About Ninja Coffee Bar

Who could resist an endorsement from Sofia Vergara? Ninja Coffee Bar hopes you can’t either, with their new brewing system that lets you choose between different types of coffee, all with the touch of a button.

Want classic brew, or something richer? Prefer over ice drinks? How about frothy specialty beverages?

Ninja Coffee Bar features unique brewing technology designed to deliver better, richer-tasting coffee that’s never bitter. You’ll also be able to dial up the flavor for any size or style of coffee, at any time, from the comfort of your own home.

Ninja Coffee Bar even claims to put the “best coffeehouse in town on your countertop!”

Celebrity endorsements and marketing hype aside, what’s the real deal with Ninja Coffee Bar? Does it deserve a spot on your countertop? Let’s start by looking at the brewing system’s features.

Ninja Coffee Bar Features

There are a whole lot of features on the Ninja Coffee Bar (we’ll compare them with other brands in a moment), but in essence, everything boils down to types and flavor.

This is mainly achieved using “graduated levels of coffee-to-water concentration” through something known as “Thermal Flavor Extraction.” This technology automatically calibrates temperature, infusion, saturation, and flavor richness.

Ninja Coffee Bar’s Auto-iQ one-touch intelligence also lets you enjoy hot coffee in any size you want, including a cup, travel mug, half carafe, or full carafe.

For example, the Ninja Coffee Bar is capable of making 3 different brew types:

  • Classic Brew – Features a smooth, rich, and balanced flavor.
  • Rich Brew – Richer than classic, with more intense flavors. Stands up to extra milk and flavorings. Twice as intense as the Classic.
  • Specialty Brews – This is based around a coffee extract that can be used to make a variety of hot and cold layered beverages, including over ice options. 3X the intensity of the Classic brew.

Additional Ninja Coffee Bar features include an easy-brew filling basket, reusable filter, drip stop, multi-serve cup platform, precise temp warming plate, removable water reservoir, programmable delay brew, and intelligent clean cycle indicator.

How do all these compare to the competition?

Are There Similar Brewing Systems To the Ninja Coffee Bar?

When you watched the Ninja Coffee Bar commercial, based on CEO Mark Rosen’s sakes pitch, you might have believed that there’s nothing else out there quite like it. Is this actually the case?

While there are certainly a lot of options, there doesn’t seem to be anything on the market that offers the exact same features as the Ninja Coffee Bar, at a similar price.

Sure, you can brew single cups with one, or create intense extracts and specialty brews with another, but nothing in a similar, all-in-one package.

Speaking of price, what’s the Ninja Coffee Bar cost?

Ninja Coffee Bar’s Pricing, Refund Policy, & Warranty

Available with your choice of a glass carafe or double-walled thermal carafe, Ninja Coffee Bar is priced at four payments of $39.95, or a single payment of $159.80.

When checking out, you’ll also be offered a variety of accessory packages, including easy frothers, mugs, cups, tumblers, brew guides, scoops, as well as replacement parts.

All Ninja products (more about this next) ordered directly through the company include free S&H. They also come with a 60-day refund policy, less S&H and a 10% restocking fee, as well as 5-year or lifetime warranties for the “original appliance and/or non-wearable components deemed defective.” Normal wear and tear is not covered.

In order to request a refund or process a warranty claim, you’ll need to contact the manufacturer at 877-646-5288.

Note: The Ninja Coffee Bar is also available through numerous third-party retailers, including Target, Bed Bath & Beyond, Kohl’s, Walmart, and more.

Is Ninja Coffee Bar Wowing Customers?

Ninja Coffee Bar had only been around since late August/early September of 2015, so there weren’t a whole lot of feedback about the brewing system at the time of our research.

CNET gave the Ninja Coffee Bar a 3.5-star rating. They claimed that, while you won’t be able to find the same number of features at a similar price, its extracts often come out bitter, and the “cheap plastic materials” make it “far from luxurious.”

Coffee Detective liked the fact that Ninja Coffee Bar gives you the ability to brew 4 different sizes (single cup, travel mug, half carafe, or full carafe), as well as its frother and its ability to make concentrate.

Ultimately, it got the author’s vote, as they claimed it could replace all your other coffee makers (and even your espresso machine, as long as you understand the Ninja Coffee Bar doesn’t use real espresso).

From a company perspective, Ninja Coffee Bar is manufactured by SharkNinja Operating LLC, a division of Euro-Pro Operating LLC. Other products in the Ninja lineup include the Nutri Ninja Pro Blender, Nina Cooking System, and Nutri Ninja Duo Blender.

The company had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 284 closed complaints (as of 10/9/15). Most of these appeared to reference difficulty obtaining repairs/replacements under warranty, and most were related to the company’s vacuums.

Here on HighYa, Ninja’s products had an average rating of 4 stars, with common compliments citing ease of use, good results, and solid quality.

We definitely think that, regardless of the product, what other customers have to say should impact your purchasing decisions. But what about celebrity endorsements?

Is it Important that Ninja Coffee Bar is Endorsed by Sofia Vergara?

It’s hard to not like friendly, attractive personalities like Sofia Vergara. But, although it seems like she’s genuinely passionate about coffee, should you put any stock in her Ninja Coffee Bar endorsement?

In our opinion, no. As we discussed in-depth in Why Celebrity Endorsements Can Hurt You, they’re often intended to cause you to make an emotional (versus an informed) purchasing decision. In many instances, celebrities don’t even use the products they’re endorsing.

We’re certainly not saying this is the case with Ninja Coffee Bar, but it would stand to reason that Ms. Vergara could afford a top-of-the-line brewing system—or even to hire a coffee specialist from Colombia to brew it for her!

Now, let’s use everything we’ve learned to make an informed decision about Ninja Coffee Bar.

Will Ninja Coffee Bar Brew Perfect Coffee, or Just Leave You Heated?

Much like wine, food, or anything else we eat or drink, what constitutes your perfect cup of coffee depends almost wholly on personal preference. What you find to be perfectly brewed, your neighbor might find disgusting.

Outside of preference, the Ninja Coffee Bar appears to corner the market, since there isn’t anything else quite like it—especially at this price. Sure, the quality might not be “luxurious,” but it seems like Ninja Coffee Bar will provide you with important options like size and strength, all at a very reasonable cost.

Are you a coffee newbie, or a longstanding aficionado? Either way, what did you think about Ninja Coffee Bar? Tell us about it by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

82 Consumer Reviews for Ninja Coffee Bar

Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 19 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 8 1 star:  51
Bottom Line: 28% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 82
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Ninja Coffee Bar

    • Mt Vernon, KY,
    • May 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This coffee maker is absolutely terrible; it produces an extreme amount of steam that leaves my cabinet drenched with water. I called the manufacturer without any compensation of the money I paid for this terrible coffee maker. Now it sits in the box, in my shed unused, and undesirable. A waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Clean, clean and repeat

    • Texas,
    • Apr 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you want to spend more time cleaning your coffee maker than drinking coffee, this is the brewer you have been waiting for. Ninja should stick to blenders, which I also own and it works great.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Ripoff

    I bought it for my wife for Christmas. It worked less than two weeks. I would only get a half a cup, at the max setting. I notified the company and they said to clean the unit using a special cleaning substance for coffee makers. It still didn't work.

    I notified the company again, and they said to return it at my expense and they would repair it. I only pay shipping. I trashed it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Faulty

    • Hampton, United Kingdom,
    • Mar 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As others have said, the ‘clean’ light keeps coming on despite proper clean and will not make a full brew.

    Total rubbish, buy at your own risk. It works for a few days then the fault that you can’t dismiss catches everyone out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Scam that needs a class action suit filed.

    • Richland, WA,
    • Mar 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After hesitation for horrible reviews, I purchase the machine anyway. It didn’t work from the beginning but after a phone call (and removing air in the tube), it worked for a couple of weeks...at most. As ALL the reviews, mine wouldn’t brew more than a couple of ounces, and the pot did not need to be cleaned (I used only distilled water). After spending $160.00, I was told by customer service that "I did not know how to operate the system."

    Total scam and I won’t leave this here.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Ninja Coffee Bar biggest flaw

    • Mansfield, OH,
    • Feb 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I first viewed the Ninja Coffee Bar on TV, I was really impressed with the simplicity of making all the coffee drinks and because of the shortcuts and menu, and truthfully I do like it, but there was one thing I didn’t think about until after I bought it. And for that reason alone I would not have purchased if I had known.

    When reading the instructions, they suggested to warm up my coffee cup before placing the cup under the machine. That raised a big red flag, and after brewing a couple cups, I knew what they meant. Yes, the brewed coffee is not hot. It is extremely warm, but not at all hot like you would get from your favorite coffee shop vendor. So what I do is place my brewed coffee from the Ninja into my microwave.

    So I would advise anyone who likes their coffee hot to stay away from this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    All the features do not work and you will pay for it

    The Ninja Coffee Bar worked for awhile, but it required complete time-consuming cleaning. Our house consists of 2 adults who drink 1 cup in the morning and use it for guests.

    Not long after buying the Ninja Coffee Bar we started having trouble with the cleaning light coming on and staying on even after we cleaned the pot as directed. Shortly afterward, the panel showing the time no longer worked. We tried using the programmable brew and could not get it to function. Not long after the time would not show; it would always show CLN on the clock.

    We called Ninja, and after trying their suggested method to clean (which we had done numerous times), they sent us a new base unit. We were told to keep our old Thermal carafe, Water Reservoir, and Filter. The "cost of mailing" the new base unit was $19.95.

    We received the new base and the first time we tried to use the programmable feature it would not work. I called Ninja, and they went through the instructions as if I did not know what I was doing as I assured them nothing happened when I pressed the program set. They asked me to try with them on the phone. Guess what? The new unit will not perform one of its main features, and they just feel terrible about it, but for $19.95 they will send me another base unit. I expressed my complete satisfaction for the expensive unit and the extra $20 and now another $20, and he said there was nothing they could do because (wait for it) "They have a set contract with Fed Ex to ship their coffee pots."

    I really love some of Ninja's other products. But, after this coffee pot fiasco, when our other Ninja products grow old or break down, we will NEVER buy another one of their products. Just think about their less than honest enterprise and let them know that at their center, they do not really care about customers or product. Just take them or leave them. I am leaving.

    All the other "well respected" companies do their best to give customer satisfaction and to us, that still means something. Say no to Ninja or continue to add more profit to their coffers. We are going to purchase products that legit companies stand behind and appreciate their customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money and time

    I got this for my wife for Christmas from BestBuy. Coffee is very good when you can get it to work.

    Within one month the "clean" light came on and stayed on. I cleaned with vinegar/water per instructions, and there was no change. I ran the extended clean cycle with water/vinegar, and there was no change. I bought coffee maker cleaner and ran the clean cycle again, and there was no change. I ran the extended clean cycle with coffee maker cleaner 4 times and there was no change. The clean light stays on and now it won't brew more than 1-2 ounces and then starts beeping and flashing for cleaning.

    In short, this thing is junk. BestBuy won't exchange or refund on February 17th, and Ninja/Shark requires prepaid shipping and return shipping EVEN UNDER WARRANTY. Neither the retailer or the manufacturer stands behind the piece-of-crap coffee maker. DON'T BUY and advise others of the same.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Ninja Coffee Bar CF091

    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Feb 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Worst coffee maker ever. It had started out great, but then after a month, it will not brew a cup or full pot of coffee. My wife is going to take it back, and hopefully, we can get a refund. We do not want another one. I wish we would have reviewed this coffee pot before we bought it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Crap!

    I didn't have this machine very long when it started giving me trouble. The buttons get to where they won't work. It leaks water from the bottom of the coffee maker. I contacted the company when we first started having issues and they would NOT replace it. Even though when we registered it, we were told there was a lifetime warranty.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Despicable customer service

    The cleaning light is broken and will not go out or on, and it's literally a month old. We use only reverse osmosis water in it, so there shouldn't be any issues with calcium or likewise.

    I called Ninja and was told, "if I can't live with it, then they could send me another motor for $19.99 to cover shipping." What kind of sham company charges you to ship their warrantied products out?

    I would advise anyone who's going to buy this to verify what I'm saying before you make the purchase. This is pitiful and a scam, and I'll also be filing a complaint with the FTC. I am going back to Keurig and fill the landfills with plastic I guess. At least they stand behind their products. I should have known better than to purchase something "Shark" or "Ninja." Pretty much the ghetto of products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 19, 2018

      Tami Leintz Bellender

      I am having the same problem. I just spent $19.99 on this scam to ship the motor. These companies are scammers, just like a callers say "you won $1000." I wish they can stop them.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 82

Write a Review for Ninja Coffee Bar!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review