About My Fun Fish

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Apr 29, 2014

The My Fun Fish Tank is a self-cleaning fish tank that promises to be a perfect, addition to any room; simply add fresh water whenever the tank needs cleaning, and the dirty water is forced out through the attached spout.

At its most basic, My Fun Fish Tank is a clear, round plastic tank that looks about the size of a water pitcher (listed size is 4.5" x 4.5" x 10"), which holds about half a gallon of water. Attached to the tank is a small tube with a spout that runs from the bottom and pokes out near the top.

To use My Fun Fish, first fill with water and fish (neither of which are included), cover the bottom with the included river stones, and adorn with the (optional) decorative kit. Once complete, the manufacturer claims you’ll have created “an incredible water world” that will “captivate your family’s imagination”.

When the tank gets dirty, instead of dumping and cleaning, My Fun Fish is claimed to use “gravity clean technology” to keep it free from cloudy debris. And when you pour in the new water, this “technology” will force the old water through the tube and out the spout, which is claimed to keep water fresh and oxygenated, and (presumably) your fish happy.

But is My Fun Fish really as imaginative as the manufacturer claims? Is it easy to keep clean? Consider the following:

What Is My Fun Fish’s Gravity Technology?

While it certainly looks cool when it’s occurring, the My Fun Fish tank is simply using fluid displacement to flush dirt and debris that’s settled on the bottom through the attached tube, but only once new water is added. In other words, there can only be so much water in the tank at any given time, and once this level is exceeded, the excess water is automatically pushed out.

Will My Fun Fish Work as Claimed?

However, this also means that any debris inside the tank needs to be heavier than the water surrounding it. Otherwise, it won’t sink to the bottom or be flushed out.

As such, you’ll still almost certainly be required to clean your my Fun Fish tank in order to remove floating debris (something a traditional pump and filter would achieve) and to clean the buildup of algae.

What Are Consumers Saying About My Fun Fish?

Since writing our original My Fun Fish review, 24 HighYa readers (as of 6/11/19) have provided feedback on their experiences and rated the tank an average of 2.6 stars. While some customers claimed to have had positive experiences, the most common complaints seem to revolve around failure to work as advertised (doesn’t clean debris adequately, etc.), and poor quality (cracked plastic, fish die soon after placing in the tank, plants can cut fish’s fins, etc.).

On Amazon, My Fun Fish garnered an average 3.4-star rating from more than 700 customers, where the compliments and complaints were similar to those on HighYa.

From a company perspective, My Fun Fish is brought to you by Product Trends, a division of Hampton Direct, Inc., a direct marketing company based in Williston, Vermont. Product Trends held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (as of 6/11/19).

My Fun Fish Pricing, Shipping, and Returns

Editor’s note: At the time of our last update of this page on 6/11/19, it appears that the ASOTV offer is no longer active and this product is now available from Amazon and Walmart for $9.99.

My Fun Fish sells for $14.99 plus $6.95 shipping, bringing your total to $21.94. You’ll also have the option to order the decorative kit at checkout for another $6.95, plus an additional $1 web processing fee, making the total $29.89.

You’ll have 30 days to try My Fun Fish and if it doesn’t turn your room “into an under-water world of discovery” (or for any other reason), you can return it for the initial $14.99, although the company will keep any handling fees and you’ll have to pay to ship it back.

Each My Fun Fish Order Includes:

  • My Fun Fish tank
  • White LED light
  • Riverbed stones
  • Decorative kit with plant, 6 glow-in-the-dark stones and 2 colored LEDs (extra shipping fees)

Bottom Line: Is My Fun Fish Tank Right for Children?

Overall, My Fun Fish seems to be a good idea for parents who want to give their kids a nice fish tank for their room, although there are a few “red flags” we’d like to re-emphasize.

Perhaps the most important of these is the size of the My Fun Fish tank. At 4.5" x 4.5" x 10", it’s not very roomy and seems only large enough to hold one tiny fish and a plant.

Second, whenever shipping/handling fees are close to (or more than) the price of the product, you should realize the manufacturer is still making money off of you, even if you return it.

Finally, the Product Trends’s negative BBB rating lets you know that people have had been very unsatisfied with their products, customer service, or getting their money refunded.

As such, if you want a fish tank for your family, we’d suggest visiting your local pet store.

Pros

  • Self-cleaning
  • Kids love fish

Cons

  • Negative BBB rating of company
  • Small size of tank (4.5" x 4.5" x 10")
  • As Seen On TV products sometimes overstate their benefits

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 24 My Fun Fish Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 5 4 star: 4 3 star: 3 2 star: 0 1 star:  12
Bottom Line: 42% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 24
Sort reviews by:

  • GREAT TANK

    • Calgary, Alberta, Canada,
    • Mar 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Great tank. You can get it at the dollar store for $4, the same quality. Great for goldfish - my goldfish are so super happy in it. The LED light lasts very long, but all you need is a small battery.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    My Fun Fish

    • Texas,
    • Nov 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's a very cool idea. I bought it for myself so my grandkids would have something to see when they come over. It's a great idea and it works just like they said. It's great.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Works fine for us, but...

    • Wisconsin,
    • Jan 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I certainly can't speak for everyone but I'm happy with this fish tank. I bought this for my 4 year old daughter for Christmas. We have a goldfish and we've had an easy time with the tank so far. However we don't follow the directions...let me explain.

    - We change the water every 2-3 days. We use filtered water and do a complete change (and beyond). We run about 3 pitchers full of water through the tank each time we change the water to ensure that we get as much waste out as possible.

    - We feed our fish daily with a variety of foods and only leave as much as she can eat in 5-6 minutes while scooping out the rest. One time we'll give her flakes, another time we'll give her dried meal worms and sometimes floating pellets.

    - When we clean the tank we also use a net to catch as much floating waste as possible. We feel this helps keep the tank cleaner.

    - The only thing that I don't like is that the LED light doesn't last...at all. It goes out after 2 or 3 days so we rarely use it. If we find a suitable replacement light, I'll post a follow up.

    As I said, we have a goldfish so maybe it's different but it works for us and I would recommend the product but before you buy it make sure you read about how to feed and care for the fish that you want. We didn't have a clue that goldfish required different types of foods and that there are some fish foods that carry no nutritional value. Lastly, keep in mind that cleaning the tank once a week just won't do, plan on cleaning it ever 2-3 days.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Cleaning and Conditioning Water

    Everyone needs to realize unconditioned tap water WILL KILL THE FISH. The water either has to be conditioned with a product from a pet store, which works immediately, or rinse out a gallon milk jug with water only 2 or 3 times. Then fill it with your tap water. Leave this out for 24 hours, uncovered to remove the tap water chemicals. Then and only then can it be used or the tank.

    As far as cleaning the water, pour the clean, conditioned water slowly into the tank FROM THE SIDE, this will force the dirty water out as it is supposed to. If it is done from the middle of the tank, all this does is stir the water, not force it through the cleaning tube.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Does not work as advertised!

    • Springfield, MA,
    • Aug 5, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought two of these fish tank for my 5 years old son's two beta fish. I followed the direction exactly as directions said. Both beta fish died within a month. The LED lights worked for about two hours and died. The self cleaning is a joke. You have to wash it like any other small tank. I bought two more beta fish, changed the plastic plant provide to a softened plastic plant, and I changed the small rocks to bigger glass rocks. My son's two new beta fish are doing fine now. Not worth the money at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Bye, bye fish

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Aug 4, 2015

    The tank is small and the fish didn't even have room to turn around. I think pouring water in would cause brain damage for the fish. Did not work well. Sorry.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 15 people found this review helpful

    I am sorry to see all the negative ratings. They are great tanks.

    First, I must say that the negative reviews I read seemed to have some negative experiences that aren't the norm. I have two of these tanks and just purchased two more. They are perfect for betta fish because they don't need too much food and you don't overfeed them and have extra waste otherwise you'll kill them. They also only require 1/2 c. of water to live or even less. The tank instructions say to flush the tanks once a week at most, not every couple of days as I read in a review. Because they are so easy to clean, you don't have to worry so much about algae getting out of control and they are very manageable. It's convenient especially for me who can't lift a lot of weight.

    My betta fish are very happy, my son is happy and were adding two more to the family. I would recommend these to any parent for young children and enjoy the smiles on their faces. You can put two tanks next to each other and watch the betta go after each other. It's hilarious.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 19 people found this review helpful

    The fish will die

    • Rhode Island,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    I had bought two of these and placed one male Betta in each. I followed the directions perfectly, conditioned the water, bought live fish tank plants, and did an 80% water change every other day. This, apparently, was not enough. Both fish eventually died. The first one, then about a month later, the other. They had developed a whitish mucus on their fins and died shortly after, regardless of any intervention I tried. Do not buy this tank. I don't know anyone who had a fish live longer than three months in one of these tanks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Great Product

    • Jul 13, 2015

    I am 27 years old, and this is this is the first fish I have ever had. We bought a male Betta Fish for my son because his Aunt and Uncle purchased this tank for Christmas. I thought why not give it a shot? This fish went straight from the pet store and into this tank. He seems to like his environment. We do have two plants in there, though I do agree the tank is not very big. Only one fish will fit in this tank. I love the self cleaning technique. I do make sure not to pour the water in too quickly because the pressure of the water does cause him to sink towards to bottom. I would highly recommend this product to any first time fish owners.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Be careful

    • Jul 10, 2015

    I had a betta who was about 18 months old. He lived in a glass bowl for most of his life, but we decided to try out the My Fun Fish. I'm not blaming the tank because I do not know for sure what happened, but he died within two days. Please be careful if you purchase one of these tanks, I hope this keeps someone else from making the same mistake I did.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Yes it really works. But...

    • Plainsboro, NJ,
    • Jul 8, 2015

    I saw this advertised on early morning cable and it inspired me to once again try my hand at raising guppies. I never buy stuff off cable that puts shipping and handling costs in fine print and throws in free stuff for an additional S&H charge so I went to Bed Bath & Beyond where they stock. I set it up and added a guppy couple, and enjoyed it so much I bought another one for yet another guppy pair. The trick is to slowly pour in just enough water until the tank starts draining into a receiving container, then immediately stop. I don't use the LED light very often so mine haven't failed. Yet. The instructions say to do the flushing once a week but for guppies I think once a day is more like it. Alas, the uneaten food does not filter through the bottom screen but maybe that's because I didn't pulverize it fine enough. As it is it sort of collects on the rocks and turns into a gooey cloud. This aquarium might best be used with lower maintenance fish like bettas. For guppies I think I will move them into a larger tank with a proper charcoal and gravel filter system.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 24

Write a Review for My Fun Fish!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review