NatureBox

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
NatureBox

Overall Rating

3.7

72 Customer Reviews

Summary

Previously promoted as a subscription snack service, NatureBox offers members a selection of over 100 healthy snacks that can be purchased as often as you prefer.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

3.7 Stars out of 72 Reviews
5 Star:65% 4 Star:2% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:4% 1 Star:27%
68% Recommend This Company
Start your review of NatureBox:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Nov 15, 2017

Take your money elsewhere!

By Riley L, Des Moines, IA, Verified Reviewer

Do not buy from these people. They are scammers and signed me up for a membership for $50 without my consent.

Not only do they routinely steal people's money, their customer service is absolutely awful. They sold me snacks that were out of stock and sent me a bunch of random crap instead. I then asked for my money back, and they had the nerve to give me "store credit" instead. Then after taking $50 from my checking account, I made a lot of phone calls and eventually Amazon Pay (Nature Box's method of payment) ORDERED them to give me a refund, but they blatantly REFUSED. After routinely being ordered to issue me a refund they finally did.

Absolutely ridiculous. Take your money to your local grocery store instead. These people are cheats and liars.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 9, 2018

This place sucks!

By Taylor, Kentucky, Verified Reviewer

I tried to place an order, but when I entered my card info, it says it was unable to process. I tried three times, but it still didn't work, so I just assumed it was meant to be. Then I get a confirmation email saying that it did actually go through. I immediately emailed them needing to cancel the order and wasn't able to call on the phone because it was a Sunday. No answer. Now it's Monday and I've gotten into contact with an associate and they're saying that they can't cancel my order because it has already been shipped out.

This website is no good. Now I'm out $30 because this company sucks!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from NatureBox, Inc.

Jan 24, 2018

Hi Taylor,

We're so sorry you had issues with your order. We'd like to take a look at this to identify what went wrong and what we can do to help. Please send an email to CEM@naturebox.com and our lead support team look into how we can make this right.

Thanks,

The NatureBox Team

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 23, 2018

NatureBox is anything but natural

By Amy Bergrud, Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

I ordered the NatureBox through a Groupon. I went to place my order and then realized that all of their savory snacks are full of MSG. As I am highly allergic to this, I canceled my order. Their name and marketing information is EXTREMELY misleading as I would not expect "natural" snack foods to be loaded with MSG.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from NatureBox, Inc.

Jan 24, 2018

Hi Amy,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. While our products do not contain added MSG some of our items are made with naturally occurring glutamates such as tomatoes, parmesan cheese, autolyzed yeast, yeast extract, protein isolate and hydrolyzed vegetable proteins. Not all of our items contain these ingredients and we are sorry you weren't able to find items that will fit within your dietary restrictions.

Best,

The NatureBox Team

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 28, 2018

Tastes like garbage

By Blake Thompson, Provo, UT, Verified Reviewer

I signed up for NatureBox through a Snapchat advertisement, only paying shipping for the first shipment. I got five items in the mail: pineapple slices, sriracha cashews, mini chocolate chip cookies, honey Dijon turkey jerky, and nacho lime tortilla chips. By now, I’ve tried every package and THEY ARE SO GROSS! I’m sorry, I don’t leave reviews often, but this stuff was so nasty, I think I’d want my money back for the shipping!

Don’t buy this junk!

I was able to cancel online though, which sounds like an improvement to the old method of cancellation (calling).

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from NatureBox, Inc.

Mar 1, 2018

Hi Blake,

We're sorry to hear you were unhappy with the items that you received in your sampler and would be happy to replace them for you. If you'd like to try different items, please email us at CEM@naturebox.com and our team will make this right for you.

Best,

The NatureBox Team

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 1, 2018

Subscription scam

By Paul Rapp, Pennsylvania, Verified Reviewer

Do not buy anything from them. I heavily discourage anyone from buying their products. Not only are their snacks mediocre, they also sign you up for a subscription service that you have to call your credit card company to cancel. They give you no way to cancel through their website, and the "customer support" number they give you is useless. Not only do they charge you $5 a month, even if you don't use their service, that $5 expires after 30 days. I had missed their charges after a couple of months and in January of this year all of the money they charged me as "store credit" is gone. So now they just take your money and run with it forever if you did not catch it.

Terrible business practice. They know people will sign up and forget about it and that's the only reason they are still in business.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 15, 2018

They charged me for a full year membership

By Noba S., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

They charged me for a full year of membership after an order which I was not aware of. The quality wasn't high enough for me to want to continue making purchases which I assume why they made the subscription system and make you go through customer service to cancel. I wasn't refunded when I realized what has happened.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Posted on Aug 19, 2018

Scam

By Jackson M., New York, NY, Verified Reviewer

This website is a scam. After using it, I was signed up for a membership without being told that I would be charged $50 a year and they would keep my card information. Also, the cookies were crappy.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 18, 2018

Unethical business practices! Cancel doesn't mean cancel!

By Brooke H., Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

I canceled my subscription in May of 2017. They lured me back to get a single box in June of 2017, and I was unknowingly signed up for a $5 a month subscription that DOES NOT ACTUALLY SHIP ANYTHING TO YOU billed automatically to my credit card. Because my work credit card is billed through my work and managed by my bookkeeper, I never noticed the charges until now. My credit card even expired LAST YEAR and they managed to charge it with the wrong expiry date for another year! I tried to get a refund to no avail. I received NOTHING for these charges. ZERO snacks. The chat lady just said sorry. No thank you.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 6, 2019

Abysmal customer service

By Susan S., Austin, TX, Verified Reviewer

The snacks are okay I guess, but when I asked to cancel my subscription they agreed but then charged my bank account for a new subscription! When I contacted them they insisted there was nothing they could do, even while acknowledging it was their mistake. Fortunately, Chase Bank refunded me the $199 unauthorized charge and will go after their money from NatureBox.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from NatureBox, Inc.

Mar 7, 2019

Hi Susan - thanks for your feedback and sorry to hear about your experience. We’ll relay this to our team in an effort to better our service going forward. Best, The NatureBox Team.

Posted on Jul 7, 2015

Good but overpriced

By Hava Gurevich , Long Island, NY

I tried the deluxe package, so got 5 small packages of snacks to try. The snacks themselves were very tasty, and felt to be of high quality, however, I found the portions to be pretty small considering they were $4 each. One had a trail mix type of snack, one was a corn chip of some sort, and I don't remember what else. Again, it was all good and convenient and fun to open it up and see what you get. But, I expected more goodies for the price or at least bigger portions.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 17, 2018

Not worth it

By Talin, Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

Here's the thing about NatureBox.

I've been a customer and subscriber for one, maybe almost two years, and don't plan on unsubscribing any time soon. Would I recommend this service to anyone?

No. God, no.

The problem isn't so much with the snacks themselves (there's a good selection, they're relatively health-conscious, and the quality is all there).

No, the problem is with NatureBox itself as a company. So many times I've had to contact customer service about forgotten goods, missing packages, late shipping (in one instance, they completely lost my entire order).

Expedited shipping is a joke as well. I have twice made the mistake of purchasing two-day shipping. Don't do it, folks. It truly comes across as if they just don't have the manpower to actually carry through the shipping demand. They make the shipping label, then five days pass until they ship it out, then another two days until it reaches you (FedEx usually holds up their end, thank God), and then you learn that they only shipped three items out of the eight that you purchased, and it'll be another few days before they ship those, and then ANOTHER two days until it arrives.

Maybe just don't advertise two-day shipping, eh NatureBox?

Now the silver lining is that customer service is absolutely amazing. Impeccable. Five stars. Seriously, the people there are godsends, most likely because they constantly have to deal with the unending mistakes of whoever is shipping out this stuff. I view them as completely separate, benevolent entities from NatureBox as a whole.

So that being said, if being in constant contact with customer service is your jam, or, you know, if you're a disabled person like me and are unable to make regular trips to the grocery store and rely on services like these so you don't starve by the end of the month, OR if you just love confusion and suffering, then go for it. Otherwise?

Stick with the grocery stores.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted
Showing 12-22 of 72

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.