About Niagen

Why are some people calling Niagen the “fountain of youth?” Because, according to research, the nicotinamide riboside inside Niagen may help improve communication within your cells and reduce their age by up to 66%. As a result, you can experience a variety of anti-aging benefits, including improved brain and cardiovascular health, increased muscle endurance, in addition to a boosted metabolism.

As it turns out though, the reality about Niagen may be a lot less revolutionary than the manufacturer makes it appear. But why?

Stick with us and we promise 3 things by the time you’re finished reading: 1) You’ll have a much better understanding of what Niagen is, 2) you’ll learn about the different kinds of research behind it, and 3) whether or not you should give Niagen a try.

First Things First: Who Makes Niagen?

Niagen is a proprietary ingredient manufactured by ChromaDex, which they claim is the “first and only commercially available form of nicotinamide riboside” (more about this next). After it’s been manufactured, ChromaDex then licenses Niagen to third-party companies—such as Live Cell Research—who encapsulate the supplement and sell it as they wish.

Because of this, a quick online search for Niagen will reveal dozens of results, none of which appear to be any different that the Niagen offered through other companies.

What is Nicotinamide Riboside?

The truth: Answering some of your basic questions about Niagen requires some fairly in-depth explanation. So let’s begin from square one, shall we?

Here’s the whittled-down series of events that occur after you take a capsule of Niagen:

  1. The nicotinamide riboside contained in Niagen is transformed by your body into Nicotinamide Adenine Dinucleotide (NAD), which is why it’s known as a precursor (e.g. a substance from which another is formed).
  2. Within the human body, NAD’s primary function is to transfer electrons from one molecule to another, which is a basic part of energy production (also known as “energy sparks”), and is almost wholly achieved by the mitochondria within each of your cells. Think of mitochondria as little engines that power your body.
  3. NAD also acts as a precursor to the messenger molecule cyclic ADP-ribose, which can help improve the transmission of information, both inside and outside cells.

As we age though, the communication between the nucleus (the “brain” of a cell) and its mitochondria becomes interrupted, which can lead to common signs of aging, such as certain types of dementia (e.g. Alzheimer’s), wrinkles, the weakening of bones and muscles, and more.

What Happens When You Take Niagen?

Each capsule of Niagen is claimed to include only one ingredient; a 250mg dose of nicotinamide riboside, which is a NAD precursor (don’t worry, we’ll talk more about this in a moment) that improves communication between the mitochondria and the nucleus inside your cells. As a result, Niagen is claimed to provide the following benefits:

  • Prevents cellular damage caused by free radicals from occurring, instead of addressing the damage only after it’s occurred (like most mainstream antioxidants do).
  • Supports healthy cholesterol levels.
  • Supports cellular metabolism and enhances the amount of energy your body naturally burns, without requiring you to restrict your diet or increase your exercise habits.
  • May help prevent age-related brain degeneration (e.g. Alzheimer’s) by preventing the degeneration of axons and neurons (nerve cells responsible for the transmission of information; think of them almost like “information highways”).

According to the company, each capsule of Live Cell Research Niagen is claimed to be manufactured in Southern California without the use of stimulants, allergens, or toxins, and to be tested by the company for quality and purity, as well as by an independent third-party lab.

The manufacturer claims you should take one capsule of Niagen each morning upon waking, on an empty stomach, and with a glass of water. There are no known side effects from the use of Niagen (more about this later).

But does supplementing NAD actually translate into real-world benefits? Let’s see what the available evidence says.

What Clinical Trials Have Been Conducted Using NAD?

According to the Niagen website, nicotinamide riboside (remember, this is the chemical that turns into NAD) was only recently discovered to have anti-aging properties in late 2013 by Harvard Medical School’s Dr. David Sinclair, during his clinical research performed on mice. After the study was complete, the researchers examined “muscle from two-year-old mice that had been given the NAD-producing compound for just one week, [and] looked for indicators of insulin resistance, inflammation and muscle wasting. In all three instances, tissue from the mice resembled that of six-month-old mice. In human years, this would be like a 60-year-old converting to a 20-year-old in these specific areas.”

However, keep in mind that just because these benefits were shown to have occurred at a cellular level in mice, this doesn’t necessarily translate into any real-world benefits—whether for mice or for humans. In fact, of those NAD studies conducted on humans (such as for Parkinson’s disease), the benefits are murky, and even completely non-existent in some instances.

On top of this, in the 2013 Harvard study noted above, mice were injected with 400mg of nicotinamide riboside, versus the 250mg found in each dose of Live Cell Research’s Niagen. In other words, these mice—which weigh much less than humans—were given a higher dose than what you’ll receive in this supplement.

Niagen’s Limited Online Reputation with Consumers

Although Niagen is offered through several different resellers, the most popular option appears to be offered through Live Cell Research, a relatively new supplements manufacturer based out of Culver City, CA. Although the company isn’t listed with the Better Business Bureau, they do have a 3.5-star rating here on HighYa (as of 1/20/15), with the most common compliment citing products that work as advertised. On the other hand, the most common complaint appears to reference products that are priced much higher than the benefits they provide.

Regarding Niagen specifically, there weren’t a whole lot of online customer reviews available at the time of our research. However, some forum members on PhoenixRising noted an increase in concentration and energy, although several others complained of failure to provide any noticeable benefits, high price, extreme mood swings, and muscle pain. On Amazon.com, Live Cell Research’s Niagen has a 4-star rating based on just 4 customer reviews, although nearly all were very short and provided very little (or no) information about their experiences.

Finally, there are numerous detailed status reports from customers who tried Niagen on Longecity.org, although many took much higher doses than what you’ll find in a single capsule of the supplement (almost none indicated the company they purchased it from). Overall, it appears that the consensus was evenly split, with some experiencing increased energy and mental clarity, while others experienced no benefits.

Niagen Pricing & Refund Policy

Live Cell Research’s Niagen is available in 3 different purchasing options:

  • 1-Month Supply: $46.99, plus $3.95 S&H
  • 2-Month Supply: $83.64, plus free S&H
  • 3-Month Supply: $117.00, plus free S&H

All Live Cell Research products come with a 90-day refund policy, less S&H charges. In order to initiate the process, you’ll need to contact customer service at 844-650-5933.

Is Niagen the Answer to Reversing Aging?

Chopping to the Point: When it comes down to it, the benefits of nicotinamide riboside supplementation could possibly have a huge impact on how we age. As WebMD notes though, at this point in time there is insufficient clinical evidence showing that NAD can reliably provide any of the anti-aging or health benefits advertised by Chromadex, or by resellers such as Live Cell Research.

With this said, many online customers seem to have experienced positive results from using Niagen, and Live Cell Research seems to stand behind their products with a 90-day no-hassle satisfaction guarantee. So after everything’s said and done, you might only lose S&H charges by giving it a shot (no pun intended).

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

116 Consumer Reviews for Niagen

Average Consumer Rating: 3.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 58 4 star: 17 3 star: 3 2 star: 7 1 star:  31
Bottom Line: 67% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 116
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Niagen - effectiveness

    • Greater Manchester, England,
    • May 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hi.

    I have been taking this (one capsule a day generally, occasionally two) for over a year.

    I am 66 and I seem to have lots of energy. I do spin classes and basically have a higher work rate than 99.5% of other spinners (also have a great instructor who has took spin for 20 years, she has gone 5-6 times around the planet on a spin bike!). I do a tough abs classes and then two back to back spin classes (spin is 45 minutes each class) on Wednesdays. On Monday I do a spin class and then a 1-hour pump class (50 people and I work with heavier weights than anyone else). I should mention that the age range is about 18-50 generally, with most 18-30 maybe). I also do some bodyweight training.

    I don't think I could do this if I didn't take Niagen (by the way, I had a heart attack 8 years ago and smoked like a chimney from 17-58).

    So, that is my take. I wouldn't like to stop it to see what happens (unless somebody pays me!).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Bad experience

    I had a very bad reaction after taking NAD+ (Niagen) for about a week. I was taking 100mg only. I started getting more tired as the week went on, even napping during the day. I also became more irritable and had a difficult time focusing. Finally, I realized what was causing it, the NAD+. I went off it, and it is taking a few days to get back to 100%. I am not sure why I had this reaction, but I clearly did.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 6, 2018

      Live Cell Research Rep, Customer Relations Manager

      Hi George, I'm Aurora from Live Cell Research. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review about your experience with Niagen. I am so sorry to hear that you did not experience all of the results you had expected. While a majority of our customers do love the benefits of Niagen, we do understand that it may not work well for everyone. I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund, just for giving our product a try. Just email me at aurora@livecellresearch.com and I can begin the refund process right away. I look forward to hearing from you and making this right!

    • Mar 23, 2018

      Steve Prevesk

      Well, if anybody is reading this, check the date of the post because just this week new research findings were released on the effects of NAD's in mice, and there is even more confirmation now that Niagen clearly helps with the release of proteins called sirtuins, which help with blood vessels, allowing you to maintain fitness well into your 80's. This already cements what biologists thought but it's clear, NAD's (which can be taken through Niagen) will drastically help with the aging process. There are no immediate benefits, but certainly long term.

    • Apr 2, 2018

      robert bradley

      I am 77 years old. I have COPD and CHF. My doctor believes supplements are a waste of money. Please be honest, is all that I read, true? I just want to feel better. Please help me.

      Thanks, Bob.

    • Apr 4, 2018

      Live Cell Research Rep, Customer Relations Manager

      Hi Robert, I'm Aurora from Live Cell Research. We always suggest that our customers consult their primary physician first, before beginning any new supplement. If your doctor decides that Niagen is not right for you, then we suggest that you honor that decision. I am so sorry for the inconvenience. Please email me at Aurora@livecellresearch.com if there is anything else I can help you with!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Realized how beneficial it was when I forgot to renew and ran out.

    When I began taking Niagen, I also started working out at a gym. I at first thought the results during the 2 years could have been from working out. Then I forgot to reorder. Within a week I could feel and see the difference. Now that I have a fresh supply, the fat is going, and I have energy again. In two words: it works!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Jury is still out

    • Hilton Head, SC,
    • Jan 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am just starting my second month of one NR-1 capsule each morning. I do feel a bit more energy, but am waiting on more improvement to kick in. I am holding off recommendations until I feel more positive results.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Renewal

    • Sedona, AZ,
    • Jan 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been with Niagen for three months. Early on, within 2-3 weeks I noticed an improvement in many of my baseline assessments. Eyesight improved and is increasingly reliable. Memory as well. Endurance in the gym, as well as a sense of general well-being accompany restful nights.

    Hair, skin, and nails are your thing. To be clear, I have gradually increased my dosage. Presently, I take 500 mg per day (that's two capsules).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Niagen

    This particular supplement has made me feel overall better. It took a couple of weeks before I started noticing any difference. I have taken it daily for about two years and can say that this is one item that I will take as long as I can. It seems to help keep the effects of getting old significantly reduced. I feel physically better than I did two years ago.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 20, 2017

      Live Cell Research Rep, Customer Relations Manager

      Hi Marc! Thank you so much for your support! We are so honored to be a part of your daily routine and we are so glad that we could help you. Thank you for letting us know about your experience!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Niagen

    I love this product. I've been taking this for a month now. I'm feeling the skin on my face tightening. I also take collagen powder, but the skin didn't start tightening until two weeks after starting Niagen, whereas I've been on collagen for four months and nothing.

    I did experience diarrhea. I'm not sure if this is from Niagen or not. However, it lasted two weeks, so I believe it's a side effect that goes away with continued use. I don't hear my husband snore anymore! That means I'm sleeping sound. I used to wake up every night. Thanks to Niagen I'm getting the sleep I need.

    I've lost 10 pounds, but I'm actually dieting. I noticed Niagen had made it easier by decreasing appetite. I will continue to use this amazing supplement.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Excellent - overall good feeling

    • London, United Kingdom,
    • Oct 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started the one-a-day 250mg LCR Niagen on September 1st. I'm turning 67 by the end of October and the first significant change I noticed was being able to play tennis again after an 8-year hiatus. My daughter was amazed I lasted two games of tennis with her. I didn't win even a set but had enough stamina to finish our games. I now have enough confidence to go skiing again in Vail. I am not into bodybuilding, and my most strenuous activity is looking after my 23-month-old grandson. The LCR Niagen supplement gives me the strength/endurance to do hands-on granny duty including driving and shopping, carrying moderate to heavier stuff.

    I was lucky enough to be visiting the US in September where I was able to buy 18 bottles of LCR Niagen (now rebadged as NR-1), which I will be sharing with my husband here in the London.

    A friend I recommended the LCR Niagen to has suggested I should also take Royal Jelly 2000, but I'm afraid it might negate the positive effects of the Niagen.

    As a general conclusion, I'd give a 10/10 to the LCR Niagen (NR-1).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Life changing.

    • California,
    • Oct 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found Niagen while looking for a supplement that would benefit me in poor health. I was with a lower back fusion surgery, on blood pressure medications that left me handicapped, skin color gray, overweight by 70 lbs. Nicotinamide riboside was the cell changer to my rebirth, so to speak.

    It's concept to heal the DNA, strand and bring back my youth to move with more energy, was evident in the looks from other who replied.

    I'm no longer on blood pressure meds, not using handicapped placard until spasms come. I am grateful for Niagen. I have tried many of their supplements here at Live Cell Research. For now, Niagen/ NR-1 is my daily source, among with disciplining myself to make choices that will benefit my life here.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Elixir for a long life

    My husband and I have been taking Niagen on and off since 2015. The result is younger looking skin and more energy. My husband was recently at the airport, and the security agent had to take a double look at his passport. He looked younger in person than he did in his pictures. The security guard wanted to know if he had any plastic surgery. When my husband replied, "No," the security agent was amazed. As for me, I took a picture with my twin sister and all my friends could not believe that we were the same age. Actually, I am the older twin. My friends said that my sister looked much older than I. Niagen is our elixir for a long life.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Niagen

    • Sedona, AZ,
    • Sep 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am starting my fourth bottle.

    I am 66 next week. I work nights and work out daily. I saw the info on Niagen and decided to try to counter my flagging energy. One capsule a day was noticeable but not dramatic. With my most recent order I doubled the dose, and now I find that energy-wise, years have lost their threat. I am stronger longer and sleep well, and wake rested with fewer hours in bed. I'm considering further increasing the dose. Price is an issue.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 116

Write a Review for Niagen!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review