Read 202 MoneyLion Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 151 4 star: 12 3 star: 1 2 star: 4 1 star:  34
Bottom Line: 79% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 202
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    MoneyLion helps me improve my credit score and credit status

    • By Ricky H.,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Feb 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    In July 2017 my credit score was 459 and here it is February of 2019 and my credit score is a 652. That's an improvement up 200 points. MoneyLion Plus started me out with a $500 loan, which they reported to the credit bureaus every three months, which helps get a credit card, which I use. Good enough so I could get a 2013 Kia Optima. All this in 20 months so this is not a scam, anybody can do it.

    Thanks MoneyLion Plus.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Golden

    • By Jamie L.,
    • Collierville, TN,
    • Feb 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    MoneyLion has helped me to save money, has held me accountable, and helped me get ahead with a loan at a good rate to help me raise my credit score. MoneyLion has kept me informed on credit tips, directed me toward a positive financial future, and has a great checking account!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 32 out 34 people found this review helpful

    It works as advertised! But people need to know what they sign up for!

    • By Morgan G.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So let me start off by saying that I'm terrible at saving money and also have the ugly credit score of 615 from my college days. All the collections and bad marks are going to drop off soon and I figured MoneyLion would be a good way to help my score even more. In the beginning, I only got this account to get the $500 loan, but the investment account is a huge plus.

    So here's the part where people seem to be confused about. When you join MoneyLion Plus, there's a $79 fee per month, BUT $50 of that going directly into your investment account AND if you log into the app every day, you get $1. So that means that you are paying NOTHING. You are still getting charged $79 per month, and it's going into an account that's not immediately liquid, so if you can't afford it, DON'T GET IT.

    The payment, if you get a $500 loan, is completely separate from your membership fee. That an EXTRA $42.86 per month for 12 months. So the total coming out of your account if you get the loan will be $121.86 per month.

    I'm personally using the loan because they report it to the bureaus, and the small interest they charge is worth it for me.

    So is it worth getting a Plus account just to get a $500 loan? No, it's not.

    But the investment account in addition to the loan is completely worth it.

    Also, I saw some people complaining that they couldn't move money out of the investment account. The dollars you see in the account is not all cash, it's a combination of stocks/bonds/cash. So it'll take some business days but you most definitely can move money out, assuming you have no outstanding loans of course.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Great experience

    • By Lorrel C.,
    • Streetsboro, OH,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience with MoneyLion has been very rewarding. It’s always been a struggle for me to save money and keep an eye on my bank accounts. With the help of MoneyLion, I’ve been able to save more than I ever have. My credit score increased the highest it’s ever been, and I just opened the MoneyLion checking and am looking forward to what’s in store!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Payday lender - don't fall for it!

    • By Kyle C.,
    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Nov 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They make you think you're becoming a "member" by providing you with some canned credit tips every day after you accept a $500 loan from them. You will pay a $79 "membership fee" each month in addition to a $42.93 payment on your loan. I received my $500 loan in July, and at the current rate, I will not have it paid off in full until June of 2019, at which point I will have paid them $1219.30!

    STAY AWAY from this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 23 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Hostage situation

    • By Trevice A.,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Nov 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for the service and I thought it was a good idea initially to upgrade my account. I completed the initial investment payment and then the monthly $39.50 fee. I then had a medical issue, and I was no longer going to be able to afford the service. I attempted to cancel via email. They stated I had to call to cancel. I did this and the representative stated, in short, that if I cancel I they would not be making any money. I requested in writing where I was not able to cancel the service. Please note, I do not have an outstanding loan with them. I was told to email the request. I did...crickets. So I call back and speak to Elario. He stated that he would cancel my service. Well, they did not cancel.

    They are wretched. I'm glad that they worked out for others, but all I want is my two payments back and my $25.00 from the investment account and we both walk away. Instead, they are trying to hold my money hostage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Great

    • By Chris D.,
    • Weare, NH,
    • Nov 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’m loving using MoneyLion. It’s simple and the rewards are awesome. Being able to invest and grow my account is great. I would recommend this to family and friends. Being able to get a small loan is amazing as well. It’s a big help this time of year.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Liars

    • By Michael B.,
    • Florida,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    These people are FULL of it. I've paid my loan off, I never missed a payment, never was late, I even paid it off early, but once I requested my investment money back, all I got was the runaround. I've been waiting over a month and still haven't received my money. Do not borrow from them, they are not right. When I call I sit on the phone and all of a sudden it hangs up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    It’s worth checking out

    • By Keith P.,
    • Raleigh, NC,
    • Nov 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I initially downloaded this app, I thought it was going to be just another bank app. What I’ve learned in the period of time I’ve had a MoneyLion account is, this is more than just a banking app. They give great opportunities on loans, rewards, and other financial needs or wants. I recommend this to people who are looking to rebuild their financial situation, get good loan rates, and or have their finances listed in one place for easy and organized access.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great app

    • By Leslie R.,
    • Mississippi,
    • Nov 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Awesome app and a great way to save money. I have been telling everyone about it. The loan option is great with a great way to pay it back easily. It's perfect for people who have trouble saving and trying to work on fixing credit.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 27 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Scam!

    • By Edward K.,
    • Morgantown, WV,
    • Nov 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife stupidly opened an account with these thieves thinking that it would improve her credit score. They didn't do a thing for her other than suck membership fees out of our bank account, causing the account to be overdrawn and me having to pay my hard-earned money to pay the overdrafts and bank fees. This happened twice. She even called them to stop her membership, but today they took TWO membership fees. I went to the bank this morning to close that account. Now I'm going to file an Attorney General consumer complaint. Scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 202

Write a Review for MoneyLion!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review