About NeuroGum

NeuroGum is pushing the boundaries of what it means to be a brain supplement, through their new nootropic that contains a patented blend of caffeine, l-theanine, and B vitamins.

Instead of taking a pill or capsule, cold-compressed NeuroGum delivers these ingredients through a mint flavored, aspartame-free gum.

As you chew, the company claims NeuroGum is scientifically proven to enhance your focus and concentration, reduce stress, improve alertness, memory, and overall cognition, and keep your brain functioning at its best—without jitters or a crash.

Boost your brain power by chewing gum? It sounds like something out of a futuristic sci-fi flick. But has NeuroGum actually made this a reality, or are they relying more on hype than science?

Nootropics Are All the Rage Nowadays

A nootropic is broadly defined as “a substance that enhances cognition and memory and facilitates learning.” Most modern nootropics are classified as nutritional supplements (vs. prescription medications), which are basically viewed by the FDA as food. What’s this mean for you?

Basically, supplements manufacturers can make any claims they want, without having to provide a shred of evidence to support them. Keep this in mind, because we’ll talk about it again shortly.

Over the past couple years, we’ve reviewed dozens of these brain health supplements, including popular options like Brain Storm Elite, Neuroflexyn, Addium, and many others. And customers don’t seem happy.

Most of these products come with 2-star average ratings. Why? Mainly due to complaints of failure to work as advertised, high prices, and difficulty cancelling autoship programs or processing returns.

Is this what you can expect with NeuroGum? Let’s start by taking a look at its ingredients.

Will NeuroGum’s Ingredients Work?

Here’s what we’re told about NeuroGum’s ingredients:

  • Caffeine 40mg
  • L-Theanine 60mg
  • Vitamin B6 (30% daily value)
  • Vitamin B12 (100% daily value)

Quick note: Recommended daily allowances (RDA) can vary greatly between people. For example, vitamin B12’s RDA can range between 2.4mcg and 100mcg, depending on your age, gender, and whether or not you’re pregnant.

Yes, it’s positive we’re told how much of each ingredient NeuroGum contains, since most supplements companies leave this out. However, we think it’s odd that NeuroGum’s manufacturer only included the RDAs for vitamin B6 and B12; not the actual content.

Caffeine is widely known to temporarily boost alertness, and is even listed as possibly effective for improving memory in some instances. For this, clinical studies used 200mg of caffeine daily, although each dose of NeuroGum only contains 40mg.

L-theanine is an amino acid that helps transmit nerve impulses in the brain, although there’s not enough evidence showing that it can provide any benefits when taken orally.

Vitamins B6 and B12 are essential for the human body and can provide a wide range of benefits, although none of the ones claimed by NeuroGum’s manufacturer.

Let’s Talk Absorption

Regardless of the ingredients we’re talking about, they can only work if they’re absorbed by your body. And in general, the more your body can absorb, the more effectively the ingredients can work.

Most nootropic substances are encapsulated and taken orally. Then, they’re digested by your stomach, passed into your bloodstream, and begin working.

While we almost never absorb 100% of anything we eat, this method generally absorbs more ingredients than through the inner lining of your mouth. After all, if our skin wasn’t selective about what it absorbed, we’d quickly become sick.

What’s the point? Because NeuroGum is, well … a gum, your body will generally absorb less of its ingredients than more traditional supplements.

What Does “Cold Compressed” Mean?

Because NeuroGum is “cold compressed,” the manufacturer claims this maximizes its effectiveness. This doesn’t appear to be an actual term, though.

During our research, we did come across the term cold pressed, which generally references oils that are produced at temperatures lower than 120 degrees.

We can’t help but think this is what the company meant.

NeuroGum’s Side Effects

Even though NeuroGum’s ingredients might not work as well as the manufacturer claims, will they cause any side effects?

If you’ve ever had too much coffee or soda in a short amount of time, you know that excessive caffeine can cause insomnia, jitteriness, upset stomach, increased heart rate, and more.

NeuroGum only contains 40mg of caffeine per dose (compared to 95mg for an 8oz cup of coffee), so unless you’re especially sensitive or chew more than one piece at a time, this should be well tolerated by most individuals.

Where Can You Get NeuroGum?

NeuroGum is only available directly through the company, although you won’t be able to purchase it until September 10, 2015.

There weren’t any prices listed at the time of our research, or any indication of how many pieces you’ll get with your order—other than a couple images on their website showing 9 pieces per package.

In the meantime, you could subscribe to their email list and get 20% off on NeuroGum’s launch day.

Is NeuroGum worth the wait?

Chew On This: Is NeuroGum a Good Nootropic?

Like most of the brain supplements we’ve reviewed, there’s very little clinical evidence showing that NeuroGum’s ingredients will provide the huge boost claimed by the manufacturer.

Sure, NeuroGum’s caffeine content might temporarily increase alertness, but no more so than a half cup of coffee. So, depending on its price, it’s our opinion that NeuroGum might not be a “smart” choice.

To keep you headed in the right direction, be sure to read through our Memory Supplements Buyer’s Guide!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

16 Consumer Reviews for NeuroGum

Average Consumer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 13 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  2
Bottom Line: 81% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 16
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    100% recommend

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • May 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I operate a restaurant, and I’m on my feet from open to close. It’s really hard to be focused and energetic all day long. Coffee and soda only takes you so far and also make you fat!

    NeuroGum has helped me so much. I feel the effects immediately, and it keeps me focused and awake throughout the day. I chew probably way too much of the product, but it works for me, so that’s why I keep getting it.

    I 100% recommend this product to anyone! I even chew the gum even on the weekends, haha.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great for keeping focus, especially convenient

    My work involves regularly maintaining focus for extended periods, and I’ve been looking for alternatives to the highly caffeinated drinks and Red Bulls. Those do a great job at a short-term jolt when you can have a drink handy, but I wanted something less intense that I could use for a little longer. I came across NeuroGum a couple weeks ago, and it’s been exactly what I was looking for. Convenient, easy to carry around and keep handy, and gives me the right level of focus without the jitters or crash. Great stuff.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Perfect for on-the-go energy

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    NeuroGum is my favorite go-to energy supplement, especially before/during hiking or cycling with friends and downing a cup of coffee beforehand isn't ideal because of bathroom breaks.

    I love that there aren't any unnecessary ingredients, just what you need and nothing else.

    Super convenient, energy supplement that provides sustained energy when you need it at a great value, what's not to love?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Def give it a try! Worked for me.

    I am doing so many things and my schedule gets super packed, or so I tell myself to justify my excessive red bull consumption. I saw this product online and decided to give it a go.

    Con - I don't get the immediate rush like Red Bull.

    Pros - I don't get the immediate crash like Red Bull! Not only that, but I also can toss it into my purse and don't have to worry about refrigerating it like I do with Red Bull. This product is a great find.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Necessary for college/grad students

    As a dental student, I'm fueled by caffeine to get me through the rigorous curriculum. NeuroGum is now an essential part of my regimen. I’ll have one in the morning to get me through classes and one in the afternoon after lunch to keep me going and push through that mid-afternoon slump. As soon as you start chewing, the caffeine is absorbed and hits you instantly. I'll usually pop one in right before an exam to give me that extra edge and boost. It's especially convenient when you don't have time to grab a cup of coffee.

    Before I found out about NeuroGum, I was experimenting with dosing caffeine and L-theanine pills. I don't have to do that anymore as the folks at NeuroGum have struck the right balance between the two compounds, conveniently packing it into a tasty stick of gum that ultimately provides the focus without the jitters.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Love my coffee, but NeuroGum has earned its place

    • California,
    • Oct 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Some of their marketing copy totally rips on coffee, which I kind of take with a grain of salt because I will NEVER give up my coffee (LOL). HOWEVER, that being said, there are many instances when coffee is not practical nor doable. See below:

    USABILITY: I travel frequently and commute during the week. I keep a pack of NeuroGum in my car and one in my usual carry-on. The 40mg is enough to keep me from falling asleep on the road or focused enough to crank through some work on the plane. These are the times when I prefer NeuroGum vs. a beverage that can spill.

    TASTE: I actually like the taste and prefer the sugar-free sweetener system they use. Love the strong mint.

    FOCUS: The 40mg caffeine + nootropics give me just enough zing to notice the subtle uptake in concentration. There's no POW like an energy drink, but a smooth rise if that makes sense.

    Overall, I love my coffee, but I also love, love, love my NeuroGum too!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Very good gum for driving

    I am an Uber driver and met one of the founders who gave me a pack. An extremely nice guy with very good gum. The taste lasts a long time, and I can chew it for hours. Also, I don't need to worry about the bathroom, unlike energy drinks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    NeuroGum keeps me pumped

    • New York, NY,
    • Jul 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been taking NeuroGum every day for the past few weeks after a coworker recommended it to me. I work in construction, so alertness is key, especially with the long hours and life-threatening work. NeuroGum has been amazing.

    I started giving some to my son who is studying for college exams (SAT, AP) and he says it helps during long study sessions where he isn't often thirsty.

    Great product, would recommend to anyone who needs to stay alert but doesn't like the insane caffeine content of most energy supplements.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Chewing this changed my game

    • Denver, CO,
    • Jul 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Chewing NeuroGum has honestly changed the game for me. I'm a consultant and used to heavily rely on coffee and energy drinks that made me feel bloated and uncomfortable. NeuroGum gives me the perfect dose of caffeine without the bloating and sugar, and keeps my mouth minty fresh.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    New favorite cycling companion and great customer service

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jun 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is my new favorite supplement gum for when I go out cycling. I typically do 20-30 miles every other day, and NeuroGum is super portable, and it doesn't have sugar or aspartame like those energy chews I find at the grocery store.

    Also, I had an expired discount code that couldn't be used, but when I contacted the customer service team, Nahdia was extremely nice and helpful, and they honored the code and gave me the discount anyways! I would buy again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Customer service

    • United States,
    • May 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I subscribed to NeuroGum about a month, or so ago. You get a three-month supply for a certain price with automatic shipments.

    When I received the first shipment, it arrived with no packing slip or no instructions as to how many pieces you are supposed to take. Also, it had no information about how to contact the company.

    I just received my second shipment. Again, no contact info. And also, my three months were not even close to being up. I didn't even get a notice telling me that the next shipment would be sent on such and such a date.

    I don't think the company likes to give out any information so that you won't cancel. If I end up finding a website or phone number for them, I will definitely cancel. I don't notice any difference anyway. It's very expensive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 16

Write a Review for NeuroGum!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review