Nerium AD Review

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Jul 21, 2014

Whether you’re experiencing wrinkles and discoloration due to age, UV exposure, smoking, poor nutrition, or anything else, Nerium AD claims their exclusive line of oleander-based skincare treatments can help you retain a youthful glow and to look 10 years younger. On top of this, Nerium AD’s products claim to be based on real science and to provide real results.

But considering Nerium AD’s high prices, can you expect beneficial, lasting results with their products, and do they represent a good value? We extracted the facts and here’s what we found out.

Nerium AD Details

Compared to other anti-aging products, Nerium AD’s line of age-defying skincare treatments are claimed to implement the “remarkable age-defying” properties of the Nerium oleander plant, known as the NAE-8 extract, which is claimed to address wrinkles, discoloration, and texture all at once, in addition to uneven skin texture, enlarged pores, and aging/loose skin. In order to produce this extract, Nerium AD claims to use a patent-pending process named NBio-PL2, which incorporates the use of Aloe Vera and ultimately preserves more of the plant’s antioxidant and other beneficial properties.

According to the company, their oleander-based treatments were formulated only after undergoing 10 years of scientific research and third-party testing. In fact, instead of just basing their claims on customer satisfaction surveys, the company has implemented the use of computer-based fluorescence spectroscopy and artificial intelligence to actually measure reductions in discoloration, as well as in emerging, fine, and deep facial lines.

In order to control production of their NAE-8 extract from “seed to bottle,” Nerium AD claims to operate their own commercial oleander farm, which has been in production for more than 12 years. Thereafter, all Nerium AD products are formulated with the safest and most effective age-defying ingredients, manufactured in a cGMP facility, and tested for safety.

Nerium AD claims their anti-aging products are intended for daily use, are nature-based, non-comedogenic, cruelty-free, and effective on all skin types. The company claims that you may experience immediate results, although these will become more pronounced with continued use.

Nerium AD Pricing and Refund Policy

As of the time of this writing, Nerium AD currently has 2 products available for purchase:

  • Age-Defying Treatment: $110 ($80 for Preferred Customers)
  • NeriumFirm Skin-Tightening Cream: $98 ($70 for Preferred Customers)

However, the company also plans to release their Age-Defying Day Cream shortly, which will retail for $165 ($120 for Preferred Customers), along with an eye cream, brightening cream, and contouring lotion soon thereafter.

Important note: Nerium AD products are primarily sold through independent representatives (similar to Amway or Herbalife) who earn a commission from each sale they make. If you purchase through one of these representatives, you’ll be asked to sign up for the company’s Preferred Customer Auto-Delivery program, which means you’ll continue receiving Nerium AD products on a regular basis at reduced prices, and your credit card will be charged accordingly.

All Nerium AD products come with a 30-day money back guarantee. In order to initiate the refund process, you’ll need to contact customer service at 855-463-7486 and obtain an RMA number (be sure to hang on to your original packaging, as this is a return requirement).

If you’d like to purchase Nerium AD products without having to go through an independent representative, they’re also available through third-party retailers, primarily Amazon.com and eBay.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Nerium AD?

Based on online customer reviews, as well as those posted on HighYa, Nerium AD products appear to have an evenly mixed reputation, with the most common compliments referencing beneficial results, good smell/feel, and solid customer service. On the other hand, some of the most common complaints appear to reference high price, difficulty canceling autoship programs, failure to work, and skin reactions (inflammation, red bumps/splotches, acne flare-ups, etc).

The company also appears to be embroiled in a lawsuit with actor Ray Liotta, after he claims the company used his before and after pictures to falsely endorse their products, despite the fact that he claims to have never used them.

During our research, we also read several customer reviews referencing the toxicity of the raw oleander plant, although on Nerium AD’s website, the company claims their extracts are safe to use and are non-toxic.

With all of this said, Nerium AD seems to provide a lot of transparency about the company and their products, and wholeheartedly welcomes customer feedback, both good and bad.

What’s the Bottom Line About Nerium AD?

Overall, what’s the bottom line about Nerium AD products: Should you spend money on them and can you expect real results? Perhaps, although you should consider the following before placing your order:

Not a Universal Solution

First and foremost, like any other anti-aging treatment, not all users will experience the same (or any) results. In fact, the most common complaint we found regarding Nerium AD products during our research was failure to experience benefits.

With this said, the company offers a 30-day money back guarantee if you’re dissatisfied, although this may not be an adequate amount of time for full results.

Skin Reactions

Next, while the Nerium AD website does a good job of listing all the ingredients found in their anti-aging products and claiming that they’re completely safe to use, the second most common customer complaint was related to skin reactions, including inflammation, red bumps/splotches, and acne flare-ups.

However, Nerium AD does mention in their Science & Safety Info Packet that according to an FDA study, “up to 25% of people said they had a skin reaction to at least one beauty product.” Because of this, depending on your skin type and individual makeup, this might be something you experience.

Difficulty Cancelling Autoship Programs

Another common customer complaint appears to revolve around difficulty canceling autoship programs. As such, if you’re looking to test out whether or not Nerium AD is right for you, you may want to first purchase through a third-party company. Once you’ve established its efficacy, perhaps then you could sign up for the company’s Preferred Customer Program for reduced prices and regular delivery.

Bottom Line

Although the anti-aging industry is full of unfounded claims and companies that don’t stand behind their products, Nerium AD’s treatments are claimed to be based on sound science and customer satisfaction. As such, they seem like one of the more reputable manufacturers around, and might be worth trying.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 13 Nerium AD Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  7
Bottom Line: 46% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 13
Sort reviews by:

  • Curiosity killed the cat

    • Kansas City, KS,
    • Apr 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was offered to sample the product by a friend (distributor). I had a 100% positive in fast and high hopes.

    I hated the product with passion. It makes your skin tight and pulled in and feels like sandpaper. When you wake up in the morning, small children might mistake you for a zombie - the skin is uneven, sandy and disgusting looking. After you wash it - it maybe feels better, but after my husband saw my face in the morning and gave me "a look" - never again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    I love it

    I am NOT a seller of this product, but I love it. My mother gave me what was left (about two week's worth) when she got new bottles, and I used it until it was gone. At first, I hated the way it made my skin feel when it was on, kind of tight and dry. But after a week I noticed my face looked MUCH better. The fine lines under my eyes were lessened, and a dark spot I have had for years over one brow (I had tried all kinds of things on that age spot!) was completely gone.

    When I ran out, I bought a new one on Amazon, and am now on my third bottle. It's the first thing I've ever had that I use religiously because I can honestly see a difference when I use it.

    I don't use the 3-4 pumps the directions say. I use ONE pump, and add an age serum to it (rather than the water that is recommended). A bottle lasts me for several months, and I can't really imagine not using it long-term.

    I also use another moisturizer over it, as it doesn't feel moisturizing. That has resolved the "I don't like how it feels" problem. I still don't like how it feels, but I sure like the way my skin feels and looks when I take it off in the morning.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • New York,
    • Apr 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    What an excellent marketing scheme this company has devised.

    Not only does this product not do what it claims to do (i.e. reduce wrinkles, fine lines, etc.30 day) but,30-day refund" policy is a complete scam.

    We all know that to know if a product works you need to try it for at least 30 days (if not more). If you really give the products a fair trial, and they don't work (and they don't!), you have lost your money. You won't be able to claim a refund because the 30 day refund time limit has lapsed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 10 people found this review helpful

    I hate nerium

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Oct 24, 2015

    After using the facial creams for several weeks, my skin looks dull and dry which accentuates the lines under my eyes. I absolutely hate the the night cream and how it feels on my skin. The skin on my body has shown no improvement with the firming cream. This product is extremely expensive and does not work as they promise. I canceled my auto delivery and plan to throw the rest away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 24 people found this review helpful

    For what it cost it should work

    • Indianapolis, IN,
    • Jul 29, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used this for 30 days and found no difference, actually gave me a rash. The blend is dime store ingredients if you read the back, except oleander, which is a toxic plant. Was told it is a different breed which is not toxic, found out that is not true, it is all toxic. Guess a sales pitch they are taught by there inspiration speakers they pay for. So, why should I pay almost 100.00 a month for something I get no results or the same as something I can pay 20.00 for? What I have learned, even though I had high hopes for this, is that the people who sell it give you a lot of hype along with the promises. (So glad I did not get caught up in selling it, dodged a bullet.)

    One, learned the people who sell it have no knowledge about true skin care, just to sell and recruit, that is it.

    Two, their customer service is the worst I have ever seen along with thousands of complaints, so do not get caught up in the monthly plan money.

    Three, I have worked in the medical field and if there are warnings about the product, one should know, they will not inform the buyer of any warnings, they hide it (not good).

    Four, if you get a reaction the office tells you to keep using it, it can take a while. What? Good companies would care about you and your health, refund you and tell you to stop.

    Five, they try to get you to sell the product more than improve their knowledge and care for the client.

    Six, only focus is to get people to sell under you and buy a 500.00 kit that is worth about 40.00, so they are making millions off of people selling a cheap kit attached with big dreams, making a huge mistake. They talk about how much money the company makes as part of their pitch (not sure why an employment pitch is part of this, are you not selling beauty products?). I guess the question is, how did this company make their money? With ethics? finding out not really, not much ethics at all.

    When I had a small reaction to something that cost a lot, I talked to my doctor and he warned me to stop ASAP, there has been links to that plant and heart issues. I have a heart condition and really did not appreciate having something pushed on me as a miracle cream without telling me the possible dangers or warnings. Bad business and non trusting in my book. Plus my doctor told me he has faced more and more skin problems, rashes, swelling etc and some not going away with this product. (Maybe why it's not FDA approved.)

    I guess the miracle plant just makes inflammation which makes you look like you lost some wrinkles, but really it is inflammation of the skin that is why many get the reaction, plus it will be temporary. All the other ingredients are normal drug store creams we have had for years, olive oil would do the same as far as softness. Even though I was hoping this product was going to work, research and the truth was a big disappointment. If they are going to run a pyramid scam, which I found out, at least they could have created something worth our while.

    Last but not least, found most of the positive comments online are people who are selling this product, at least 80% of them. Oh surprise. Do not blame them, they have a 500.00 kit to pay for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Real Results in four months

    • Naples, FL,
    • Jul 28, 2015

    I love this product, Nerium International stands behind the science and has renowned physicians, industry professionals and real clinical trials show the real results that vary from skin to skin. When I was introduced to this product I was considering plastic surgery. My girlfriend shared the product with me as well as the business model. My double masters degree went into full academic research mode: I am now a proud and grateful Brand Partner with incredible results after 4 months.

    I am a real customer with real results. NeriumAD is the groundbreaking accidental discovery by Nerium Biotechnology. Check out the esteemed board of directors, the scientific advisory board and I have my personal experience on camera in four months. I now can go without foundation for the first time ever. This is a company that offered me the "opportunity" to take charge of my future which was looking financially bleak. The founder of Nerium International has designed a business model like no other in the direct selling industry. Get the facts right. If I could upload my photo I would. I do recommend this product to anyone who wants "actual" cosmetic benefits and also may be interested in making a full time income doing part time work. It's not for everyone. This is America, where scientific discoveries are real everyday. The uneducated lazy opinionated reviews come from a fear based set of beliefs and frankly are very unhappy in life. Period. I choose an open mind and open heart which attracts same.

    Go to Direct Selling News.com and search Nerium which is rising to the top of the Global 100 industry list (at number 54 now). Search ST&T research and Nerium Biotechnology.com. Your life changing moment may be right now. Only comes once in a lifetime if that. At 55 I am learning to be a Network Marketing Professional and can show you a better way to have a Success from Home business and financial peace of mind.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Love Nerium

    It took about a year of using Nerium, but I had some very large dark moles, called barnacles on my forehead which we raised. And the one is almost completely gone.

    I have never had a problem postponing my auto order for a month or so because I still had some. One time they messed my order up and sent me two day crams rather than a day cream and a night cream. They said, "keep it and sent me the night cream with no charge on the extra day cream".

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Nerium is real

    • Ventura, CA,
    • Jul 16, 2015

    I have been using Nerium for two years. I love what it has done with my skin and brown spots. Yes, they have surfaced and disappeared. I just came back from a 40-year high school reunion and my classmates said I belonged in the class that graduated 10 years after us.

    I have never encountered issues with canceling or returning product (including during the times when I was out of town or the pump did not work). I have read of people trying to scam Nerium, claiming they purchased from a representative, when in fact they found it from a third party such as eBay or Amazon.

    Know this, the product has a shelf life so of course it did not provide the results they were seeking. Use it daily with water and you will see results. Over $700 million in sales in less than three years? That is total satisfaction in my book and does not look like a scam from here. Proof is in the pictures. By the way, some people just wake up angry.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Nerium is a no go

    • Florida,
    • Jul 11, 2015

    I used Nerium AD night and day creme, I saw no change other than in my wallet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 18 people found this review helpful

    No, don't get sucked into this scam.

    • Jun 22, 2015

    This is a total pyramid scam and the product is entirely too expensive!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 23 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Horrible cream, horrible service, LIES!

    • California,
    • Dec 21, 2014

    ATTENTION! You do not actually get to use this product for 30 full days if you want your money back in the event the cream does not work for you! You must figure that out before the 30 days is up! You must call the company WITHIN 30 days, because if you call the company AFTER using it for 30 days, they WILL NOT REFUND YOU!

    Also, KEEP THE ORIGINAL PACKAGING! They ask that you send them the unused portion in it's original box ("or else we can't guarantee your full refund"). They make you fill out an online form, get a specific number, which expires in 10 days, write that number on the packaging you are returning the unused portion with.

    RIDICULOUS! Not a reputable company at all. Total scam! Does not work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 13

Write a Review for Nerium AD!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review