About MicroTouch Tough Blade

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Dec 18, 2014

Endorsed by Brett Favre, MicroTouch Tough Blade is a German-engineered razor that’s guaranteed to give you the close, clean, comfortable shave you want for an entire year, at a much lower price than the competition.

In order to accomplish this, the MicroTouch Tough Blade is claimed to combine 3 perfectly angled German stainless steel blades with a micro-thin non-stick surface. This way, the first blade will work to lift, the second blade to cut, and the third to finish for a perfect shave. The MicroTouch Tough Blade is even claimed to shave comfortably at any angle, and to be great for sensitive skin.

As a man, you understand how expensive replacement razors can be, and are always looking for something to simplify your daily routine, so the MicroTouch Tough Blade is definitely a compelling concept. Now, you’re here on HighYa to find out if it’s worth your hard earned money. So is it? Consider the following before placing your order:

What You’ll Get with Your MicroTouch Tough Blade Order

Based on the product’s name alone, you could be forgiven for thinking that the MicroTouch Tough Blade is a single razor cartridge that lasts up to a year. However, the truth is that the MicroTouch Tough Blade is a complete system that’s made up of 3 (or 4) parts:

  • The MicroTouch Tough Blade handle
  • 12 replacement razor cartridges, which attach directly to the handle when it’s time to replace
  • The MicroTouch Trimmer
  • Stand (optional – more about this in a moment)

In other words, what you’ll be receiving with your MicroTouch Tough Blade order is not some revolutionary product that lasts 12 times longer than the competition. It’s simply a handle and replacement razors, similar to what you’d find with subscription razor clubs such as 800Razors.com, Dollar Shave Club, and ShaveMOB.

Is There Anything Unique About MicroTouch Tough Blade?

According to the product’s commercial, the MicroTouch Tough Blade’s 3-tiered razors are claimed to lift, cut, and finish for a perfect shave each and every time. However, this works identically to 3-blade razors from any other manufacturer, so there doesn’t appear to be anything unique from this perspective. Also, although MicroTouch Tough Blade is claimed to be made from German stainless steel, outside of golf clubs, there doesn’t appear to be anything that is distinct about stainless steel manufactured in Germany.

On the other hand, if MicroTouch Tough Blade’s razors work as well as mainstream manufacturers but at a much less expensive price, this may be noteworthy in and of itself.

Will the MicroTouch Tough Blade Really Last a Year?

Since the MicroTouch Tough Blade system comes with 12 replacement razor cartridges, assuming you use one cartridge per month, it will last you a total of 12 months. However, if you’ve been shaving for any length of time, you know that how long a razor lasts depends on a wide variety of factors, including how often you shave, the coverage of your facial hair, the coarseness of your stubble, and more. As such, a razor cartridge may comfortably last 2-3 weeks for one person, while lasting less than a week for another.

Clearly, another primary factor related to how long a razor lasts is its quality, although without knowing where these razors are sourced from, it’s impossible to know how this relates to MicroTouch Tough Blade. MicroTouch Tough Blade is also a very new product, so there were no online customer reviews available at the time of our research to gauge overall satisfaction levels.

MicroTouch Tough Blade’s Manufacturer

Even though there weren’t any online consumer reviews for MicroTouch Tough Blade, we did learn that it’s manufactured by Idea Village, an up-and-coming player in the ASOTV industry. This company also makes many other popular “As Seen on TV” products, including Yes! by Finishing Touch, Yoshi Grill and Bake, and the Micro One Touch Razor.

Among dozens of HighYa reader reviews for these products, they have an average rating of 2.5 stars, with the most common complaint referencing poor quality products that don’t work as advertised—specifically, that their razors are thin, provide an uneven shave, and have a tendency to cut. The second most common complaint appears to reference the company’s poor customer service; and in some instances, very poor. This includes:

  • Orders being placed without the customer’s permission.
  • Difficulty cancelling orders after they’ve been placed, but before they’ve been shipped.
  • Receiving unwanted items in orders and being charged accordingly.
  • Difficulty obtaining refunds.

Granted, this doesn’t necessarily mean you’ll experience the same with MicroTouch Tough Blade.

As a company, Idea Village holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite having 150 closed complaints (as of 12/17/14), many of which reference the concerns noted above.

MicroTouch Tough Blade Pricing and Refund Policy

The MicroTouch Tough Blade is priced at $19.99 plus $7.99 S&H. You’ll also be able to purchase the Deluxe model for an additional $9.99, which includes a stand, 6 additional cartridges, and a 2-year warranty. Ultimately, this will bring your total to $37.97.

Whichever model you choose, you’ll also receive a bonus MicroTouch Trimmer for precise grooming around nose, eyebrows, neck, and sideburns.

MicroTouch Tough Blade comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. In order to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 877-833-7685.

Finally, keep in mind that placing an order on the MicroTouch Tough Blade website will automatically bind you to an arbitration agreement, which means that you’ll be waiving your right to a jury trial or to becoming part of a class action lawsuit.

Can MicroTouch Tough Blade Make Life Easier and Save You Money?

While $20 for 12 razors certainly sounds like a deal, the value you’ll receive depends on numerous factors, including the quality of the razors and how often they’ll be used. Is it possible to get this many razors at such an inexpensive price? Clearly. Is it reasonable to assume that they’ll be of high quality? Perhaps not.

And while it’s positive that MicroTouch Tough Blade comes with a 30-day refund policy, by the time you ship your razors back to the manufacturer, you could be out $10 or more just for giving the product a try.

With this in mind, because the company’s other product, the MicroTouch One Razor, is currently available through brick-and-mortar retailers such as Walmart and Target, you might want to wait until this occurs with the MicroTouch Tough Blade as well.


Read 157 MicroTouch Tough Blade Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 53 4 star: 6 3 star: 4 2 star: 12 1 star:  82
Bottom Line: 40% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 157
Sort reviews by:

  • 77 out 80 people found this review helpful

    The product is not as advertised.

    • durango co.,
    • Jan 19, 2015

    I had trouble with the site while ordering and was charged for two orders. When trying to contact customer service, I was met with nothing but a buzzing signal, which I believe is avoiding the customer. A reputable company does not resort to this kind of behavior.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 69 out 71 people found this review helpful

    Sent a double order

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jan 24, 2015

    130 dollars for a double order that sells for $19.99 which I only ordered one of. The shipping costs out of sight and they must be coming from China. I must of been in a coma when purchasing this but it's okay, I will take the loss for my stupidity. I will donate them to the homeless shelter. Brett Favre, wake up and get away from these guys because your reputation is at stake. Oh, and the call for 100 gallon of gas for free, what a sham.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 54 out 56 people found this review helpful

    Product not received

    • Tennessee,
    • Feb 4, 2015

    I ordered and paid $27.98 for this product over two months ago and have not received it or any other information. The phone number they list has a constant busy tone and no other means of contacting them are provided. I did receive an email with my order number that said my order was completed. Apparently, this means they now have my money, end of story.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 50 out 50 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware.

    • New Jersey,
    • Aug 9, 2015

    Well, after a four week wait the razor and blades finally came in the mail. I got these with free shipping and the commercial talking points made sense. I was intrigued by the free shipping, so, I bit the bullet.

    First, let me say I did my order over the phone. It is all computer generated voice and keypad prompts. You would think the ordering process would take no more than a minute or two. Not. They attempt to get you to purchase magazines, cheap gasoline, Vegas trips, everything but the kitchen sink. I kid you not, it took me somewhere in the neighborhood of fifteen minutes declining the offers before I actually completed the order. Pure junk.

    I felt if they got Farve to pitch these razors, he'd at least have tried them himself. Can't say if he did or didn't. But, these are in the quality neighborhood of cheap razer disposables. Good in a pinch but lack in everything else. I don't consider myself to have a heavy coarse beard, but more of the medium type would best describe it. The first shave was decent. The second wasn't so good with me having to go over my entire face again to get close. And, the third shave found me breaking out a "new" blade, because there were so many uncut areas that I looked as if I shaved in the dark.

    I don't plan to send these back due to the hassle and cost. I'll keep them around to use in a pinch. That would be about that though.

    While Farve had a sterling reputation as a quasi ambassador for football his rep as a shill for these razors leaves a lot to be desired. It isn't likely I'd ever buy another product he endorsed.

    Wished I'd have seen these reviews before I called my order in. Could have saved me some time and money. Bottom line; you get what you pay for. These are no better than low grade disposables. Save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 46 out 47 people found this review helpful

    Never received

    • Zanesville, OH,
    • Feb 11, 2015

    I Paid for the Tough Blade but have not received anything yet. This appears to be a rip off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 46 out 47 people found this review helpful

    Disgusting customer service

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Jul 31, 2015

    I read the reviews and ignored them. Stupid me. 

    Their computer tried to up-sell me, cross sell with free trials, magazines, free trips to Florida, Las Vegas and Wine country in California, free money. I gave my credit card and they have my numbers. No product ever received. Total scam. For Brett Favre to put his name on this crap is disgusting.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 46 out 48 people found this review helpful

    Letting people know about the scam

    • Sparta, WI,
    • Jun 1, 2015

    This razor is a scam! When I ordered them they asked if I wanted a years supply. What they don't tell you is that is another $19.99 and $24.95 for shipping and handling. When I called and complained about the $84.95 charge on my card they said the only thing they would do is knock off $6.00. I decided to try razors and after three shaves the blade was dull. When I returned them they credited my card for $19.99. B.S.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 43 out 47 people found this review helpful

    Tough Blade

    • California,
    • Jul 31, 2015

    Ordered $37.00 worth plus rush shipping. Haven't received it yet. If not received by Tuesday 02/27/25, I will file with BB and see how Mr. Farve will react.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 39 out 40 people found this review helpful

    So sad and pathetic.

    • Mustang Island, TX,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    I ordered two of these Tough Blades. I ordered the first one on January for my grandson's birthday. His birthday was the 16th. It never came. I also ordered one for my hubby the same day but it never came. I received it around February 1st.

    Later, a phone call from someone pitching a "real deal" on gasoline for nine dollars a month, debited directly from my credit card. My response was, "How dare you lift my credit card number from a purchase I made online to pitch a sale. Do not charge anything to my credit card."

    On February 17th, there is a debit for $27 on my bank account yet no product received. I intend to change my credit card number now to prevent those crooks from stealing from my account. I should have known better. Brett Favre must have fallen on hard times so it's sad to think I saw this advertisement on The Blaze.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 35 out 37 people found this review helpful

    I Was Cheated

    • Crossett AR,
    • Jul 2, 2015

    The ad said the price was $19.95 + $7.95 S&H. When I got my final bill it was $50.96.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 34 out 42 people found this review helpful

    I didn't order. They called, and I denied the product. It arrived at my residence anyway.

    • Ventura County, CA,
    • Jun 21, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I didn't order this item, I only called to inquire. Later, they called back, and I immediately declined the product after they asked me to confirm my CC number. I refused to give any information out to a random, (non-listed, unknown caller ID), incoming call. Anyway, it arrived at my residence. The sealed package is being returned unopened to, “RETURN TO SENDER”, (Micro Touch Toughblade, 400 Return Road, Wallingford, CT, 06494).

    This company needs a meeting with the US Postmaster, Federal Trade Commission, Federal Bureau of Investigation, and be indicted for fraud, dishonesty and shipping unwanted and refused goods across state lines. I’m in the process of reporting this to all the federal agencies listed, and expect a response soon. In any circumstance like this: DO NOT OPEN the sealed package, and write, “RETURN TO SENDER” on the received package.

    WARNING: Get and use incoming caller ID. It may cost a few dollars each month with your service provider, but it’s somewhat of a good way to verify the validity of the incoming call. DO NOT EVER, in any circumstance, give your financial information to a random, unlisted, or unrecognized incoming call. If you can verify the incoming call, DO NOT use a debit card, or bank account number. Only a credit card number, as the charge, in most cases will be backed by the major credit card companies listed on your card. Better yet, have the vendor bill you, so you can verify what you’re paying for.

    Simply stated, you’re almost guaranteed to pay for the consequences later, if you don’t follow these simple recommendations I’ve listed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 157

Write a Review for MicroTouch Tough Blade!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review