About Ninja Coffee Bar

Who could resist an endorsement from Sofia Vergara? Ninja Coffee Bar hopes you can’t either, with their new brewing system that lets you choose between different types of coffee, all with the touch of a button.

Want classic brew, or something richer? Prefer over ice drinks? How about frothy specialty beverages?

Ninja Coffee Bar features unique brewing technology designed to deliver better, richer-tasting coffee that’s never bitter. You’ll also be able to dial up the flavor for any size or style of coffee, at any time, from the comfort of your own home.

Ninja Coffee Bar even claims to put the “best coffeehouse in town on your countertop!”

Celebrity endorsements and marketing hype aside, what’s the real deal with Ninja Coffee Bar? Does it deserve a spot on your countertop? Let’s start by looking at the brewing system’s features.

Ninja Coffee Bar Features

There are a whole lot of features on the Ninja Coffee Bar (we’ll compare them with other brands in a moment), but in essence, everything boils down to types and flavor.

This is mainly achieved using “graduated levels of coffee-to-water concentration” through something known as “Thermal Flavor Extraction.” This technology automatically calibrates temperature, infusion, saturation, and flavor richness.

Ninja Coffee Bar’s Auto-iQ one-touch intelligence also lets you enjoy hot coffee in any size you want, including a cup, travel mug, half carafe, or full carafe.

For example, the Ninja Coffee Bar is capable of making 3 different brew types:

  • Classic Brew – Features a smooth, rich, and balanced flavor.
  • Rich Brew – Richer than classic, with more intense flavors. Stands up to extra milk and flavorings. Twice as intense as the Classic.
  • Specialty Brews – This is based around a coffee extract that can be used to make a variety of hot and cold layered beverages, including over ice options. 3X the intensity of the Classic brew.

Additional Ninja Coffee Bar features include an easy-brew filling basket, reusable filter, drip stop, multi-serve cup platform, precise temp warming plate, removable water reservoir, programmable delay brew, and intelligent clean cycle indicator.

How do all these compare to the competition?

Are There Similar Brewing Systems To the Ninja Coffee Bar?

When you watched the Ninja Coffee Bar commercial, based on CEO Mark Rosen’s sakes pitch, you might have believed that there’s nothing else out there quite like it. Is this actually the case?

While there are certainly a lot of options, there doesn’t seem to be anything on the market that offers the exact same features as the Ninja Coffee Bar, at a similar price.

Sure, you can brew single cups with one, or create intense extracts and specialty brews with another, but nothing in a similar, all-in-one package.

Speaking of price, what’s the Ninja Coffee Bar cost?

Ninja Coffee Bar’s Pricing, Refund Policy, & Warranty

Available with your choice of a glass carafe or double-walled thermal carafe, Ninja Coffee Bar is priced at four payments of $39.95, or a single payment of $159.80.

When checking out, you’ll also be offered a variety of accessory packages, including easy frothers, mugs, cups, tumblers, brew guides, scoops, as well as replacement parts.

All Ninja products (more about this next) ordered directly through the company include free S&H. They also come with a 60-day refund policy, less S&H and a 10% restocking fee, as well as 5-year or lifetime warranties for the “original appliance and/or non-wearable components deemed defective.” Normal wear and tear is not covered.

In order to request a refund or process a warranty claim, you’ll need to contact the manufacturer at 877-646-5288.

Note: The Ninja Coffee Bar is also available through numerous third-party retailers, including Target, Bed Bath & Beyond, Kohl’s, Walmart, and more.

Is Ninja Coffee Bar Wowing Customers?

Ninja Coffee Bar had only been around since late August/early September of 2015, so there weren’t a whole lot of feedback about the brewing system at the time of our research.

CNET gave the Ninja Coffee Bar a 3.5-star rating. They claimed that, while you won’t be able to find the same number of features at a similar price, its extracts often come out bitter, and the “cheap plastic materials” make it “far from luxurious.”

Coffee Detective liked the fact that Ninja Coffee Bar gives you the ability to brew 4 different sizes (single cup, travel mug, half carafe, or full carafe), as well as its frother and its ability to make concentrate.

Ultimately, it got the author’s vote, as they claimed it could replace all your other coffee makers (and even your espresso machine, as long as you understand the Ninja Coffee Bar doesn’t use real espresso).

From a company perspective, Ninja Coffee Bar is manufactured by SharkNinja Operating LLC, a division of Euro-Pro Operating LLC. Other products in the Ninja lineup include the Nutri Ninja Pro Blender, Nina Cooking System, and Nutri Ninja Duo Blender.

The company had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 284 closed complaints (as of 10/9/15). Most of these appeared to reference difficulty obtaining repairs/replacements under warranty, and most were related to the company’s vacuums.

Here on HighYa, Ninja’s products had an average rating of 4 stars, with common compliments citing ease of use, good results, and solid quality.

We definitely think that, regardless of the product, what other customers have to say should impact your purchasing decisions. But what about celebrity endorsements?

Is it Important that Ninja Coffee Bar is Endorsed by Sofia Vergara?

It’s hard to not like friendly, attractive personalities like Sofia Vergara. But, although it seems like she’s genuinely passionate about coffee, should you put any stock in her Ninja Coffee Bar endorsement?

In our opinion, no. As we discussed in-depth in Why Celebrity Endorsements Can Hurt You, they’re often intended to cause you to make an emotional (versus an informed) purchasing decision. In many instances, celebrities don’t even use the products they’re endorsing.

We’re certainly not saying this is the case with Ninja Coffee Bar, but it would stand to reason that Ms. Vergara could afford a top-of-the-line brewing system—or even to hire a coffee specialist from Colombia to brew it for her!

Now, let’s use everything we’ve learned to make an informed decision about Ninja Coffee Bar.

Will Ninja Coffee Bar Brew Perfect Coffee, or Just Leave You Heated?

Much like wine, food, or anything else we eat or drink, what constitutes your perfect cup of coffee depends almost wholly on personal preference. What you find to be perfectly brewed, your neighbor might find disgusting.

Outside of preference, the Ninja Coffee Bar appears to corner the market, since there isn’t anything else quite like it—especially at this price. Sure, the quality might not be “luxurious,” but it seems like Ninja Coffee Bar will provide you with important options like size and strength, all at a very reasonable cost.

Are you a coffee newbie, or a longstanding aficionado? Either way, what did you think about Ninja Coffee Bar? Tell us about it by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

69 Consumer Reviews for Ninja Coffee Bar

Average Consumer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 19 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 7 1 star:  39
Bottom Line: 33% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 69
Sort reviews by:

  • It works great in the beginning

    For the first eight to nine months it worked great. Including the cleaning. Then I went through hours of trying to get the "clean" button to shut off. Finally, it was done.

    Now just a few weeks after warranty expired it will not make a full cup of coffee. No support of what to do. I do love the iced coffee feature. It's a great product but not worth the $150. Maybe in the $25 range, aka "throw away stuff." I have the Model: CF110.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Clean light never goes off - Ninja doesn't stand by product.

    • Indianapolis, IN,
    • Jan 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The "clean" light is on every other brew. I called Ninja and they offered replacement part, which they sent, but I had to pay $23 in shipping and handling. Two months later, the same issue. The "clean" light is continuously on. I called back customer service who told me that if the coffee brews, their "engineers" advise that the product works. I told them it doesn't work if the "clean" light comes on every brew cycle.

    Now it has happened with the original and replacement, and Ninja refuses to refund it. All they will do is send a replacement part for a huge shipping charge, which if you pay for more than one shipping, you may as well get another coffee maker that works, which I will be doing. I will never buy another Ninja or Shark product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Won't brew a full pot

    • Corning, NY,
    • Dec 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We got our Ninja Coffee Bar #CF080CC0 for Christmas yesterday, and I haven't gotten a full pot of coffee brewed on the "Classic" setting yet. When the water is run through alone, the level in the pot is fine. When you use four scoops of medium ground coffee and a full reservoir of water, the level is two inches down from the neck of the pot. It only nets four mugs per pot. On the single serve setting, it only brews half a mug full. Maybe we should use a coffee cup instead of a mug, which is twice its size.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Ninja Coffee Bar

    I bought this machine with the expectation that the coffee would be fabulous and, it was, for 13 months (one month post warranty). Then, despite many, many hours spent cleaning and descaling the unit, it would not brew more than 1/4 of a cup at a time, despite it being set to brew a full carafe, so we had to stay there, constantly pushing the brew button to get a full carafe of coffee each morning.

    While researching how to combat this problem online, I found that we were not alone; this is a common complaint among Ninja Coffee Bar buyers. It does not appear that Ninja has taken responsibility or offered a solution to the problem (I never called them).

    Can I recommend this coffeemaker? Yes, if you have an extra $200+ to spend on a coffeemaker that may, or may not, work for a year.

    Personally, I'm currently going back to the regular old, every day, coffeemaker and just splurge on a specialty coffee every now and then; it will be a lot less expensive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Continuously have to clean this machine!

    • Wheatfield, IN,
    • Nov 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had this product about a year, and the clean light continues to come on. I cleaned it, advanced cleaned and it continues to have the problem! I called customer service and have to pay to send it in! Do not buy this machine; it has a history of this problem!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    The worst coffee pot

    • Albion, IN,
    • Nov 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the WORST coffee pot I have ever owned. It requires you to clean it almost every week. That takes one hour time, and the light will flash on, what a pain.

    For $200.00, what a rip-off. If you do plan on getting this coffee pot be sure to call in the week you get it for the warranty, and if you don't within that time frame, you're out $200.00.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Cleaning light/cloudy coffee

    • Independence, OR,
    • Nov 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Initially, we liked our Ninja, but the noticed the coffee was always cloudy. It tasted fine but looked terrible. Then the clean light came on, and after a few times of cleaning I ended up cleaning two times in a row, each for 4 hours, and the light stayed on. I will get rid of this machine. Disappointed to do so.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Drip stop malfunctioned

    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Nov 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    While in the beginning I had been quite satisfied with this coffee maker, I am no longer impressed. In the last few weeks, the clean light appeared, and I faithfully cleaned the machine. However, now the drip stop warning light remains lit, and the coffee machine refuses to brew (naturally).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy the Coffee Bar

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Oct 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Initially, I was pleased with the Coffee Bar and liked the various settings, as well as the frother. After approximately 1 and 1/2 years of use, it began malfunctioning with the classic brew and the time settings no longer usable. The customer service only offers a reduced rate on a new one instead of actually offering any assistance because of the 1-year warranty. Why would I purchase a new one when my current one broke so quickly?

    I never write reviews on items, however, I am so disgusted by the fact that it malfunctioned after 1 and 1/2 years and now I'm out of luck. Given the price tag, I wouldn't have expected problems. I will never purchase any of their products in my lifetime.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great machine and great customer service!

    • McMinnville, OR,
    • Sep 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got my coffee maker Christmas 2016. I instantly loved it. I had no issues with it until I cracked my carafe while washing it about three months after I started using it. Carafes on the secondary market were $70-$90.

    I contacted customer service and explained what happened and inquired about purchasing a replacement through them. When they inquired how long I had the machine I told them three months they told me they would send me a new one at no charge. I didn't have to pay shipping.

    About five days later I received it. If this one ever dies, I will definitely buy another. Great product and great customer service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Did not last 64 days!

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Aug 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My Ninja Coffee Bar got stuck in the "clean" cycle and would not come out of it.

    I called Customer Service and was told that a different base could be sent to me if I paid the return shipping and paid $19.99 to have a new shipped to me. I asked to speak to the customer service reps supervisor. Two hours later a supervisor called and gave me the EXACT same "script" as the customer service rep. I wrote an email and got the exact same thing in writing. I posted on Facebook and got the exact same answer as all the others on Facebook who expressed complaints. No resolution!

    I do not wish to pay $19.99 for a system that I already paid $170.00 for! I am going to search the web for the president's email and send him a complaint! My advice is not to buy this product! Check out all the complaints on their Facebook page and read all the "canned" responses! Amazing!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 17, 2017

      Larry Walton

      I had an almost identical experience. Not only did it freeze up in clean mode it also began brewing only one size (16 oz). After being passed around by customer service, they gave me a link to PDF product instructions and repeated the instructions for cleaning. It was clear that they were not going to help.

      I am a coffee nut and liked the coffee from the machine, so like a fool, I decided to get the bigger Ninja with the frother it lasted two cleaning cycles before it started messing up electronically. I am still able to select brew size and brew style but when the clean light turns on I cross my fingers and follow instructions. It usually takes running multiple cleaning cycles before the electronics set themselves right. Bottom line is that it makes great coffee but the machine is a piece of crap. I own two, one somewhat working and the other one on the floor waiting to be recycled.

    • Nov 12, 2017

      Mary

      I just called customer service to say that I've gone from having to clean it once a month to once in every three days. I was told that the clean button was sensitive and that as long as it didn't affect my brewing, I shouldn't worry about the clean button. I should just clean it every three months. I only make one cup of coffee a day, so I shouldn't have this issue. We will see what happens. I have had it for almost a year and I was told that if something else happens and it stops functioning properly to make sure I call before the year is up.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 69

Write a Review for Ninja Coffee Bar!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review