Modsy Reviews

Modsy

Overall Rating

1.1

14 Customer Reviews

Summary

Modsy is an online interior designing service that allows you to take pictures of your rooms and 3D renders them and provides you with furniture options to place around your room. Learn what customers are saying about this service.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.1 Stars out of 14 Reviews
5 Star:0% 4 Star:0% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:14% 1 Star:85%
0% Recommend This Service
Start your review of Modsy:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Sep 30, 2020

Terrible service on ordering and delivery

By Adrienne C., Massachusetts, Verified Reviewer

The design for my room was lovely and I received it quickly in mid-June. I immediately ordered a number of items through them, including a sofa and chair made by their own furniture company, Ravine Home. It stayed 15 days to deliver. 13 weeks later, I’m still waiting. I’ve tried and tried to get them to inquire with their own subsidiary and get no updates on when or if my furniture may arrive or how to coordinate delivery. They cannot confirm with the subsidiary that the furniture has been produced or shipped. I’m beginning to think it’s a fraud and a scam. I’ve been in contact with my credit card company and will file a claim if we get to the 20-week point. Would not recommend ordering anything through them to anyone ever.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Designs were interesting and reflected my taste

No phone number to contact for order issues

Failure to communicate updates on order

Lies about delivery time estimates

Posted on Sep 27, 2020

Unbelievably bad service

By P W., San Diego, CA, Verified Reviewer

I guess nothing changed. I did a mistake of trying Modsy. There is no communication, no response on the project, I cannot even see what I submitted. I didn’t expect it to be so bad. How are they still in business or not about to close?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

No response or contact number of my designer

Slow

More expensive than other online services

Posted on Sep 16, 2020

Awful

By Matt F., Florida, Verified Reviewer

We used Modsy’s design services. They were slow, but fine I guess. We didn’t really end up using many of their suggestions other than a sofa. The sofa was made by their brand Ravine Home. We ordered and were told it would ship in 15 days. Their website still says sofas ship in 15 days. It’s been THREE MONTHS and we still don’t have a sofa. Repeated attempts to contact Modsy only got me "sorry" and "we’ll see what we can do". They also went as far as to tell me that they were not able to communicate with the factory that makes THEIR BRAND. Terrible, awful, avoid at all costs! I still don’t have my sofa.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Their incompetence

Their lies

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Aug 3, 2020

Misleading promises, stay away

By Mary R., Chicago, IL, Verified Reviewer

Modsy relies on misleading promises to get customers. In the Luxe package, the advertised communication with a designer by phone calls meant ONE phone call, after which my designer blocked her calendar for a month. Finally, I received the promised 2 designs, which meant ONE design with 2 different colored accent walls. The design also had nothing to do with all the homework the designer assigned to me; she admitted she hadn't read my notes. My next design was unworkable and dangerous - with the designer's movement of furniture, the door wouldn't open, a ladder she described as "functional" was described by the manufacturer as "not to be stood upon". When I had trouble operating the online design tool, I was sent a link in which even the Modsy moderator couldn't make the tool function. The disappointments go on and on. If you are considering this company, better throw your money out the window and save hours of aggravation and disappointment.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

At best, misleading promises; at worst a scam

Technology difficult/impossible to operate

No technical support

Designs based on selling products, not customer request

Posted on Jul 31, 2020

Take your money somewhere else!

By Samia N., Washington DC, Verified Reviewer

I was referred to them by CB2. I’m surprised that they are still around. There is no customer service number. The "design" took two weeks and it wasn’t even a design. She just put a ton of furniture in the small living room that I have. There was no room to even open the front entrance! The "promo code" didn't even work and when I contacted them about it they said that I had to spend a minimum of $1500 to get the discount. I spent $1400! They still didn’t honor it. When I finally bought the items, which none were what the designer picked out, the sale price was wrong, the shipping charges became twice! The furniture won’t be delivered for another two months and when I asked to cancel the order, no response at all! Don’t waste your money there like I did. They won’t be around for too long with their horrible service. Take your money somewhere else.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Posted on Dec 20, 2019

Terrible fulfillment systems

By Gary G., USA, Verified Reviewer

The design service from Modsy was reasonable enough. The designer was mostly responsive and the designs certainly better than I might have come up with on my own. I subsequently placed an order for a piece of furniture listed on the site as being "in stock." The paperwork then reflected a five-week delivery window which I assumed was a typo for an in-stock item. When I inquired of Modsy, they said they could not get a response from their vendor. Eventually, it became clear that 5 weeks is exactly what was meant. Apparently in-stock could mean "in production" or "in shipment" from somewhere overseas on a very slow boat. Five weeks have expired and I finally heard from the delivery service. The item will arrive today in Seattle. I am not in Seattle. It will be another 9 days before they have a truck able to bring the unit to me. Sheesh. This is ridiculous. The same item was carried by a local retailer and for a similar price. I should just have gone there and suggest you might want to do the same.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 10, 2019

Don’t waste your time or money

By Katie R., Colorado, Verified Reviewer

The designer I have been working with has been wonderful. She has been very good about getting back to me in a timely manner and has created beautiful designs. However, the ordering process through Modsy is painfully frustrating and completely ridiculous. They charge a fee every time you place an order, do not always reflect the current discounts from their vendors and take FOREVER to respond. Like several days with me putting in multiple calls, emails and leaving messages. Their customer service is horrible. Don’t waste your time or money. It’s a great concept but their execution is truly horrible.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 19, 2019

Modsy is a waste of money and time!

By Sidney S., Salt Lake City, UT, Verified Reviewer

I love interior design and technology so I decided to try all three sites mentioned here (Modsy, Decorilla, and Havenly) for each of my different rooms because I couldn't decide! Between the three, I have to say Modsy was my least favorite. While all three sites had their pros and cons I found Modsy to be a very frustrating process. My designer was professional and responsive, however, I felt like my design had been a copy and paste type of situation. I don’t think scale is really considered as both the sofa and coffee table chosen for my living room were way too big. While it was nice to receive two designs from one designer there wasn’t much variation. A few of the major pieces were swapped out with something slightly different, but overall they were too similar (this was a similar case with Havenly too). I wanted to see two different designs...not two versions of the same design. When I had a room designed by Decorilla two different designers submitted competing concepts of my room and each had a different perspective and I could merge the different ideas together when I was refining the design with my designer. It felt very tailored to me.

The ordering process is perhaps the most frustrating part of it all. My ordering experience with Havenly and Decorilla was great. Decorilla extends their designer discounts, which saved a ton of money in the end. I felt like I didn’t have to lift a finger when ordering. Just like Havenly, Modsy matches the best prices online, but doesn't beat them. Havenly was easy when I used them, so I decided to try to order though Modsy as well and I wish that I didn't. After the fact, I found a better deal online myself anyway and I wouldn’t have had to pay their $20 ordering fee. Havenly and Decorilla offer their ordering service for free, but Decorilla passes on their trade discounts. With Modsy, I ended up feeling like I paid a company for no reason and ended up doing all the work myself. I have to say Decorilla had much more realistic 3D renderings than Modsy and Havenly does 2D concepts instead of 3D, but it's still better than Modsy. Do your research and read the reviews beforehand. I wish I had.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 11, 2019

Awful designs, save your money

By Lisa N., Florida, Verified Reviewer

I was so excited to find this service that I purchased 3 room designs at once. After more than the advertised 10 days delivery, I received an awful looking design that was nothing what I had asked for. They basically put a bunch of furniture together that doesn’t even match with the hopes that you will buy it and they get a commission for it.

If you want to still give it a try, just go ahead and purchase their $50 package to try it out. You’ll regret it!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 7, 2019

Don’t buy from them!

By Aixa R., Union, NJ, Verified Reviewer

I had a good experience with my designer and got a lot of great ideas. However, the ordering process was a nightmare from there on. Absolutely everything they recommended to me was available cheaper on other websites and they only give you one day to challenge the price. In the end, I ended up paying over $1000 more than if I had simply purchased all the same items myself. After several emails, they have yet to address my concerns. The price match is a joke and the ordering staff is s bunch of different people who drop the ball. I had to fight for every credit and eventually they just never bothered to reply.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 10, 2019

Great design process, but don't buy furniture from them!

By Anna M., Missouri, Verified Reviewer

We were very happy with the entire design process, felt that the price for the design package was helpful to see some layout ideas, and the 3D rendition was nice. But that's the only utility of Modsy. I do NOT recommend purchasing furniture or decor from them. You have no idea when something will arrive at the time of placing the order. They advertise a price match policy, but it's only the day of the purchase, compared to retailers who often have a 14-day price match. They also charge a fee for an order "concierge" who is supposed to update you on when things ship, and reach out to retailers on your behalf. But after reaching out to them several times about the same item(s), wondering when everything will ship, and not getting a response besides "it's still within the order delivery timeframe" - the same timeframe with a range of 30 days that you did not know when you placed the order - this is NOT helpful information. No one should have to sit around and wait and hope furniture will be delivered "soon" after shelling out thousands of dollars. It's much better to get some design ideas from Modsy, and then buy the furniture directly from the retailers. I spent over $10K in furniture and decor in the past month from Modsy, and still waiting on key furniture pieces to arrive. It's been a nightmare, and I'm regretting the whole experience.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 3, 2019

Modsy is a waste of time

By Amy P., New York, Verified Reviewer

Modsy is not for everyone. After taking a lot of time to fill out the quiz in detail, send pictures and measurements of my room, and a Pinterest board with my inspiration, I waited almost 2 weeks to get my initial concepts. I wasn't able to update my questionnaire with any more items I found and the designer came back with two concepts that were slightly different from each other, but I didn't really like any of them. I was asked to give feedback or revise them myself, but I didn't want to as that would require a lot of time as I didn't like much on them. Anyhow, I put in the time as suggested and gave very detailed feedback. The designer did not listen to my feedback and put in too much furniture that I don't think would even fit in the space. Their furniture discounts weren't great and I found the same deals online myself, but Modsy charges a $20 ordering fee for their concierge service, which was also disappointing as I didn't feel like I was saving money that way. To make a long story short, I feel like I wasted a lot of time and energy to get a design that I didn't like. The designer seemed inexperienced and I guess I should have read the reviews on Glassdoor first because designers only get paid $30/room that they design. Getting something personal, that is not a re-used design, would be hard in that time I imagine. It's a great concept and I was excited to try it, but overall I don't think it's executed very well, unfortunately.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 19, 2019

Terrible waste of money

By Derrick K., New York, NY, Verified Reviewer

I asked for an art deco look and one look after another was just full clutter and contemporary bull. You can tell these things are just being thrown together by people who are paid to not care.

Also, Modsy claims to give you a "money back guarantee". False advertisings.

I've been trying to get my money back for MONTHS and they refuse.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 5, 2019

Thumbs down, back end purchasing

By Benjamin S., Pennsylvania, Verified Reviewer

The whole delivery process is just so clunky. First, I have items delivered with no prior notification even though my contact information is available. Now, on the supposedly white glove service, which is more expensive than other services, cannot be delivered on a Saturday! This means I have to take off of work to sit and wait for a delivery which will cost me more money and time! How can you have white glove delivery that does not deliver on Saturday? The customer should be informed of these issues that can and will happen on the back end of your process. This is really disappointing and I feel like I should have purchased and sourced all of the items in my design directly at least in this way I would have had more control of the process. Simply disappointed with the purchasing and delivery aspects of your services!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted
Showing 1-14 of 14

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.