About NeuroGum

NeuroGum is pushing the boundaries of what it means to be a brain supplement, through their new nootropic that contains a patented blend of caffeine, l-theanine, and B vitamins.

Instead of taking a pill or capsule, cold-compressed NeuroGum delivers these ingredients through a mint flavored, aspartame-free gum.

As you chew, the company claims NeuroGum is scientifically proven to enhance your focus and concentration, reduce stress, improve alertness, memory, and overall cognition, and keep your brain functioning at its best—without jitters or a crash.

Boost your brain power by chewing gum? It sounds like something out of a futuristic sci-fi flick. But has NeuroGum actually made this a reality, or are they relying more on hype than science?

Nootropics Are All the Rage Nowadays

A nootropic is broadly defined as “a substance that enhances cognition and memory and facilitates learning.” Most modern nootropics are classified as nutritional supplements (vs. prescription medications), which are basically viewed by the FDA as food. What’s this mean for you?

Basically, supplements manufacturers can make any claims they want, without having to provide a shred of evidence to support them. Keep this in mind, because we’ll talk about it again shortly.

Over the past couple years, we’ve reviewed dozens of these brain health supplements, including popular options like Brain Storm Elite, Neuroflexyn, Addium, and many others. And customers don’t seem happy.

Most of these products come with 2-star average ratings. Why? Mainly due to complaints of failure to work as advertised, high prices, and difficulty cancelling autoship programs or processing returns.

Is this what you can expect with NeuroGum? Let’s start by taking a look at its ingredients.

Will NeuroGum’s Ingredients Work?

Here’s what we’re told about NeuroGum’s ingredients:

  • Caffeine 40mg
  • L-Theanine 60mg
  • Vitamin B6 (30% daily value)
  • Vitamin B12 (100% daily value)

Quick note: Recommended daily allowances (RDA) can vary greatly between people. For example, vitamin B12’s RDA can range between 2.4mcg and 100mcg, depending on your age, gender, and whether or not you’re pregnant.

Yes, it’s positive we’re told how much of each ingredient NeuroGum contains, since most supplements companies leave this out. However, we think it’s odd that NeuroGum’s manufacturer only included the RDAs for vitamin B6 and B12; not the actual content.

Caffeine is widely known to temporarily boost alertness, and is even listed as possibly effective for improving memory in some instances. For this, clinical studies used 200mg of caffeine daily, although each dose of NeuroGum only contains 40mg.

L-theanine is an amino acid that helps transmit nerve impulses in the brain, although there’s not enough evidence showing that it can provide any benefits when taken orally.

Vitamins B6 and B12 are essential for the human body and can provide a wide range of benefits, although none of the ones claimed by NeuroGum’s manufacturer.

Let’s Talk Absorption

Regardless of the ingredients we’re talking about, they can only work if they’re absorbed by your body. And in general, the more your body can absorb, the more effectively the ingredients can work.

Most nootropic substances are encapsulated and taken orally. Then, they’re digested by your stomach, passed into your bloodstream, and begin working.

While we almost never absorb 100% of anything we eat, this method generally absorbs more ingredients than through the inner lining of your mouth. After all, if our skin wasn’t selective about what it absorbed, we’d quickly become sick.

What’s the point? Because NeuroGum is, well … a gum, your body will generally absorb less of its ingredients than more traditional supplements.

What Does “Cold Compressed” Mean?

Because NeuroGum is “cold compressed,” the manufacturer claims this maximizes its effectiveness. This doesn’t appear to be an actual term, though.

During our research, we did come across the term cold pressed, which generally references oils that are produced at temperatures lower than 120 degrees.

We can’t help but think this is what the company meant.

NeuroGum’s Side Effects

Even though NeuroGum’s ingredients might not work as well as the manufacturer claims, will they cause any side effects?

If you’ve ever had too much coffee or soda in a short amount of time, you know that excessive caffeine can cause insomnia, jitteriness, upset stomach, increased heart rate, and more.

NeuroGum only contains 40mg of caffeine per dose (compared to 95mg for an 8oz cup of coffee), so unless you’re especially sensitive or chew more than one piece at a time, this should be well tolerated by most individuals.

Where Can You Get NeuroGum?

NeuroGum is only available directly through the company, although you won’t be able to purchase it until September 10, 2015.

There weren’t any prices listed at the time of our research, or any indication of how many pieces you’ll get with your order—other than a couple images on their website showing 9 pieces per package.

In the meantime, you could subscribe to their email list and get 20% off on NeuroGum’s launch day.

Is NeuroGum worth the wait?

Chew On This: Is NeuroGum a Good Nootropic?

Like most of the brain supplements we’ve reviewed, there’s very little clinical evidence showing that NeuroGum’s ingredients will provide the huge boost claimed by the manufacturer.

Sure, NeuroGum’s caffeine content might temporarily increase alertness, but no more so than a half cup of coffee. So, depending on its price, it’s our opinion that NeuroGum might not be a “smart” choice.

To keep you headed in the right direction, be sure to read through our Memory Supplements Buyer’s Guide!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

23 Consumer Reviews for NeuroGum

Average Consumer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 19 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  3
Bottom Line: 83% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 23
Sort reviews by:

  • Huge fan of NeuroGum

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've completely replaced my intake of coffee with NeuroGum. The caffeine is way cleaner, and obviously leaves your breath smelling fresh and teeth clean. Highly recommended product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great way to stay focused!

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    NeuroGum is great because it's so easy to pop any time of day. Coffee tends to mess me up, and I usually can't make tea since I'm on the road a lot.

    The stuff tastes amazing too! I like having one in the morning before or during a workout and one in the middle of a day!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great for midday pick me up!

    • California,
    • Sep 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased it as a coffee alternative for afternoon meetings during the work week. The caffeine energy boost is steady and great, highly recommended for afternoon pick-me-ups after lunch!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Awesome product!

    • California,
    • Sep 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using NeuroGum for years now for work, going out, everything! The latest gum tastes even better and gives you the extra kick you need. Customer service is also great! This the gum of the future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Favorite refreshment.

    • Arcadia, CA,
    • Aug 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Whenever I need a little pick me up, especially in my classroom, this is my go-to refreshment. It has never failed me so far.

    I am careful in what I consume so when I get bored and want to put some food into my mouth, I usually end up chewing this no sugar, low calories gum.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Contains Sucralose Chemical Sweetener

    • Massachusetts,
    • Jun 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used 9 pieces in a few hours seeking energy. I saw no boost. Instead, an uphill battle of fatigue from the onset of symptoms due to the Sucralose, an artificial chemical sweetener not listed in the ingredients of the extensive product description. I'm trying to avoid yet assumed it was safe due to the claim of "Aspartame FREE." Wow! Thank you NeuroGum.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Love it - bye bye coffee and energy drinks

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • May 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    A friend showed it to me, and wow, it was like, why didn't I think of that? It is really cool because it is portable and delivers the effects that keep you awake. It's just really convenient.

    Great taste too.

    I think they will be a big brand real soon.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    100% recommend

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • May 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I operate a restaurant, and I’m on my feet from open to close. It’s really hard to be focused and energetic all day long. Coffee and soda only takes you so far and also make you fat!

    NeuroGum has helped me so much. I feel the effects immediately, and it keeps me focused and awake throughout the day. I chew probably way too much of the product, but it works for me, so that’s why I keep getting it.

    I 100% recommend this product to anyone! I even chew the gum even on the weekends, haha.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great for keeping focus, especially convenient

    My work involves regularly maintaining focus for extended periods, and I’ve been looking for alternatives to the highly caffeinated drinks and Red Bulls. Those do a great job at a short-term jolt when you can have a drink handy, but I wanted something less intense that I could use for a little longer. I came across NeuroGum a couple weeks ago, and it’s been exactly what I was looking for. Convenient, easy to carry around and keep handy, and gives me the right level of focus without the jitters or crash. Great stuff.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Perfect for on-the-go energy

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    NeuroGum is my favorite go-to energy supplement, especially before/during hiking or cycling with friends and downing a cup of coffee beforehand isn't ideal because of bathroom breaks.

    I love that there aren't any unnecessary ingredients, just what you need and nothing else.

    Super convenient, energy supplement that provides sustained energy when you need it at a great value, what's not to love?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Def give it a try! Worked for me.

    I am doing so many things and my schedule gets super packed, or so I tell myself to justify my excessive red bull consumption. I saw this product online and decided to give it a go.

    Con - I don't get the immediate rush like Red Bull.

    Pros - I don't get the immediate crash like Red Bull! Not only that, but I also can toss it into my purse and don't have to worry about refrigerating it like I do with Red Bull. This product is a great find.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 23

Write a Review for NeuroGum!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review