NatureBox Review – Best For Your Healthy Snacking?

By Lydia Noyes
HighYa Staff Published on: Dec 5, 2018

Established in 2011 around the San Francisco Bay area, NatureBox is a food membership service that offers hundreds of healthy snacks for home or office delivery. Though the company used a subscription-based service before 2016, it has since pivoted to a traditional retail model with annual memberships.

According to the company representative we spoke with, NatureBox was founded by Gautam Gupta, a business advisor whose addiction to junk food left him overweight for much of his childhood. Gautam felt inspired to create NatureBox as a business that helped others improve their diets.

There’s no question it’s advantageous to eat healthier, but is NatureBox a smart way to do so? Let’s look at the details to determine whether it's worthwhile to consider buying snacks from NatureBox.

How Does NatureBox Work?

NatureBox is a primarily e-commerce company that offers over 100 snack varieties at the time of writing, and their website indicates that they regularly add new ones to the mix.

The company states online that they work with a variety of vendors to develop their snacks, most of which are composed of ingredients sourced from the United States. According to the company website, NatureBox snacks don’t contain artificial flavors, colors or sweeteners, and they are free of high fructose corn syrup and hydrogenated oils.

The brand also offers various snacks that qualify as vegan, gluten-free and non-GMO.

About the Membership

When you make a purchase on NatureBox’s website, you are automatically signed up for the brand’s membership program, which is free for the first thirty days.

Costing $30 per year, this membership lets you save up to 40% on select snacks, qualify for free shipping on orders over $25, and receive $5 worth of in-store credit each month. The plan auto-renews after twelve months unless you choose to cancel it beforehand.

If you want to opt out of a NatureBox membership, you need to cancel it within 30 days of your first order. Otherwise, you will be charged the full year’s amount of $30 at the start of the second month.

This annual membership also qualifies subscribers for NatureBox’s ‘Don’t Like It, Don’t Eat It’ guarantee. If you aren’t happy with a sample you receive, you can contact the company within 90 days of purchase and they will reimburse you with store credit.

What is NatureBox Subscribe-to-Save?

For those who prefer a subscription system for their snacks, Subscribe-to-Save lets you receive any snack or combination of snacks as a regularly scheduled shipment that saves you 5% off each order.

If you need to skip or pause your subscription or have any other questions, you can contact the company directly at support@NatureBox.com or through the Contact Us page.

Where Else Can You Buy NatureBox Snacks?

At the time of writing, NatureBox is transitioning from solely e-commerce company to offering their snacks in retail locations across America. Current options include Target, Safeway, and select Costco, Cost Plus, Sprout’s, Barnes and Noble locations and more.

About NatureBox Office Snacks

NatureBox has begun offering a new form of subscription service: Office Snacks. This plan allows businesses of more than 20 employees to received unlimited snacks for a fixed monthly price per employee.

The Office Snacks program offers two pricing systems:

Base Program Boost Program
Cost $20 per employee $25 per employee
Benefits Unlimited bulk snacks Unlimited bulk snacks, single-serve snacks, coffee

Included in the base program are nut mixes, pretzels, dried fruit, cookies, granola bars, popcorn and more. The Boost program adds on single serving packets of different chips, cookies, and nut mixes, as well as medium, breakfast, and dark roast coffee from Counter Culture.

Along with a subscription purchase, the company also offers free kitchen setup supplies like jars, scoops and trays, as well as free shipping for every purchase. Office Snacks are provided on an unlimited basis, meaning that the company can request more snacks once the current supply is 75% gone.

What are NatureBox Snack Options?

NatureBox snacks promise to transform your between-meal relationship to food, but what does the company really deliver?

Some of the snacks available at the time of writing included the following:

Dark Cocoa Nom Noms: Filled with dark chocolate, almonds and rolled oats, these dense treats are meant to satisfy your sweet tooth and keep you satiated, and they contain ten grams of protein per serving. Price $9.99 per eight ($7.99 with membership).

Big Island Pineapple: Containing no ingredients but dried Hawaiian pineapple, these chewy rings are purportedly full of flavor that will satisfy any sweet tooth. Price: $11.99 per approx. 15 rings ($8.49 with membership).

Hickory Smoked Turkey Jerky: Each one-ounce serving of this savory smoked jerky contains ten grams of lean turkey protein, meaning it might help you stave off hunger in the mid-afternoon. Price: $7.99 per 3 ounces ($6.99 with membership).

Mini Belgian Waffles: These lightly-sweetened waffle cookies are designed to add indulgence to your afternoon without too much sugar content- each serving has just nine grams. Price: $9.99 for approx. 15 waffles ($8.49 with membership).

Crunchy BBQ Twists: These airy twists are designed to satisfy all salt cravings with a light seasoning of sweet and smoky BBQ sauce. Each batch contains half the fat of standard potato chips due to the addition of lentils. Price: $7.99 per 3 ounces ($6.49 with membership).

Sriracha Roasted Cashews: If you like some spice with your snacks, these siracha cashews offer a low-carb, low-sugar, high-protein option. Price: $11.99 per cup ($8.49 with member discount).

Allergies and NatureBox Snacks

According to the brand’s website, NatureBox snacks do not qualify as safe for allergy sufferers.

All of their food is packaged in the same facility, which creates a risk of cross-contamination. For this reason, the snacks can’t be certified as gluten-free, even they are made with ingredients that are free of gluten.

Knowing all this, is NatureBox worth committing to? Looking at customer reviews can help us answer that question.

What Are Customer Reviews of NatureBox Saying?

Twenty-four HighYa readers have rated NatureBox, giving the service 1.5 stars out of five, and only 8% of users stated that they would recommend the service to a friend.

The primary complaint was about NatureBox’s customer service. Many people reported that they had frequent problems with late packages and missing products. Others felt that the terms of their membership service weren’t clear and that they had no idea that they were joining a membership program when they first ordered a snack sample.

Some reviewers stated that they were billed for future snacks even after they had seemingly canceled their account. One person also noted that the company advertised “out of stock” products as available, so when he ordered them he was sent random foods. Instead of a full refund, he only received store credit.

Saying this, some reviews on HighYa and other websites were positive. NatureBox’s nut mixes seem to be a hit, as many people specifically mentioned their appreciation for the mocha almonds and Siracha cashews.

To have success with NatureBox, these reviewers make it clear that you need to read the membership terms carefully and cancel your account within 30 days if it isn’t the right fit.

How Does NatureBox Compare to Other Snack Subscriptions?

Does NatureBox offer snacking incentives that beat the competition? We created this chart of subscription and luxury food companies to make a meaningful comparison:

NatureBox Graze HealthPak MunchPak Yummy Bazaar
Price Per Box Varies based on membership and box $13.99 $32.95 $23.95 $35.95

Servings Per Box

Determined by purchasing preferences 8 10+ 10+ 6-8 full-sized products
Price Per Snack Serving $1.50- $6 $1.75 $3.30 $2.40 $4.5 per full-sized product
Types of Snacks Healthy snacks free of artificial ingredients. Dried fruit, granola bars, chips and crackers, etc. Low-calorie, high protein, or traditional healthy foods like nuts, dips, crackers, dried fruit, and more. Healthy snacks made with natural ingredients and free of GMOs. Gourmet sweet, salty, sour, and savory snacks from around the world. International snacks with a monthly country theme
Option to Cancel Each Month? Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Shipping Costs $4.95, free for orders over $25 Free in the U.S. Free in the U.S. Free in the U.S. $5.95, free for orders over $49

NatureBox is the only brand we looked at that doesn’t sell a discovery subscription package (the brand’s “Subscribe to Save” program sends you only snacks you specifically request).

This is a change from their previous model, and a possible reflection on the fact that their customer base likes to choose precisely what they receive each month.

If you’re more interested in the surprise factor, a company like Graze, MunchPak or HealthPak might be a better fit.

Graze and HealthPak both offer subscribers a collection of healthy snacks, but Graze also promises to adjust the items you receive based on your feedback. MunchPak also lets you request specific categories of snacks in each box for an extra $1 each.

For those whose goal is more about experimenting with new snack varieties than gaining energy during the midafternoon slump, MunchPak and Yummy Bazaar both offer a curated collection of snacks from around the world that fall more under the category of junk food, as they often include chips, sodas, gummy candy, and baked goods.

Which box is best for you? That depends on your needs. If you’re less interested in the subscription process but want to receive discounts on a precise type and amount of healthy snacks each month, then NatureBox is a brand to consider.

Our View: Is NatureBox Worth Considering?

Since NatureBox changed their business model from a discovery subscription to a membership service, many people are wondering if this is the right time to sign up.

According to our research, NatureBox is presenting itself as a premier snack option for those who want convenient choices for snacking on a regular basis but don’t want to deal with a “discovery subscription” and would instead prefer to choose precisely what they get in each order.

Likewise, NatureBox is targeting itself towards corporate culture by offering an unlimited office subscription service with a flat price per employee. Companies pay for the service monthly, and NatureBox promises to refill all snacks whenever they request it.

Compared to the competition, NatureBox offers more autonomy for consumers than subscription services like Graze or HealthPak, and it provides subscription savings for those committed for the long term.

For those who decide to try NatureBox, you need to be aware that your first purchase will enroll you in their $30/ year members plan that gives you $5 of in-store credit each month. If you wish to opt out of this plan, you will need to message customer service directly within the first 30 days of ordering.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

26 Consumer Reviews for NatureBox

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  20
Bottom Line: 12% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 26
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Abysmal customer service

    • Austin, TX,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The snacks are okay I guess, but when I asked to cancel my subscription they agreed but then charged my bank account for a new subscription! When I contacted them they insisted there was nothing they could do, even while acknowledging it was their mistake. Fortunately, Chase Bank refunded me the $199 unauthorized charge and will go after their money from NatureBox.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I have had an incredible experience!

    • Elkhart, IN,
    • Dec 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    NatureBox held a promotion for a sampler box and after trying that I fell in love! The snacks were absolutely delicious and I have continued to purchase my healthy snacks from them since.

    I enjoy that they always come out with new unique snacks. At the same time, they still stock the snacks I love, like the big island pineapple.

    I have spoken to customer service a few times. Every time I do, they are incredibly kind and helpful!

    Shipping has been quick and I have never had a problem.

    Personally, I am a big snacker. I had a problem with always buying junk food out of convenience. Unfortunately, a couple of my family members struggle with diabetes. Which motivated me to change my eating habits. I have eliminated my unhealthy snacking by substituting it with better options. NatureBox has kept me in stock with the best healthy snacks that also taste amazing. Snacks that I did not anticipate enjoying ended up being my favorite! They provide a sample option that allows you to try snacks before purchasing them in bigger quantities.

    I truly do recommend it. I enjoy it very much!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Unethical business practices! Cancel doesn't mean cancel!

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Oct 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I canceled my subscription in May of 2017. They lured me back to get a single box in June of 2017, and I was unknowingly signed up for a $5 a month subscription that DOES NOT ACTUALLY SHIP ANYTHING TO YOU billed automatically to my credit card. Because my work credit card is billed through my work and managed by my bookkeeper, I never noticed the charges until now. My credit card even expired LAST YEAR and they managed to charge it with the wrong expiry date for another year! I tried to get a refund to no avail. I received NOTHING for these charges. ZERO snacks. The chat lady just said sorry. No thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • New York, NY,
    • Aug 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This website is a scam. After using it, I was signed up for a membership without being told that I would be charged $50 a year and they would keep my card information. Also, the cookies were crappy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • They charged me for a full year membership

    • Tennessee,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They charged me for a full year of membership after an order which I was not aware of. The quality wasn't high enough for me to want to continue making purchases which I assume why they made the subscription system and make you go through customer service to cancel. I wasn't refunded when I realized what has happened.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Best snack box EVER!

    First off, the snacks are amazing and good for you. Second, the snacks come in just days! I usually get my box before I even get the email saying the box has been sent. They have amazing customer service! Better than Starbucks or Amazon or any other place. If you don't like a snack, they replace it, and they always have tons of coupons and codes! You can get a monthly box, or you can cancel that and just have the snacks when you order, and you only have to spend $24 for free shipping. And I once filled out a survey for them and they gave me a $10 store credit! They are absolutely amazing! I order snacks about once a week.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Subscription scam

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Mar 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not buy anything from them. I heavily discourage anyone from buying their products. Not only are their snacks mediocre, they also sign you up for a subscription service that you have to call your credit card company to cancel. They give you no way to cancel through their website, and the "customer support" number they give you is useless. Not only do they charge you $5 a month, even if you don't use their service, that $5 expires after 30 days. I had missed their charges after a couple of months and in January of this year all of the money they charged me as "store credit" is gone. So now they just take your money and run with it forever if you did not catch it.

    Terrible business practice. They know people will sign up and forget about it and that's the only reason they are still in business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 28, 2018

      Savannah S.

      Don't they charge $5 a month? And you can't be mad at the business because you forget to cancel a subscription LOL. I order from them about once a week and have never had any issues. Plus, if you do not like any snacks, they happily replace them with store credit. NatureBox is amazing and has amazing customer service! I'm really shocked to see such negative reviews for them.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Tastes like garbage

    I signed up for NatureBox through a Snapchat advertisement, only paying shipping for the first shipment. I got five items in the mail: pineapple slices, sriracha cashews, mini chocolate chip cookies, honey Dijon turkey jerky, and nacho lime tortilla chips. By now, I’ve tried every package and THEY ARE SO GROSS! I’m sorry, I don’t leave reviews often, but this stuff was so nasty, I think I’d want my money back for the shipping!

    Don’t buy this junk!

    I was able to cancel online though, which sounds like an improvement to the old method of cancellation (calling).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 1, 2018

      Sierra Schwidder, Customer Experience Manager

      Hi Blake,

      We're sorry to hear you were unhappy with the items that you received in your sampler and would be happy to replace them for you. If you'd like to try different items, please email us at CEM@naturebox.com and our team will make this right for you.

      Best,

      The NatureBox Team

    • Jun 28, 2018

      Savannah S.

      You're crazy they are delicious and healthy.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    No consistency on website

    • Oklahoma,
    • Jan 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for a subscription that had a $5 sampler box. It's still on its way, but I've already had problems with their website. I go online to edit my next box, I get, and there is no edit button or manage subscription button like the FAQs say, but after a while of clicking on buttons, I find the button I need. After clicking on it thinking I finally figured it out, it tells me that I don't have a subscription when just a second ago it said that my next box will be shipped soon and my order is processing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 31, 2018

      Sierra Schwidder, Customer Experience Manager

      Hi Joni,

      We're sorry to hear that our FAQs and website drove you to confusion. We will be reaching out to you via email to get a better understanding of what FAQ you were referencing so that we can prevent other customers from having the same experience. It looks like our Snack Concierge, Nick was able to resolve some of the questions you had about your plan. Please email us at support@naturebox.com if you have additional questions you'd like us to answer and our team will be happy to assist.

      Best,

      The NatureBox Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    NatureBox is anything but natural

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jan 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the NatureBox through a Groupon. I went to place my order and then realized that all of their savory snacks are full of MSG. As I am highly allergic to this, I canceled my order. Their name and marketing information is EXTREMELY misleading as I would not expect "natural" snack foods to be loaded with MSG.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 24, 2018

      Sierra Schwidder, Customer Experience Manager

      Hi Amy,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. While our products do not contain added MSG some of our items are made with naturally occurring glutamates such as tomatoes, parmesan cheese, autolyzed yeast, yeast extract, protein isolate and hydrolyzed vegetable proteins. Not all of our items contain these ingredients and we are sorry you weren't able to find items that will fit within your dietary restrictions.

      Best,

      The NatureBox Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jan 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Here's the thing about NatureBox.

    I've been a customer and subscriber for one, maybe almost two years, and don't plan on unsubscribing any time soon. Would I recommend this service to anyone?

    No. God, no.

    The problem isn't so much with the snacks themselves (there's a good selection, they're relatively health-conscious, and the quality is all there).

    No, the problem is with NatureBox itself as a company. So many times I've had to contact customer service about forgotten goods, missing packages, late shipping (in one instance, they completely lost my entire order).

    Expedited shipping is a joke as well. I have twice made the mistake of purchasing two-day shipping. Don't do it, folks. It truly comes across as if they just don't have the manpower to actually carry through the shipping demand. They make the shipping label, then five days pass until they ship it out, then another two days until it reaches you (FedEx usually holds up their end, thank God), and then you learn that they only shipped three items out of the eight that you purchased, and it'll be another few days before they ship those, and then ANOTHER two days until it arrives.

    Maybe just don't advertise two-day shipping, eh NatureBox?

    Now the silver lining is that customer service is absolutely amazing. Impeccable. Five stars. Seriously, the people there are godsends, most likely because they constantly have to deal with the unending mistakes of whoever is shipping out this stuff. I view them as completely separate, benevolent entities from NatureBox as a whole.

    So that being said, if being in constant contact with customer service is your jam, or, you know, if you're a disabled person like me and are unable to make regular trips to the grocery store and rely on services like these so you don't starve by the end of the month, OR if you just love confusion and suffering, then go for it. Otherwise?

    Stick with the grocery stores.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 26

Write a Review for NatureBox!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review