About Novosbed

Online mattress buying might be all the rage today, but when Novosbed entered the scene in 2009, it was largely uncharted territory. Since that time—and throughout three generations of design changes—we’re told the company has always remained focused on one thing: building the “most affordable luxury mattress on the market.”

To accomplish this, Novosbed builds their mattresses from durable, ultra-dense memory foams in three different firmnesses, along with designer-grade fabrics, through a completely in-house process. Then, by cutting our the middlemen, they’re able to match the quality of big international brands, but at one-third the price—while lasting up to 50% longer!

On top of this, since 100% of each Novosbed mattress is recyclable and their materials are manufactured and sourced in the US, they can be a more eco-friendly option.

Novosbed might’ve been one of the originators of the online-only mattress scene, but does that necessarily make them the best? Are there any important considerations before choosing a Novosbed mattress? We’ll provide you with the information, so you can decide whether they’ll help you sleep soundly, or whether you should keep looking.

Your Quick Start Guide to Novosbed Mattresses

Novosbed mattresses are available in three different firmnesses: soft, medium, and firm. Regardless of the firmness, your mattress will include three layers, with thousands of vertical air channels to promote airflow and keep you cool. However, the exact types of foam (and thicknesses of each) can vary:

  • Soft – According to the company, this is ideal for those who prefer a plush mattress with a “quicksand” feel. Features 2" Ultra-Dense Airflow Gel Foam (Density: 3.7 lbs/ft3), 3" Ultra-Dense Memory Foam (Density: 4 lbs/ft3), and 6" Premium Support Foam (Density: 1.8 lbs/ft3).
  • Medium – This is Novosbed’s most popular mattress, which they claim provides a nice balance between support and comfort. Features 2" Ultra-Dense Airflow Memory Foam (Density: 5 lbs/ft3), 2" Ultra-Dense Memory Foam (Density: 5 lbs/ft3), and 7" Premium Support Foam (Density: 1.8 lbs/ft3).
  • Firm – For those who like more pressure-relieving support, Novosbed’s firm option might be a good choice. Features 2" Ultra-Dense Airflow Memory Foam (Density: 4 lbs/ft3), 2" Ultra-Dense Memory Foam (Density: 5 lbs/ft3), 7" Premium Support Foam (Density: 1.8 lbs/ft3).

Novosbed mattresses are available in three different firmnessesAlthough each Novosbed mattress consists of 3 layers, the exact foam type and thickness depends on your firmness preferences.

Surrounding these three layers is Novosbed’s two-way-stretch elastic core cover, which they claim protects the core without affecting the foam’s properties. On top of this, the ultra-soft stretch-knit cover is soft enough to use without sheets, and since it’s washable, you’ll always be able to maximize your comfort.

To round things out, Novosbed’s furniture-grade upholstery siding provides durability, flexibility, and support.

Are Novosbed Mattresses Easy to Set Up?

Like many other online-only mattress companies (more about the competition soon), Novosbed ships their mattresses compressed down to the size of a large trunk. As such, when you receive yours, you’ll need to slide the mattress out of the box and carefully cut the outer plastic.

Next, place you mattress on your bed frame or foundation and cut away the remaining plastic (you’ll want to hang on to this in case of a return).

After about 5 minutes, your Novosbed mattress should be “ready to enjoy,” although it can take up to 48 hours to fully expand. Note: Unlike many other manufacturers, Novosbed claims there is very little off-gassing (or the associated smells) once their mattresses are unpacked.

From there, we’re told that your mattress (like any foam mattress) will require a break-in period of about 2-3 weeks.

How much will all this memory foam and cool packing technology cost you?

How Much Do Novosbed Mattresses Cost?

Novosbed offers their mattresses in the following sizes and prices:

  • Twin: 38" x 74.5" x 11"; 54-57 lbs: $799
  • Twin XL: 38" x 79.5" x 11"; 57-61 lbs: $849
  • Double/Full: 52.5" x 74.5" x 11"; 75-80 lbs: $899
  • Queen: 59.5" x 79.5" x 11"; 92-98 lbs: $999
  • King: 75.5" x 79.5" x 11"; 117-124 lbs: $1,199
  • Cal King: 71.5" x 83.5" x 11"; 116-124 lbs: $1,199

In addition, you’ll be able to purchase accessories and services like:

  • Foundations: $179 to $279
  • White Glove Delivery (there’s no indication as to exactly what this is, or how it differs from standard delivery): $99
  • Old Mattress Removal: $35
  • Memory Foam Pillows: $109 - $149

The company claims you can expect delivery in 1-6 business days, depending on your location, with free shipping.

What Is Novosbed’s 120-Night Trial?

Starting from the night you receive your mattress, Novosbed gives you 120 nights to try it out before committing to your purchase.

Within that time, if you find that you’re not satisfied, Novosbed can send you one of their proprietary Comfort+ kits. This way, you’ll be able to add a layer of softening or firming foam that “integrates seamlessly”—simply unzip the mattress cover and add the Comfort+ layer on top, which shouldn’t take you more than 2 minutes.

What Is Novosbed’s ​Refund Policy & Warranty?

If you’re still not satisfied with your mattress after a couple more weeks, simply call customer service at 877-496-3626 and they’ll arrange to have it picked up and donated to a local charity. All you need to do is wrap the mattress in the original protective plastic and leave it on the ground floor on pickup day.

If you decide to hang on to your Novosbed mattress, it’ll come with a 15-year warranty against defects in materials and workmanship. The first 10 years of your warranty are non-prorated (total coverage), and the remaining 5 years are pro-rated (declining coverage based on age).

What Are Novosbed’s Customers Saying?

Pretty much anywhere you look, Novosbed’s mattresses seem to come with very high marks, including popular mattress review websites like Sleepopolis, SleepSherpa, Sleep Like the Dead, and many others. What are they saying?

Clearly, most people seem to like their Novosbed mattresses, with common compliments centered around on-the-dial firmness, balanced comfort and support, and fantastic quality for the price. In fact, SleepSherpa claims Novosbed succeeded in making the “most affordable luxury mattress on the market.”

However, Sleep Like the Dead noted that there was some pretty significant off-gassing/odor after unboxing, and that the mattresses tended to sleep hot. However, this last concern is exceptionally common among memory foam mattresses from other manufacturers, and definitely isn’t unique to Novosbed.

Speaking of which, Novosbed has some pretty stiff competition from the likes of Casper, Tuft & Needle, Leesa, Saatva, and many other online-only mattress manufacturers—nearly all of which come with high marks from customer as well. Comparatively though, it seems like Novosbed might have carved itself a nice little niche in the space. Why?

Based on their price points and focus on quality construction and materials, Novosbed seems more targeted toward the luxury crowd than it does bargain shoppers. This doesn’t mean that you won’t get a good night’s sleep with other mattresses, although Novosbed seems especially focused on setting themselves apart with quality.

See Also: How to Buy a Mattress Online

From a company perspective, Novosbed was founded in 2009, with offices located in Edmonton, AB, Canada and distribution centers in Breinigsville, PA and Toronto, ON, Canada. This way, your mattress will never have to cross the border or be subjected to steep fees and taxes.

Novosbed ha an A+ Better Business Bureau rating at the time of our research, with no closed complaints (as of 6/28/16).

Is Novosbed Too Good to Be True?

After reviewing well over a dozen online mattress companies, it’s easy to recognize that Novosbed places a great deal of emphasis on helping their customers make an informed decision (e.g. through their in-depth Buying Guide), and then delivering a top-notch product once they decide to order. Even if they don’t, they seem to go the extra mile with their Comfort+ kits.

Based on the company’s stellar online customer satisfaction ratings, it seems that this isn’t marketing speak, either. In other words, Novosbed appears to deliver on their promises.

Now, will a Novosbed mattress cost you more than some (if not all) of the competition? Probably, but it seems like you’ll get what you pay for.

Given all these factors—not to mention their completely free 120-night in-home trial—it might be difficult to think of a reason why you shouldn’t give Novosbed a try if you’re in the market for a new mattress.

Online Mattress Buying Guide:

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

41 Consumer Reviews for Novosbed

Average Consumer Rating: 4.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 37 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  1
Bottom Line: 93% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 41
Sort reviews by:

  • Douglas Bed is the best sleep

    • Cornwall, Ontario, Canada,
    • Sep 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Both my wife and I were not sure, but the other reviews and the 120-day trial told us to give the Douglas Bed a try. The first night we were both convinced that we had made the right choice. It is the best bed we've slept on. I hope it holds up for the entire warranty period.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Best sleep ever

    • New Brunswick, Canada,
    • Aug 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am so beyond happy with my new bed! Both, me and my husband have been sleeping wonderfully. I will and have recommended the mattress to many friends and family members. I love how easy it was to set it up too. You have nothing to lose because of the wonderful guarantee!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Douglas bed in a box

    • Edmonton, Alberta, Canada,
    • Aug 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this bed online and it arrived before the due date.

    I opened it up the next day and it took about 5 minutes to fully expand, and there was no smell at all.

    I slept on it that evening, and for the first few days it was very hard but gradually softened to where it is now. I find the edges a bit soft when sitting on it while dressing, however, I will NEVER go back to a regular mattress again. I have had this bed for about 2 months and will be keeping it for a long time.

    I highly recommend this bed, and the customer service was exceptional.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Not a firm mattress

    • New Mexico,
    • Aug 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Good quality bed, good customer service, but this is not a firm mattress, even with adding the custom fit option that they sent after I had the mattress for a while. I would say this is a medium mattress.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Douglas mattress is the best!

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Jul 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Douglas mattress is the most comfortable mattress I have ever had. Going to bed is a dream! The mattress is firm, fully supportive, and I can sleep comfortably on my side, stomach, and back. My partner had a lot of back pain from sleeping on our old mattress, and after using the Douglas, all his back pain is gone. The delivery was very fast, and opening up the mattress could not have been easier. If you're looking for an extremely comfortable, firm, Canadian-made bed, I would highly recommend the Douglas mattress.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Best sleep ever

    • Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada,
    • Jul 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a bad shoulder frozen. Since I got this bed, I sleep all night, plus my shoulder is getting better thanks to the best bed ever made. I would suggest if you have back or leg problems get on the phone and order a Novosbed today, don't wait another minute. Do it now.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Very Happy

    • Palm Beach, FL,
    • Jul 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I did a lot of reading online and finally had to choose. I am extremely satisfied with the Novosbed mattress

    The whole process from ordering to delivery, to adding the firming pad went very well.

    Part of the reason I chose Novosbed was for the option to firm or soften without returning and now I have a great mattress, exactly like I wanted.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Best sleep ever

    • Ottawa, Ontario, Canada,
    • Jul 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    From the first night I slept on my Douglas mattress, I have had the best sleep ever! Prior to owning my Douglas mattress, I had purchased a very expensive mattress set worth well over $5000 and never could get a good night sleep. My back was always sore. But not so with the Douglas mattress, I cannot say enough good things about my Douglas.

    We had an extreme heat wave this summer, and my mattress never felt hot despite temperatures soaring at night to 31°. Despite the fact that I live with chronic pain, I must say that my Douglas mattress is the most comfortable I have ever owned. The best recommendation I can give the Douglas mattress is the fact that I look forward to buying other mattresses for other rooms in my house. Try it, you will not regret it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great product and service.

    • Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada,
    • Jul 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Both my wife and I have had this bed for approximately two months now. We are completely happy with its' firmness and quietness of the mattress. If either one of us leaves in the middle of the night, the other is not aware of that happening. We have had a very satisfactory experience to date. The price was exceptional and the delivery response time was second to none. Thank you, Novosbed, for making a great product with amazing service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Updated review

    Novosbed

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Jun 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Experienced some initial issues with ordering, but customer service manager, Caitlyn, was helpful in remedying the situation. I have not had the bed long enough to do a full review, but so far I am impressed with customer service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 1, 2018

      Andy Prochazka, Customer Experience

      Hi Rebecca,

      Our sincerest apologies for any frustration or inconvenience caused, and thank you for taking the time to have a chat online with us today to come to a resolution. We are happy to extend trials for each mattress that you have purchased with us, we greatly appreciate your continued support.

      Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns moving forward and we hope that your daughter loves her new mattress.

      Kindest regards,

      Novosbed

    • Jun 2, 2018

      Rebecca G.

      Thank you kindly. I was able to connect with a manager who helped me resolve these outstanding concerns. I have revised my review to reflect the great customer service I received.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • May 31, 2018

    Novosbed

    I ordered the Novosbed and within a few days of ordering, I decided to also order my daughter a bed. I misunderstood the 120-day trial policy and realized that you can only get a trial for the second mattress if you ordered them at the same time. I was very disappointed to learn that they could not make an exception and provide a trial for the second mattress, given I was trying to order it literally days after the first.

    I contacted customer service and was told I was out of luck, nothing can be done, and I would just have to wait until my trial period passed (for my mattress) without a return before I could order hers (to get the second trial). I was very disappointed; I don't intend to wait four months before purchasing my daughter a bed so will just have to shop elsewhere. A shame that they could not make an exception when I recognized the error within a day or two. I would have happily purchased two mattresses at the same time if I'd understood the policy. If the policy was that they don't grant two trials to a household, in any case, I would totally understand. But given they do, but wouldn't work with me to rectify this, I'm not even sure I will keep my own mattress now.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Best bed ever

    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Mar 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    See you later "Sleep Country!"

    I bought a pocket coil mattress seven years ago and didn't last. I'm not old or out of shape but felt that way each time I got out of bed from that mattress. I was skeptical buying a mattress online and having no idea what I was getting myself into. So the mattress came, and we put it on the frame. It was a way better fit in the frame. So we got on the bed, and I was skeptical of the firmness. It was weird not to have "spring" when getting in. Nevertheless, I slept.

    I got used to the lack of spring, and I have zero aches and pain, and the motion control is fantastic. I just love it. I love the fact that they would take it back if need be but I'm sure glad I didn't have to return it. I am so glad I bought this.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 41

Write a Review for Novosbed!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review