What Is NuRetnol Lifting Skin Cream?

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Oct 1, 2017

NuRetnol Lifting Skin Cream uses a specially blended formula of intelligent ingredients to restore nourishment and hydration, as well as boost collagen and elastin production. It also claims to improve immunity and prevent free radical damage, leaving you with a rejuvenated, radiant, youthful appearance.

To experience these benefits, the company tells us you simply need to wash your face, apply the cream, and enjoy the reduced look of fine lines and wrinkles, as well as the decreased appearance of dark circles.

In theory, this all sounds great. But once you’ve handed over your money and applied NuRetnol to your skin, can you realistically expect to experience these benefits?

We’ll start by discussing the science behind aging, and then move to the clinical evidence for the cream’s ingredients, pricing, and finish with the competition.

What Happens As Skin Ages?

As mentioned on the NuRetnol website, youthful-looking skin is all about maximizing elasticity and firmness. This is because when we’re young, our skin contains high levels of collagen, which provides skin with firm underlying structure and support. It also contains a lot of elastin, another protein that—like its name implies—provides skin with elasticity.

Due to the natural aging process, though, collagen and elastin production slowly decreases, leading to fine lines, wrinkles, sagging, and a dull appearance of the skin.

Other factors, such as excessive sun (ultraviolet light) exposure, a poor diet, not getting enough exercise, smoking cigarettes, drinking excessively, environmental contaminants, and free radicals can speed up this process and lead to premature aging.

While no one can halt the process altogether, the American Academy of Dermatology recommends that you should do the following if you’re looking to minimize premature aging:

  • Wear the appropriate sunscreen for your skin type, every day
  • Stop smoking or drinking excessively
  • Eat a healthy, well-balanced diet
  • Get plenty of exercise
  • Cleanse your skin gently, especially after heavy sweating
  • Use a moisturizer daily

What about the ingredients found in NuRetnol’s formula?

Taking a Closer Look at NuRetnol Lifting Skin Cream’s Ingredients

While there wasn’t a label posted, the NuRetnol website listed the following ingredients:

Water, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Glycerin, Cyclopentasiloxane, Acrylate/Dimethicone Copolymer, Isohexadecane, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Retinol, Ceramide-3, Spilanthes Acmella Flower Extract, Ribes Nigrum (Black Currant) Seed Extract, Eryngium Maritimum Callus Culture Filtrate, Avenanthramides, Silica, Betaine, Tocopheryl Acetate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Cetyl Palmitate, Arachidyl Alcohol, Behenyl Alcohol, Arachidyl Glucoside, Trideceth-6 Phosphate, Laureth-23, Polysorbate-20, Polysorbate 80, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Sodium Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer Isohexadecane, Disodium EDTA, Aminomethyl Propanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol

Breaking It Down

According to resources like Truth In Aging, Paula’s Choice, and EWG.org, these ingredients essentially fall into one of seven broad categories (keep in mind that many are reported to serve more than one purpose):

  • Emollients: C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Isohexadecane, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Palmitate, Arachidyl Alcohol
  • Surfactants, Emulsifiers: Trideceth-6 Phosphate, Behenyl Alcohol, Polysorbate-20, Polysorbate 80
  • Skin Conditioners, Moisturizers, Lubricants: Glycerin, Cyclopentasiloxane, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Ceramide-3, Eryngium Maritimum Callus Culture Filtrate, Avenanthramides, Betaine, Dimethicone
  • Texture Enhancers, Thickening Agents, Preservatives: Acrylate/Dimethicone Copolymer, Laureth-23, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Sodium Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer Isohexadecane, Disodium EDTA, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol
  • Antioxidants, Exfoliators: Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinol
  • pH Adjusters, Solvents: Aminomethyl Propanol, Caprylyl Glycol
  • Miscellaneous: Spilanthes Acmella Flower (everything from a potential antioxidant to an antimicrobial agent), Black Currant (high vitamin content), Silica (anti-caking/bulking agent)

Can NuRetnol’s Ingredients Cause Side Effects?

These same sites report that these ingredients are generally considered safe, with a slim chance of meaningful side effects. And when they do occur (no specifics noted), they often aren’t worse than mild, temporary redness and inflammation at the application site.

However, because retinol (a form of vitamin A) causes rapid skin cell turnover, WebMD indicates it can sometimes lead to dryness, skin color changes, sunlight sensitivity, as well as crusting or blistering. This could be especially the case if you have sensitive skin.

To reduce the likelihood of experiencing these, they recommend minimizing sun exposure (especially between 10 a.m. and 2 p.m.), avoiding over-applying any creams containing retinol (NuRetnol or otherwise), and making the most out of your moisturizer while you’re using the ingredient.

How Much Does the NuRetnol Trial Cost?

The only way to purchase NuRetnol at the time of our research was through a 14-day trial. How’s it work?

You’ll start off by paying $4.95 to cover S&H for a 30-day supply of the cream. Then, 14 days after placing your order, you’ll be charged the full price of $89.77.

Afterward, you’ll be enrolled in the company’s recurring shipping program, which involves sending you a fresh 30-day supply of NuRetnol once per month, and charging you $89.77 (which includes shipping) each time.

According to their website’s terms, “We do not accept returns or provide refunds for any shipments made after the trial shipment.”

To cancel your trial or alter/stop your autoship enrollment, customer support can be reached at 877-786-1236 or info@getnuretnolskin.com.

We also learned in NuRetnol’s terms that all orders are subject to an arbitration clause. In a nutshell, this means that instead of going to court or joining a class action lawsuit, you agree to settle any disputes via third-party binding arbitration.

The bottom line is that, while extraordinarily common in today’s consumer marketplace, arbitration agreements entail giving up many of your inherent legal rights.

Are There Other Trial-Based Anti-Aging Creams Like NuRetnol Lifting Skin Cream?

While there’s no doubt that the over-the-counter anti-aging industry is massive, even if you narrow down the competition only to those products sold through ‘free’ trials like NuRetnol, the number of options remains overwhelming.

And here’s something we’ve learned after years of research into the industry: Even if we restrict the search to products that use a nearly identical website design (except for the product name and picture) as NuRetnol, we’ve investigated dozens that still fit the bill.

In order of popularity here on HighYa, a handful of examples include LuxDerma, Aviqua, Luminis Advanced Skincare, Blossom Youth Cream, and Revye Skin.

Given their near-identical marketing approaches, how can you decide which of these trial-based options is best for your needs? Let’s carry this thought over to the final section as we wrap things up.

Our Bottom Line About NuRetnol Lifting Skin Cream

Based on our research, we outlined that the vast majority of template-based skincare sites come with almost wholly negative online customer feedback, whether here on HighYa or other consumer review websites. Why?

Most complaints tend to revolve around difficulty canceling trials and recurring shipping programs, with some even reporting that they had to get their credit cards involved in order to put a stop to the charges. Other common grievances include ultra-high price for what they got, along with ineffective results.

Now, we should emphasize that we’re not lumping NuRetnol in with all these other template products.

However, based on its site design, the fact that it’s only available through a trial and recurring shipping program, in addition to its high price, we think it’s in your best interest as a consumer to discuss any skincare product you’re thinking about purchasing with your dermatologist—before handing over your hard-earned money.

In the meantime, be sure to read How to Test Your Next Beauty Product to See If It Really Makes a Difference.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

10 Consumer Reviews for NuRetnol Lifting Skin Cream

Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  10
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-10 of 10
Sort reviews by:

  • NuRetnol rip off

    • Minnesota,
    • Jul 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am shamefaced. I tried to cancel with customer service...located in India.

    He repeatedly asked for my credit card number, had me spell my name, address, etc. Gave me a confirmation number and another phone number to call, which was bogus. A recorded voice tried to sell me vitamins. When this did not work, I was the lucky winner of a Caribbean vacation for only $59. Yes, it is true, you must cancel your credit card to get out of this. Unbelievable!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Ohio,
    • Jul 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I did receive a refund for the $180, but in the run around from customer service to get it, I am sure I was set up with a couple more of their special deals. The man put me on hold to get my confirmation number (a couple of different times), and the recordings I listened to said "do nothing now and you will receive..." (whatever the deal was). When the man came back on I told him I wanted nothing more from his company and he said I will give you a number so you can take care of that as soon as I give you the confirmation number. He never did give me a confirmation number, but he gave me the same bogus phone number that had nothing to do with the company, just selling more deals.

    I jumped on my bank website as soon as I hung up with customer service and shut my bank card down before any more charges could go through.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Jul 4, 2018

    Scam

    I ordered the free trial too, just to have my bank account charged for $180.00 on top of the $10 shipping that the free trial cost. As of yet, I cannot get anywhere with their customer service. I got through to them twice to have the guy give me another number to call if I had issues with them. The number was bogus, so I called back to have the same man claiming he was the manager hang up on me. I ask to speak to someone different, but he said he was the only one. I have called 100+ times now, and they do not answer. I think they have my number blocked.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Worst online experience ever

    • North Carolina,
    • Jun 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The first agent should find another job. The second was a bit more accommodating, but I never spoke with management as I'd requested several times. The advertising is very misleading and confusing. I am so frustrated with the unauthorized funds taken from my account and the mental distress brought on by customer service that I have no desire to even try the product. I went to the site to read about the product and the next thing I know I'm out $20 for shipping (plus service charges from my bank when my account was thrown into the negative and the legitimate charges I authorized were declined), for products that were ordered without my knowledge...

    One question, please? If you have such a magical product why the confusing and misleading website? Why risk potential consumers with underhanded, un-businesslike behavior before your product is even out of the box. I'd love to revisit the website to leave my review there too, but I don't dare go there for fear of having to repeat the terrible experiences that your company has provided.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Scam, don't do it

    I too got ripped off for $180 by this scam. I did not see the cost of the product or 14-day trial buried in the fine print. I called them, and they refused to refund my money or any portion of it. I am so upset! I thought I was getting a free trial size and only needed to pay for shipping! I begged for my money back to "Kevin" at the customer service number who laughed and refused! I then finally got to speak to a supervisor named "Bruno" who also refused to refund my money and was very rude!

    I am so upset about being scammed out of $180! I haven't even tried the samples I received and won't now. Don't do it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 25, 2018

      Joyce L.

      I have had the same problem. I ordered the sample and paid for shipping. This product did not arrive at my doorstep until about fives days later. I called the customer service on the 14th day and they told me that I agreed to the 14-day trial.

      My email is jacey57 [at] gmail.com, maybe we can all get together and see if we can stop this scam. I am also out $180 for a product that doesn't do anything.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Scam!

    • Arvada, CO,
    • Mar 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When ordering your "free trial," beware! They will charge your credit card over $89 if you do not cancel within 14 days. Good luck finding that information in the fine print! This product caused a very bright red rash on my face, and IS NOT refundable! Their customer service line keeps you on hold forever and is then very rude by saying too bad you should have read the "fine print." It is rated F by the BBB!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Company rips people off. You don't even get the product.

    I had asked for the trial size, which I did receive. After that, I did not order or even want another shipment of this product. I did not like it, and I didn't receive any other product.

    I thought all was fine until I called my bank to only find out that they had taken out a total of $179.54, which was supposed to be for two shipments of skin cream. REMEMBER now, the only thing this company sent me was a trial size.

    I have been fighting for three months now to get my money back, and they REFUSE to do do. I have called, and they are VERY RUDE. They talk over you, and won't let you talk to anyone else that is above them.

    So buyers beware; do not get caught in their black widow spider web! Let EVERYONE know that this company is a total RIP OFF.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    It is useless

    I got this for my wife and not only did it not work, but be careful as you can get ripped off if you do not cancel within about 10 days after receiving the products, and you get charged almost $170 for the shipment, and you get an auto-refill every month thereafter. I did get a 75 percent discount on the refill order after threating to turn them over to Better Business Bureau. I did not realize I had been charged the full price on the trial package until after I called and complained about the refill. If you read their ad, they are very careful to not say the cost of the product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 25 people found this review helpful

    NuRetnol rip off

    • North Carolina,
    • Dec 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the product via internet for $10.95, and two weeks later I was billed $189. I called and canceled the service and was told I would receive my money back. I filed a complaint with my bank but only received $89 back. The product did nothing for my skin and cost $100. I learned my lesson to read the fine print before buying anything over the net. I guess I am fortunate to have gotten anything back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Headache waiting to happen!

    • Highland, UT,
    • Nov 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am kicking myself for requesting this “FREE” product. Don’t even attempt canceling by email because that won’t happen! I have had to change my charge card number to make sure I got myself out of this mess. They trick you into ordering for the eye serum as well as the skin cream, they put both $80+ charges on your account, and I haven’t seen another month's supply of either.

    I used the product faithfully but saw no changes. I hope this will help someone else from being as stupid as I was.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Big scam

    • Michigan,
    • Oct 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They are a huge scam; you are better off buying Oil of Olay for much less and better results. They don't want you to cancel, so they first offer you a 35% discount, and when you say no, that's when they offer you a 50% discount only to keep you as a customer. They are rude and talk over you when you are talking.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-10 of 10

Write a Review for NuRetnol Lifting Skin Cream!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review