About NeuroGum

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Sep 5, 2015

NeuroGum is pushing the boundaries of what it means to be a brain supplement, through their new nootropic that contains a patented blend of caffeine, l-theanine, and B vitamins.

Instead of taking a pill or capsule, cold-compressed NeuroGum delivers these ingredients through a mint-flavored, aspartame-free gum.

As you chew, the company claims NeuroGum is scientifically proven to enhance your focus and concentration, reduce stress, improve alertness, memory, and overall cognition, and keep your brain functioning at its best—without jitters or a crash.

Boost your brainpower by chewing gum? It sounds like something out of a futuristic sci-fi flick. But has NeuroGum actually made this a reality, or are they relying more on hype than science?

Nootropics Are All the Rage Nowadays

A nootropic is broadly defined as “a substance that enhances cognition and memory and facilitates learning.” Most modern nootropics are classified as nutritional supplements (vs. prescription medications), which are basically viewed by the FDA as food. What’s this mean for you?

Basically, supplements manufacturers can make any claims they want, without having to provide a shred of evidence to support them. Keep this in mind, because we’ll talk about it again shortly.

Over the past couple of years, we’ve reviewed dozens of these brain health supplements. And customers don’t seem happy.

Most of these products come with 2-star average ratings. Why? Mainly due to complaints of failure to work as advertised, high prices, and difficulty canceling autoship programs or processing returns.

Is this what you can expect with NeuroGum? Let’s start by taking a look at its ingredients.

Will NeuroGum’s Ingredients Work?

Here’s what we’re told about NeuroGum’s ingredients:

  • Caffeine 40mg
  • L-Theanine 60mg
  • Vitamin B6 (30% daily value)
  • Vitamin B12 (100% daily value)

Quick note: Recommended daily allowances (RDA) can vary greatly between people. For example, vitamin B12’s RDA can range between 2.4mcg and 100mcg, depending on your age, gender, and whether or not you’re pregnant.

Yes, it’s positive we’re told how much of each ingredient NeuroGum contains since most supplements companies leave this out. However, we think it’s odd that NeuroGum’s manufacturer only included the RDA for vitamin B6 and B12; not the actual content.

Caffeine is widely known to temporarily boost alertness, and is even listed as possibly effective for improving memory in some instances. For this, clinical studies used 200mg of caffeine daily, although each dose of NeuroGum only contains 40mg.

L-theanine is an amino acid that helps transmit nerve impulses in the brain, although there’s not enough evidence showing that it can provide any benefits when taken orally.

Vitamins B6 and B12 are essential for the human body and can provide a wide range of benefits, although none of the ones claimed by NeuroGum’s manufacturer.

Regardless of the ingredients we’re talking about, they can only work if they’re absorbed by your body. And in general, the more your body can absorb, the more effectively the ingredients can work.

Most nootropic substances are encapsulated and taken orally. Then, they’re digested by your stomach, passed into your bloodstream, and begin working.

While we almost never absorb 100% of anything we eat, this method generally absorbs more ingredients than through the inner lining of your mouth. After all, if our skin wasn’t selective about what it absorbed, we’d quickly become sick.

What’s the point? Because NeuroGum is, well … a gum, your body will generally absorb less of its ingredients than more traditional supplements.

Because NeuroGum is “cold compressed,” the manufacturer claims this maximizes its effectiveness. This doesn’t appear to be an actual term, though.

During our research, we did come across the term cold-pressed, which generally references oils that are produced at temperatures lower than 120 degrees. We can’t help but think this is what the company meant.

NeuroGum’s Side Effects

Even though NeuroGum’s ingredients might not work as well as the manufacturer claims, will they cause any side effects?

If you’ve ever had too much coffee or soda in a short amount of time, you know that excessive caffeine can cause insomnia, jitteriness, upset stomach, increased heart rate, and more.

NeuroGum only contains 40mg of caffeine per dose (compared to 95mg for an 8oz cup of coffee), so unless you’re especially sensitive or chew more than one piece at a time, this should be well tolerated by most individuals.

Our Bottom Line: Is NeuroGum a Good Nootropic?

Like most of the brain supplements we’ve reviewed, there’s very little clinical evidence showing that NeuroGum’s ingredients will provide the huge boost claimed by the manufacturer.

Sure, NeuroGum’s caffeine content might temporarily increase alertness, but no more so than a half cup of coffee. So, depending on its price, it’s our opinion that NeuroGum might not be a “smart” choice.

» See Also: The Truth About Memory Supplements: Do They Work?


Read 37 NeuroGum Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 32 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  4
Bottom Line: 86% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 37
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Replaced my afternoon coffee

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Apr 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    During college, I drank a can of RedBull or Monster almost every day on top of my morning coffee. After years of it I knew that it wasn't healthy, and after looking at reddit for alternative energy products, I saw NeuroGum and decided to give it a try. I subscribe monthly, and it literally is something I use every day and part of my daily routine. It is healthy, has zero sugar (not the best-tasting gum but seriously works), and another bonus is that my teeth are whiter!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great customer service and the product delivers!

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    NeuroGum probably took the two previous reviews to heart and upped their customer service game. I had an amazing experience with their customer support team! I experience allergies with certain gums and wanted to confirm a few ingredients, and I received a response in less than 24 hours.

    I purchased the pack of gum about a week ago, and it's helped with long drives, studying, and mid-day pick-me-ups without jitters. The energy boost is subtle and long-lasting. Doesn't hurt that the packaging is absolutely amazing as well!

    The taste is actually pretty good. Compared to other caffeinated products, this gum is my favorite.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Best nootropic gum I've chewed

    • New York, NY,
    • May 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've tried all the nootro/energy gums on the market. It is easily the best tasting and strongest. I use military energy gum if I'm in a pinch, but this is my day-to-day ride or die. Subscribing makes this way more affordable, too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    New favorite cycling companion and great customer service

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jun 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is my new favorite supplement gum for when I go out cycling. I typically do 20-30 miles every other day, and NeuroGum is super portable, and it doesn't have sugar or aspartame like those energy chews I find at the grocery store.

    Also, I had an expired discount code that couldn't be used, but when I contacted the customer service team, Nahdia was extremely nice and helpful, and they honored the code and gave me the discount anyways! I would buy again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Chewing this changed my game

    • Denver, CO,
    • Jul 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Chewing NeuroGum has honestly changed the game for me. I'm a consultant and used to heavily rely on coffee and energy drinks that made me feel bloated and uncomfortable. NeuroGum gives me the perfect dose of caffeine without the bloating and sugar, and keeps my mouth minty fresh.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    NeuroGum keeps me pumped

    • New York, NY,
    • Jul 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been taking NeuroGum every day for the past few weeks after a coworker recommended it to me. I work in construction, so alertness is key, especially with the long hours and life-threatening work. NeuroGum has been amazing.

    I started giving some to my son who is studying for college exams (SAT, AP) and he says it helps during long study sessions where he isn't often thirsty.

    Great product, would recommend to anyone who needs to stay alert but doesn't like the insane caffeine content of most energy supplements.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Very good gum for driving

    I am an Uber driver and met one of the founders who gave me a pack. An extremely nice guy with very good gum. The taste lasts a long time, and I can chew it for hours. Also, I don't need to worry about the bathroom, unlike energy drinks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Love my coffee, but NeuroGum has earned its place

    • California,
    • Oct 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Some of their marketing copy totally rips on coffee, which I kind of take with a grain of salt because I will NEVER give up my coffee (LOL). HOWEVER, that being said, there are many instances when coffee is not practical nor doable. See below:

    USABILITY: I travel frequently and commute during the week. I keep a pack of NeuroGum in my car and one in my usual carry-on. The 40mg is enough to keep me from falling asleep on the road or focused enough to crank through some work on the plane. These are the times when I prefer NeuroGum vs. a beverage that can spill.

    TASTE: I actually like the taste and prefer the sugar-free sweetener system they use. Love the strong mint.

    FOCUS: The 40mg caffeine + nootropics give me just enough zing to notice the subtle uptake in concentration. There's no POW like an energy drink, but a smooth rise if that makes sense.

    Overall, I love my coffee, but I also love, love, love my NeuroGum too!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Necessary for college/grad students

    As a dental student, I'm fueled by caffeine to get me through the rigorous curriculum. NeuroGum is now an essential part of my regimen. I’ll have one in the morning to get me through classes and one in the afternoon after lunch to keep me going and push through that mid-afternoon slump. As soon as you start chewing, the caffeine is absorbed and hits you instantly. I'll usually pop one in right before an exam to give me that extra edge and boost. It's especially convenient when you don't have time to grab a cup of coffee.

    Before I found out about NeuroGum, I was experimenting with dosing caffeine and L-theanine pills. I don't have to do that anymore as the folks at NeuroGum have struck the right balance between the two compounds, conveniently packing it into a tasty stick of gum that ultimately provides the focus without the jitters.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Def give it a try! Worked for me.

    I am doing so many things and my schedule gets super packed, or so I tell myself to justify my excessive red bull consumption. I saw this product online and decided to give it a go.

    Con - I don't get the immediate rush like Red Bull.

    Pros - I don't get the immediate crash like Red Bull! Not only that, but I also can toss it into my purse and don't have to worry about refrigerating it like I do with Red Bull. This product is a great find.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Perfect for on-the-go energy

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    NeuroGum is my favorite go-to energy supplement, especially before/during hiking or cycling with friends and downing a cup of coffee beforehand isn't ideal because of bathroom breaks.

    I love that there aren't any unnecessary ingredients, just what you need and nothing else.

    Super convenient, energy supplement that provides sustained energy when you need it at a great value, what's not to love?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 37

Write a Review for NeuroGum!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review