About NuWave Oven

A product of Healthware, Inc. and based out of Libertyville, IL, the NuWave Oven Pro is an “As Seen on TV” countertop oven that uses infrared heat to cook your food up to 3x faster – and healthier – than conventional ovens. Whether you’re cooking, broiling, roasting, grilling, baking, barbecuing, steaming, dehydrating, or air-frying (similar to the AirWave Fryer), the makers of the NuWave Oven claim that no defrosting or preheating is necessary, and it helps you save money on energy costs by using up to 85% less energy. As such, the company’s website claims that the NuWave Oven has sold more than three million units, and is the number one countertop oven in the U.S.

The NuWave Oven has gained a fairly high amount of publicity, having been featured on ABC, CNBC, FOX, Good Morning America, and more. Even though Healthware, Inc. has specialized in a variety of countertop kitchen products since 1997, they currently hold an F rating with the Better Business Bureau, with a total of 1284 filed complaints within the past three years. Of these complaints, the majority appear to be related to problems with services/products and advertising issues.

How the NuWave Oven Pro Works & Features

When compared to conventional ovens, the makers of the NuWave Oven claim its Triple Combo Cooking Power is what makes it so unique and powerful, which consists of the following:

  • Conduction – Direct heat, much like a conventional oven.
  • Convection – Uses a fan to circulate hot air around your food.
  • Infrared – Penetrates your food, and simultaneously cooks it from the inside and the outside.

According to the company, this Triple Combo Cooking Power results in food that is evenly cooked, and is always crispy on the outside and moist and juicy on the inside. In addition, you can begin cooking frozen foods, without drying them out like a traditional microwave.

Getting started with the NuWave Oven is simple and easy. First, you place your food into the oven. Then, set your timer based on the food type, whether or not it is frozen, as well as total weight. The oven’s power level will be set to 10 by default, but can be adjusted to whatever you need. One nice feature about the NuWave Oven is that it will automatically shut itself off once cooking is complete, so that you don’t have to worry about it continuously running like a conventional oven. Also, because it doesn’t require any preheating or venting, it won’t heat up your kitchen, and all the heat is focused on cooking your food to perfection. It’s important to note that your oven will come with a reference sheet/guide that explains what power levels and times are best for different types of foods, whether or not it is frozen, weight, and several other attributes. This is intended to help ensure the best possible cooking results, and if it’s not followed, your food may not turn out like you intended.

The NuWave Oven comes with a total of 10 power settings, with “HI” being the maximum, which roughly translates to about 350 degrees in a standard oven. Unlike a traditional oven though, your food will cook very quickly due to the Triple Combo Cooking Power. For example: a 10lb frozen turkey will roast in about 2.5 hours. In order to avoid any cooking confusion, your oven will come with a handy power level/temperature equivalency chart.

Once you’re finished cooking, you NuWave Oven is completely dishwasher safe (with the exception of the power head), allowing for quick and easy cleanup. However, it’s highly recommended that you set your dishwasher to “air dry” in order to avoid damaging your oven.

Can the NuWave Oven Help You Stay Healthy as Promised?

According to the manufacturer, the NuWave Oven helps promote good health, as it helps to reduce cholesterol and to aid in digestion. This is because their proprietary cooking technology helps keep your food juicy and moist, so you’ll be less likely to add fats or oils while cooking your food, or grease or fatty sauces after it’s complete.

With this said, the NuWave Oven will not have a direct influence on your health like a weight loss product would, since you always make the decision as to which foods you’ll cook. In other words, you can still cook unhealthy foods. However, if you’re already cooking healthy meals, the NuWave oven will support this decision by draining unhealthy oils while it cooks.

So, can the NuWave Oven really help you stay healthy? Perhaps it’s best to think of it this way: The NuWave Oven simply acts as a tool to help support your healthy cooking choices, which can ultimately help you lose weight. Just like with any other cooking device, if you choose to prepare healthy, low-fat foods, you’ll increase your chances of losing weight. In this way, the NuWave Oven can help you live a healthier life, but only if you make the conscious decision to do so first.

NuWave Oven Pricing & Return Policy

The NuWave Oven is available from a wide variety of retailers, including Macy’s, Walmart, Bed Bath & Beyond, and more, and ranges in price from $120-$160. However, if purchased directly from the manufacturer, it will cost you $120, or three separate payments of $39.95, in addition to $29.95 shipping and handling. This will also give you the opportunity to purchase a second NuWave Oven¾just pay an additional $29.95 shipping and handling.

However, if you go this route, there are two red flags that we noticed during our research:

  1. When you click on the “Buy One Get One Free” special offer on their home page, you’ll be redirected to a checkout section that will only display one oven, without the option to add a second.
  2. In addition, you won’t be given the opportunity to make a full payment, but instead will only be able to choose the three-payment option.

If you decide to proceed with your purchase directly from the manufacturer’s website, you’ll pay $69.90 upfront ($39.95 for the first payment, plus $29.95 shipping and handling), and will then be billed two follow up installments of $39.95 every 30 days thereafter. In other words, after your initial payment, you’ll have your NuWave Oven paid off in 60 days. With all this said, we would recommend calling the company directly at 1-800-809-4035 to place your order.

The NuWave Oven comes with a 90-day money back guarantee, though you likely won’t receive any of your shipping and handling charges back, and you’ll have to incur additional charges to ship the item back to the manufacturer. Because of this, we would recommend purchasing your NuWave Oven from your local Macy’s or Walmart in order to avoid additional shipping charges, as well as the hassle of returning it should you be dissatisfied with its performance.

See Also: Beware: Not Following These 6 Tips Could Cost You Money on Your Next “As Seen on TV” Purchase

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

25 Consumer Reviews for NuWave Oven

Average Consumer Rating: 3.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 12 4 star: 0 3 star: 2 2 star: 0 1 star:  11
Bottom Line: 56% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 25
Sort reviews by:

  • Big headache

    • Arizona,
    • Jul 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased my NuWave Pro a year ago this month. It cooks great when it works. A few months after I got it the fan made a lot of noise, they sent a new unit with $14.95 postage. I was happy for awhile, then went to serve dinner and the food wasn't cooked. They had me run the toast test, but I got dry bread, not toast. More postage, another unit. I used it twice with it working, then once again the food wasn't cooked. I ran their toast test, didn't even get dry bread, no heat from the unit. My warranty would be out in about one week, it was like they sent a unit they thought would last until then. I won't bother getting another cooking head, the price of postage I could soon buy another unit. Trying to save on the electric bill, but I guess it's back to the microwave and toaster oven so I don't have to use the 220.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Works great!

    • Georgia,
    • May 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product works really good. I honestly think that some people are not reading the instructions properly or at all on how to use the cooker; I think they're kind of just copying what they might have seen the commercials. It's really important that you read your directions on anything you buy, especially if it's electric and it involves very high heat. I know it's not easy to make time nowadays because everyone is so busy and pressed for time, but if you just read them, it will make a big difference.

    I also have the NuWave induction cooker that is the best things ever it's really great. I also have the NuWave Air fryer. I'm still kind of on the fence about that because I've only used it once to make french fries, and nothing really comes up that I need it for. Plus, I have so many other things I can use because I'm always trying to find different cooking products to give me a shortcut or just make cooking a bit easier.

    Needless to say, I've bought a lot of different cooking products and gadgets and to be honest a lot of them end up in my Goodwill donations. So far nothing I have by NuWave gone to Goodwill yet, but I think the air fryer might be heading there soon, however, NOT because it's a bad product, I'm not saying that, but what I am saying is I like to fry my food in good, old fashion hot oil in a traditional fryer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy, too much money, and they don't last long.

    • Indiana,
    • Mar 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I think this company should recall every oven they sold. The plastic dome will crack and warp out of shape and is unusable. I gave it one star, but it does not deserve that. Junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 28, 2018

      Linda

      I love mine. I use it often and have had it for 4 or 5 years. It's easy to clean, never a crack in the plastic dome, and cooks fast! Meat comes out juicy, and the veggies are delicious.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 26 people found this review helpful

    The good and bad of the NuWave oven

    • Vero Beach, FL,
    • Nov 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have owned 3 NuWaves and they all do the same thing. They do a great job cooking but the rack on is made of cheap material. It's plated silver that wears off after two or three uses. The dome cracks at about two years and then the powerhead itself BURNS out after about five years! I've complained to customer service and they act like it's not a big deal and that's the way it's made. To save money they should just spend a little bit more and use real stainless steel and have happy customers all around.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 22 people found this review helpful

    A nice kitchen addition

    • Oklahoma,
    • Aug 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've owned this product for over a year, and it does everything it was advertised to do. I love cornish hens, from frozen 25 minutes on each side and I get great tasting, juicy hens. No defrosting and no preheating a large oven for two small hens. Bacon, eight minutes on each side, and grease drains to the bottom and splatter is contained. Unlike a microwave which makes food limp, this little oven crisps them right up.

    It says it is dishwasher safe but I clean it by hand, it's very easy to do and faster. I've read the other reviews on the customer service being awful. I can't speak to that as I've had no reason to contact them. I also read the clear dome cracks easily, and I purchased the gold dome because of those reviews, no cracks here. Buy gold!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 34 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Company does not stand behind their products

    Our first NuWave lasted for four years of almost daily use. When it was time to replace it, we bought another NuWave. This one lasted three months. The motor would not heat, and it was making a loud grinding noise. I contacted NuWave, and their only response was, "sorry no receipt, no warranty." I will admit we should have kept the receipt, but even after sending them a photo of the model and serial numbers, I got the same response. No problem, I will buy another from another company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 42 out 44 people found this review helpful

    NuWave Oven - I got burned

    So, hopefully, that will be the last time I stay up watching TV with a credit card near by. I, like most, fell for the ease of cooking demonstrations. I bought the black upgraded model with unbreakable dome and got the "buy one, get one free" deal with the "free" mixer, blender and pizza kit, and also bought a ocarry bag.

    I took the three pay plan, and when I got the bill, OMG. What did I do? They charged a ridicules amount for "shipping and handling" on a single item. Once I came to my senses, I jumped on the internet to find out these sell for half the price in Walmart and Bed Bath & Beyond, and with free shipping and no handling.

    I called and raised the roof on them and got them to agree to refund 100% of my money. They state in their return policy 100% less shipping and handling, which frankly is about the cost of the item in the stores. What a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 48 out 49 people found this review helpful

    Wouldn't do it again!

    I purchased a NuWave Oven about 18 months ago. I didn't use it more than a dozen times and the plastic shroud cracked in two places along the collar. I called the company and was told by the service rep that it would be fifty dollars to replace it. I had owned the oven for 18 months, so the warranty had expired, and I was afraid to use it with the severely cracked plastic shroud. The product was never abused and only used when I cooked a pork loin or a small ham.

    I feel that the company has knowledge of the defect in the clear shrouds and has elected to sell replacement parts rather than back the product. They have sold millions, and there will be a million with cracked shrouds.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 47 out 47 people found this review helpful

    Product quality and customer service are TERRIBLE

    I am extremely disappointed with this company and their product. We have owned our NuWave for a little over a year now, and the dome has begun to crack severely to the point that we can't even use it anymore because all of the heat escapes during the cooking process. My in-laws have had the same problem with theirs, and we've read online reviews where several other people are complaining of the same thing.

    I called customer service to see if they care enough to rectify the situation, and the answer to that is a big fat NO. The only resolution they offered was for me to order a new dome for $35 + $15 for processing, but they would so generously drop the processing fee down to $10. It is sad that we paid over $100 for this product which is clearly defective and we're expected to pay $45 to correct their poor design and quality. Why construct the dome out of a material that isn't even resilient enough to withstand the heat of the oven?

    We will no longer be recommending this product to friends/family or purchasing any other products from NuWave. Clearly quality and customer satisfaction are not a priority to them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 44 people found this review helpful

    Cooks great, but...

    • Tallahassee, FL,
    • Apr 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is not a bad cooker, but my beef is with the clear cooking dome. It should be called the "Crack Grill" because the dome has six cracks in it and they won't replace it. My advice is, save your money; it is not worth the headache!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 54 out 61 people found this review helpful

    Check credibility of company with Better Business Bureau before buying

    I wish I would have checked with the Better Business Bureau before buying. Additional prices added on, and the delivered price was doubled from the ordering price. The customer service personnel were terrible when I called to discuss order pricing.

    The oven is falsely advertised and does not do what it is supposed to. Cooking times took much longer, and the finished product was not appealing. It was the worse investment that I ever made. It was not worth keeping, but I can't afford to return for a refund. The company should not be allowed to continue.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 25

Write a Review for NuWave Oven!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review