About New Age Serum

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: May 14, 2018

The Instant Wrinkle Reduction technology in New Age Serum (branded as Neo Hydrate Gold) claims to be proven to boost skin moisturization, increase firmness within one week, and visibly decrease the appearance of fine lines after four weeks—so much so, that they advertise you’ll take more than 10 years off your skin.

Whether in the morning or evening, simply apply the serum to clean skin, allow plenty of time for it to absorb, and then follow with your preferred moisturizer. Within minutes, the formula will start working at the cellular level to promote collagen and elastin production, resulting in plumper, rejuvenated skin.

It’s well understood that collagen and elastin are important components of healthy skin. Can you realistically expect New Age Serum’s ingredients to boost these proteins and deliver the results advertised on their website? We’ll start with the basics.

The Important Roles of Collagen and Elastin

There’s no need for a science lesson here, but it’s important to ensure that everyone’s on the same page before diving in.

Proteins are long chains of amino acids that play very important roles in the body, but act primarily as structural components for muscle, hair, and skin. In the latter, the two most common proteins present are collagen, which acts like an underlying framework to support skin, and elastin, which delivers elasticity and allows skin to spring back into shape after being stretched.

While both of these proteins are present in high levels when we’re young, some estimates indicate that we begin losing about one percent per year upon reaching the age of 40. Combined with other factors like UV damage, environmental exposure, and lifestyle choices, this cumulatively results in skin that wrinkles, sags, and otherwise loses its luster.

According to Dr. Justin West, Medical Director of Finesse Plastic Surgery, though, replacing these lost proteins by means other than injection (whether external creams like New Age Serum, or internal dietary supplements) isn’t shown to work in a clinical setting.

“A big myth is that we can replace lost collagen in our skin by eating more collagen, or applying it to our skin with topical products,” he says.

This is because the amino acids in collagen or elastin (or other ingredients) don’t magically reassemble into proteins when consumed orally.

And while Dr. West advise that “we can help provide the building blocks to collagen production by eating protein and making sure we get enough Vitamin C,” he emphasizes “topical collagens in creams and lotions cannot penetrate and integrate into our skin.”

With these core details in mind, which ingredients does New Age Serum use in its formula?

Taking a Closer Look at New Age Serum’s Ingredients

The label listed on the New Age Neo Hydrate Gold serum indicates it contains the following ingredients:

Water, Glycerin, Methyl Glucoside Proline Lysine Copper Complex, Aloe Barbadensis Juice, Hyaluronic Acid, Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, Colloidal Gold, Coffea Arabica (Coffee) Extract, Curcubita Pepo (Pumpkin) Seed Extract, Ethanol, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Potassium Sorbate, Hexylene Glycol

According to websites like Paula’s Choice, Truth In Aging, WebMD, and EWG.org, most of these ingredients work as skin conditioners (glycerin, Aloe barbadensis juice, caprylyl glycol, heyxylene glycol), coating agents and film formers (hydroxypropyl methylcellulose), drying agents (ethanol), and preservatives (phenoxyethanol, potassium sorbate). There are a few exceptions, however.

Hyaluronic acid is a molecule that has the ability to hold several times its weight in water, as well as to improve cellular turnover, which thereby helps the skin maintain moisture and a healthy glow.

Like its silver counterpart, colloidal gold simply contains particles of gold suspended in some type of solution. While we learned from these sites that it’s often used in medicine for drug delivery and gene therapy, none indicated sufficient clinical evidence that it can help improve the condition of skin.

Comparatively, the clinical research related to caffeine (found in Coffea Arabica in New Age Serum) is much more robust, so Paula’s Choice reports it might “have soothing and antioxidant properties, especially when skin is exposed to UV light. It can penetrate skin and has a constricting effect, which can help improve the look of redness.”

However, they report there’s little-to-no research indicating it can address other potential facial concerns, such as wrinkles, fine lines, dark spots, or under eye bags.

Finally, the Methyl Glucoside Proline Lysine Copper Complex found in New Age Serum is also contained in several other anti-aging cream formulas, although these same sites didn’t indicate sufficient clinical evidence that it’s beneficial for skin.

Could New Age Serum’s Ingredients Cause Side Effects?

Other than potential mild, temporary redness or irritation at the application site for especially sensitive individuals, Paula’s Choice, Truth In Aging, WebMD, and EWG.org indicated that most individuals won’t experience side effects from New Age Serum’s ingredients.

It’s also important to keep in mind that exfoliating ingredients like hyaluronic acid can increase sensitivity to UV rays so be sure to wear plenty of sunscreen.

Related: Best Face Sunscreen Buying Guide

As usual, it’s a good idea to speak with your dermatologist before beginning any new skincare product, who can help identify potential side effects based on your specific diagnosis.

How Much Does New Age Serum Cost?

If purchased from the main New Age website, one bottle (30 ml) of their Neo Hydrate Gold serum is priced at $49.95.

On the other hand, if you place an order through their BuyNewAge.com landing page, your only option is to pay $6.97 for 14-day trial. After the trial expires, you’ll be charged $69.95 for the full-size bottle you already received. Then, you’ll continue receiving monthly shipments and charged $69.95 each time.

All New Age Serum orders come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges, although their terms indicate it “must be unopened and unused with safety seal intact” to qualify. Customer support can be reached at 800-640-3456 or customerservice@newageskin.care.

What Can We Learn From New Age Serum Customer Reviews?

Since writing our original article, more than 30 readers had provided feedback about their experiences with New Age Serum, giving it an average rating of about 1.5 stars. While more than one customer seemed pleased, common complaints revolved around no results and problems with the 14-day trial.

Related: Best Foods for Healthy, Clear, Glowing Skin Recommended by Experts

According to the BBB, as a company, New Age Skin Care is based out of Tempe, AZ and has been in business since July 2013 with a rating of a B as of 5/14/18. Although, it appears that they are currently not accreddited with the BBB.

New Age Neo Hydrate Gold Serum vs. the Other Anti-Aging Products: How to Choose

As you likely already recognize, from capsules and creams to serums and proprietary ingredients, there are potentially thousands of anti-aging products like New Age Serum competing for your hard-earned money. In fact, copying and pasting Neo Hydrate’s ingredients into Google returned another product (Primesse, $49) that appeared to feature an identical formulation.

Given this mind-boggling number of choices, what’s the best first step for figuring out the right option for you?

Talk with your dermatologist. During your appointment, they can discuss your needs and concerns, evaluate your skin, and order tests, if necessary. From there, they can recommend science-backed treatments that might deliver the most bang for your buck.

If they recommend you pursue over the counter treatments, based on our years of experience writing about anti-aging products, we’d recommend only doing business with companies who:

  • Provide a complete list of ingredients for their formulations
  • Price their products competitively
  • Stand behind their products with at least 30-day refund policies (including no restocking fees)
  • Come with mostly positive customer feedback

Does all of this bode well for New Age and their Neo Hydrate serum?

Our Final Thoughts About New Age Serum

Returning to our Collagen Supplements Buying Guide, Dr. Justin West emphasizes that, because of the general lack of clinical evidence surrounding topical and oral collagen treatments, “If you are going to invest in yourself, make sure you spend your money wisely and put it towards products or treatments with proven effectiveness.”

To this extent, while the Clinical Study page of the New Age website indicates that their Neo Hydrate Gold Serum provided a wide variety of benefits for participants, it doesn’t appear to have been published in a peer-reviewed scientific journal and wasn’t available for third-party review at the time of our research.

Furthermore, it seemed that the company had less-than-stellar overall reputation among HighYa readers, most of whom cited similar complaints.

If you decide to give the serum a try, though, it appears that you’ll pay a lower price through their main website, versus their standalone Neo Hydrate Gold landing page. And finally, while New Age seems to stand behind their products with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H, keep in mind that as soon as you try it, you own it.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

35 Consumer Reviews for New Age Serum

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  29
Bottom Line: 17% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 35
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Excellent product

    • Oxford, NC,
    • Aug 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    New Age Serum is an excellent product! I have tried so many expensive products prior to New Age and had no visible results. I have used New Age for a week and can see a remarkable difference. My skin is firmer, moisturized and glowing. I would highly recommend this product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 1, 2018

      Lisa,

      Margaret,

      Thank you so much for the great feedback we love to hear from our customers and are so happy you are enjoying the products.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Fowlerville, MI,
    • Jul 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    These products and this company is a scam! Their products do not do anything at all. It's almost like putting water with a little bit of cream on your face! I signed up for their free trial and have now been charged over $500! I called to return the products (in unopened boxes), and the person I spoke to was rude and condescending, PLUS they won't give me my money back! They agreed to give me $116.02 back, and that's all! And they want a $9.95 restocking fee for each of the two boxes they are "allowing" me to return. I am furious!

    Buyer beware! Their product is terrible, and so is their customer service. Save your money - they are terrible!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 12, 2018

      Lisa,

      Shirley,

      We are sorry for the confusion and that you are upset but you signed up for a 14-day trial in April and did not contact the company in over 4 months after receiving products monthly. I'm not sure why you never called after the first set of bottles were delivered? Regardless, we have been trying to help but every time we call you yell and hang up on us. We did say you can send back the last 60 days worth of product for a full refund. This is double the allotted 30-day return policy to try and help you as much as possible. We have even processed these refunds already before the product is even returned to show we are trying to help. These credits are already in route please return the products. Thank you, Lisa.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Problems with my order

    • Midland, TX,
    • Jun 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I let my bank try to clear this up for me and after they couldn't make progress, I called them asking for a refund. The man at the customer service was nice and promptly refunded my money.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 1, 2018

      Lisa,

      Mark

      I am sorry if you misunderstood the trial period, I see that your refunds have been processed for the returned items, and we did say that can return them from the first call you had with us. We explain how the trial works on the website, emails, and paperwork that you can call to cancel anytime if you do not wish to continue. Regardless, you should see this second credit in the next day or so. We have been nothing, but trying to help you every time you have spoken to us.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Jun 1, 2018

    Deceptive trade practices

    I ordered their serum and cream. I paid for the shipping and received my order promptly, then in fourteen days they charged me $155.93 for the two and shipped me another order. I didn't see ANYWHERE where they were going to do this after my 14 days!

    Be careful, they will not refund that money. I'm writing this review and will be filing with the BBB and others. I don't care if they are backed by the Sharks, the way they do business will keep me from doing business with them EVER!

    (read moreread less...)

  • 14 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Scam!

    • Jersey City, NJ,
    • Apr 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After filling out a survey, I was under the impression they were free samples, and it was not until I kept receiving products that I figured out it was a subscription deal. They keeping coming month to month, and it is impossible to cancel the subscription (especially when you didn't know you were subscribing and I don't know where or who to contact). This is so frustrating and unacceptable! They are ripping people off, and for the other comments in here, they are getting away with it! What should we all do to stop they getting money out my account?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 1, 2018

      Lisa,

      Virna,

      We are sorry if you misunderstood how the trial period worked, we do explain it on the website, emails, and paperwork, and you can call to cancel anytime. We do make it very easy to contact us, and our phone number is written on the boxes, paperwork, and bottles. Your bank did reach out to us and as a courtesy, we did refund you already before receiving the bottles back. Please we are still waiting on the return on the refunded bottles worth of product.

    • Jun 11, 2018

      Carol K.

      I requested the trial as well.

      Before I could return the first (unopened), the second and third started arriving. I sent them all back (unopened). They credited me the charges except the $19.95 in stocking fees. $19.95 in stocking fees, really? I feel I've been scammed.

    • Jun 13, 2018

      Virna Vargas

      Lisa,

      Thank God my bank took care of this issue. I didn't get the trial because I checked your company website or received an email or filled some paperwork. I filled out an Amazon survey online. I haven’t returned products because I won’t pay for shipment return. Please send me a prepaid shipping label and I’d be glad to send the boxes with all the products along with the free samples.

      Thanks.

    • Jul 3, 2018

      Lydia L.

      No products, maybe two or three. Why is my account being withdrawn? They're rip-offs. I want compensation for the money that they have taken from my account. I didn't receive what they're claiming. How can I send something back that wasn't received?

    • Jul 12, 2018

      Lisa,

      Lydia,

      Thank you for reaching out, but we did send you the missing package forms to fill out because the post office is showing delivery on your orders. We have not received anything back but we still processed the refunds the day you called in and spoke with us. Thank you, Lisa.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 17 people found this review helpful

    New Age Skin Care

    • Texas,
    • Apr 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Scam! They have figured out a way to trick people and steal their money, AND they are very arrogant about. Customer service people are mocking and ridiculing customers for being tricked (fingers in their ears wiggling and tongue out). Let's stand up and do something about it!

    One customer review said contact the Attorney General. How about the BBB and Amazon too? I believe Amazon should not condone something like this, how many of us heard about this through Amazon? If we don't do something, they will continue to do this to our fellow Americans.

    I sent the product back within the time frame though I did tell the so call manager "Jess" it was a "scam." He got angry and told me I called his company a scam, he was not going to refund my money AND there was NOTHING I could do about it! He had the attitude that he was doing me a favor by not stealing my money!

    I am looking for court cases. Anyone who has sued this company or similar companies with this type of advertising AND won! I am also googling a consumer protection group I once heard about, I know it's Federal.

    Any help will be appreciated. I will do all the writing/filing/communicating. Hopefully, it is ok with you all to use these reviews also.

    I am one ANGRY customer and will never stop! I simply work too hard for my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 1, 2018

      Lisa,

      We are trying to find your account to make sure you were helped properly, and apologize if you were upset or misunderstood the trial program. I do not think a representative here would ever say these sort of things, but we will look more into it. If you would like to email us directly we can help you further, CustomerService@newageskin.care.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Scam - if you don't call in time they will not accept the returned product

    They send out the product and your 14 days is not when you receive it. You barely have a week to try out the product. I missed the deadline by a day. So one would expect when you do receive the product you do not want you can send it back unopened, and they will credit your account. Well, forget that theory. They will not accept the product they charged to my account, even after sending it to them unopened. It costs $76. Hardly worth that.

    I do not like how it feels on my face. It really dries out my skin. Is heavy and sticky. The customer service gentleman was very courteous as he told me he could give me a credit of $30. But they will not accept the product returned.

    I do not think this is a reputable company. I feel it is a scam to get what they can from people not following their strange rules. Beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 1, 2018

      Lisa,

      Sandra, I am sorry you feel this way, normally any customer is allowed to send back the product if it is not used within 30 days of ordering. I do see a courtesy refund was issued for the misunderstanding. I am sorry to hear the product did not work out for you. If you like to email us directly we love to help you further, customerService@newageskin.care.

    • Aug 6, 2018

      LISA B.

      They say the trial is free, it's not. After you use it they charge you $19.95 for the trial samples, even when you cancel the auto shipment. When I told them I'd return the box unopened they told me I'd still be charged for the shipping and handling of about $11.00. Avoid this company at all costs.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Don't Buy

    This company is a rip-off. The "trial" just means after 14 days they are going to start charging your credit card EVERY MONTH. The customer service people are rude. The product is nothing special. Do yourself a favor and do not sign up for this nonsense.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 1, 2018

      Lisa,

      Carrie,

      I am sorry if you did not enjoy the products, or see the information on the website, emails, or paperwork about the 14-day trial. I do see your account was closed as soon as you called us. Hopefully, the products did have some smoothing effects and noticeable changes.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy!

    • Westerville, OH,
    • Mar 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the biggest rip-off. I have called three times to cancel my order. The day of the order, the day it was received, and just now. They will not send me a confirmation that my order has been canceled. I don't know what else to do. I will report them to the Attorney General office. Horrible, horrible business and their ethics are down the toilet. Do not buy this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 1, 2018

      Lisa,

      Terri,

      I am not sure why you are so upset, we let you keep the products completely free, and we're only looking for feedback for sending out expensive bottles just for the shipping. Your account was closed that same day, and we have not charged you anything at all. I am sorry if you did not understand the point of the trial, but we did what you requested. Hopefully, the free bottles have been working for you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Shady

    I was under the impression I was ordering samples, and it was not until I kept receiving products that I figured out it was a subscription deal. The prices vary wildly from month to month, and it is VERY hard to cancel the subscription (especially when you didn't know you were subscribing).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 1, 2018

      Lisa,

      Angela,

      Thank you for this feedback, we did close the account as soon as we heard from you. We provide the phone number on all the products, boxes, and paperwork with the bottles. I am sorry if you did not see this information. Hopefully, you were able to see some results after using the products.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    Do not try the trial - you will continue to be replenished and charged monthly. The product is not worth the price, and the packaging is cheap plastic. Not a luxury product but charging a luxury price. No drastic effects as promised. I am quite annoyed at myself for being scammed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    The worst

    On top of the fact that the product does not work, they have the worst customer service! They need to hire people with better skills to treat their clients.

    And they have return policies that they do not share with the client, that way they can keep part of their money. What a shame! The worst company ever!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 1, 2018

      Lisa,

      I see you did reach out to us directly and you were able to send the new bottle back for a refund. I am sorry if you misunderstood how the 14- day trial period worked. Hopefully, you were able to see some results with the first free bottles.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 35

Write a Review for New Age Serum!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review