About Novosbed

Online mattress buying might be all the rage today, but when Novosbed entered the scene in 2009, it was largely uncharted territory. Since that time—and throughout three generations of design changes—we’re told the company has always remained focused on one thing: building the “most affordable luxury mattress on the market.”

To accomplish this, Novosbed builds their mattresses from durable, ultra-dense memory foams in three different firmnesses, along with designer-grade fabrics, through a completely in-house process. Then, by cutting our the middlemen, they’re able to match the quality of big international brands, but at one-third the price—while lasting up to 50% longer!

On top of this, since 100% of each Novosbed mattress is recyclable and their materials are manufactured and sourced in the US, they can be a more eco-friendly option.

Novosbed might’ve been one of the originators of the online-only mattress scene, but does that necessarily make them the best? Are there any important considerations before choosing a Novosbed mattress? We’ll provide you with the information, so you can decide whether they’ll help you sleep soundly, or whether you should keep looking.

Your Quick Start Guide to Novosbed Mattresses

Novosbed mattresses are available in three different firmnesses: soft, medium, and firm. Regardless of the firmness, your mattress will include three layers, with thousands of vertical air channels to promote airflow and keep you cool. However, the exact types of foam (and thicknesses of each) can vary:

  • Soft – According to the company, this is ideal for those who prefer a plush mattress with a “quicksand” feel. Features 2" Ultra-Dense Airflow Gel Foam (Density: 3.7 lbs/ft3), 3" Ultra-Dense Memory Foam (Density: 4 lbs/ft3), and 6" Premium Support Foam (Density: 1.8 lbs/ft3).
  • Medium – This is Novosbed’s most popular mattress, which they claim provides a nice balance between support and comfort. Features 2" Ultra-Dense Airflow Memory Foam (Density: 5 lbs/ft3), 2" Ultra-Dense Memory Foam (Density: 5 lbs/ft3), and 7" Premium Support Foam (Density: 1.8 lbs/ft3).
  • Firm – For those who like more pressure-relieving support, Novosbed’s firm option might be a good choice. Features 2" Ultra-Dense Airflow Memory Foam (Density: 4 lbs/ft3), 2" Ultra-Dense Memory Foam (Density: 5 lbs/ft3), 7" Premium Support Foam (Density: 1.8 lbs/ft3).

Novosbed mattresses are available in three different firmnessesAlthough each Novosbed mattress consists of 3 layers, the exact foam type and thickness depends on your firmness preferences.

Surrounding these three layers is Novosbed’s two-way-stretch elastic core cover, which they claim protects the core without affecting the foam’s properties. On top of this, the ultra-soft stretch-knit cover is soft enough to use without sheets, and since it’s washable, you’ll always be able to maximize your comfort.

To round things out, Novosbed’s furniture-grade upholstery siding provides durability, flexibility, and support.

Are Novosbed Mattresses Easy to Set Up?

Like many other online-only mattress companies (more about the competition soon), Novosbed ships their mattresses compressed down to the size of a large trunk. As such, when you receive yours, you’ll need to slide the mattress out of the box and carefully cut the outer plastic.

Next, place you mattress on your bed frame or foundation and cut away the remaining plastic (you’ll want to hang on to this in case of a return).

After about 5 minutes, your Novosbed mattress should be “ready to enjoy,” although it can take up to 48 hours to fully expand. Note: Unlike many other manufacturers, Novosbed claims there is very little off-gassing (or the associated smells) once their mattresses are unpacked.

From there, we’re told that your mattress (like any foam mattress) will require a break-in period of about 2-3 weeks.

How much will all this memory foam and cool packing technology cost you?

How Much Do Novosbed Mattresses Cost?

Novosbed offers their mattresses in the following sizes and prices:

  • Twin: 38" x 74.5" x 11"; 54-57 lbs: $799
  • Twin XL: 38" x 79.5" x 11"; 57-61 lbs: $849
  • Double/Full: 52.5" x 74.5" x 11"; 75-80 lbs: $899
  • Queen: 59.5" x 79.5" x 11"; 92-98 lbs: $999
  • King: 75.5" x 79.5" x 11"; 117-124 lbs: $1,199
  • Cal King: 71.5" x 83.5" x 11"; 116-124 lbs: $1,199

In addition, you’ll be able to purchase accessories and services like:

  • Foundations: $179 to $279
  • White Glove Delivery (there’s no indication as to exactly what this is, or how it differs from standard delivery): $99
  • Old Mattress Removal: $35
  • Memory Foam Pillows: $109 - $149

The company claims you can expect delivery in 1-6 business days, depending on your location, with free shipping.

What Is Novosbed’s 120-Night Trial?

Starting from the night you receive your mattress, Novosbed gives you 120 nights to try it out before committing to your purchase.

Within that time, if you find that you’re not satisfied, Novosbed can send you one of their proprietary Comfort+ kits. This way, you’ll be able to add a layer of softening or firming foam that “integrates seamlessly”—simply unzip the mattress cover and add the Comfort+ layer on top, which shouldn’t take you more than 2 minutes.

What Is Novosbed’s ​Refund Policy & Warranty?

If you’re still not satisfied with your mattress after a couple more weeks, simply call customer service at 877-496-3626 and they’ll arrange to have it picked up and donated to a local charity. All you need to do is wrap the mattress in the original protective plastic and leave it on the ground floor on pickup day.

If you decide to hang on to your Novosbed mattress, it’ll come with a 15-year warranty against defects in materials and workmanship. The first 10 years of your warranty are non-prorated (total coverage), and the remaining 5 years are pro-rated (declining coverage based on age).

What Are Novosbed’s Customers Saying?

Pretty much anywhere you look, Novosbed’s mattresses seem to come with very high marks, including popular mattress review websites like Sleepopolis, SleepSherpa, Sleep Like the Dead, and many others. What are they saying?

Clearly, most people seem to like their Novosbed mattresses, with common compliments centered around on-the-dial firmness, balanced comfort and support, and fantastic quality for the price. In fact, SleepSherpa claims Novosbed succeeded in making the “most affordable luxury mattress on the market.”

However, Sleep Like the Dead noted that there was some pretty significant off-gassing/odor after unboxing, and that the mattresses tended to sleep hot. However, this last concern is exceptionally common among memory foam mattresses from other manufacturers, and definitely isn’t unique to Novosbed.

Speaking of which, Novosbed has some pretty stiff competition from the likes of Casper, Tuft & Needle, Leesa, Saatva, and many other online-only mattress manufacturers—nearly all of which come with high marks from customer as well. Comparatively though, it seems like Novosbed might have carved itself a nice little niche in the space. Why?

Based on their price points and focus on quality construction and materials, Novosbed seems more targeted toward the luxury crowd than it does bargain shoppers. This doesn’t mean that you won’t get a good night’s sleep with other mattresses, although Novosbed seems especially focused on setting themselves apart with quality.

See Also: How to Buy a Mattress Online

From a company perspective, Novosbed was founded in 2009, with offices located in Edmonton, AB, Canada and distribution centers in Breinigsville, PA and Toronto, ON, Canada. This way, your mattress will never have to cross the border or be subjected to steep fees and taxes.

Novosbed ha an A+ Better Business Bureau rating at the time of our research, with no closed complaints (as of 6/28/16).

Is Novosbed Too Good to Be True?

After reviewing well over a dozen online mattress companies, it’s easy to recognize that Novosbed places a great deal of emphasis on helping their customers make an informed decision (e.g. through their in-depth Buying Guide), and then delivering a top-notch product once they decide to order. Even if they don’t, they seem to go the extra mile with their Comfort+ kits.

Based on the company’s stellar online customer satisfaction ratings, it seems that this isn’t marketing speak, either. In other words, Novosbed appears to deliver on their promises.

Now, will a Novosbed mattress cost you more than some (if not all) of the competition? Probably, but it seems like you’ll get what you pay for.

Given all these factors—not to mention their completely free 120-night in-home trial—it might be difficult to think of a reason why you shouldn’t give Novosbed a try if you’re in the market for a new mattress.

Online Mattress Buying Guide:

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

30 Consumer Reviews for Novosbed

Average Consumer Rating: 4.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 27 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  1
Bottom Line: 93% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 30
Sort reviews by:

  • I have two mattresses from Novosbed now

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Aug 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I first heard about Novosbed about 3.5 years ago and thought the idea was really interesting from a business perspective. So when I needed a new mattress 2.5 years ago, I thought I'd give it a go. And I am extremely glad that I did! I absolutely love the mattress for its comfort, its size, its durability and the fact that it doesn't make me hot during the summer because it breathes quite well.

    I liked it so much that I bought another very recently as I upgraded to a queen. I would highly recommend it. It also arrives super quickly. That may be because I'm in Toronto but both times it arrived two days after submitting my order.

    Both mattresses I've purchased are the medium firmness (the most popular one), and I sleep mostly on my side and my back.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Customer service

    • California,
    • Jun 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience so far with Novosbed has been like dealing with Kmart years ago before we all defected to Walmart. It's not a price issue; it's a credibility issue. After you have been lied to a number of times, you go elsewhere. After a company has your money, you expect professional customer service should an issue occur that requires assistance.

    After a very short time, it was obvious that the firmness recommended by the company rep did not work for me. After the 30 days had passed, I called to order the "Comfort + Kit." I tried all of the break-in techniques they suggested, and it was simply too firm.

    Lie #1: I was told the item was in stock and would ship today, the order would be placed in four hours, and I would receive a confirmation email. Later that day I received an email stating the item was NOT in stock and would ship in 10-14 days. I called customer service and was told that apparently they were now out of stock but would ship by the end of the following week (7 days).

    Lie #2: It's Friday, the end of the week had arrived, and I never heard from Novosbed, so I called customer service. I was told item would ship Monday or Tuesday of the following week.

    Lie #3: It's Wednesday, and I never heard from Novosbed. I have been in pain nearly two weeks now, so I went to Walmart and purchased a quality topper. On Thursday, I called customer service and stated that item would ship in 7-10 days.

    It's Kmart all over again; unprofessional, either incompetent or outright lying, after they have your money. Either way, I cannot recommend this company, and you cannot rely on their 30-day "Comfort +" offer. I will wait for their topper and then decide if I will keep the mattress or return it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 18, 2017

      Andy Prochazka, Customer Experience

      Hello, I'm one of the co-founders of Novosbed. I'm very sorry to hear about your experience with our company. We take comments like yours extremely seriously. I will examine your case personally, and we will reach out to you directly to make this right.

    • Jun 19, 2017

      Rick Allison

      Amazing, they found one and shipped it today after waiting 17 days. I think posting this review may have helped. Thanks HighYa.

      Did they ship it overnight since I've waited more than two weeks? No, they shipped it FedEx Ground, that means four more days.

    • Jun 24, 2017

      Rick Allison

      Novosbed offered me a 10% refund, I felt 17% was appropriate since I had to suffer for 17 days, but they refused. Twenty-one days later I received the comfort kit, will try it for the first time tonight.

      Thanks HighYa, there's no doubt in my mind without your website I would still be waiting.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great decision. Thank you Novosbed.

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Apr 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a side/back sleep, and my partner is a stomach sleeper. I was advised by the Novosbed customer service that a medium firmness Novosbed would be the best for the position variations.

    In the first week, we found the medium to be a little firmer than expected. After speaking with customer service again, they advised me that the mattress can take up to 30 days to break-in. Getting used to a memory foam mattresses after sleeping on spring mattresses for so long would also take some getting used to. The Novosbed definitely softened up from week two to week four. It was almost perfect by day 30, so we decided to order the softening Comfort+ option.

    WHAT A DIFFERENCE this makes, the bed is PERFECT now. The Novosbed is definitely a higher quality mattress than other bed-in-a-box mattress brands we have tried. The customer service team at Novosbed are very approachable, helpful and accommodating and any questions I had were fully answered. The Comfort+ option Novosbed advertises also helped alleviate any worries we had with firmness. I now have the perfect mattress, and I sleep better than ever.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I LOVE my bed

    • Lawrenceburg, TN,
    • Feb 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I spent a night on my sister's memory foam mattress, and it changed my life. I knew I wasn't sleeping well at night on my inner-spring mattress and I always woke up with back pain. I started researching and comparing mattresses, which is not an easy thing to do. The things I considered were price, comfort, and customer service. Novosbed bed fell in the middle of the price category and everything I read suggested that the higher-priced mattresses didn't give you more for your money.

    The comfort was a hard thing to determine because everyone has a different opinion about what's comfortable, firm or soft. The advantage Novosbed has is the Comfort+ Kit that they offer. If you feel you need to adjust the firmness or softness, they will send you the kit for free.

    Customer service was a big one for me because I don't like dealing with a company that takes your money and then could care less if you're satisfied or not. When I read the Novosbed customer reviews, I was impressed that the company was quick to answer questions or solve problems.

    I ordered the King size with medium firmness, and it arrived in two days. After 30 days of good sleep, I decided to adjust the comfort to a softer level. I called the company and requested the Comfort+ Kit. Now it's perfect, and the best sleep I've ever had.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Definitely Novosbed fans!

    • Newfoundland, Canada,
    • Feb 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We were looking to replace our two aging mattresses (queen sized) for a couple of years, but every time we went looking locally (we live in a town of about 15,000 in Newfoundland and Labrador) we couldn’t decide what to buy. We wanted to try a memory foam mattress, but they were so expensive.

    Then we found Novosbed online, and we saw that there were no risks in buying from the. If the mattress did not suit us, they would refund our money after a trial period. So on October 19, 2016, we ordered both the mattress (in medium firmness) and the foundation for the mattress (Order No. 26055).

    We received our new bed in about 12 days, and when we opened the boxes, the bed opened to its full size and the frame was assembled with ease (even for us, who are seniors). From the first night, I found it perfect to sleep on. There was no adjustment period; we liked it from the start. We liked it so much that we ordered the second bed in the exact same firmness (medium) on December 5, 2016 (order No. 27567), along with the same foundation, which has since been received.

    We bought two beds and foundations for what we would pay for one of the memory foam mattresses sold here locally. With this said, we are definitely Novosbed fans.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Best company and product!

    We decided to go with Novosbed after hearing from many friends about how great it was. Also, when reading that they will ship a softer topper if it should it be too firm (all for free) and there is a sleep comfort guarantee (not to mention they are Canadian!), we couldn't say no.

    They were super fast at shipping, and the bed is really the best bed we have ever had! Their customer service is fantastic as well. Great company, great mattress.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Love my Novosbed!

    • Clayton, CA,
    • Jan 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the greatest bed I've ever owned.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Really good mattress.

    • Edmonton, AB,
    • Dec 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Really nice purchase, shipping time was good, service is nice. When I received it, trying for a month, for sure it is a 100% decent product. Spent much less money for the same quality and size. Completely rested in the morning, no headache anymore. Happy and fulfilled living.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Excellent night's sleep and solid construction.

    • Bloomington, MN,
    • Dec 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Novosbed has been a great purchase for my wife and me. We have slept well almost every night and I get into bed and am thankful for how comfortable the bed is. There is little to no motion transfer and I have not experienced "sleeping hot" as some have mentioned in the past. I would say that the Novosbed is luxury quality at a value price. We are interested in trying out the comfort + option, which is great to have at no cost, but the bed without it has been great anyway. We would also recommend their foundation, even at a somewhat premium price the foundation is solid and has had no squeaks or problems either. Overall, we are very happy with our purchase.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Relationship Saver

    • Edmonton, Alberta, Canada,
    • Dec 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    We absolutely love our new bed! I ordered the firm and added the comfort plus! Finally, I'm able to sleep with my significant other and no longer feel the urge to smother him with my pillow. Finally, we are happy and content in one bed!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great bed

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Dec 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was skeptical about Novosbed originally and how it would work, but I am really happy I got the bed. It only took a couple of days to arrive and it was super easy to take out. The bed feels amazing to sleep on and I am impressed that they're willing to give you so much time on their guarantee.

    I've recommended Novosbed to several friends.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 30

Write a Review for Novosbed!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review