About NuvoH2O

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jan 21, 2014

Based out of Kaysville, UT, the “As Seen on TV” NuvoH2O water softening system claims to “harness the power of citrus” to help prevent the buildup of scale in your plumbing system and water-based appliances. As a result, it claims to “renew the life and performance” of your plumbing system and to help you save thousands of dollars per year.

As a company, NuvoH2O holds an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, and only five closed complaints within the past three years. Regarding the company’s products, online sentiment appears to be mostly positive, though the most common complaints we encountered included that it is not an ideal solution in all areas of the country, high price, and that the system only reduces pH and prevents buildup, but doesn’t actually soften your water.

How NuvoH2O Works

According to the NuvoH2O website, “hard” water, which contains high concentrations of minerals such as magnesium and calcium, can be deposited on any surface they come in contact with. Over time they can slowly build up and form “scales, which are crusty deposits that can wreak all sorts of havoc, including clogging and corroding your plumbing system, as well as your water-based appliances.

To combat this, NuvoH2O systems use an FDA approved, food-based chelant known as Citryne to keep these “hard” minerals soluble, and to prevent them from depositing onto the inside of your plumbing. The company claims that this eco-friendly technology was developed based on more than 30 years of experience within the commercial water treatment industry, and that it can add up to 30% to the life of your water-based appliances.

Unlike many other water softening systems on the market, NuvoH2O claims to not only remove the buildup of scale but to also prevent it from occurring in the future. Its compact (6" x 24") design also uses up to four times less water than comparable systems, requires no electricity to operate, and will not cause the taste of your water to change.

The NuvoH2O system is available in three different models, depending on the size of your home:

  • Nuvo Studio System – Ideal for homes under 1,000sqft.
  • Nuvo Home System – Ideal for homes between 1,000 and 2,000sqft.
  • Nuvo Manor System – Ideal for homes over 2,000sqft.

Based on the information provided on the product’s website, installation may take as little as one hour (depending on the pipe configuration in your home), though professional installation is recommended if pipe rerouting is required. If you need professional assistance, you can also call 877-688-6420 for installer recommendations in your area. For complete installation instructions, please click here.

Since the NuvoH2O system is citrus-based (versus salt-based), you’ll simply need to change your cartridge once every six months for the Home and Manor systems, or every 3 months for the Studio system. The company claims there are several models of cartridges available depending on the hardness level of your water, and should only take you 60 seconds to replace.

NuvoH2O Pricing and Refund Policy

NuvoH2O claims that their systems cost 50–80% less than many of their competitors and that it can help an average family of four to save more than $2,000 per year. With this in mind, pricing directly through the company is as follows, and includes free shipping:

Nuvo Studio System:

  • Option 1 – Initial processing fee of $29.95. After 30 days, you’ll be billed three monthly installments of $166.33, totaling $528.94.
  • Option 2 – Single payment of $474 (savings of $54.94).

Nuvo Home System:

  • Option 1 – Initial non-refundable processing fee of $29.95. After 30 days, you’ll be billed three monthly installments of $233, totaling $728.95.
  • Option 2 – Single payment of $649 (savings of $79.95).

Nuvo Manor System:

  • Option 1 – Initial non-refundable processing fee of $29.95. After 30 days, you’ll be billed three monthly installments of $333, totaling $1,028.95.
  • Option 2 – Single payment of $949 (savings of $79.95).

Replacement cartridges will cost you between $49.95 and $89.95, depending on which system you choose. In addition to the manufacturer, NuvoH2O systems and cartridges are also available through Amazon.com, as well as numerous other online retailers.

All NuvoH2O systems come with a no-questions-asked 90-day money back guarantee, less shipping and handling charges. Systems also come with a fairly comprehensive lifetime warranty, and full details can be found here.

Bottom Line: Is NuvoH2O Worth It?

While the product appears to have a primarily positive online reputation, there are a few things you may want to keep in mind prior to ordering.

First of all, the NuvoH2O softening system is an “As Seen on TV” product, which tend to have lower levels of customer satisfaction that many other types of products, for a wide variety of reasons. Some of the most common complaints we encountered during our research included a high price, that it is not an ideal solution in all areas of the country, and that the system only reduces pH and prevents buildup, but doesn’t actually soften your water (more about this below).

Second, while Citryne—the primary active ingredient in NuvoH2O systems—is claimed to be food-based and FDA-approved, we were unable to find any information about the product through the FDA website, or online. However, this could be due to the fact that Citryne is a patented brand, and the chemicals contained therein are what has been approved by the FDA. It should be noted that, even though the NuvoH2O website claims Citryne doesn’t cause any change in your water’s taste, we encountered numerous customers complaining of a “chemical” taste in their water immediately after installation, and even seeing their water turn blue for the first few days.

Next, calling the NuvoH2O a water softening system isn’t exactly correct. This is because a water softener works by dissolving and removing minerals, while the NuvoH2O simply uses Citryne to bind these minerals together and to prevent them from building up within your plumbing system.

This is important because if you’re expecting to experience truly “soft” water after installing your NuvoH2O, you’re likely to be disappointed. Also, it’s interesting to note that the company uses pH, which is a measure of acidity, to gauge whether or not their systems are performing as intended in your home. This is unusual because the level (parts per million) of mineral content is what determines “hardness” or “softness,” not acidity levels. This has led some to conclude that the system doesn’t actually perform as intended and that the company uses pH as a kind of “smoke and mirrors.”

Finally, as with any water softening or filtration system, there is almost never one solution for all areas of the country. In our opinion, whether you ultimately choose the NuvoH2O or another system, it might be best to check out all your options before purchasing.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 13 NuvoH2O Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 0 1 star:  9
Bottom Line: 31% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 13
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    System does not work

    • Jackson Hole, WY,
    • Jun 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Purchased the NuvoH2O Manor System in late 2010. Only reside in this home 1-2 months per year. Total system cost plus cost installation fee was $1,850. Purchased the Nuvo system only after discussing the water quality specs (12.04 grains/gal) with Nuvo's technical staff. They assured me it would work. Unfortunately, it does not and it was truly a waste of money. Their technical staff was apparently far more interested in a sale than being honest about their product's technical limitations. Will have the system removed and replaced with something that truly controls water hardness.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    New and improved but still blue/green water

    • Lomita, CA,
    • Jun 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased my Home Version system in 11/2014. I have copper pipes so I had a plumber do the install. The total cost was about $3000. The cartridges were rated at 35000 gallons and I've used 12 of them already. I did not have any problems until the last cartridge I purchased. When I installed it my water turned blue/green. When I reported it to Nuvo they replaced it with another cartridge with instructions. To soak it first. It still colored the water but it could be used. When I put the new cartridge in I noticed the rating for the water had gone from 35000 gals to 20000 gals. They claim this new cartridge is new and improved. How is a 40% decrease an improvement? My system is being removed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Easy, works great, simple for our RV

    • Parker, AZ,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We started living and traveling full-time in our RV and realized we really needed a water softener on top of our 3-part filtration unit.

    We noticed in winter/spring of 2017-18 we had residue building up in pans and faucets, etc. We got a NuvoH2O and no more build up! Better showers, dishes, cooking water leaves no white residue! I don't know why folks try to discredit this product. The citric acid traps the minerals and allows them to stop harming your home. Also, you can drink the water! Your body still gets the natural minerals as your body breaks down the combination of the Vitamin C and releases the minerals. You can water your plants, yard and wash your vehicles spot-free with this water as opposed to traditional saline systems. It requires no lugging of heavy bags of salt or any of the encumbrances of tradition salt water softening systems. I wouldn't use anything else.

    I am in NO way connected to the company, I just really love this simple solution!

    Thanks NuvoH2O!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Not a water softener as advertised.

    • Texas,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    There should be a class action suit for this product for false advertising. It does not soften your water nor does it keep away the watermarks, buildup, etc. on your plumbing devices such as toilets and water fixtures.

    A horrible waste of money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 26 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Fake

    • Detroit Lakes, MN,
    • Oct 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My water taste and color are 10 times worse. What a joke. I can't believe they get away with it. Now they want to sell me an additional filtration system in addition to their products. Thieves!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 31 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Deceptive! Does not soften water!

    • Gilbert, AZ,
    • Jun 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am sitting here writing this with extreme disappointment! I am having to replace this system with a new water softener. After only having this system one year we decided to have a plumber do a water test in our system, and our water hardness was a 14! Eleven is a high number, and we exceeded that! I feel like the $1300 that was spent on this system was a giant waste of money and it did not soften our water at all as promised! In fact, our water is harder than ever! I would really like a refund in my system!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Experience has been really great for 6 years

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Mar 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This was recommended to me by a plumber (before it became an As Seen On TV thing). We have very hard water in Tampa, and I was inquiring about an on-demand heater for a penthouse condo where a set softener would not be appropriate due to space considerations, brine disposal, and dragging 40 lb bags of salt around. I was told the on-demand water heater would clog and be ruined within six months due to the mineral buildup up.

    We installed it in our house (built '67), and lots of mineral build-up broke loose in first few months, but since then, glass tile and frameless glass doors in bathrooms stay MUCH cleaner. Shower heads keep a good flow, flappers in toilets don't get crunchy and stop working, and toilets flush better. Hair and skin feel nice after showering, and dishes come out without soap residue and finally.

    I put in identical hot water heaters in side by side houses within a month of each other in '04 and got four more year's use out of the one at the house with the Nuvo. Cost of a cartridge for nine months is the same as the salt would be without hauling it. I buy my cartridges at Furguson. Also, no swollen ankles from high sodium in drinking water or ice.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 46 out 49 people found this review helpful

    Made my water system worse, not better

    • West Potsdam, NY,
    • Jan 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My NuvoH2O water system sucks. It doesn’t work like it’s supposed to because I have been getting a rotting odor from the drinking water. Of course, if I call the company they say something like that it’s something else, just so they don’t have to pay the refund. In other words, they scammed me. I had the thing for over a year and it’s still not worth it. I would like to send the thing to the dump after I get a better system.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 49 out 54 people found this review helpful

    Poor support / questionable product

    • Calabasas, CA,
    • Oct 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    A plumber installed the Manor Nuvo system in my home. It was a difficult installation with leaking plastic fittings that were difficult to stop.

    After 8 months, I ordered a new Manor filter. I installed the new filter according to the directions, and as soon as we used it, all our water turned green, hot and cold. Nuvo sent a new filter. When I removed the first new filter, all the contents leaked out on my driveway. I hosed it off immediately. The filter was nothing but an empty shell with no contents. They sent another filter that worked.

    Months later, I changed the filter again, and the same thing happened. Green water from all faucets. They sent me another filter, and when I removed the previous new filter, it also spilled all the inside contents on the driveway. There was nothing left in the filter. They sent a second filter, and a week or so later, the water turned green again.

    Nuvo has no concern that their filters are leaking the contents. They are telling me this has never happened before, but they don't ask for the failed filters to investigate. They say the problem is my water. I had my water tested, and it is good to drink out of the tap without the filter. I now believe this is a scam and not a system to be trusted. They will not assist me other than telling me it's my water's fault. Now I am stuck with this useless system that I must remove and toss in the trash.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 69 out 71 people found this review helpful

    Nuvo water softener

    • Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada,
    • Jun 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had this product in my home now for a period of four years. In that time frame, I hoped that this Nuvo system would live up to its claim of softening the water, removing scale on taps, faucets, and shower doors as they claim it will do. But during this time frame, it hasn't done any of that. I even had the rep come to my home and look at the product and the installation, and he recommended that I use the professional heavy duty cartridge in my system, which I did, and even that didn't do the job either.

    All that I can say is this system is a bunch of garbage, and it doesn't live up to that which it says it does. This company misrepresents to its customers what its softeners can do, and they should be ashamed of themselves.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Poor delivery

    • Drummond Island, Michigan,
    • Apr 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Delivery of orders has always been BAD, anywhere from two weeks to 30 days. I am waiting for my order now. They have issued a tracking number, but it has not arrived at UPS.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 13

Write a Review for NuvoH2O!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review