New Age Serum Review: Ingredients, Side Effects, Cost, and More

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: May 14, 2018

The Instant Wrinkle Reduction technology in New Age Serum (branded as Neo Hydrate Gold) claims to be proven to boost skin moisturization, increase firmness within one week, and visibly decrease the appearance of fine lines after four weeks—so much so, that they advertise you’ll take more than 10 years off your skin.

Whether in the morning or evening, simply apply the serum to clean skin, allow plenty of time for it to absorb, and then follow with your preferred moisturizer. Within minutes, the formula will start working at the cellular level to promote collagen and elastin production, resulting in plumper, rejuvenated skin.

It’s well understood that collagen and elastin are important components of healthy skin. Can you realistically expect New Age Serum’s ingredients to boost these proteins and deliver the results advertised on their website? We’ll start with the basics.

The Important Roles of Collagen and Elastin

There’s no need for a science lesson here, but it’s important to ensure that everyone’s on the same page before diving in.

Proteins are long chains of amino acids that play very important roles in the body but act primarily as structural components for muscle, hair, and skin. In the latter, the two most common proteins present are collagen, which acts as an underlying framework to support skin, and elastin, which delivers elasticity and allows the skin to spring back into shape after being stretched.

While both of these proteins are present in high levels when we’re young, some estimates indicate that we begin losing about one percent per year upon reaching the age of 40. Combined with other factors like UV damage, environmental exposure, and lifestyle choices, this cumulatively results in skin that wrinkles, sags, and otherwise loses its luster.

According to Dr. Justin West, Medical Director of Finesse Plastic Surgery, though, replacing these lost proteins by means other than injection (whether external creams like New Age Serum, or internal dietary supplements) isn’t shown to work in a clinical setting.

“A big myth is that we can replace lost collagen in our skin by eating more collagen, or applying it to our skin with topical products,” he says.

This is because the amino acids in collagen or elastin (or other ingredients) don’t magically reassemble into proteins when consumed orally.

» Related: Do Anti-Aging Collagen Supplements Really Work for Your Skin?

And while Dr. West advises that “we can help provide the building blocks to collagen production by eating protein and making sure we get enough Vitamin C,” he emphasizes “topical collagens in creams and lotions cannot penetrate and integrate into our skin.”

With these core details in mind, which ingredients does New Age Serum use in its formula?

Taking a Closer Look at New Age Serum’s Ingredients

The label listed on the New Age Neo Hydrate Gold serum indicates it contains the following ingredients:

Water, Glycerin, Methyl Glucoside Proline Lysine Copper Complex, Aloe Barbadensis Juice, Hyaluronic Acid, Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, Colloidal Gold, Coffea Arabica (Coffee) Extract, Curcubita Pepo (Pumpkin) Seed Extract, Ethanol, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Potassium Sorbate, Hexylene Glycol

According to websites like Paula’s Choice, Truth In Aging, WebMD, and EWG.org, most of these ingredients work as skin conditioners (glycerin, Aloe barbadensis juice, caprylyl glycol, heyxylene glycol), coating agents and film formers (hydroxypropyl methylcellulose), drying agents (ethanol), and preservatives (phenoxyethanol, potassium sorbate). There are a few exceptions, however.

Hyaluronic acid is a molecule that has the ability to hold several times its weight in water, as well as to improve cellular turnover, which thereby helps the skin maintain moisture and a healthy glow.

Like its silver counterpart, colloidal gold simply contains particles of gold suspended in some type of solution. While we learned from these sites that it’s often used in medicine for drug delivery and gene therapy, none indicated sufficient clinical evidence that it can help improve the condition of the skin.

Comparatively, the clinical research related to caffeine (found in Coffea Arabica in New Age Serum) is much more robust, so Paula’s Choice reports it might “have soothing and antioxidant properties, especially when the skin is exposed to UV light. It can penetrate skin and has a constricting effect, which can help improve the look of redness.”

However, they report there’s little-to-no research indicating it can address other potential facial concerns, such as wrinkles, fine lines, dark spots, or under eye bags.

Finally, the Methyl Glucoside Proline Lysine Copper Complex found in New Age Serum is also contained in several other anti-aging cream formulas, although these same sites didn’t indicate sufficient clinical evidence that it’s beneficial for the skin.

Could New Age Serum’s Ingredients Cause Side Effects?

Other than potential mild, temporary redness or irritation at the application site for especially sensitive individuals, Paula’s Choice, Truth In Aging, WebMD, and EWG.org indicated that most individuals won’t experience side effects from New Age Serum’s ingredients.

It’s also important to keep in mind that exfoliating ingredients like hyaluronic acid can increase sensitivity to UV rays so be sure to wear plenty of sunscreen.

» Related: Best Face Sunscreen Buying Guide

As usual, it’s a good idea to speak with your dermatologist before beginning any new skincare product, who can help identify potential side effects based on your specific diagnosis.

How Much Does New Age Serum Cost?

If purchased from the main New Age website, one bottle (30 ml) of their Neo Hydrate Gold serum is priced at $49.95.

On the other hand, if you place an order through their BuyNewAge.com landing page, your only option is to pay $6.97 for 14-day trial. After the trial expires, you’ll be charged $69.95 for the full-size bottle you already received. Then, you’ll continue receiving monthly shipments and charged $69.95 each time.

All New Age Serum orders come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges, although their terms indicate it “must be unopened and unused with safety seal intact” to qualify. Customer support can be reached at 800-640-3456 or customerservice@newageskin.care.

What Can We Learn from New Age Serum Customer Reviews?

Since writing our original article, more than 30 readers had provided feedback about their experiences with New Age Serum, giving it an average rating of about 1.5 stars. While more than one customer seemed pleased, common complaints revolved around no results and problems with the 14-day trial.

According to the BBB, as a company, New Age Skin Care is based out of Tempe, AZ and has been in business since July 2013 with a rating of a B as of 5/14/18. Although, it appears that they are currently not accreddited with the BBB.

New Age Neo Hydrate Gold Serum vs. the Other Anti-Aging Products: How to Choose

As you likely already recognize, from capsules and creams to serums and proprietary ingredients, there are potentially thousands of anti-aging products like New Age Serum competing for your hard-earned money. In fact, copying and pasting Neo Hydrate’s ingredients into Google returned another product (Primesse, $49) that appeared to feature an identical formulation.

Given this mind-boggling number of choices, what’s the best first step for figuring out the right option for you?

Talk with your dermatologist. During your appointment, they can discuss your needs and concerns, evaluate your skin, and order tests, if necessary. From there, they can recommend science-backed treatments that might deliver the most bang for your buck.

If they recommend you pursue over the counter treatments, based on our years of experience writing about anti-aging products, we’d recommend only doing business with companies who:

  • Provide a complete list of ingredients for their formulations
  • Price their products competitively
  • Stand behind their products with at least 30-day refund policies (including no restocking fees)
  • Come with mostly positive customer feedback

Does all of this bode well for New Age and their Neo Hydrate serum?

Our Final Thoughts About New Age Serum

Returning to our Collagen Supplements Buying Guide, Dr. Justin West emphasizes that, because of the general lack of clinical evidence surrounding topical and oral collagen treatments, “If you are going to invest in yourself, make sure you spend your money wisely and put it towards products or treatments with proven effectiveness.”

To this extent, while the Clinical Study page of the New Age website indicates that their Neo Hydrate Gold Serum provided a wide variety of benefits for participants, it doesn’t appear to have been published in a peer-reviewed scientific journal and wasn’t available for third-party review at the time of our research.

» See Also: Best Foods for Healthy, Clear, Glowing Skin Recommended by Experts

Furthermore, it seemed that the company had a less-than-stellar overall reputation among HighYa readers, most of whom cited similar complaints.

If you decide to give the serum a try, though, it appears that you’ll pay a lower price through their main website, versus their standalone Neo Hydrate Gold landing page. And finally, while New Age seems to stand behind their products with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H, keep in mind that as soon as you try it, you own it.

Editor’s Notes: This article was originally written on October 22, 2015, but was revised and updated on May 14, 2018, at the company’s request.


Read 67 New Age Serum Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 22 4 star: 6 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  38
Bottom Line: 42% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 67
Sort reviews by:

  • 11 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Reduced wrinkles

    • By Karyn V.,
    • Queens, NY,
    • Jan 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was charged $89.95 once only. I continued to use it because I did not want to waste the money. And besides, the label stated that you have to be patient waiting for the results, so I waited.

    I started using it April 2016. Then, in December 2016, I noticed that the lines between my eyebrows are not as noticeable as before. My friend asked me if I did Botox injections because she noticed that the lines are disappearing.

    I will continue to use it. I was charged $19.95 for the gel and $19.95 for the cream, including shipping. It also includes a monthly supply of cotton buds, make-up remover, razor, and sponge. So it is $39.90 a month. I will continue to use it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Was leery at first but now I love this product!

    • By Kelly Shaker,
    • Baraboo, WI,
    • Nov 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this product like so many others, in hopes that it would reduce my wrinkles, but I did not have my hopes set too high.

    After receiving New Age in the mail, I told myself that I can't fully say the product doesn't work unless I use it every night. After the first night, I had no problems wanting to use it. The lotion is so silky and smooth. After putting it on, I made my kids and husband all feel my face because it felt so good and soft.

    Continuing to use it for about another three weeks, I said to my husband after looking in the mirror that morning, "I actually think this product is working! What do you think?" He replied with, "Yeah, I wanted to tell you the other day I noticed the wrinkles around your eyes were gone." Then I studied my face in the mirror, sure enough, most of the wrinkles around my eyes and forehead were gone, and the deep ones around my mouth were less noticeable.

    I truly love this product and have already started telling family members about it. For the price, you'd be silly not to give it a try. I am hoping after continued use that more of my wrinkles will disappear. Thanks New Age.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 9 people found this review helpful

    New Age face cream

    I, first of all, want to commend customer service. I hadn't read all the details, I just had ordered it on a special deal of shipping and handling. It did deduct $79 from my account. I had no idea it was going to be that much money. I do like the product. I've only been using it for two weeks and I do feel that my face looks better.

    When I called customer service, the gentleman the first time was very nice and very friendly. He told me he would give me back his employee discount, he canceled my subscription right away, and he told me I could buy it going forward on my own and that I was set up in the account at a lesser price.

    I got my second product and again was deducted $79 from my account. I called back because I didn't realize that with both products each was that expensive, and it was Christmas time. The second customer service person honored me by giving me a larger rebate back on each product and that going forward I would be able to buy the product if I liked it at a lesser price.

    I am very pleased with this product and this company. These gentlemen in customer service, they were very honorable. I did receive my rebate back in my account, just as he said, and I love the product. And not only that, when I got my second shipment I got an extra benefit of the eye serum.

    I am very happy with this company, and I'm going to tell all my friends. I am 58 years old and my skin is looking much much better. Thank you New Age.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    I love it and it’s cheap

    I tried New Age serum and anti-wrinkle cream with the free trial I saw while surfing in the middle of the night. I got both products a few days later. While I was annoyed I had to pay $4.95 shipping for EACH product, even though they could have obviously come in one small flat rate USPS box for $4.95, I figured it was only an extra $4.95, so no big deal.

    I started using the products. I have combination skin and only have had clear skin after using a high-end acne treatment system for over a decade. I wasn’t moisturizing at all, and it was beginning to show, especially around my eyes. I used the New Age products and noticed a difference within two days. My skin felt great, soft and silky, and within the week, my fine lines smoothed out. Even better, IT DIDN'T GIVE ME ACNE!

    But because I bought this in the middle of the night while up with insomnia, I was suspicious of the free trial and what I would be charged for refills. I called up the customer service number on the shipping invoice and asked about the “deal” going forward. I got a really nice CSR who explained to me that refills were only $19.95 per product with free shipping. He also explained that I could set my refill frequency! He also said I could cancel at any time with no notice. I set my frequency for two months. I just noticed I’m starting to run low on and sure enough, I was billed last night two charged for $19.95 each exactly. No shipping, no exorbitant price, no tax.

    So I’ve been using the products for two months, my skin looks and feels great, and the products are as cheap as or cheaper than many drugstore brands. YUP, really. That $89.95 price is B.S. Maybe that’s old information. IDK. All I know is I’m very happy with both the products and the price.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 1, 2018

      Company Response from New Age Skin Care, LLC

      Tamara,

      Thank you so much for talking the time to write this to showcase our service and products. We know with this day and age, it is hard to make time to really spread the word about a positive experience. We can only wish that our many other happy customers can do this as well.


  • New Age Serum

    • By Rhonda W.,
    • Washburn, TN,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve used the New Age Serum for about two weeks now and am thoroughly impressed with the product. I can definitely see a difference in the way my skin looks and feels as well.

    I am a smoker with the little lines around my mouth and those have been drastically reduced. I ordered the cream today, going to give it a try as well. If it works half as good as the serum, New Age has a customer for life!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 7, 2018

      Company Response from New Age Skin Care, LLC

      Rhonda,

      Thank you so much for such great feedback, we love when customers share such great news with us. I am so happy you are enjoying the product!

      Thank you, Lisa


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • By Carol M.,
    • Louisiana,
    • Sep 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So far so good. The product comes in a right size. It goes on nice, it feels great and it dries fast. Following with makeup, there is no problem putting on. I'm looking forward to fasting wonderful results in the future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 7, 2018

      Company Response from New Age Skin Care, LLC

      Carol,

      Thank you so much for such great feedback, we love when customers share such great news with us. I am so happy you are enjoying the product!

      Thank you, Lisa


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    New Age Neo Hydrate Face Serum

    • By Dee H.,
    • Cedar City, UT,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called customer service to see if I was using my trial serum correctly. A nice man named James with the utmost, superior customer service really made an impression! James is sending me a sample of the wrinkle cream. I will be adding a new review when it arrives in the mail. Thank you so much.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 9, 2018

      Company Response from New Age Skin Care, LLC

      Dee,

      Thank you so much for such great feedback, we love when customers share such great news with us. I am so happy you are enjoying the product! I am glad James was so helpful.

      Thank you, Lisa


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Order

    • By Lesa R.,
    • Tennessee,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had to email customer service on a Saturday, a Saturday on a holiday weekend no less, and actually wrote in my planner to follow up the next week because I honestly didn’t expect to hear back. They not only responded within the hour, my issue was resolved with the first response. Fabulous customer service!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 9, 2018

      Company Response from New Age Skin Care, LLC

      Lesa,

      Thank you so much for such great feedback, we love when customers share such great news with us. I am so happy you are enjoying the product! We are here anytime for all our customers!

      Thank you, Lisa


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    My experience with New Age Serum

    • By Bonnie C.,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw this product on Facebook and although skeptical I couldn't resist trying it. Now that I'm older, my go-to products were no longer working for me. Before retiring, I worked in high-end skin treatments and cosmetics. I got schooled in skin care. For once a product delivered what it claimed. For an older woman, this was shocking and exciting. After the trial product was used I signed on for automatic replacements. It's the first time I've done that for anything. If the results aren't enough good news, the price of $19.99 about knocked me over. What an amazing product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 9, 2018

      Company Response from New Age Skin Care, LLC

      Bonnie,

      Thank you so much for such great feedback, we love when customers share such great news with us. I am so happy you are enjoying the product! We try and provide the highest quality products at the best affordable price for all!

      Thank you, Lisa


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Was looking for younger looking skin

    • By Joann G.,
    • Bronx, NY,
    • Sep 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was looking for younger looking skin and decided to give New Age Skin Care a try. The trial took me by surprise with the results of this new product that I didn't have to return back for my money because it was actually working. My skin now looks more radiant. I wear no makeup, I'm all natural, and my beauty is so extreme that I feel like a young woman again. Thanks for giving me back a more healthier and radiant look.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 14, 2018

      Company Response from New Age Skin Care, LLC

      Joann,

      Thank you so much for such great feedback, we love when customers share such great news with us. I am so happy you are enjoying the product! We try and provide the highest quality products at the best affordable price for all!

      Thank you, Lisa


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Customer service

    • By Cathy S.,
    • Katy, TX,
    • Sep 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Excellent and efficient customer service every time I have called or emailed! The products are wonderful also! I’ve had many friends ask me if I’ve had a facelift.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 14, 2018

      Company Response from New Age Skin Care, LLC

      Thank you so much for such great feedback, we love when customers share such great news with us. I am so happy you are enjoying the product! We try and provide the highest quality products at the best affordable price for all!

      Thank you, Lisa


Showing 1-11 of 67

Write a Review for New Age Serum!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review