About Ninja Coffee Bar

By HighYa Staff

Who could resist an endorsement from Sofia Vergara? Ninja Coffee Bar hopes you can’t either, with their new brewing system that lets you choose between different types of coffee, all with the touch of a button.

Want classic brew, or something richer? Prefer over ice drinks? How about frothy specialty beverages?

Ninja Coffee Bar features unique brewing technology designed to deliver better, richer-tasting coffee that’s never bitter. You’ll also be able to dial up the flavor for any size or style of coffee, at any time, from the comfort of your own home.

Ninja Coffee Bar even claims to put the “best coffeehouse in town on your countertop!”

Celebrity endorsements and marketing hype aside, what’s the real deal with Ninja Coffee Bar? Does it deserve a spot on your countertop? Let’s start by looking at the brewing system’s features.

Ninja Coffee Bar Features

There are a whole lot of features on the Ninja Coffee Bar (we’ll compare them with other brands in a moment), but in essence, everything boils down to types and flavor.

This is mainly achieved using “graduated levels of coffee-to-water concentration” through something known as “Thermal Flavor Extraction.” This technology automatically calibrates temperature, infusion, saturation, and flavor richness.

Ninja Coffee Bar’s Auto-iQ one-touch intelligence also lets you enjoy hot coffee in any size you want, including a cup, travel mug, half carafe, or full carafe.

For example, the Ninja Coffee Bar is capable of making 3 different brew types:

  • Classic Brew – Features a smooth, rich, and balanced flavor.
  • Rich Brew – Richer than classic, with more intense flavors. Stands up to extra milk and flavorings. Twice as intense as the Classic.
  • Specialty Brews – This is based around a coffee extract that can be used to make a variety of hot and cold layered beverages, including over ice options. 3X the intensity of the Classic brew.

Additional Ninja Coffee Bar features include an easy-brew filling basket, reusable filter, drip stop, multi-serve cup platform, precise temp warming plate, removable water reservoir, programmable delay brew, and intelligent clean cycle indicator.

How do all these compare to the competition?

Are There Similar Brewing Systems To the Ninja Coffee Bar?

When you watched the Ninja Coffee Bar commercial, based on CEO Mark Rosen’s sakes pitch, you might have believed that there’s nothing else out there quite like it. Is this actually the case?

While there are certainly a lot of options, there doesn’t seem to be anything on the market that offers the exact same features as the Ninja Coffee Bar, at a similar price.

Sure, you can brew single cups with one, or create intense extracts and specialty brews with another, but nothing in a similar, all-in-one package.

Speaking of price, what’s the Ninja Coffee Bar cost?

Ninja Coffee Bar’s Pricing, Refund Policy, & Warranty

Available with your choice of a glass carafe or double-walled thermal carafe, Ninja Coffee Bar is priced at four payments of $39.95, or a single payment of $159.80.

When checking out, you’ll also be offered a variety of accessory packages, including easy frothers, mugs, cups, tumblers, brew guides, scoops, as well as replacement parts.

All Ninja products (more about this next) ordered directly through the company include free S&H. They also come with a 60-day refund policy, less S&H and a 10% restocking fee, as well as 5-year or lifetime warranties for the “original appliance and/or non-wearable components deemed defective.” Normal wear and tear is not covered.

In order to request a refund or process a warranty claim, you’ll need to contact the manufacturer at 877-646-5288.

Note: The Ninja Coffee Bar is also available through numerous third-party retailers, including Target, Bed Bath & Beyond, Kohl’s, Walmart, and more.

Is Ninja Coffee Bar Wowing Customers?

Ninja Coffee Bar had only been around since late August/early September of 2015, so there weren’t a whole lot of feedback about the brewing system at the time of our research.

CNET gave the Ninja Coffee Bar a 3.5-star rating. They claimed that, while you won’t be able to find the same number of features at a similar price, its extracts often come out bitter, and the “cheap plastic materials” make it “far from luxurious.”

Coffee Detective liked the fact that Ninja Coffee Bar gives you the ability to brew 4 different sizes (single cup, travel mug, half carafe, or full carafe), as well as its frother and its ability to make concentrate.

Ultimately, it got the author’s vote, as they claimed it could replace all your other coffee makers (and even your espresso machine, as long as you understand the Ninja Coffee Bar doesn’t use real espresso).

From a company perspective, Ninja Coffee Bar is manufactured by SharkNinja Operating LLC, a division of Euro-Pro Operating LLC. Other products in the Ninja lineup include the Nutri Ninja Pro Blender, Nina Cooking System, and Nutri Ninja Duo Blender.

The company had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 284 closed complaints (as of 10/9/15). Most of these appeared to reference difficulty obtaining repairs/replacements under warranty, and most were related to the company’s vacuums.

Here on HighYa, Ninja’s products had an average rating of 4 stars, with common compliments citing ease of use, good results, and solid quality.

We definitely think that, regardless of the product, what other customers have to say should impact your purchasing decisions. But what about celebrity endorsements?

Is it Important that Ninja Coffee Bar is Endorsed by Sofia Vergara?

It’s hard to not like friendly, attractive personalities like Sofia Vergara. But, although it seems like she’s genuinely passionate about coffee, should you put any stock in her Ninja Coffee Bar endorsement?

In our opinion, no. As we discussed in-depth in Why Celebrity Endorsements Can Hurt You, they’re often intended to cause you to make an emotional (versus an informed) purchasing decision. In many instances, celebrities don’t even use the products they’re endorsing.

We’re certainly not saying this is the case with Ninja Coffee Bar, but it would stand to reason that Ms. Vergara could afford a top-of-the-line brewing system—or even to hire a coffee specialist from Colombia to brew it for her!

Now, let’s use everything we’ve learned to make an informed decision about Ninja Coffee Bar.

Will Ninja Coffee Bar Brew Perfect Coffee, or Just Leave You Heated?

Much like wine, food, or anything else we eat or drink, what constitutes your perfect cup of coffee depends almost wholly on personal preference. What you find to be perfectly brewed, your neighbor might find disgusting.

Outside of preference, the Ninja Coffee Bar appears to corner the market, since there isn’t anything else quite like it—especially at this price. Sure, the quality might not be “luxurious,” but it seems like Ninja Coffee Bar will provide you with important options like size and strength, all at a very reasonable cost.

Are you a coffee newbie, or a longstanding aficionado? Either way, what did you think about Ninja Coffee Bar? Tell us about it by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 97 Ninja Coffee Bar Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 21 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 9 1 star:  63
Bottom Line: 27% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 97
Sort reviews by:

  • 33 out 34 people found this review helpful

    So far so good.

    • Trumbull, CT,
    • Nov 29, 2015

    I am very particular about my coffee. I love Dunkin original hot and Starbucks Iced. I have owned a variety of coffee makers from 60 dollars to the 2500 Jura and everything in between including Kitchen Aide, Bunn, Nespresso and Keurig. I am looking for a cup of coffee similar to Dunkin Donuts. None of the above even come close. I purchased the Ninja Coffee Bar and have done a side by side comparison of a Starbucks iced coffee purchased directly at Starbucks and then made an ice coffee on the ice coffee setting using that coffee. The result was that I could not tell the difference! Tomorrow I will be comparing a Dunkin Donut coffee purchased at Dunkin and then making a hot coffee with its packaged coffee. Hoping for the same results..

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Love this creative coffee bar

    Stopped drinking coffee with my dreadful K-Cup experience. Resorted to tea. Saw the ninja and decided to buy it. OMG I am back to coffee again. This coffee bar is fantastic. So many options and I love iced coffee. Would recommend this machine to everyone. So much fun to use and I am back to java.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing problems

    • New Braunfels, Texas,
    • Feb 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    At first I was thrilled. The coffee tasted great, and the options are fun. However, shortly after, the warming plate started going off almost immediately, and was hard to make it get back on. Now, after two months of use, it keeps shutting off in the middle of the cycle (when you try to brew a full pot, it makes less than half, and shuts itself off), leaving me with less coffee than anticipated, and cold to boot.

    I thought maybe these were unique problems, but now see that others are having the same issues. I would wait until these prohibitive problems are worked out before recommending it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Pleased by purchase

    We dumped our K! It does take a bit of old school time to brew but it's worth it. Our first brew creation was a cappuccino. I so wanted to make second cup immediately, but thought I better wait because it's true coffee concentrate in strength. We're happy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Lemon

    • Reno Nevada ,
    • Feb 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am on my third pot in two months and am experiencing the same issue, which is that the pot's warming plate shuts off after brewing. It's not supposed to work that way. I just called Ninja, and it seems as if I'm the only person who is having this problem (which I don't believe), so I am awaiting my fourth pot. I am not at all happy, and wouldn't recommend the Ninja Coffee Bar.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Enjoyable Coffee Experience

    • Lincoln, NE,
    • Nov 28, 2015

    I am wanting to say to anyone that will listen – If you consider yourself a coffee geek and a lover of a good spot of Joe, and you enjoy creating drinks easily to the delight of your friends, family or just for yourself, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this wonderful machine!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Great coffee, major lemon!

    • Delaware,
    • Mar 17, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought my Ninja Coffee Bar in December 2015. It lasted one month before it stopped brewing. I called Ninja and they overnight mailed me a new one. It lasted one month before it stopped brewing as well. Now I called Ninja again and they said they would mail me a third one. I wait a week and a half looking for my new one and it never showed up.

    So today I called them again and was told they were waiting to receive my old one back before mailing the new one to me. AND that then I owed twenty bucks to get the new one mailed out to me. I stated that I had lifetime VIP warranty so I get free shipping. However, then I was told VIP warranty gets canceled after first return. So I guess lifetime means one month to Shark/Ninja! I have bought their stuff for years and have loved their products but never again will buy from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Ninja Coffee Bar Has Many Problems

    • Bonners Ferry, ID,
    • Jan 16, 2016

    First of all this thing is way overpriced. Save your money. The coffee is not that good, carafe is small; doesn't make enough coffee, you can't get your hand in the carafe to clean, doesn't have an on/off switch (which is HUGE), and the coffee doesn't even stay hot. Seems to me that Ninja had several things they didn't think about before engineering this stupid thing. They should have followed Mr. Coffee's design a little more. This is going back. I'll have fun with that. Shipping will cost a fortune and getting everything back in the box will be like a 1000 piece puzzle. Waste of time and money. Would have given it no stars, but was required to give it at least one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 22, 2016

      Tina

      What do you mean it doesn't have an on/off switch? When you select the brew you want, it starts (on) and the warming plate comes on. Push the stay warm button to turn it off. There is also a pause button if you want to grab a quick cup.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Buy beware of warranty

    • Michigan,
    • Jan 21, 2016

    If you don't buy the coffee bar direct from Ninja your warranty is not valid. My coffee maker is defective and will not give me a hot cup of coffee. They only replace the product if I pay to have it shipped back for an additional $40. Poor customer service and no backing for defects.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Best coffee maker I've ever had.

    • Catawba, SC,
    • May 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm a coffee snob and freely admit it. I know a tremendous amount about coffee, such as the optimal temp of just below boiling, grind for different types, sizes and materials used. A metal cone requires a coarser grind. A metal filter doesn't absorb all of the oils that paper filters do (and Eco-friendly!). As with any coffee maker, you must play with the ratios to find what it is you like. On the third day, I had it completely figured out and man. This thing makes amazing coffee. I've had all kinds and brands of coffee makers, from percolator, to French press, to vacuum. This thing makes awesome coffee. The double-wall stainless steel carafe is perfect and keeps coffee hot for a really, really long time. It's all personal preference, but I love this thing and it will proudly share the counter space with my burr grinder.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 10, 2016

      Vicki

      What coffee are you using? I am having a hard time getting the coffee strong but not bitter.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 21 people found this review helpful

    The worst coffee pot I ever owned

    We bought this coffee bar about two months ago from Sam's club. We had heard lots of good things about it, but my experience with this coffee maker was not a good one. Instead, actually just cost more money in the long run because we now have to return it and it's on the customer to pay for that, as stated In the warranty.

    At first the coffee maker seemed to work great, we would set it to start brewing in the morning time before work. After about two months we noticed it would only make a little amount of coffee and start beeping 5 times, we had to keep pushing the button to start it brewing again. It took about 40 minutes just to finally make a pot of coffee.

    After I emailed customer service to get some answers, all they told me was to clean it with this descaling solution then run water through a few times. After all was said and done, I realized the descaling solution did not fix the problem. So really just leads to more phone calls to customers service, where finally they decide to send a new one but informed me I'll pay 20 dollars for the defected product to be shipped and once they get it, they send out a new one.

    At the end of it all I ended up with a coffee pot that doesn't work. The coffee pot is more of a pain then anything. Between buying the descaling solution, customer service calls, and paying to have the coffee pot mailed back, I would never recommend this product to anyone. It was a big mistake, would of been better off getting a 10 dollar coffee pot.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 31, 2016

      Ellen

      Did you have it on the full carafe setting?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 97

Write a Review for Ninja Coffee Bar!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review