting the razor do most of the work.

This has also been confirmed by some sources we’ve spoken to who have used the product.

Micro Touch One Razor Pricing and Returns

Micro Touch One Razor sells for $19.99 plus $7.99 shipping, plus $4.99 more for the “bonus” razor blades. Ultimately, this brings you to a total of $32.97 for 24 blades, the safety razor, and a carrying case.

Micro Touch One Razor has a 30-day money-back guarantee, minus any fees, plus return shipping.

Bottom Line: Does Micro Touch One Razor Work as It Claims?

Based on over 250 customer reviews here on HighYa, Micro Touch One Razor seems to have generated quite a buzz. Currently, it averages a three-star rating, which seems to be due to the fact that there are extremely passionate people on both ends of the spectrum.

First, we’ll highlight some of its BEST reviews:

“Perfect solution for me… GREAT! If you know how… I certainly recommend it… great razor and easy to clean… Best Shave Ever… give it a chance… didn’t cut myself once…”

These people generally felt that Micro Touch One Razor was a good, well-made product and they were happy with their purchase and the resulting shave.

However, some of them recommend buying better razor blades and using special shaving cream (Cremo is a brand that is mentioned) because it doesn’t work so well with the regular kind. Some reviewers also claimed they bought the product at their local CVS or online at eBay for a better price.

The main takeaway from these positive reviews is that, with a little patience and practice, Micro Touch One Razor seems to be a good shaver, especially for the price.

On the other hand, here are some snippets from some of the WORST:

“What a scam… getting soliciting phone calls… took 30 days to receive it… wife calls me Scar Face… scam… Made in China… almost injured myself… billed $30 per month… sells your phone number and address… charged $68 and I did not purchase $68 of merchandise…”

These people have a mixture of complaints that reference not only cutting themselves and the product’s low quality, but they also mention feeling like a victim of deceptive marketing and upsell tactics by the company.

According to these people, the product takes a long time to be delivered (if at all) and they are excessively billed. In addition, many talk about constant phone calls with solicitors who encouraged and/or automatically signed them up for a $100 gas card with savings vouchers, and then billing them $30 a month for the pleasure.

Here is our assessment of Micro Touch One Razor:

  • The product itself seems to generally work so long as you use it correctly.
  • It may not be best for elderly people with wrinkled skin.
  • If you do want to purchase this online, it is available at Walgreens, CVS, and other retail outlets at a discounted price.
  • Do NOT buy from the website as you will be barraged with spam.
  • Buy some stainless steel double-edged razor blades elsewhere.
  • Buy special shaving cream (one brand is Cremo).

Here is a home-made video a consumer posted of himself using a Micro Touch One Razor to cleanly shave their full goatee with just one pass of the razor blade:


Read 253 Micro Touch One Razor Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 76 4 star: 30 3 star: 10 2 star: 11 1 star:  126
Bottom Line: 43% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 253
Sort reviews by:

  • 28 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Terrible Company.

    • Douglasville, GA,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    Don't buy anything from these guys. Last night on the web site www.onerazor.com I was trying to place an order for myself and my dad. told the end of the process you get the option to order extra stuff. I want to change my order because after looking at the shipping cost ($48 I guess they use horse to deliver their packages) I was not going to get all the items. So I updated my order and next thing that happens is the order is completed. You do not get a chance to even confirm your order.

    I have never seen a bigger scam in my life. I call customer support and the young lady on the phone told me that she could not help me I would have to call back in the morning. So I did and before I can get out the problem they tell me my order has already shipped. The person told me that the young lady from eight hours ago should not have told me that it could be fixed. and that she would take $20.00 off my order. I told her thanks but no thanks I would like to speak to a supervisor that again told me to bad but she offers to take $5.99 off my order but that all she could do. And she could not do the $20.00 off. In a matter of 9 hours this company told me three lies and changed me $97.00 for my order. These guys are trouble. Now I would not use this razor if it was the best thing ever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Didn't get what I thought I ordered!

    • Missouri,
    • Dec 3, 2013

    I purchased this razor and it took almost 30 days to receive it. After I had sent in my order online I received a call from someone who said they were with the company and that I was going to receive a gift card for around $100 and I told them I didn't want anything. They tried to get me to give them my credit card number to verify that I had purchased the razor. I told them I didn't give my personal info out to anyone and to remove me from any list they had.

    I also received two razors and was charged for both at $32 each. I have my confirmation in hand and I only ordered one so I am going to try to return but will still have to pay the $12 shipping and handling even though I didn't order it. I ordered this as I respected Rick Harrison and felt he wouldn't endorse anything that was a scam so I am disappointed in that. Also the razor is hard to use for me and based on reviews I may need to get used to it before it performs as indicated. To be honest I was very disappointed in my experience and it appears I may have paid $64 just to have a razor. Time will tell. I am returning it and oh yes not sure what that will cost.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 23 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Shop around, you can do better

    • Arizona,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    I decided, after 12 years, that my full beard was more trouble than it was worth. After seeing the commercial with the pawn shop guy (Rick), I thought about the Micro Touch One Razor. I went to the web page and was shocked at the price and S & H charge, $47.00.

    I went to Walgreens and picked up a very similar razor, made in the USA, aluminum and zinc plated rather than chrome-plated brass, for $17.99. A 5-pack of double edged blades was $2.99. A cake of shaving soap and a brush (a combo package) was on sale at $7.99.

    I hadn't shaved in a very long time and my skin is still a bit sensitive. A liberal amount of hand soap on a wash cloth before applying the shaving soap makes the stubble very easy to remove.

    $29.00 verses $47.00 and none of my money goes to Rick.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 21 people found this review helpful

    The up-sell, UGH!

    • Oak Grove, VA,
    • Jun 24, 2015

    Ordered this online and am now getting bombarded with phone calls for $100 in gas vouchers and a savings program that I can "try out" but if I don't cancel it within 14 days I will be billed $30 per month on my VISA. They wanted me to read the card number back to them for verification! No way.

    I hope the razor works when (if) it gets here and I'm upset with Rick from Pawn Stars for agreeing to associate with this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Bogus Junk and the Company is Worse - All about shipping and upselling.

    • Dallas/Fort Worth, TX,
    • Jun 9, 2015

    This is pure crap. I grew up using a one blade razor. Rick apparently got paid a ton of money, and like all things, it is all about money. This company is pure scam, sells your phone number and email address. At least I used my American Express and I challenged the charges but never assume the company will help you. They only want to call you for more sales. That's just bogus!

    Regardless of your age, there are a lot better razors and no BS Upselling to go with it. For the best deals try Dollar Shave Club.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Lousy razor

    • Jun 23, 2015

    Never again. It does not shave well at all. Not even close to a good shave. Do not buy it. I am sending it back today.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Micro Touch One

    • Ohio,
    • Jan 23, 2014

    Reading these reviews makes one thing very obvious to me, no one here has any idea how to use a DE razor. They require a bit more time, prep, skill, and patience to use than a cartridge style razor, but deliver, if used properly, a very close, smooth, comfortable shave. Clearly, the other reviewers purchased this for economic l reasons (very inexpensive blades) rather than wanting a safety razor. Used properly you'll get no razor burn at all. I think people are being completely unfair to this product. It's like someone buying a manual car only to save money on gas, if you don't know how to drive a manual it isn't the car's fault, just like if you don't know how to use DE razor, don't be surprised when you get poor results.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 21 people found this review helpful

    This is a scam. Never received

    • League City, TX,
    • Aug 7, 2015

    What a scam. I ordered the razor and extra upgraded blades two months ago, and to this day have not received the razor. I've contacted them on a couple of occasions via email and phone. 11 days ago, I received and email saying the razor would ship in 24 to 48 hrs and I would receive an email within 24 hours with tracking information. Nothing. Placed a call to customer service today, was told an order had been placed for a replacement, that the razors were on backorder and it would be shipped when they had the item in inventory. Come on! That's what they sell on this website, razors and they don't have any in inventory for two months. Ridiculous. 

    To add insult to injury, in January after I received the email saying they have corrected the situation, I get a call at 9:00 at night from their customer service trying to sell me something. After telling the lady that I didn't appreciate them calling me so late in the evening trying to sell me something, she proceeds to tell me that I didn't have to pay anything now, she would ship me the item and charge my credit card $29.95 per month. I was irate and told her that she better not charge anything on my card. She continued her sales pitch, and I hung up. Just a warning to all. Beware of this company, I have disputed the charge with my bank.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Scar Face 2013

    • Long Island NY,
    • Dec 8, 2013
    My wife calls me Scar Face since I received and began shaving with this awful razor. It Takes me twice as long to shave and I never get a smooth shave! I have not yet been able to shave with this awful product without cutting myself once. I will never buy another as seen on TV product again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Terrible product

    • St. Petersburg, FL,
    • Jun 24, 2015

    Guys please don't waste money on this garbage. It'll cut you up. The blades are poorly made. So, be nice to both your face and pocket.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy this. They start to call you day/night with scam calls.

    • Kansas,
    • Jun 24, 2015

    My product has yet to arrive. Two days after purchase I started getting non-stop calls from 866-379-2003 day/night. Per many sites this is associated with this purchase. They either convince you to buy more or as others have indicated just start auto-charging your credit card. Rick Harrison should be 100% ashamed of pushing this product with this horrible company. It isn't about family folks, it's about him getting money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 253

Write a Review for Micro Touch One Razor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review