What Is NuRetnol Lifting Skin Cream?

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Oct 1, 2017

NuRetnol Lifting Skin Cream uses a specially blended formula of intelligent ingredients to restore nourishment and hydration, as well as boost collagen and elastin production. It also claims to improve immunity and prevent free radical damage, leaving you with a rejuvenated, radiant, youthful appearance.

To experience these benefits, the company tells us you simply need to wash your face, apply the cream, and enjoy the reduced look of fine lines and wrinkles, as well as the decreased appearance of dark circles.

In theory, this all sounds great. But once you’ve handed over your money and applied NuRetnol to your skin, can you realistically expect to experience these benefits?

We’ll start by discussing the science behind aging, and then move to the clinical evidence for the cream’s ingredients, pricing, and finish with the competition.

What Happens As Skin Ages?

As mentioned on the NuRetnol website, youthful-looking skin is all about maximizing elasticity and firmness. This is because when we’re young, our skin contains high levels of collagen, which provides skin with firm underlying structure and support. It also contains a lot of elastin, another protein that—like its name implies—provides skin with elasticity.

Due to the natural aging process, though, collagen and elastin production slowly decreases, leading to fine lines, wrinkles, sagging, and a dull appearance of the skin.

Other factors, such as excessive sun (ultraviolet light) exposure, a poor diet, not getting enough exercise, smoking cigarettes, drinking excessively, environmental contaminants, and free radicals can speed up this process and lead to premature aging.

While no one can halt the process altogether, the American Academy of Dermatology recommends that you should do the following if you’re looking to minimize premature aging:

  • Wear the appropriate sunscreen for your skin type, every day
  • Stop smoking or drinking excessively
  • Eat a healthy, well-balanced diet
  • Get plenty of exercise
  • Cleanse your skin gently, especially after heavy sweating
  • Use a moisturizer daily

What about the ingredients found in NuRetnol’s formula?

Taking a Closer Look at NuRetnol Lifting Skin Cream’s Ingredients

While there wasn’t a label posted, the NuRetnol website listed the following ingredients:

Water, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Glycerin, Cyclopentasiloxane, Acrylate/Dimethicone Copolymer, Isohexadecane, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Retinol, Ceramide-3, Spilanthes Acmella Flower Extract, Ribes Nigrum (Black Currant) Seed Extract, Eryngium Maritimum Callus Culture Filtrate, Avenanthramides, Silica, Betaine, Tocopheryl Acetate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Cetyl Palmitate, Arachidyl Alcohol, Behenyl Alcohol, Arachidyl Glucoside, Trideceth-6 Phosphate, Laureth-23, Polysorbate-20, Polysorbate 80, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Sodium Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer Isohexadecane, Disodium EDTA, Aminomethyl Propanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol

Breaking It Down

According to resources like Truth In Aging, Paula’s Choice, and EWG.org, these ingredients essentially fall into one of seven broad categories (keep in mind that many are reported to serve more than one purpose):

  • Emollients: C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Isohexadecane, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Palmitate, Arachidyl Alcohol
  • Surfactants, Emulsifiers: Trideceth-6 Phosphate, Behenyl Alcohol, Polysorbate-20, Polysorbate 80
  • Skin Conditioners, Moisturizers, Lubricants: Glycerin, Cyclopentasiloxane, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Ceramide-3, Eryngium Maritimum Callus Culture Filtrate, Avenanthramides, Betaine, Dimethicone
  • Texture Enhancers, Thickening Agents, Preservatives: Acrylate/Dimethicone Copolymer, Laureth-23, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Sodium Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer Isohexadecane, Disodium EDTA, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol
  • Antioxidants, Exfoliators: Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinol
  • pH Adjusters, Solvents: Aminomethyl Propanol, Caprylyl Glycol
  • Miscellaneous: Spilanthes Acmella Flower (everything from a potential antioxidant to an antimicrobial agent), Black Currant (high vitamin content), Silica (anti-caking/bulking agent)

Can NuRetnol’s Ingredients Cause Side Effects?

These same sites report that these ingredients are generally considered safe, with a slim chance of meaningful side effects. And when they do occur (no specifics noted), they often aren’t worse than mild, temporary redness and inflammation at the application site.

However, because retinol (a form of vitamin A) causes rapid skin cell turnover, WebMD indicates it can sometimes lead to dryness, skin color changes, sunlight sensitivity, as well as crusting or blistering. This could be especially the case if you have sensitive skin.

To reduce the likelihood of experiencing these, they recommend minimizing sun exposure (especially between 10 a.m. and 2 p.m.), avoiding over-applying any creams containing retinol (NuRetnol or otherwise), and making the most out of your moisturizer while you’re using the ingredient.

How Much Does the NuRetnol Trial Cost?

The only way to purchase NuRetnol at the time of our research was through a 14-day trial. How’s it work?

You’ll start off by paying $4.95 to cover S&H for a 30-day supply of the cream. Then, 14 days after placing your order, you’ll be charged the full price of $89.77.

Afterward, you’ll be enrolled in the company’s recurring shipping program, which involves sending you a fresh 30-day supply of NuRetnol once per month, and charging you $89.77 (which includes shipping) each time.

According to their website’s terms, “We do not accept returns or provide refunds for any shipments made after the trial shipment.”

To cancel your trial or alter/stop your autoship enrollment, customer support can be reached at 877-786-1236 or info@getnuretnolskin.com.

We also learned in NuRetnol’s terms that all orders are subject to an arbitration clause. In a nutshell, this means that instead of going to court or joining a class action lawsuit, you agree to settle any disputes via third-party binding arbitration.

The bottom line is that, while extraordinarily common in today’s consumer marketplace, arbitration agreements entail giving up many of your inherent legal rights.

Are There Other Trial-Based Anti-Aging Creams Like NuRetnol Lifting Skin Cream?

While there’s no doubt that the over-the-counter anti-aging industry is massive, even if you narrow down the competition only to those products sold through ‘free’ trials like NuRetnol, the number of options remains overwhelming.

And here’s something we’ve learned after years of research into the industry: Even if we restrict the search to products that use a nearly identical website design (except for the product name and picture) as NuRetnol, we’ve investigated dozens that still fit the bill.

In order of popularity here on HighYa, a handful of examples include LuxDerma, Aviqua, Luminis Advanced Skincare, Blossom Youth Cream, and Revye Skin.

Given their near-identical marketing approaches, how can you decide which of these trial-based options is best for your needs? Let’s carry this thought over to the final section as we wrap things up.

Our Bottom Line About NuRetnol Lifting Skin Cream

Based on our research, we outlined that the vast majority of template-based skincare sites come with almost wholly negative online customer feedback, whether here on HighYa or other consumer review websites. Why?

Most complaints tend to revolve around difficulty canceling trials and recurring shipping programs, with some even reporting that they had to get their credit cards involved in order to put a stop to the charges. Other common grievances include ultra-high price for what they got, along with ineffective results.

Now, we should emphasize that we’re not lumping NuRetnol in with all these other template products.

However, based on its site design, the fact that it’s only available through a trial and recurring shipping program, in addition to its high price, we think it’s in your best interest as a consumer to discuss any skincare product you’re thinking about purchasing with your dermatologist—before handing over your hard-earned money.

In the meantime, be sure to read How to Test Your Next Beauty Product to See If It Really Makes a Difference.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

25 Consumer Reviews for NuRetnol Lifting Skin Cream

Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  24
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 25
Sort reviews by:

  • Awful company

    • Austin, TX,
    • Oct 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I, like many others, ordered a "free" trial and was surprised with two consecutive $90 charges for the two 4oz trial bottles of creams 14 days later. When I called the company (4 times, I might add), the reps consistently hung up on me when I pointed out that their terms and conditions did not justify the $90 charges, even if I WAS outside that window. The later full charge was in fine print. In the email confirmations I received, it was not reiterated. I filed a dispute with my bank and lost.

    So I've ultimately unwittingly spent $200 on two tiny pods of cream that don't work well anyway. An unremarkable product, shady business practice, and worst customer service I've EVER seen. I'm eating the charge but will make sure to review this product on every platform I possibly can because this is sheer robbery.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Don't order, they'll charge you $90.00 a month

    • California,
    • Sep 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    These are crooks. They'll put an $89.77 a month charge on the credit card you give them. They know the Visa rules in and out and will provide fraudulent "proof" that you agreed to the charge. They'll bill Visa long before they send you the unwanted product and then bill a second time, hoping you'll miss the first charge. As far as the product goes, I couldn't tell it apart from any other skin cream.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • New York City, NY,
    • Aug 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Be careful, this place entices you with a skin product for $4.99 as "just the shipping." Then, they add the eye product for another $4.99 when you click "ok" on the checkout page without telling you that it's a subscription for $180 monthly for a product that does nothing to your skin. You receive no confirmation emails so you have no way to trace them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    NuRetnol is a scam

    • Highland Beach, FL,
    • Aug 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought I was purchasing a sample of their eye and face cream. I was told all I had to pay for was the postage. I was charged $88.65 and $89.77 on my credit card for a grand total of $178.42. I have been disputing this and have been trying to get the name of the CEO/president of the company. They are very secretive, and it's difficult to get this information. I finally found out, not through them, that the company emanates from Fort Lauderdale, Florida. I am still looking for the owner of the company.

    I also found out that I could have purchased the same items via Amazon for a total of $72.98.

    What a deceptive company. Definitely a scam. And certainly, the buck doesn't stop with the boss!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Canceling my order

    • Michigan,
    • Aug 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I attempted to stop/cancel my order for NuRetnol cream and NuRetnol Serum. When I refused all the "other" offers and free items, they abruptly hung up on me....four times! My husband then attempted to end the orders for me, and the same thing happened to him....five times! We ended up having to cancel our card, and get a new one issued to keep them from taking money when we don't want their VERY OVERPRICED merchandise. Word to the wise, don't do business with NuRetnol!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Don't order anything

    • Florida,
    • Aug 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw the advertisement online and thought I would give the skin cream a try for $4.95. On the confirmation page, they talked about an eye serum, and I clicked on the link and ended up buying it too!

    When I tried to cancel everything, it would not let me and I got two charges on my credit card for $4.95 each. When I received the box, I immediately read through all info and nowhere did it say that I had 14 days to cancel my subscription (didn't even know I was a part of a subscription) and if I did not cancel, my credit card would be charged $88.65 and $89.77. I saw the charges on my credit card today and immediately tried to find a way to get in touch with the company. There were no phone numbers, no email, no mailing address.

    I contacted my credit card, and they were able to give me the phone number and that the company is based in Florida. I called the number and was told that I should have read the terms and conditions from the site that I used to order the samples. I went back online and was able to see where the terms and conditions were, it took time to find them, very well hidden.

    I told the person on the phone (Claudia) that I had a bad reaction to the eye serum and never opened the face cream and will send it back for a refund. She said they do not accept the return of the product, but if you read closely, it states that if you cancel your subscription and want a refund, you have to mail the product back and you will only receive a full refund if the product is less than halfway gone.

    Back to Claudia, she told me that the phone number, 888-803-3047m was not just for this product, many companies use that number. She said she was going to ask her supervisor if there was anything they could do. She got back on the phone and said her supervisor authorized a refund for $89.20 and I should see it on my credit card in 3-7 business days.

    Needless to say, I will be disputing the remaining amount and I am returning the unopened bottle with the exact wording on their website regarding refunds. A lot of stupid, time wasting, garbage to go by through to get my money back. If the product is as great as they say it is, then why do they make it so hard to keep customers?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Worst company ever!

    • Albuquerque, NM,
    • Aug 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Okay. June 29th, at 6:58 am, I linked to a website from a Shark Tank website on which there were two young women, endorsed by a score of celebrities. The ad copy indicated that all Shark Tank reps gave these women money to launch their product: NuRetnol. I figured I'd try a "free" sample.

    I have the proof that the order I placed did not indicate that I was signing up for an ongoing service.

    At the end of July, I was going through my credit card statement and saw approximately $170 to NuRetnol. I tried emailing. I tried calling. I couldn't get through.

    Finally, on August 7th at 5 am, I got through. The first woman hung up on me. A woman named Wendy.

    The second woman, Jody, told me I could get my money back provided I didn't escalate by going to the BBB or Attorney General, which I threatened to do.

    As of today, August 13th, I still don't have my money back. I emailed them (bounced back) and told them they have until August 15th to refund my money or I'm going to the BBB and Attorney General.

    SCAM!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Beware

    • Ballwin, MO,
    • Aug 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After paying for the trial on the 24th of July, I received a call stating it was supposed to be $6.95. I then told them to forget it, I don’t want it. A few days later it came in the mail. I thought the call for the $6.95 was a scam.

    Today, the 6th of August, I see that they took $170.00 out of my account. To me, that was 13 days, so I immediately called them and told them to cancel. As if anything, my skin looked worse. The gentleman on the phone stated that I ordered it on the 21st so I could not get my money back. I told him I didn’t even have a 14-day trial and he continued to refuse to give me my money back. Then he put me on hold and came back with he would give me $88.00 back.

    WOW, I learned a hard lesson with this - NO more trials for me. BEWARE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Read the FINE PRINT

    • Huntsville, TX,
    • Aug 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a "trial" of skin cream (free, but $4.95 shipping). To that was added another "trial" of eye cream (also free, but with $4.95 shipping). About three weeks later, two charges showed up on my credit card ($89.77 and $88.65). Customer service said that I'd agreed to a subscription...since I didn't return the products within 14 days.

    Products are "ok," but no better than some OTC creams. Finally, customer care agreed to refund 75% of the charge. Not happy, but not AS disgruntled.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    No way to contact customer service

    • Colorado,
    • Aug 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried this for two months and then decided it was not worth the cost because it really had no effect on my skin. I have looked all over for a customer service contact and can only find a phone number that hangs up on me and emails that are not answered or don't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 6, 2018

      Helen W.

      The number you have to call to cancel is 1-877-786-1175. The number that comes on the paper in the shipment, which is American Promotions or something like that. All they do is sell you something else. The company is ripping off consumers. The product is good, but at $89 and $87, a piece is absurd. I wouldn't recommend it for that price. I was able to cancel my subscription because I too, didn't see the fine print. They refunded me $72.38 at least, that's something back.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    These reviews are dead on! Scam.

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jul 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Horrible company! They tried to get a credit card number and after I said no he hung up on me. Gave me another number and it was not in service. They charged me for samples. I am SO upset about the whole process! I will never do this again! Sad.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 25

Write a Review for NuRetnol Lifting Skin Cream!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review