About Novosbed

Online mattress buying might be all the rage today, but when Novosbed entered the scene in 2009, it was largely uncharted territory. Since that time—and throughout three generations of design changes—we’re told the company has always remained focused on one thing: building the “most affordable luxury mattress on the market.”

To accomplish this, Novosbed builds their mattresses from durable, ultra-dense memory foams in three different firmnesses, along with designer-grade fabrics, through a completely in-house process. Then, by cutting our the middlemen, they’re able to match the quality of big international brands, but at one-third the price—while lasting up to 50% longer!

On top of this, since 100% of each Novosbed mattress is recyclable and their materials are manufactured and sourced in the US, they can be a more eco-friendly option.

Novosbed might’ve been one of the originators of the online-only mattress scene, but does that necessarily make them the best? Are there any important considerations before choosing a Novosbed mattress? We’ll provide you with the information, so you can decide whether they’ll help you sleep soundly, or whether you should keep looking.

Your Quick Start Guide to Novosbed Mattresses

Novosbed mattresses are available in three different firmnesses: soft, medium, and firm. Regardless of the firmness, your mattress will include three layers, with thousands of vertical air channels to promote airflow and keep you cool. However, the exact types of foam (and thicknesses of each) can vary:

  • Soft – According to the company, this is ideal for those who prefer a plush mattress with a “quicksand” feel. Features 2" Ultra-Dense Airflow Gel Foam (Density: 3.7 lbs/ft3), 3" Ultra-Dense Memory Foam (Density: 4 lbs/ft3), and 6" Premium Support Foam (Density: 1.8 lbs/ft3).
  • Medium – This is Novosbed’s most popular mattress, which they claim provides a nice balance between support and comfort. Features 2" Ultra-Dense Airflow Memory Foam (Density: 5 lbs/ft3), 2" Ultra-Dense Memory Foam (Density: 5 lbs/ft3), and 7" Premium Support Foam (Density: 1.8 lbs/ft3).
  • Firm – For those who like more pressure-relieving support, Novosbed’s firm option might be a good choice. Features 2" Ultra-Dense Airflow Memory Foam (Density: 4 lbs/ft3), 2" Ultra-Dense Memory Foam (Density: 5 lbs/ft3), 7" Premium Support Foam (Density: 1.8 lbs/ft3).

Novosbed mattresses are available in three different firmnessesAlthough each Novosbed mattress consists of 3 layers, the exact foam type and thickness depends on your firmness preferences.

Surrounding these three layers is Novosbed’s two-way-stretch elastic core cover, which they claim protects the core without affecting the foam’s properties. On top of this, the ultra-soft stretch-knit cover is soft enough to use without sheets, and since it’s washable, you’ll always be able to maximize your comfort.

To round things out, Novosbed’s furniture-grade upholstery siding provides durability, flexibility, and support.

Are Novosbed Mattresses Easy to Set Up?

Like many other online-only mattress companies (more about the competition soon), Novosbed ships their mattresses compressed down to the size of a large trunk. As such, when you receive yours, you’ll need to slide the mattress out of the box and carefully cut the outer plastic.

Next, place you mattress on your bed frame or foundation and cut away the remaining plastic (you’ll want to hang on to this in case of a return).

After about 5 minutes, your Novosbed mattress should be “ready to enjoy,” although it can take up to 48 hours to fully expand. Note: Unlike many other manufacturers, Novosbed claims there is very little off-gassing (or the associated smells) once their mattresses are unpacked.

From there, we’re told that your mattress (like any foam mattress) will require a break-in period of about 2-3 weeks.

How much will all this memory foam and cool packing technology cost you?

How Much Do Novosbed Mattresses Cost?

Novosbed offers their mattresses in the following sizes and prices:

  • Twin: 38" x 74.5" x 11"; 54-57 lbs: $799
  • Twin XL: 38" x 79.5" x 11"; 57-61 lbs: $849
  • Double/Full: 52.5" x 74.5" x 11"; 75-80 lbs: $899
  • Queen: 59.5" x 79.5" x 11"; 92-98 lbs: $999
  • King: 75.5" x 79.5" x 11"; 117-124 lbs: $1,199
  • Cal King: 71.5" x 83.5" x 11"; 116-124 lbs: $1,199

In addition, you’ll be able to purchase accessories and services like:

  • Foundations: $179 to $279
  • White Glove Delivery (there’s no indication as to exactly what this is, or how it differs from standard delivery): $99
  • Old Mattress Removal: $35
  • Memory Foam Pillows: $109 - $149

The company claims you can expect delivery in 1-6 business days, depending on your location, with free shipping.

What Is Novosbed’s 120-Night Trial?

Starting from the night you receive your mattress, Novosbed gives you 120 nights to try it out before committing to your purchase.

Within that time, if you find that you’re not satisfied, Novosbed can send you one of their proprietary Comfort+ kits. This way, you’ll be able to add a layer of softening or firming foam that “integrates seamlessly”—simply unzip the mattress cover and add the Comfort+ layer on top, which shouldn’t take you more than 2 minutes.

What Is Novosbed’s ​Refund Policy & Warranty?

If you’re still not satisfied with your mattress after a couple more weeks, simply call customer service at 877-496-3626 and they’ll arrange to have it picked up and donated to a local charity. All you need to do is wrap the mattress in the original protective plastic and leave it on the ground floor on pickup day.

If you decide to hang on to your Novosbed mattress, it’ll come with a 15-year warranty against defects in materials and workmanship. The first 10 years of your warranty are non-prorated (total coverage), and the remaining 5 years are pro-rated (declining coverage based on age).

What Are Novosbed’s Customers Saying?

Pretty much anywhere you look, Novosbed’s mattresses seem to come with very high marks, including popular mattress review websites like Sleepopolis, SleepSherpa, Sleep Like the Dead, and many others. What are they saying?

Clearly, most people seem to like their Novosbed mattresses, with common compliments centered around on-the-dial firmness, balanced comfort and support, and fantastic quality for the price. In fact, SleepSherpa claims Novosbed succeeded in making the “most affordable luxury mattress on the market.”

However, Sleep Like the Dead noted that there was some pretty significant off-gassing/odor after unboxing, and that the mattresses tended to sleep hot. However, this last concern is exceptionally common among memory foam mattresses from other manufacturers, and definitely isn’t unique to Novosbed.

Speaking of which, Novosbed has some pretty stiff competition from the likes of Casper, Tuft & Needle, Leesa, Saatva, and many other online-only mattress manufacturers—nearly all of which come with high marks from customer as well. Comparatively though, it seems like Novosbed might have carved itself a nice little niche in the space. Why?

Based on their price points and focus on quality construction and materials, Novosbed seems more targeted toward the luxury crowd than it does bargain shoppers. This doesn’t mean that you won’t get a good night’s sleep with other mattresses, although Novosbed seems especially focused on setting themselves apart with quality.

From a company perspective, Novosbed was founded in 2009, with offices located in Edmonton, AB, Canada and distribution centers in Breinigsville, PA and Toronto, ON, Canada. This way, your mattress will never have to cross the border or be subjected to steep fees and taxes.

Novosbed ha an A+ Better Business Bureau rating at the time of our research, with no closed complaints (as of 6/28/16).

Is Novosbed Too Good to Be True?

After reviewing well over a dozen online mattress companies, it’s easy to recognize that Novosbed places a great deal of emphasis on helping their customers make an informed decision (e.g. through their in-depth Buying Guide), and then delivering a top-notch product once they decide to order. Even if they don’t, they seem to go the extra mile with their Comfort+ kits.

Based on the company’s stellar online customer satisfaction ratings, it seems that this isn’t marketing speak, either. In other words, Novosbed appears to deliver on their promises.

Now, will a Novosbed mattress cost you more than some (if not all) of the competition? Probably, but it seems like you’ll get what you pay for.

Given all these factors—not to mention their completely free 120-night in-home trial—it might be difficult to think of a reason why you shouldn’t give Novosbed a try if you’re in the market for a new mattress.


Read 47 Novosbed Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 41 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 4 1 star:  1
Bottom Line: 89% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 47
Sort reviews by:

  • Wonderful Mattress

    • By Rick,
    • Jul 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Our daughter gave us one and we have enjoyed so much we bought one for her spare bedroom since my wife cares for her children a lot. Now my wife has the same wonderful mattress wherever she sleeps! Thanks for a wonderful product and world class customer support.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Like Sleeping on a Cloud

    • By Joan Vertrees,
    • Thousand Oaks, CA,
    • Jul 18, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    We compared many online mattress companies but kept coming back to Novosbed because of the mattress design, the quality of the cover and the reviews. We are so happy we chose Novosbed!

    When we first received the medium mattress it seemed slightly too firm when sleeping on our sides, causing a few pressure points but the mattress was immediately super comfortable for sleeping on our backs. It took about six weeks for both sleeping positions to feel wonderful.

    We eventually tried the soft add-on comfort kit and although it did help with the firmness issue, we felt it made the mattress too high for our tastes. After a few weeks, we decided to try the mattress once more without the comfort kit and it turned out that all it needed was a bit more time for our bodies to adjust. The medium mattress is now perfect without the comfort kit for both sleep positions. We just needed to be more patient. We love our Novosbed mattress now and look forward to sleeping on it every night.

    There is another thing regarding our Novosbed purchase that we can’t overlook and that is that we would have to write a book to say how wonderful the Novosbed Customer Service is. We are sure there's not another company on the planet as nice and pleasant to work with than Novosbed. We put them to the test with our indecisiveness, our repeated phone calls and endless questions and they were awesome every step of the way. We give them an A+ for knowledge, courtesy, helpfulness and caring!

    We want to mention in closing just a few very minor issues we had that were nothing really but we want to be completely thorough in our review. First, we were missing a few slats for the frame but Novosbed shipped the missing slats right away. Second, the mattress shipping box came slightly damaged but the bed itself inside was protected with extra thick plastic and wrapped so tightly that there was absolutely no damage to the mattress itself.

    The bottom line is that if you are in any way hesitant to buy a mattress online, don't be. The Novosbed Company is truly awesome! Their mattresses are every bit as comfortable as other high-end, expensive memory foam mattresses sold at those fancy, overpriced showrooms for a fraction of the price. We highly recommend Novosbed for their quality products, their extremely comfortable mattresses and their excellent customer service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I love my Novosbed medium queen mattress

    • By Teri C.,
    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Jul 21, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    We were reluctant to order a mattress online from a company with which we were not familiar, but after doing some web research, seeing all the good reviews from external sites, and having the 120-day return policy, we decided to give it a try. We are glad we did as we love our new medium queen Novosbed. My lower back loved it from the first night we slept on it. If I find my back aching when I get home from work, I lay down on the bed for 10 to 15 min to "decompress" and it really helps.

    It took a bit of getting used to in terms of rolling from back to side and staying on my side of the bed because you settle into the mattress and it's not "bouncy" like a mattress with springs. However, once I got the hang of it, things were great. I stopped waking up because some part of my body was numb or aching.

    It took about 2 weeks for my husband to adjust to the feel of the mattress, but now he really likes it as well, especially for his shoulders which often became sore when lying on his side. We also both like that we cannot feel the other one get out of bed during the night.

    Overall, we are very pleased with our mattress and have recommended it to family members.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love our Novosbed Mattress

    • By Larry Tarman,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jul 21, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    15 years ago we bought our first foam mattress from Tempurpedic. A few months ago, we decided to replace our mattress and began the process of shopping for a new Tempurpedic. After seeing the prices, I turned to the internet to see what other brands we should consider.

    What caught our eye about the Novosbed mattress was the 120 day trial period and the ability to adjust the firmness after 30 days. I called their customer service folks, advised them of the type of Tempurpedic mattress we had previously and they suggested the medium mattress.

    We ordered, it was very easy to set up and we were sleeping on it the day it arrived. There was very little off-gassing and we have had a good nights sleep from day 1. After 30 days we did order one of the 'Comfort Kits' to adjust the firmness. The result was the perfect fit of both of us.

    The whole process was easy-peasy and the Novosbed is such a great value that I have recommended to friends who originally thought I was nuts for buying a mattress-in-a-box!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Sweet Dreams

    • By Melissa,
    • Aug 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I highly recommend Novosbed. We had an old inner spring and I was waking up with lower back pain each morning for almost a year, but not since I started sleeping on this bed! I ordered the firm two months ago and I absolutely love it. It offers so much support without making pressure points feel sore in the morning. I started my search with the big name memory foam mattresses and they seemed okay in the mattress showroom but the short trial period and restocking fees were the big deterrent. My only complaint is that I cannot take it with me when I have to be away from home! Seriously, this bed is that amazing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • First Foam Mattress

    • By Claudio Cuffolo,
    • Grimsby, Ontario Canada,
    • Aug 19, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Highly recommend foam mattresses over spring coil conventional type.

    It's surprisingly supportive and super comfortable for sleeping. No aches or pains when waking and FitBit tracker shows an of average 1.5 hours of more REM sleep than previously. Novosbed is a good value for the money and a great company to deal with.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Like a King

    • By Derrick,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Aug 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ordered the king size Novosbed medium over two months ago. Bed arrived in three days which is impressive considering the size of the mattress. Super easy to unpack and was ready to sleep on in a matter of hours. This bed is amazing! Unlike anything I've slept before, except for five-star hotels where the mattress cost an arm and a leg. I used to wake up numerous times throughout the night, tossing and turning but now it's only a handful of times. Like I said, I got the medium and it turned out to be perfect. Not too hard like I'm on a concrete slab and not too soft like I'm sinking. Would recommend this to others.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • 3 Months with Novosbed Medium

    We've been sleeping on a Novosbed Medium for 3 months. It was good out of the box, but we got the Comfort Plus Soft Kit after 30 days and now it's even more of a treat to lie down every night. Customer service people were really helpful on the phone when we got the Comfort Kit. We are happy campers.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent mattress, once the warmth issue resolved.

    • By Christina,
    • Edmonton, AB,
    • Oct 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    We received our new mattress about 2 months ago. Initially, the mattress has a bit of an odour to it, but that fades over time. We were going from a spring mattress to this memory foam mattress. Our Novosbed was much more supportive, comfortable, and my husband was not waking up with back pain as he had done previously. My one complaint was that it sleeps quite warm. Novosbed recommended the St. Dormeir wool mattress protector to resolve this issue, and it seemed to solve it completely for us (as well as making our bed cozier). If you are a warm sleeper I'd recommend purchasing this pad as well. It seems counterintuitive to purchase wool to sleep cooler, but the technology works (you can read more on their website). Overall we're very satisfied with the quality, delivery process, and customer service at Novosbed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Your mattress search should end now.

    • By Simon Halpin,
    • Quebec, Canada,
    • Nov 6, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    After trying a less expensive bed-in-a-box for their 90-day trial, I still never got a good night's sleep. At first, it seemed firm enough, but in the end, it was too soft. I debated giving any on-line purchased bed another shot, but then I discovered Novosbed and their Comfort+ option and extended sleep trial and I figured I had nothing to lose.

    I am SO happy that I tried Novosbed. Instantly, I knew this bed was in a different league. It is heavier, feels more solid and gives better support. It's no surprise really seeing that it's almost twice the price but my philosophy is you get what you pay for, and a quality bed like this should be an investment.

    The price should not deter you from buying this bed, particularly given the fact that you could pay double from a traditional retailer for a bed of this quality.

    The fact that you can choose various firmness levels and then adjust up or down with the Comfort + addition, and the free trial, eliminates any "risk" of making a bad decision.

    The order came in 3 days and I live in a rural area! The ordering process was smooth and efficient and my dealings with their customer service has been excellent. Do yourself the favor and buy this bed. You won't regret it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love life safer

    • By Karie,
    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Nov 6, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    After years of needing to leave during the night to sleep in the spare room due to my husband's restless sleep habits, I can sleep all night with him!

    It's thanks to Novosbed! Compared to a coil spring bed I feel little movement from his side.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 47

Write a Review for Novosbed!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Novosbed