About NatureBox

Established in 2011 and based out of San Carlos, CA, NatureBox is a subscription-based service that delivers healthy snack boxes directly to your front door, for as little as $19.95 per month. In many ways, the company’s premise is similar to BarkBox—but instead of focusing on your pet’s health, NatureBox focuses on yours.

Founded by Guantum Gupta, who weighed over 200 pounds at the age of 12 due to the chronic overconsumption of junk food, NatureBox is dedicated to helping others lead healthier lives by eating healthier food. According to NatureBox, even a few tweaks to your daily diet can result in tremendous improvements to your health.

NatureBox Features

After signing up on the NatureBox website, you’ll automatically be enrolled in a monthly subscription, and will begin receiving your packages about the same time each month. Each NatureBox you’ll receive will contain a wide variety of snacks, including nuts and seeds, trail mix, dried fruits and vegetables, granola, bars, and crackers, but will never include foods that are made with high fructose corn syrup, partially hydrogenated oils, trans fats, or artificial sweeteners, colors, or flavoring.

NatureBox claims to search all around the world for “the most unique, tasty, and healthy snacks” available. Each of your monthly boxes will be based on a unique theme, and all products will have been taste tested and approved by nutritionists.

If you live in the continental U.S., shipping is free. If you reside in Alaska or Hawaii, a minimal fee of $1.97 will be added to each order.

NatureBox Pricing

NatureBox provides you with three different types of monthly subscriptions:

  1. Deluxe Package – Ideal for anyone from singles to small families, the Deluxe Package includes five different types of snacks, which are divided into 3-5 individual portions. Pricing is $19.95 per month.
  2. The Happy Snacker – Geared toward families of four or more people, The Happy Snacker Package includes five different types of snacks, divided into 10 full-sized portions (two portions of each snack type). Pricing is at $29.95 per month.
  3. The SmartChecker – A great choice for larger families, offices, or for anyone who really likes to snack, The SmartChecker Package includes four large bags of NatureBox’s five featured snacks. Pricing is at $49.95 per month.

After you’ve placed your order and paid for your first NatureBox, your package will typically arrive within 1-2 weeks. Billing occurs automatically each month, and is charged to your credit card on the first Sunday or Thursday following the date you originally signed up, whichever comes first. For example, if you signed up on October 3rd, you’ll be billed on the first Sunday or Thursday that comes after November 3rd, and so on. Shipments are usually sent within a few days of billing.

Because of FDA regulations regarding food, NatureBox does not accept returns, regardless of whether your package has been opened or not. However, if you feel any of the items you received are subpar or did not meet your expectations, the company can assess the situation on a case-by-case basis at 888-613-6998.

If you need to pause your subscription for any reason, you simply need to contact NatureBox directly, who can accommodate your request as long as it occurs at least five days prior to your next billing cycle. Cancellations also need to be requested at least five days prior to your scheduled billing date. Even though we’ve included a fairly detailed description of NatureBox’s billing system, it’s highly recommended that you contact the company directly to obtain a billing summary for your own records.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

23 Consumer Reviews for NatureBox

Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  18
Bottom Line: 9% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 23
Sort reviews by:

  • Scam

    • New York, NY,
    • Aug 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This website is a scam. After using it, I was signed up for a membership without being told that I would be charged $50 a year and they would keep my card information. Also, the cookies were crappy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • They charged me for a full year membership

    • Tennessee,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They charged me for a full year of membership after an order which I was not aware of. The quality wasn't high enough for me to want to continue making purchases which I assume why they made the subscription system and make you go through customer service to cancel. I wasn't refunded when I realized what has happened.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Best snack box EVER!

    First off, the snacks are amazing and good for you. Second, the snacks come in just days! I usually get my box before I even get the email saying the box has been sent. They have amazing customer service! Better than Starbucks or Amazon or any other place. If you don't like a snack, they replace it, and they always have tons of coupons and codes! You can get a monthly box, or you can cancel that and just have the snacks when you order, and you only have to spend $24 for free shipping. And I once filled out a survey for them and they gave me a $10 store credit! They are absolutely amazing! I order snacks about once a week.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Subscription scam

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Mar 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not buy anything from them. I heavily discourage anyone from buying their products. Not only are their snacks mediocre, they also sign you up for a subscription service that you have to call your credit card company to cancel. They give you no way to cancel through their website, and the "customer support" number they give you is useless. Not only do they charge you $5 a month, even if you don't use their service, that $5 expires after 30 days. I had missed their charges after a couple of months and in January of this year all of the money they charged me as "store credit" is gone. So now they just take your money and run with it forever if you did not catch it.

    Terrible business practice. They know people will sign up and forget about it and that's the only reason they are still in business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 28, 2018

      Savannah S.

      Don't they charge $5 a month? And you can't be mad at the business because you forget to cancel a subscription LOL. I order from them about once a week and have never had any issues. Plus, if you do not like any snacks, they happily replace them with store credit. NatureBox is amazing and has amazing customer service! I'm really shocked to see such negative reviews for them.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Tastes like garbage

    I signed up for NatureBox through a Snapchat advertisement, only paying shipping for the first shipment. I got five items in the mail: pineapple slices, sriracha cashews, mini chocolate chip cookies, honey Dijon turkey jerky, and nacho lime tortilla chips. By now, I’ve tried every package and THEY ARE SO GROSS! I’m sorry, I don’t leave reviews often, but this stuff was so nasty, I think I’d want my money back for the shipping!

    Don’t buy this junk!

    I was able to cancel online though, which sounds like an improvement to the old method of cancellation (calling).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 1, 2018

      Sierra Schwidder, Customer Experience Manager

      Hi Blake,

      We're sorry to hear you were unhappy with the items that you received in your sampler and would be happy to replace them for you. If you'd like to try different items, please email us at CEM@naturebox.com and our team will make this right for you.

      Best,

      The NatureBox Team

    • Jun 28, 2018

      Savannah S.

      You're crazy they are delicious and healthy.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    No consistency on website

    • Oklahoma,
    • Jan 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for a subscription that had a $5 sampler box. It's still on its way, but I've already had problems with their website. I go online to edit my next box, I get, and there is no edit button or manage subscription button like the FAQs say, but after a while of clicking on buttons, I find the button I need. After clicking on it thinking I finally figured it out, it tells me that I don't have a subscription when just a second ago it said that my next box will be shipped soon and my order is processing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 31, 2018

      Sierra Schwidder, Customer Experience Manager

      Hi Joni,

      We're sorry to hear that our FAQs and website drove you to confusion. We will be reaching out to you via email to get a better understanding of what FAQ you were referencing so that we can prevent other customers from having the same experience. It looks like our Snack Concierge, Nick was able to resolve some of the questions you had about your plan. Please email us at support@naturebox.com if you have additional questions you'd like us to answer and our team will be happy to assist.

      Best,

      The NatureBox Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    NatureBox is anything but natural

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jan 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the NatureBox through a Groupon. I went to place my order and then realized that all of their savory snacks are full of MSG. As I am highly allergic to this, I canceled my order. Their name and marketing information is EXTREMELY misleading as I would not expect "natural" snack foods to be loaded with MSG.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 24, 2018

      Sierra Schwidder, Customer Experience Manager

      Hi Amy,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. While our products do not contain added MSG some of our items are made with naturally occurring glutamates such as tomatoes, parmesan cheese, autolyzed yeast, yeast extract, protein isolate and hydrolyzed vegetable proteins. Not all of our items contain these ingredients and we are sorry you weren't able to find items that will fit within your dietary restrictions.

      Best,

      The NatureBox Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jan 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Here's the thing about NatureBox.

    I've been a customer and subscriber for one, maybe almost two years, and don't plan on unsubscribing any time soon. Would I recommend this service to anyone?

    No. God, no.

    The problem isn't so much with the snacks themselves (there's a good selection, they're relatively health-conscious, and the quality is all there).

    No, the problem is with NatureBox itself as a company. So many times I've had to contact customer service about forgotten goods, missing packages, late shipping (in one instance, they completely lost my entire order).

    Expedited shipping is a joke as well. I have twice made the mistake of purchasing two-day shipping. Don't do it, folks. It truly comes across as if they just don't have the manpower to actually carry through the shipping demand. They make the shipping label, then five days pass until they ship it out, then another two days until it reaches you (FedEx usually holds up their end, thank God), and then you learn that they only shipped three items out of the eight that you purchased, and it'll be another few days before they ship those, and then ANOTHER two days until it arrives.

    Maybe just don't advertise two-day shipping, eh NatureBox?

    Now the silver lining is that customer service is absolutely amazing. Impeccable. Five stars. Seriously, the people there are godsends, most likely because they constantly have to deal with the unending mistakes of whoever is shipping out this stuff. I view them as completely separate, benevolent entities from NatureBox as a whole.

    So that being said, if being in constant contact with customer service is your jam, or, you know, if you're a disabled person like me and are unable to make regular trips to the grocery store and rely on services like these so you don't starve by the end of the month, OR if you just love confusion and suffering, then go for it. Otherwise?

    Stick with the grocery stores.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    This place sucks!

    • Kentucky,
    • Jan 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried to place an order, but when I entered my card info, it says it was unable to process. I tried three times, but it still didn't work, so I just assumed it was meant to be. Then I get a confirmation email saying that it did actually go through. I immediately emailed them needing to cancel the order and wasn't able to call on the phone because it was a Sunday. No answer. Now it's Monday and I've gotten into contact with an associate and they're saying that they can't cancel my order because it has already been shipped out.

    This website is no good. Now I'm out $30 because this company sucks!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 24, 2018

      Sierra Schwidder, Customer Experience Manager

      Hi Taylor,

      We're so sorry you had issues with your order. We'd like to take a look at this to identify what went wrong and what we can do to help. Please send an email to CEM@naturebox.com and our lead support team look into how we can make this right.

      Thanks,

      The NatureBox Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Take your money elsewhere!

    • Des Moines, IA,
    • Nov 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not buy from these people. They are scammers and signed me up for a membership for $50 without my consent.

    Not only do they routinely steal people's money, their customer service is absolutely awful. They sold me snacks that were out of stock and sent me a bunch of random crap instead. I then asked for my money back, and they had the nerve to give me "store credit" instead. Then after taking $50 from my checking account, I made a lot of phone calls and eventually Amazon Pay (Nature Box's method of payment) ORDERED them to give me a refund, but they blatantly REFUSED. After routinely being ordered to issue me a refund they finally did.

    Absolutely ridiculous. Take your money to your local grocery store instead. These people are cheats and liars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    I like them!

    The snacks that NatureBox offers are actually very good. I tried this on a whim because my friend sent me $20 in free snacks to try it out, but I've actually kept it because the snacks are good. Some favorites are the Sriracha cashews and the mocha almonds.

    I also had a different experience than others with the customer service; I found them to be very helpful and responsive. My only pickle might be that I don't know if I can eat enough snacks in a month to keep up the subscription (I'm not a huge snacker). But for now, I'm happy with my delicious snacks!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 6, 2017

      Sierra Schwidder, Customer Experience Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate the feedback and are happy to hear you are loving both our snacks and customer service.

      Best,

      The NatureBox Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 23

Write a Review for NatureBox!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review