About MicroTouch Tough Blade

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Dec 18, 2014

Endorsed by Brett Favre, MicroTouch Tough Blade is a German-engineered razor that’s guaranteed to give you the close, clean, comfortable shave you want for an entire year, at a much lower price than the competition.

In order to accomplish this, the MicroTouch Tough Blade is claimed to combine 3 perfectly angled German stainless steel blades with a micro-thin non-stick surface. This way, the first blade will work to lift, the second blade to cut, and the third to finish for a perfect shave. The MicroTouch Tough Blade is even claimed to shave comfortably at any angle, and to be great for sensitive skin.

As a man, you understand how expensive replacement razors can be, and are always looking for something to simplify your daily routine, so the MicroTouch Tough Blade is definitely a compelling concept. Now, you’re here on HighYa to find out if it’s worth your hard earned money. So is it? Consider the following before placing your order:

What You’ll Get with Your MicroTouch Tough Blade Order

Based on the product’s name alone, you could be forgiven for thinking that the MicroTouch Tough Blade is a single razor cartridge that lasts up to a year. However, the truth is that the MicroTouch Tough Blade is a complete system that’s made up of 3 (or 4) parts:

  • The MicroTouch Tough Blade handle
  • 12 replacement razor cartridges, which attach directly to the handle when it’s time to replace
  • The MicroTouch Trimmer
  • Stand (optional – more about this in a moment)

In other words, what you’ll be receiving with your MicroTouch Tough Blade order is not some revolutionary product that lasts 12 times longer than the competition. It’s simply a handle and replacement razors, similar to what you’d find with subscription razor clubs such as 800Razors.com, Dollar Shave Club, and ShaveMOB.

Is There Anything Unique About MicroTouch Tough Blade?

According to the product’s commercial, the MicroTouch Tough Blade’s 3-tiered razors are claimed to lift, cut, and finish for a perfect shave each and every time. However, this works identically to 3-blade razors from any other manufacturer, so there doesn’t appear to be anything unique from this perspective. Also, although MicroTouch Tough Blade is claimed to be made from German stainless steel, outside of golf clubs, there doesn’t appear to be anything that is distinct about stainless steel manufactured in Germany.

On the other hand, if MicroTouch Tough Blade’s razors work as well as mainstream manufacturers but at a much less expensive price, this may be noteworthy in and of itself.

Will the MicroTouch Tough Blade Really Last a Year?

Since the MicroTouch Tough Blade system comes with 12 replacement razor cartridges, assuming you use one cartridge per month, it will last you a total of 12 months. However, if you’ve been shaving for any length of time, you know that how long a razor lasts depends on a wide variety of factors, including how often you shave, the coverage of your facial hair, the coarseness of your stubble, and more. As such, a razor cartridge may comfortably last 2-3 weeks for one person, while lasting less than a week for another.

Clearly, another primary factor related to how long a razor lasts is its quality, although without knowing where these razors are sourced from, it’s impossible to know how this relates to MicroTouch Tough Blade. MicroTouch Tough Blade is also a very new product, so there were no online customer reviews available at the time of our research to gauge overall satisfaction levels.

MicroTouch Tough Blade’s Manufacturer

Even though there weren’t any online consumer reviews for MicroTouch Tough Blade, we did learn that it’s manufactured by Idea Village, an up-and-coming player in the ASOTV industry. This company also makes many other popular “As Seen on TV” products, including Yes! by Finishing Touch, Yoshi Grill and Bake, and the Micro One Touch Razor.

Among dozens of HighYa reader reviews for these products, they have an average rating of 2.5 stars, with the most common complaint referencing poor quality products that don’t work as advertised—specifically, that their razors are thin, provide an uneven shave, and have a tendency to cut. The second most common complaint appears to reference the company’s poor customer service; and in some instances, very poor. This includes:

  • Orders being placed without the customer’s permission.
  • Difficulty cancelling orders after they’ve been placed, but before they’ve been shipped.
  • Receiving unwanted items in orders and being charged accordingly.
  • Difficulty obtaining refunds.

Granted, this doesn’t necessarily mean you’ll experience the same with MicroTouch Tough Blade.

As a company, Idea Village holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite having 150 closed complaints (as of 12/17/14), many of which reference the concerns noted above.

MicroTouch Tough Blade Pricing and Refund Policy

The MicroTouch Tough Blade is priced at $19.99 plus $7.99 S&H. You’ll also be able to purchase the Deluxe model for an additional $9.99, which includes a stand, 6 additional cartridges, and a 2-year warranty. Ultimately, this will bring your total to $37.97.

Whichever model you choose, you’ll also receive a bonus MicroTouch Trimmer for precise grooming around nose, eyebrows, neck, and sideburns.

MicroTouch Tough Blade comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. In order to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 877-833-7685.

Finally, keep in mind that placing an order on the MicroTouch Tough Blade website will automatically bind you to an arbitration agreement, which means that you’ll be waiving your right to a jury trial or to becoming part of a class action lawsuit.

Can MicroTouch Tough Blade Make Life Easier and Save You Money?

While $20 for 12 razors certainly sounds like a deal, the value you’ll receive depends on numerous factors, including the quality of the razors and how often they’ll be used. Is it possible to get this many razors at such an inexpensive price? Clearly. Is it reasonable to assume that they’ll be of high quality? Perhaps not.

And while it’s positive that MicroTouch Tough Blade comes with a 30-day refund policy, by the time you ship your razors back to the manufacturer, you could be out $10 or more just for giving the product a try.

With this in mind, because the company’s other product, the MicroTouch One Razor, is currently available through brick-and-mortar retailers such as Walmart and Target, you might want to wait until this occurs with the MicroTouch Tough Blade as well.


Read 157 MicroTouch Tough Blade Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 53 4 star: 6 3 star: 4 2 star: 12 1 star:  82
Bottom Line: 40% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 157
Sort reviews by:

  • Like this blade.

    • Kenmore, WA,
    • Aug 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried Harry's and Shave Club, not as handy, and they just clog up. So I like to save twice, first with a track two and then use your razor to get a really close shave. Takes about 20 minutes, it's worth it every now and then. Also really like your little trimmer. So good luck and thanks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Best blade I've used

    • California,
    • Jul 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using this blade system for several years now and as a professional barber who uses a straight razor pretty much every day on my clients, I'm looking for the same close comfortable shave on myself without all the frills of a professional straight razor shave. I need to get out of the house in the morning quickly and the tough blade system allows me to do that without spending a fortune on refill blades! The blades last forever depending on how thick your beard is and there's no need to switch every week or even every month. I am very pleased with the tough blade system and refuse to pay for or use any other brand. I spent a fortune on name brands and replacement blades in the past and will never go back. Thanks Tough Blade. Bravo.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • As below

    I am a medical doctor from south India, Southern Africa and now in the USA. 75 years old. In my life time, I used from the cheapest to the expensive ones like Norelco, Braun. I returned the top of the range Braun back to Bed Bath & Beyond as I was totally not satisfied with the shave. Finally, I bought Micro Tough Blade. Excellent, smoothest shave, which I enjoy every day until I die! I work for American Red Cross. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Best razor I ever used

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Mar 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased two sets of these razors almost four years ago for my husband, and he still has three blades left. He hates shaving, so he only does it twice a week, unless he has to go away, then will do it more. His beard is thick and more coarse, and he has tried different brands of razors and they do not last. He also tried three different electric razors and they did not even cut his thick stubble, so yes, I recommend these razors. I just wish you could buy refills only.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Finest razor I’ve ever used

    • Spring, TX,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used only this orange razor for years and the pack does last a year.

    This is the only razor I’ve used that has never nicked me and I assume it’s because of the way the cartridges are made.

    If they ever cut corners on the product, it will be one of the stupidest boardroom decisions ever implemented.

    It would be nice to be able to order replacement blades without buying the handle too, but as it is, this is one of the best values for shaving that is available.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Broken handle

    • Summerland, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Nov 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The blades are great and tough, even with coarse hair. I get a smooth shave, however, the handle is cheap and broke easily, unfortunately, which now is useless even though I have many blades left.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Best longest lasting razor ever, hands down

    • Minnesota,
    • Oct 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I read some reviews and I couldn't believe the response some people gave saying the blades are junk. These blades are everything they say they are. I use one blade for over a month, easy, and I not only shave my face, I also shave my head.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Excellent product

    • Bowie, MD,
    • Oct 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had this product and it lasted about a year (probably could have made it last longer). Smooth, close shave, definitely well worth the money. I will continue this product for future purchases. We recommend if you have not tried the Micro Touch to just give it a try, what would it hurt? You will not be disappointed! We are real customers and have provided our customer number to be verified! Thanks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Texas,
    • Jun 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The first two days were excellent, but on the third day, everything stopped working. No lights, no vibrator. It became no better than a Dollar General razor. I re-read the instruction to see if I did something wrong. It wasn't submerged in water, just the tip of the blade was rinsed off. If water caused this problem then it is poorly manufactured.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Decent deal!

    • Mississippi,
    • Jun 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought my razor and blades in October of 2016, not from a TV ad or off the internet, but from Dollar General for $10 bucks plus tax! They were marked down for some pre-Christmas sale, I think, but, while I will say I've had better shaves, I don't think I've ever had blades last me this long! This is June 13th of 2018 now, so I have been using these 12 cartridges for just over 20 months, and if I pushed it I could go at least two more on this last cartridge! Almost two years for 10 bucks was a damn good deal if you ask me!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Best Blade on the Market

    • Lays Vegas, Nevada,
    • Jun 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using these blades for over a year and I confirm they are the best on the market. I am almost 77 years old and I have tried every razor and every blade ever manufactured. They will last longer and shave smoother than Gillette, Schick, Harry's or Dollar. Do not waste any more money on the rest of them when MicroTouch is the best.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 157

Write a Review for MicroTouch Tough Blade!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review