About New Age Serum

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Oct 22, 2015

The Instant Wrinkle Reduction technology in New Age Serum (branded as Neo Hydrate Gold) claims to be proven to boost skin moisturization, increase firmness within one week, and visibly decrease the appearance of fine lines after four weeks—so much so, that they advertise you’ll take more than 10 years off your skin.

Whether in the morning or evening, simply apply the serum to clean skin, allow plenty of time for it to absorb, and then follow with your preferred moisturizer. Within minutes, the formula will start working at the cellular level to promote collagen and elastin production, resulting in plumper, rejuvenated skin.

It’s well understood that collagen and elastin are important components of healthy skin. Can you realistically expect New Age Serum’s ingredients to boost these proteins and deliver the results advertised on their website? We’ll start with the basics.

The Important Roles of Collagen and Elastin

There’s no need for a science lesson here, but it’s important to ensure that everyone’s on the same page before diving in.

Proteins are long chains of amino acids that play very important roles in the body, but act primarily as structural components for muscle, hair, and skin. In the latter, the two most common proteins present are collagen, which acts like an underlying framework to support skin, and elastin, which delivers elasticity and allows skin to spring back into shape after being stretched.

While both of these proteins are present in high levels when we’re young, some estimates indicate that we begin losing about one percent per year upon reaching the age of 40. Combined with other factors like UV damage, environmental exposure, and lifestyle choices, this cumulatively results in skin that wrinkles, sags, and otherwise loses its luster.

According to Dr. Justin West, Medical Director of Finesse Plastic Surgery, though, replacing these lost proteins by means other than injection (whether external creams like New Age Serum, or internal dietary supplements) isn’t shown to work in a clinical setting.

“A big myth is that we can replace lost collagen in our skin by eating more collagen, or applying it to our skin with topical products,” he says.

This is because the amino acids in collagen or elastin (or other ingredients) don’t magically reassemble into proteins when consumed orally.

And while Dr. West advise that “we can help provide the building blocks to collagen production by eating protein and making sure we get enough Vitamin C,” he emphasizes “topical collagens in creams and lotions cannot penetrate and integrate into our skin.”

With these core details in mind, which ingredients does New Age Serum use in its formula?

Taking a Closer Look at New Age Serum’s Ingredients

The label listed on the New Age Neo Hydrate Gold serum indicates it contains the following ingredients:

Water, Glycerin, Methyl Glucoside Proline Lysine Copper Complex, Aloe Barbadensis Juice, Hyaluronic Acid, Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, Colloidal Gold, Coffea Arabica (Coffee) Extract, Curcubita Pepo (Pumpkin) Seed Extract, Ethanol, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Potassium Sorbate, Hexylene Glycol

According to websites like Paula’s Choice, Truth In Aging, WebMD, and EWG.org, most of these ingredients work as skin conditioners (glycerin, Aloe barbadensis juice, caprylyl glycol, heyxylene glycol), coating agents and film formers (hydroxypropyl methylcellulose), drying agents (ethanol), and preservatives (phenoxyethanol, potassium sorbate). There are a few exceptions, however.

Hyaluronic acid is a molecule that has the ability to hold several times its weight in water, as well as to improve cellular turnover, which thereby helps the skin maintain moisture and a healthy glow.

Like its silver counterpart, colloidal gold simply contains particles of gold suspended in some type of solution. While we learned from these sites that it’s often used in medicine for drug delivery and gene therapy, none indicated sufficient clinical evidence that it can help improve the condition of skin.

Comparatively, the clinical research related to caffeine (found in Coffea Arabica in New Age Serum) is much more robust, so Paula’s Choice reports it might “have soothing and antioxidant properties, especially when skin is exposed to UV light. It can penetrate skin and has a constricting effect, which can help improve the look of redness.”

However, they report there’s little-to-no research indicating it can address other potential facial concerns, such as wrinkles, fine lines, dark spots, or under eye bags.

Finally, the Methyl Glucoside Proline Lysine Copper Complex found in New Age Serum is also contained in several other anti-aging cream formulas, although these same sites didn’t indicate sufficient clinical evidence that it’s beneficial for skin.

Could New Age Serum’s Ingredients Cause Side Effects?

Other than potential mild, temporary redness or irritation at the application site for especially sensitive individuals, Paula’s Choice, Truth In Aging, WebMD, and EWG.org indicated that most individuals won’t experience side effects from New Age Serum’s ingredients.

It’s also important to keep in mind that exfoliating ingredients like hyaluronic acid can increase sensitivity to UV rays so be sure to wear plenty of sunscreen.

Related: Best Face Sunscreen Buying Guide

As usual, it’s a good idea to speak with your dermatologist before beginning any new skincare product, who can help identify potential side effects based on your specific diagnosis.

How Much Does New Age Serum Cost?

If purchased from the main New Age website, one bottle (30 ml) of their Neo Hydrate Gold serum is priced at $49.95.

On the other hand, if you place an order through their BuyNewAge.com landing page, your only option is to pay $6.97 for 14-day trial. After the trial expires, you’ll be charged $69.95 for the full-size bottle you already received. Then, you’ll continue receiving monthly shipments and charged $69.95 each time.

All New Age Serum orders come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges, although their terms indicate it “must be unopened and unused with safety seal intact” to qualify. Customer support can be reached at 800-640-3456 or customerservice@newageskin.care.

What Can We Learn From New Age Serum Customer Reviews?

Since writing our original article, more than 30 readers had provided feedback about their experiences with New Age Serum, giving it an average rating of about 1.5 stars. While more than one customer seemed pleased, common complaints revolved around no results and problems with the 14-day trial.

Related: Best Foods for Healthy, Clear, Glowing Skin Recommended by Experts

According to the BBB, as a company, New Age Skin Care is based out of Tempe, AZ and has been in business since July 2013 with a rating of a B as of 5/14/18. Although, it appears that they are currently not accreddited with the BBB.

New Age Neo Hydrate Gold Serum vs. the Other Anti-Aging Products: How to Choose

As you likely already recognize, from capsules and creams to serums and proprietary ingredients, there are potentially thousands of anti-aging products like New Age Serum competing for your hard-earned money. In fact, copying and pasting Neo Hydrate’s ingredients into Google returned another product (Primesse, $49) that appeared to feature an identical formulation.

Given this mind-boggling number of choices, what’s the best first step for figuring out the right option for you?

Talk with your dermatologist. During your appointment, they can discuss your needs and concerns, evaluate your skin, and order tests, if necessary. From there, they can recommend science-backed treatments that might deliver the most bang for your buck.

If they recommend you pursue over the counter treatments, based on our years of experience writing about anti-aging products, we’d recommend only doing business with companies who:

  • Provide a complete list of ingredients for their formulations
  • Price their products competitively
  • Stand behind their products with at least 30-day refund policies (including no restocking fees)
  • Come with mostly positive customer feedback

Does all of this bode well for New Age and their Neo Hydrate serum?

Our Final Thoughts About New Age Serum

Returning to our Collagen Supplements Buying Guide, Dr. Justin West emphasizes that, because of the general lack of clinical evidence surrounding topical and oral collagen treatments, “If you are going to invest in yourself, make sure you spend your money wisely and put it towards products or treatments with proven effectiveness.”

To this extent, while the Clinical Study page of the New Age website indicates that their Neo Hydrate Gold Serum provided a wide variety of benefits for participants, it doesn’t appear to have been published in a peer-reviewed scientific journal and wasn’t available for third-party review at the time of our research.

Furthermore, it seemed that the company had less-than-stellar overall reputation among HighYa readers, most of whom cited similar complaints.

If you decide to give the serum a try, though, it appears that you’ll pay a lower price through their main website, versus their standalone Neo Hydrate Gold landing page. And finally, while New Age seems to stand behind their products with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H, keep in mind that as soon as you try it, you own it.

Editor's Notes: This article was originally written on October 22, 2015, but was revised and updated on May 14, 2018 at the company's request.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

50 Consumer Reviews for New Age Serum

Average Consumer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 14 4 star: 5 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  31
Bottom Line: 38% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 50
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Updated payment, my card needed updated.

    • Clarkston, MI,
    • Oct 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hello, I've been a customer with this company for about 3 to 4 months, and I absolutely love the serum and the also the extra that they put in with a package. It just goes to show what a great company they are, and I am in a lot of social media and have told a lot of people, and I am spreading the word for the company and for what good it has done for me. I am only 38, LOL, thinking that I'm so young, but I'm not, so I do have wrinkles, but not anymore since I've been with these guys.

    I absolutely love this company and I will continue to be a customer, and I will continue to spread the word and get more customers for these guys.

    New Age Serum, thank you very much for everything you have done and I appreciate for the email you sent me to let me know that my card didn't go through. I would have been very sad if I didn't get the serum. Well, thank you for everything you've done, and you have a great and blessed day.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    I enjoy using these products.

    • Denver City, TX,
    • Sep 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used these products for a while, and although I still have wrinkles, I think they have helped! At my age, I deserve these wrinkles! I use the three products - eye, facial and wrinkle serums, twice a day! My face also feels very smooth.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Enjoy the look and feel

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Sep 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The light moisture gel of the Neohydrate Gold Neodermyl 24k Gold Dust Hyaluronic Acid Face Cream surprised me. I've never tried a face serum this smooth, easy and comfortable to apply. It absorbed quickly, and my skin smoothed and looked refreshed and not as tired almost immediately.

    The Anti-Wrinkle Matrixyl 3000 Shea Butter Face Cream was also a surprising consistency - light, not a cream, not a gel, but a comfortable light consistency that blended with my skin very well and smoothed out the wrinkles and worry lines quickly, especially the stress lines around my upper nose and eyebrows. I admit feeling slack-jawed in surprise while looking at my reflection in the mirror after applying!

    The Vitamin C Complex with Vitamin C, Rosehips, and Hyaluronic Acid Eye Serum is the finest I've ever tried. No sting, no tightening - smooth and easy application and quick absorption that left my skin looking younger and a better color with no tightness or puckering. These items are easily my best facial skin care purchases!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    New Age Serum

    • Lafayette, IN,
    • Sep 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I emailed customer service as soon as I received my order to confirm terms and they responded immediately. I am very pleased with the quick attention I received. Anxious to try the product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great customer service!

    • Bath, PA,
    • Sep 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I very recently ordered my sample of the New Age Serum and was pleasantly surprised at the very reasonable cost of this product. Unfortunately, I had a heart attack a week ago and haven't had a chance to try this out. When I reluctantly called to cancel, the representative was so very understanding and genuinely concerned about my situation. He not only canceled my account, but allowed me to keep my first order for free and not have to mail it back.

    I would highly recommend this company due to my experience, the reasonable price of the product and the excellent customer service. I can't wait to try this product and hopefully continue once I get back to work and on my feet.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 14, 2018

      Lisa,

      Thank you so much for such great feedback, we love when customers share such great news with us. I am so happy you had a great experience with us, we do everything possible to make sure our customers are happy!

      Thank you, Lisa

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Customer service

    • Katy, TX,
    • Sep 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Excellent and efficient customer service every time I have called or emailed! The products are wonderful also! I’ve had many friends ask me if I’ve had a facelift.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 14, 2018

      Lisa,

      Thank you so much for such great feedback, we love when customers share such great news with us. I am so happy you are enjoying the product! We try and provide the highest quality products at the best affordable price for all!

      Thank you, Lisa

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Early critique

    • Florida,
    • Sep 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am giving this 4 stars since I have only used the product for a few days. So far, I am pleased and do like the serum and cream I received. I will continue using New Age and see if my frown lines become laugh lines.

    I spoke to a lovely gentleman in Customer Service. He was very professional, polite, and willing to help with any issues I have. It's always a pleasure to speak with a Customer Service rep that really seems pleased to be of Service to customers.

    So far, so good using New Age. I am smart enough to realize at 78 I can't expect miracles, but I can certainly use all the help I can get!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 14, 2018

      Lisa,

      Jean,

      Thank you so much for such great feedback, we love when customers share such great news with us. I am so happy you had the best service.

      Thank you, Lisa

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Was looking for younger looking skin

    • Bronx, NY,
    • Sep 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was looking for younger looking skin and decided to give New Age Skin Care a try. The trial took me by surprise with the results of this new product that I didn't have to return back for my money because it was actually working. My skin now looks more radiant. I wear no makeup, I'm all natural, and my beauty is so extreme that I feel like a young woman again. Thanks for giving me back a more healthier and radiant look.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 14, 2018

      Lisa,

      Joann,

      Thank you so much for such great feedback, we love when customers share such great news with us. I am so happy you are enjoying the product! We try and provide the highest quality products at the best affordable price for all!

      Thank you, Lisa

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    My experience with New Age Serum

    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw this product on Facebook and although skeptical I couldn't resist trying it. Now that I'm older, my go-to products were no longer working for me. Before retiring, I worked in high-end skin treatments and cosmetics. I got schooled in skin care. For once a product delivered what it claimed. For an older woman, this was shocking and exciting. After the trial product was used I signed on for automatic replacements. It's the first time I've done that for anything. If the results aren't enough good news, the price of $19.99 about knocked me over. What an amazing product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 9, 2018

      Lisa,

      Bonnie,

      Thank you so much for such great feedback, we love when customers share such great news with us. I am so happy you are enjoying the product! We try and provide the highest quality products at the best affordable price for all!

      Thank you, Lisa

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Order

    • Tennessee,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had to email customer service on a Saturday, a Saturday on a holiday weekend no less, and actually wrote in my planner to follow up the next week because I honestly didn’t expect to hear back. They not only responded within the hour, my issue was resolved with the first response. Fabulous customer service!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 9, 2018

      Lisa,

      Lesa,

      Thank you so much for such great feedback, we love when customers share such great news with us. I am so happy you are enjoying the product! We are here anytime for all our customers!

      Thank you, Lisa

    • Sep 11, 2018

      Dustie B.

      I would recommend this product to anyone.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • New Age Neo Hydrate Face Serum

    • Cedar City, UT,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called customer service to see if I was using my trial serum correctly. A nice man named James with the utmost, superior customer service really made an impression! James is sending me a sample of the wrinkle cream. I will be adding a new review when it arrives in the mail. Thank you so much.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 9, 2018

      Lisa,

      Dee,

      Thank you so much for such great feedback, we love when customers share such great news with us. I am so happy you are enjoying the product! I am glad James was so helpful.

      Thank you, Lisa

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 50

Write a Review for New Age Serum!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review