Noom Diet Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Noom Diet

Overall Rating

4.0

1315 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

Noom is an app-based personalized weight loss program that wants to permanently change your relationship to food. Thousands have used Noom to successfully lose weight, but the level of support you’ll get from the Noom online community can vary considerably.

Pros

  • Proven effective as a weightloss program for thousands of users
  • Makes it possible to track your daily food and fitness choices
  • Provides community support in a virtual setting

Cons

  • Included eating guide doesn’t suit all diet strategies
  • Online coaches and goal specialists can vary in quality
  • More expensive than many app-based weight loss plans

Customer Reviews

4.0 Stars out of 1315 Reviews
5 Star:56% 4 Star:18% 3 Star:5% 2 Star:4% 1 Star:15%
77% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Noom Diet:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Jun 25, 2018

Lame and a scam

By Lu R., Tyler, T, Verified Reviewer

I actually made the mistake of canceling one day past the free trial so I am out $100 plus. I like MyFitnessPal and was looking for more, but this is not it. My coach was lame and not supportive at all. Everyone out there, MyFitnessPal is the best; don’t go here.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 31 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 18, 2018

I've been a lifetime diet person...

By Kimberly L., Madison, WI, Verified Reviewer

I've been dieting my whole life and will always have a mixed relationship with food. Noom taught me an incredible amount: about nutrition, about exercise, and about the relationship (psychology-wise) with food.

I definitely learned things about myself that I didn't expect, more than I thought I already knew, and I thought I knew everything, about weight loss. I'm now more in control, feeling accountable to the one person that matters most (myself). Most importantly I don't feel like I'm dieting - I'm changing my relationship with food (which is what really needed to happen all along, about a dozen diets ago!).

Really recommend it - it's worth the leap of faith.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 18, 2018

Great program

By Paul V., FT Worth, TX, Verified Reviewer

I love Noom; the app is easy to use. My coach and group are super engaged. If you are serious about change and are willing to read and do, this really works. I'm on nine weeks right now, and I just cleaned out my closet of shirts that are too big.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 7, 2018

Unable to restart

By Jodi B., Texas, Verified Reviewer

While I really liked the program, they claim that you are unable to restart once you begin. After approximately two weeks on the program, I went through a very stressful time. I got behind on my article reading and felt overwhelmed. I contacted Noom through both my coach and their technical department. They basically told me, "too bad." Even though I'm paying the same amount, they said that they are unable to restart the program. What a shame. This is why I am giving them a bad review. It's a program that needs to be followed and kept up with. Once you get behind, it's possible to go back. If you do get behind, it is very difficult to get caught up. I'll go back to weight watchers where you can get the support that you need.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 39 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 7, 2018

Horrible, predatory, disappointing

By Elizabeth M., Dallas, TX, Verified Reviewer

I had high hopes for Noon. I signed up for the service including the additional fitness and food coach. I went through the all the questions and set a date and time for my coach to call me. I ended up in the hospital and unable to keep my appointment, but when I got home a week later I tried contacting my coach to reschedule the session that I paid EXTRA money to get!

Within the app, I asked Jenny my Lifestyle coach for help in getting restarted, and her response was to send me to my confirmation email to reschedule. When I did that it told me I couldn't reschedule and gave no information. I sent a blind email to customer service and never heard back. I really don't believe any of these "people" are real humans but instead automated bots designed to answer questions from a database. There is no number to reach these people that actually works. I've tracked down the board members and their company affiliations/numbers, and I'm about to raise a stink.

I paid over $200 and have had NO SUPPORT AT ALL. It's a scam, but I'm not a helpless victim. I will also be reporting them to my state attorney general, and I urge others to do the same. I really wanted this to work! Disappointed doesn't even begin to express how I feel.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 58 People Have Voted

Posted on May 31, 2018

Terrible experience.

By Beata B., Sycamore, IL, Verified Reviewer

Bad experience. It is supposed to be one on one working with a coach and it felt like a computer was writing. No connection and no results. Also, telling me everything I know, like that fruits and veggies are good. Totally not worth a penny. Save your money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 48 People Have Voted

Posted on May 20, 2018

An app for making sustainable lifestyle changes - designed by psychologists

By Bonnie Brunt, Spokane, WA, Verified Reviewer

I have found Noom Coach to be a fairly complete support system for making permanent lifestyle changes.

Noom includes food, exercise, and weight tracking, a discussion forum led by a coach, as well as a private coach that checks in about once per week.

On top of that, it spoons out information in bite-sized increments that are based on nutrition, and perhaps more importantly, on psychology. If you read them, they basically teach you what we know about how habits are formed, how/why they work and how you can alter them to your benefit. They also teach you how to break down and alter your own thoughts about food, your body, and your health, so as to support good long-term solutions.

I have found it to be a great tool for me. I've been using it for nine months, have lost and kept off 35 pounds, am stronger and feel better than I have in a decade and a half. I don't see myself ever going back to the old ways of treating myself...this way feels so much better.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on May 18, 2018

Nope

By Shari Bruce, Kansas, Verified Reviewer

The coach would only answer questions half the time. They have red light, green light, and yellow light foods, but they don't give you a list unless you ask or search. They have shrimp listed as both a green food and a red food. The quizzes are dumb. If you have done any research into weight loss, you already know all those things about food triggers and social eating. I had been doing a Whole30 cleanse when it popped up on my newsfeed, so I gave the free trial a shot. They were not compatible (so also not compatible with a Paleo diet). I gained 4 lbs once starting, and canceled after 10 days. It's crap. The free version of MyFitnessPal and planning ahead work as well or better. Save your money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 41 People Have Voted

Posted on May 17, 2018

Okay, but not worth the price tag

By Bella H, Pennsylvania, Verified Reviewer

I did the free trial of Noom and did find the food tracker and self-help articles to be good. I lost 3 lbs, which felt like a success. I really like the caloric density model of food logging, and it helped to never feel deprived.

However, I didn’t continue after the trial because the goal specialist wasn’t anything special. As other people have said, I never knew when she would be available, I waited hours or days to get a response, she didn’t provide any actual advice, and I too wondered if she was a bot. The few messages I got were very cut-and-paste, which makes me think these coaches have way too many clients each.

The most disappointing: I noted in my survey on day one and in a message to my coach that I have an injury that means I can’t exercise for a few weeks. There was no personalization for this (I had a step goal to reach with a broken toe!), and my coach took days to get back to me. For $59 a month, I’d need a lot more one-on-one, personalized contact.

I’d recommend paying that to see an in-person nutritionist or fitness trainer once a month to help you develop real goals that are custom to your actual life.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 22 People Have Voted

Posted on May 12, 2018

This is how they do business.

By Kristen Johnson, Missouri, Verified Reviewer

I emailed the company on May 07, 2018:

Leslie suggested I reach out. I was charged yesterday for the renewal of $129 and so I missed the cut off by hours. I was also charged $69 for a personalized "work out" plan and "eating plan." They didn't seem personalized at all. But I suppose they are probably system generated based on inputting items from the phone interview. I just don't feel like Noom will work for my lifestyle and was willing to pay the $69 but to be charged an additional $129 for a service I canceled several hours too late is extremely frustrating. For myself that I didn't cancel it yesterday and for others who have made the mistake of canceling too late. I would request to be refunded the $129 and I will immediately delete the application and close my account.

Thank you.

Powered by UserVoice.

On Tue, May 8, 2018 at 8:44 PM Rebecca Collins wrote:

Hi there!

Thank you for contacting Noom Support. We are sorry to see you go! Unfortunately, our refund policy does not allow us to provide refunds for cancellation requests made after the 14-day free trial. I checked your account and was unable to locate a cancellation request before your trial officially ended (please see our cancellation FAQ for more information).

You will continue to be able to access your Program features until the end of your subscription time but I have made sure your subscription expires after this billing period.

Please see our refund policy in this FAQ and in our terms and conditions for more information.

We apologize for the inconvenience and wish you a wonderful rest of your day.

Very best,

Rebecca Collins

Noom, Inc. (www.noom.com)

Noom | WELLNESS INTELLIGENCE

We want to hear how Noomin’ has been for you! Email us your story anytime: inspire@noom.com

How did I do?

But it wasn’t a 14-day trial. I paid $69, So I paid almost $200 for a useless 14-day service. I think it’s more than fair to cancel my membership and offer me at least a partial refund given the circumstances of the message to Leslie literally hours after I was charged the $129. Regardless of policy, it’s just the right thing to do. This unwillingness to compromise with people, not just customers but people, is a testament to the type of company Noom CHOOSES to be and further justifies my original decision to part ways.

They claim to be the “new Weight Watchers,” but the reason they have been so successful is because they have the human factor. The moral compass to go beyond the terms and conditions asses real-life situations and do right by people. Noom should be disappointed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 51 People Have Voted

Posted on May 11, 2018

No personal experience

By Deborah Archer, Virginia, Verified Reviewer

I'm on day four of Noom, and all I've received are platitudes. I can get these for free on Facebook.

The pedometer doesn't work well. It doesn't log steps on circular stairs, for instance, and I have 43 stairs I used multiple times every day. The calorie counts are suspect, too, though fairly easy to use.

I've tried canceling, but still no interaction. At least I'm not paying for it, yet.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 22 People Have Voted
Showing 1299-1309 of 1315

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.