• 54 Customer Reviews
  • 35% Recommend This Product
2.4 out of 5
5 star: 29% 4 star: 5% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 5% 1 star: 59%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Love it...until now

    • By Al M.,
    • Grand Junction, CO,
    • May 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased this product years ago and it was perfect for my usage. I suppose I actually started vehicles 8 to 10 times without any problems until today. My van battery was dead so I hooked up my MiniMax and got it started after a few attempts turning the key off and on. It started the van and when I went to unhook it from my battery, to my surprise, the unit was split in half and the internal battery was swollen like a small balloon. I have had it inside a cool room for about an hour and it is still swollen. I got online to read about problems and found this site. I loved this device and will not do without one. Not sure if I will ever buy another MiniMax but I will buy another one just for having it for emergencies. I tried contacting a company that handles MiniMax but no luck as of yet. Until today, I would have give a 5-star rating. I have recommended this product to many friends in the past but will no longer do so. I am lucky it did not explode.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Complete trash

    • By Dan M.,
    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Apr 18, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Upon first use, both alligator clamps to go to the battery completely broke. Cheap plastic, completely unusable now. Never even had an opportunity to try to start the car. Buyer beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fantastic product

    • By Judy L.,
    • Illinois,
    • Jan 24, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My husband brought the MiniMax car charger about 6 years ago. It was in the trunk of my car as I never had to use it. I am now on my own and after an extended vacation, my car battery was totally dead. I brought the MiniMax in the house to charge it. I was surprised it still had three lights lit but I charged it anyway for about an hour. I took it out to the car, hooked it up, and the car started right away! As far as I'm concerned the product paid for itself that one day! Every woman alone should have one of these!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Does not start truck

    • By Lyle M.,
    • Lake Mary, FL,
    • Jan 2, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had the MiniMax charger 15929KS-DE6263 for a year. Went to put a charge to it and only could get 3 lights out of 4 to light up. I have an F150 truck with a dead battery and the MiniMax DID NOT start my truck. Could not get and light out of the MiniMax. It does ok to charge my iPad. So do not depend on this to start your vehicle.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • True everything

    • By Tonya M.,
    • Martinsville, VA,
    • Dec 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This product is true advertisement and a true, no fake or scam here. It cranked my son's girlfriend's Jeep with the second crank. My son wanted to know would I give it to him. I told him no, you gotta buy your own. I enjoy putting out great reviews. I mainly depend on people's reviews before I purchase. And charging phones, this MiniMax is awesome. Phone on 5%. It jumps on about 20%. It's handy and will be a great keeper to all that can keep it in top shape. Thank you MiniMax sellers. Great buy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great device

    • By Tracey M.,
    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Nov 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've used it 3 times. My neighbor's car was dead and it wouldn't start at all. I gave it to him to try and his car fired up, now he wants one. I had to use it on my Miata as well, with 0 issues. Zero complaints so far.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Really a remarkable investment truly!

    • By William M.,
    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Oct 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I don’t know why they are only rated 2 to 3 stars. When in reality they should be rated at 4 stars or better because I have tested and used mine on numerous cars one after another just like the video shows!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Junk

    • By Tim M.,
    • Medford, OR,
    • Oct 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My first one worked once. Customer service was great and replaced, what I thought was a defective product. The new replacement, charged fully one time, I used it once, will not charge beyond two bars. This product is junk. Now selling for $29.00, and not worth even that. Stay away from this product, you have been warned!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • DANGEROUS - do not buy!

    • By Crystal G.,
    • Texas,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We loved our MiniMax charger, UNTIL IT EXPLODED! We were using it as per instructions when the battery popped, sending pieces flying. Now I cannot find any working customer service contacts to report the incident to. May seem like a dream product, but I assure you it is a nightmare!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Please don’t buy this device.

    • By Montgomery F.,
    • Long Beach, CA,
    • Jan 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I used the MiniMax three times and it worked perfectly. After not using it for an extended period of time, it wouldn’t charge, much less hold a charge. I notice from the reviews that I am not the only one who experienced this problem. Don’t buy this device. It only works well in the commercials. You will waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • BUYER BEWARE - dangerous product!

    • By Rachelle L.,
    • Boston, MA,
    • Dec 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased this item for my grandfather for an Xmas gift thinking it would be nice and easy to use and a great way to keep him safe or get him and or his vehicle to a safe location if his battery should die. He used it 3 times and upon the 4th time, I was with him and we attached the cables, and as he pushed the button on the white box that was in his hands to charge up the car battery, the product exploded, the box shattered and the battery pack blew up like a balloon while hot in his hands. Then as it cooled, it went back to a normal size somewhat, but he suffered burns on his hands! We are so grateful he is ok as this story could have been alit worse, this product is no joke! It was intended to help keep him safe! This story really happened, so please take it into consideration if purchasing this product!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Love the MiniMax!

    • By Sharon R.,
    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Jun 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've had my MiniMax for close to two years. My son had to use it once. He looked at it and didn't believe it would work. He loved it. It started the car with one turn.

    Last year I bought him one for his birthday, he was one happy camper. But these new ones that are out are black and do more. The only thing is there was no manual.

    I actually bought myself another one, the new bigger one, so now I have two. Since then I've helped a friend start his motorcycle and he loved it, and that night he was online checking them out.

    They definitely do work.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Dishonest sales pitch for a dodgy product

    • By Tim R.,
    • Gosnells, Western Australia,
    • May 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased three. One for my son and one for my daughter and one for myself.

    I had never found a time when I needed to use it to start either of our cars. A friend found himself with a flat battery in his Merc to which I, of course, said "no problem" and gave him my fully charged MiniMax.

    We connected it and nothing. I thought that the leads on my unit might be faulty and drove to my daughter's house to borrow hers, same thing - red and green lights flashing and no output.

    I contacted the local agent who basically said "So sad, too bad, nevermind. Goodbye."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • MiniMax

    Overall Experience:

    I bought this as a Christmas gift for my son as his car's battery would die on him. This was worth the money. He has used it since I bought it for him. We traded cars as he was doing a long trip. He showed me how to connect the cables to his battery what he did not say is to make sure the cables plug to the machine is pushed in correctly as it would not work. Once I figured out that I had not pushed the cord in full, it worked right away.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Do not purchase!

    • By Tanya Matthews,
    • Victoria, Australia,
    • Jan 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My mother purchased this item as a gift in case our cat batteries failed. It was fully charged and left in the vehicle until we needed it. It did not work, and then it failed to charge on mains power. It's completely dead.

    They're a waste of money. Don't purchase one. I will never recommend this company and its products. My mother is very upset that she wasted her hard earned cash on a dud product.

    To add insult to injury, their after sales support and refund process is a disgrace. Stay well away from this company and its products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Started to burn in my hand

    Overall Experience:

    I tried to use it this morning, 1/10/2018. I connected the MiniMax to the truck, switched it on, and the thing started to pop and was smoking in my hands. I drop it and move away. Later I picked it up it smelled bad, and I could see that it had melted from the inside.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible

    Overall Experience:

    Charged it, left it in my trunk, go to use it and it's dead. Go to charge it, and it won't charge! Just very disappointed and embarrassed. I told people if you need I jump, but here I am. I didn't want to use jumper cables on my car because I was afraid of messing up my computer on the car!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Can't do without it

    • By Caramel,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Oct 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought the MiniMax as a safety precaution in case my battery died. Well, I'm glad I did. I drive an SUV, and it shuts off whenever I leave the lights on, key in the ignition, etc. I am so glad I had this gadget. All I had to do was place both cables on the battery for one second, turn the car on, and vroooooom! My friend's car had been unused for over a year, and the MiniMax was able to boost the battery. I have no complaints about this product, and I couldn't do without it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Totally not worth buying, waste of money

    • By Rochelle,
    • South Auckland, Papakura, New Zealand,
    • Oct 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This product does not work for jump-starting cars. I have 5 cars that needed a jump-start and it totally didn't work. I wasted my money on this MiniMax; they're a rip-off. You totally cannot even jump-start a car with no battery as it says. False advertising.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • MiniMax stopped charging after 1.5 years

    • By Rob Mc Millan,
    • Toronto, Canada,
    • Oct 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had the MiniMax for recharging cell phone when suddenly it stopped charging. I never jumped a car but always wanted to test its performance. Crap!

    Even my battery packs for the phone still working after 4 years.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    Overall Experience:

    Bought this item in June 2016. It does not work.You need a jump, this will not do it. The first use was in October 2017 and it did not start a Passat vehicle. The second time used was in March 2017 and it did not start a Ford Focus. The third time used was in May 2017 and it did not start a Subaru. I called them back and they said maybe it will charge your phone or tablet. Total scam! Do not buy.

    You must give a rating or the review will not be accepted. Screw MiniMax.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • BS product

    • By Jean Johnson,
    • Denver, Colorado,
    • Jul 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I used the product about three times, all times it had a full charge in the MiniMax. By the fourth time, it wouldn't even turn my engine over. Don't believe the commercials because they're full of crap and this item is a piece of crap!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad product, total ripoff

    • By Greg Quinn,
    • California,
    • Jul 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought a MiniMax to ensure my daughter was never stranded due to a dead battery in her Jeep. The first time I tried to use it, it didn't work. Not even close. I had to call a tow truck for the car. Since it didn't work, I put it aside and tried to charge it today thinking it may actually work. It won't even charge now. It is kind of hard to jump start a car with a product that won't even charge itself. Maybe it will charge a phone or an iPad, but it absolutely will not jump start a car.

    Total ripoff. Waste of money, and good luck getting a response from customer service. Buy at your own risk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst product ever

    Overall Experience:

    I bought the MiniMax charger for an emergency in case my car won't start. When I needed it to start my car, it did not work. It did not even spark when you touch both cables. It does not work, and I would not recommend it to my enemy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • MiniMax - great product

    Overall Experience:

    My wife's sister's car was dead for over a week and could not start. I brought my MiniMax, and it started right way with no problem. I love this device.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Need a new one

    Overall Experience:

    I had nothing but trouble with it. The first cable went bad and now the unit won't do anything but come on. I tried to get ahold of them but you can't get a hold of them to get it fixed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Works great

    • By Mark,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Apr 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Our student left the lights and the climate system on (yes, left keys in the car!). The battery was dead. We used MiniMax, and the Jeep Patriot started right up.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 54

Write a Review for MiniMax!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
MiniMax Reviews