Ninja Coffee Bar Reviews

Ninja Coffee Bar

Overall Rating

2.1

103 Customer Reviews

Summary

The Ninja Coffee Bar is a line of hot and cold coffee brew systems from Ninja. See how customers are rating Ninja's coffee makers.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.1 Stars out of 103 Reviews
5 Star:22% 4 Star:2% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:8% 1 Star:65%
27% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Ninja Coffee Bar:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Feb 21, 2018

All the features do not work and you will pay for it

By Christie Gracey, South Carolina, Verified Reviewer

The Ninja Coffee Bar worked for awhile, but it required complete time-consuming cleaning. Our house consists of 2 adults who drink 1 cup in the morning and use it for guests.

Not long after buying the Ninja Coffee Bar we started having trouble with the cleaning light coming on and staying on even after we cleaned the pot as directed. Shortly afterward, the panel showing the time no longer worked. We tried using the programmable brew and could not get it to function. Not long after the time would not show; it would always show CLN on the clock.

We called Ninja, and after trying their suggested method to clean (which we had done numerous times), they sent us a new base unit. We were told to keep our old Thermal carafe, Water Reservoir, and Filter. The "cost of mailing" the new base unit was $19.95.

We received the new base and the first time we tried to use the programmable feature it would not work. I called Ninja, and they went through the instructions as if I did not know what I was doing as I assured them nothing happened when I pressed the program set. They asked me to try with them on the phone. Guess what? The new unit will not perform one of its main features, and they just feel terrible about it, but for $19.95 they will send me another base unit. I expressed my complete satisfaction for the expensive unit and the extra $20 and now another $20, and he said there was nothing they could do because (wait for it) "They have a set contract with Fed Ex to ship their coffee pots."

I really love some of Ninja's other products. But, after this coffee pot fiasco, when our other Ninja products grow old or break down, we will NEVER buy another one of their products. Just think about their less than honest enterprise and let them know that at their center, they do not really care about customers or product. Just take them or leave them. I am leaving.

All the other "well respected" companies do their best to give customer satisfaction and to us, that still means something. Say no to Ninja or continue to add more profit to their coffers. We are going to purchase products that legit companies stand behind and appreciate their customers.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 20, 2018

Waste of money and time

By Andy Thornton, Tulsa, OK, Verified Reviewer

I got this for my wife for Christmas from BestBuy. Coffee is very good when you can get it to work.

Within one month the "clean" light came on and stayed on. I cleaned with vinegar/water per instructions, and there was no change. I ran the extended clean cycle with water/vinegar, and there was no change. I bought coffee maker cleaner and ran the clean cycle again, and there was no change. I ran the extended clean cycle with coffee maker cleaner 4 times and there was no change. The clean light stays on and now it won't brew more than 1-2 ounces and then starts beeping and flashing for cleaning.

In short, this thing is junk. BestBuy won't exchange or refund on February 17th, and Ninja/Shark requires prepaid shipping and return shipping EVEN UNDER WARRANTY. Neither the retailer or the manufacturer stands behind the piece-of-crap coffee maker. DON'T BUY and advise others of the same.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 12, 2018

Ninja Coffee Bar CF091

By Tony Hale, Jacksonville, FL, Verified Reviewer

Worst coffee maker ever. It had started out great, but then after a month, it will not brew a cup or full pot of coffee. My wife is going to take it back, and hopefully, we can get a refund. We do not want another one. I wish we would have reviewed this coffee pot before we bought it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 11, 2018

Crap!

By Elizabeth Elmore, South Carolina, Verified Reviewer

I didn't have this machine very long when it started giving me trouble. The buttons get to where they won't work. It leaks water from the bottom of the coffee maker. I contacted the company when we first started having issues and they would NOT replace it. Even though when we registered it, we were told there was a lifetime warranty.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 8, 2018

Despicable customer service

By Andy Carpenter, Shelby, OH, Verified Reviewer

The cleaning light is broken and will not go out or on, and it's literally a month old. We use only reverse osmosis water in it, so there shouldn't be any issues with calcium or likewise.

I called Ninja and was told, "if I can't live with it, then they could send me another motor for $19.99 to cover shipping." What kind of sham company charges you to ship their warrantied products out?

I would advise anyone who's going to buy this to verify what I'm saying before you make the purchase. This is pitiful and a scam, and I'll also be filing a complaint with the FTC. I am going back to Keurig and fill the landfills with plastic I guess. At least they stand behind their products. I should have known better than to purchase something "Shark" or "Ninja." Pretty much the ghetto of products.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 5, 2018

God awful!

By D. Schneider, Alberta, Canada, Verified Reviewer

This pricey system would not brew a single cup of coffee from day one. Instead of coffee, all I got were the very annoying beeps letting me know the swing basket was not properly in place. After only three weeks of having this machine (and not having one single cup brewed), it also stopped brewing the half carafe without me having to stop and start the brew cycle three times! And the beeping ramped up.

Luckily I purchased this monstrosity from London Drugs and their return policy is fabulous. They did ask if I wanted to try another but when I told them "not in a million years," my $200 was refunded without question.

Do not waste your money!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 26, 2018

Worst coffee

By Evie, New Castle, PA, Verified Reviewer

This is the worst coffee machine I have owned. I clean it, and the coffee is still terrible. I use filtered water. I have to go back to my Keurig or Bunn coffee machine. I must have gone thru 10 different brands of coffee and coffee creamer, and it doesn't make a full pot or single coffee cup.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 18, 2018

It works great in the beginning

By Abraham Rahed, Florida, Verified Reviewer

For the first eight to nine months it worked great. Including the cleaning. Then I went through hours of trying to get the "clean" button to shut off. Finally, it was done.

Now just a few weeks after warranty expired it will not make a full cup of coffee. No support of what to do. I do love the iced coffee feature. It's a great product but not worth the $150. Maybe in the $25 range, aka "throw away stuff." I have the Model: CF110.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 2, 2018

Clean light never goes off - Ninja doesn't stand by product.

By Joseph Bach, Indianapolis, IN, Verified Reviewer

The "clean" light is on every other brew. I called Ninja and they offered replacement part, which they sent, but I had to pay $23 in shipping and handling. Two months later, the same issue. The "clean" light is continuously on. I called back customer service who told me that if the coffee brews, their "engineers" advise that the product works. I told them it doesn't work if the "clean" light comes on every brew cycle.

Now it has happened with the original and replacement, and Ninja refuses to refund it. All they will do is send a replacement part for a huge shipping charge, which if you pay for more than one shipping, you may as well get another coffee maker that works, which I will be doing. I will never buy another Ninja or Shark product.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 28, 2017

Won't brew a full pot

By David Smith, Corning, NY, Verified Reviewer

We got our Ninja Coffee Bar #CF080CC0 for Christmas yesterday, and I haven't gotten a full pot of coffee brewed on the "Classic" setting yet. When the water is run through alone, the level in the pot is fine. When you use four scoops of medium ground coffee and a full reservoir of water, the level is two inches down from the neck of the pot. It only nets four mugs per pot. On the single serve setting, it only brews half a mug full. Maybe we should use a coffee cup instead of a mug, which is twice its size.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 28, 2017

Ninja Coffee Bar

By Hilda Snowden, Arizona, Verified Reviewer

I bought this machine with the expectation that the coffee would be fabulous and, it was, for 13 months (one month post warranty). Then, despite many, many hours spent cleaning and descaling the unit, it would not brew more than 1/4 of a cup at a time, despite it being set to brew a full carafe, so we had to stay there, constantly pushing the brew button to get a full carafe of coffee each morning.

While researching how to combat this problem online, I found that we were not alone; this is a common complaint among Ninja Coffee Bar buyers. It does not appear that Ninja has taken responsibility or offered a solution to the problem (I never called them).

Can I recommend this coffeemaker? Yes, if you have an extra $200+ to spend on a coffeemaker that may, or may not, work for a year.

Personally, I'm currently going back to the regular old, every day, coffeemaker and just splurge on a specialty coffee every now and then; it will be a lot less expensive.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 15, 2017

Continuously have to clean this machine!

By E Schmidt, Wheatfield, IN, Verified Reviewer

I had this product about a year, and the clean light continues to come on. I cleaned it, advanced cleaned and it continues to have the problem! I called customer service and have to pay to send it in! Do not buy this machine; it has a history of this problem!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 14, 2017

The worst coffee pot

By Jodi, Albion, IN, Verified Reviewer

This is the WORST coffee pot I have ever owned. It requires you to clean it almost every week. That takes one hour time, and the light will flash on, what a pain.

For $200.00, what a rip-off. If you do plan on getting this coffee pot be sure to call in the week you get it for the warranty, and if you don't within that time frame, you're out $200.00.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 13, 2017

Cleaning light/cloudy coffee

By Gary Neilson, Independence, OR, Verified Reviewer

Initially, we liked our Ninja, but the noticed the coffee was always cloudy. It tasted fine but looked terrible. Then the clean light came on, and after a few times of cleaning I ended up cleaning two times in a row, each for 4 hours, and the light stayed on. I will get rid of this machine. Disappointed to do so.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 10, 2017

Drip stop malfunctioned

By Noel Cruz, Minneapolis, MN, Verified Reviewer

While in the beginning I had been quite satisfied with this coffee maker, I am no longer impressed. In the last few weeks, the clean light appeared, and I faithfully cleaned the machine. However, now the drip stop warning light remains lit, and the coffee machine refuses to brew (naturally).

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 2, 2017

Do not buy the Coffee Bar

By Ana F, Cleveland, OH, Verified Reviewer

Initially, I was pleased with the Coffee Bar and liked the various settings, as well as the frother. After approximately 1 and 1/2 years of use, it began malfunctioning with the classic brew and the time settings no longer usable. The customer service only offers a reduced rate on a new one instead of actually offering any assistance because of the 1-year warranty. Why would I purchase a new one when my current one broke so quickly?

I never write reviews on items, however, I am so disgusted by the fact that it malfunctioned after 1 and 1/2 years and now I'm out of luck. Given the price tag, I wouldn't have expected problems. I will never purchase any of their products in my lifetime.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 2, 2017

Great machine and great customer service!

By Gary May, McMinnville, OR, Verified Reviewer

I got my coffee maker Christmas 2016. I instantly loved it. I had no issues with it until I cracked my carafe while washing it about three months after I started using it. Carafes on the secondary market were $70-$90.

I contacted customer service and explained what happened and inquired about purchasing a replacement through them. When they inquired how long I had the machine I told them three months they told me they would send me a new one at no charge. I didn't have to pay shipping.

About five days later I received it. If this one ever dies, I will definitely buy another. Great product and great customer service.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 29, 2017

Did not last 64 days!

By Kathyn W, Seattle, WA, Verified Reviewer

My Ninja Coffee Bar got stuck in the "clean" cycle and would not come out of it.

I called Customer Service and was told that a different base could be sent to me if I paid the return shipping and paid $19.99 to have a new shipped to me. I asked to speak to the customer service reps supervisor. Two hours later a supervisor called and gave me the EXACT same "script" as the customer service rep. I wrote an email and got the exact same thing in writing. I posted on Facebook and got the exact same answer as all the others on Facebook who expressed complaints. No resolution!

I do not wish to pay $19.99 for a system that I already paid $170.00 for! I am going to search the web for the president's email and send him a complaint! My advice is not to buy this product! Check out all the complaints on their Facebook page and read all the "canned" responses! Amazing!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 28, 2017

Would not recommend

By Eric Waller, Vernon, NJ, Verified Reviewer

I am having the same problem as a lot of other folks. I got this for Christmas, and the "clean" light came on after about a month of use. I thought no big deal. Except after cleaning it, the light came on again after a week. I cleaned again and then the "clean" light came on two days later.

I called customer service, and they were nice and sent me a replacement unit. Unfortunately, the same scenario. I called customer service, and this time they sent me a cleaning solution. I used the cleaning solution which lasted about two weeks. I called customer service, and they suggested based on this continuing problem to run the four-hour cleaning process. No luck. After two days, the "clean" light comes back on.

So, I once again called customer service. They send me another unit and sure enough, after another month the same results. I am at my wit's end at this point. I called to get a refund and was told since it was not purchased directly from Ninja, no refund could be offered. Now they are willing to send me a replacement unit again, but I have to return the defective unit and pay for shipping cost. I don't know what makes them think that sending me a third replacement unit is going to make a difference.

Although customer service was willing to work with me initially, their hard stance once I requested a refund is very unsatisfactory.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 20, 2017

Unhappy

By Cara Blalock, North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

Only about two weeks after purchase, the clean light comes on. I followed all the directions, and the light is still on. Coffee is never hot (just warm) from cup or pot, and water never completely empties from the reservoir. Pre-setting only works sometimes so in the mornings I have to wait. When using the cup method, we frequently have to turn it down a couple of times before it'll finish. Very disappointed with this product.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 5, 2017

Buyer beware of Ninja Coffee Bar thermal carafe (also comes with over ice carafe)

By Anne Medenblik, North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

I had my unit for less than a month and was required to descale it with vinegar twice. This laborious process (which requires you to stand by during the cycle to flush it) is way more intensive than any other cleaning process.

Even after doing extra cleaning, we still had problems. We brewed a full pot, and it only brewed two cups of very strong coffee. Water remained in the reservoir, and even after forcing more cycles, the reservoir did not empty.

Fortunately, Bed Bath & Beyond gave us a full refund after one month of usage. Others have not been so fortunate. They paid $19.95 in postage to return it and were also required to send a check to Ninja for the same amount for return postage. Others were required to pay a restocking fee when they returned it. Ninja customer service asks for the model number and urges you to "private message" them. Those who were kind enough to post about their private messages say Ninja gives them directions that are exactly the same cleaning instructions as in the manual.

Very frustrating. Ninja should do the right thing and recall this coffeemaker.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 18, 2017

Housewife

By Mona Chapa, Mission, Texas, Verified Reviewer

This product was a waste of money! I should have never bought it. Anything works better than this coffee maker. I was a Ninja Fan until I came accords this product. Sadly it only lasted 2 weeks, a little screw on the frother came off while washing it after 2 times I used it, and to make things worse looks like that part was melted with the heat of the vapor.

I should have never gotten rid of the old school coffee maker I had purchased for $14.99. Instead, I spend $179.99 on this junk!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on May 19, 2017

Terrible

By Holland Oneil, New Mexico, Verified Reviewer

This coffee maker did not work for long. The cleaning light went on, and it never makes a full pot of coffee. The coffee is always luke warm. I do not have tons of money, so it was a giant let down. Now I am stuck with this stupid luke warm half-full carafe of coffee every morning.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on May 16, 2017

Not reliable

By Tim, Nevada, Verified Reviewer

I purchased it in December. By mid-January, the cleaning light came on and will not come out of cleaning cycle despite multiple by book cleaning. The company expects you to send it back at your own expense.

A definite "do not buy."

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on May 12, 2017

Don't purchase this machine!

By Denney Apfel, Seattle, WA, Verified Reviewer

This is hands down the worst coffee maker I have ever purchased. The design is terrible. I can't even clean the carafe. They did a great job of advertising, but you can't justify the price. Mr. Coffee works better.

We are literally putting ours in the trash at this very moment. I don't usually write reviews, but I thought it best to warn other potential buyers.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 4, 2017

The best!

By Kristie, Ohio, Verified Reviewer

I love this coffee machine! It offers multiple options for brewing (taste, size, over ice). It is the best coffee machine I have ever purchased! It has delivered in all areas; no complaints.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Mar 22, 2017

Ninja coffee bar CF091

By Fred Strigun, La Crosse, WI, Verified Reviewer

I got this for Christmas and the "clean" light would not go out after cleaning four times. They sent me a new base and the "clean" light came on after two brews. I called the company, and they said they will send a new machine.

After a week and receiving nothing, I called again, and then they said I had to send the old one back first. I told them I did not have the box and packaging material. I said send a new one and I will put the old one in the new box, and they said "NO." I offered a credit card to guarantee I will return old one, but they still said "no."

I am very unhappy; the service "sucks" and there is nothing special about this machine. It is overpriced and I would not recommend or buy it again. I also would not buy any of their products! I only used it for two months.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted
Showing 28-54 of 103

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.