About Oasis Legal Finance

As their name implies, Oasis Legal Finance specializes in lawsuit and legal funding services targeted toward individuals who need to liquefy cash related to pending legal settlements.

The company claims to be the “largest and most recognized national brand in legal finance providing non-recourse lawsuit funding to consumers involved in personal injury litigation,” and to be a fast and efficient method of obtaining the cash you need.

In business since 2002, Oasis Legal Finance is based out of Chicago, IL, and is a founding member of American Legal Finance Association (ALFA).

The company holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, which is based on 13 closed complaints over the past three years.

Based on our research, the most common complaints we encountered cited high fees, which in some instances amounted to more than the final settlement (read more about this in the Bottom Line section).

How Oasis Legal Finance Works

Like Peachtree Settlement Funding, JG Wentworth, Annuity.org, and others, Oasis Legal Finance can help you liquefy future payments related to structured settlements, and turn it into a lump sum cash payment.

Unlike these other companies, though, Oasis Legal Finance specializes in lawsuit and legal funding.

For example: If you’re involved in a personal injury suit and find yourself unemployed for a period of time, your obligations don’t stop. You may have a mortgage, car note, medical and legal bills, and more, all of which need to be paid each month.

With this in mind, Oasis Legal Finance claims to have “a simple, fast and efficient streamlined funding process” that can provide you with the cash you need, in exchange for “selling” them the future payments related to a pending settlement. This is how it works:

  1. You submit your application and give Oasis Legal Finance permission to speak with your attorney, who will then contact them to see whether or not your case qualifies.
  2. Your lawyer will prepare documents relevant to your case, including retainer agreements, incident reports, medical bill summaries, and so forth.
  3. If Oasis Legal Finance’s “team of legal, business and financial professionals” deems your case to be strong, funding will proceed from there. For full details, see the company’s Funding Overview.

Oasis Legal Finance Pricing

According to the Oasis Legal Finance website applying is free, and there are no upfront costs. The company also claims that, because the process is not a traditional loan, your credit rating has no impact on your approval, which can often be obtained in 2 days.

Fees associated with your future payment purchase often vary and will need to be discussed with the company at 877-333-6675 or via an online form.

Pros

  • Claims to be the “largest and most recognized national brand in legal finance.”
  • Claims that if you don’t win your case, there’s nothing to repay.
  • Extensive website with very detailed information about the legal funding process.
  • A rating with the Better Business Bureau.

Cons

  • Numerous customer complaints involving high fees, in some instances, totaling more than the final settlement amount.

Bottom Line – Should you Use Oasis Legal Finance?

Keep in mind that, while the cash provided by Oasis Legal Finance technically doesn’t constitute a loan, if you don’t repay it quickly, large fees and high interest rates can quickly add up.

In fact, according to this NY Times article from 2011, because legal lending “remains unregulated in most states,” they are “unrestrained by laws that cap interest rates,” which “often exceed 100 percent a year.”

This means that if your case doesn’t conclude soon after taking out your “loan,” you could end up paying thousands in interest.

As a testament to this, one of the individuals mentioned in the article owed Oasis Legal Finance more than $23,000 after it took their case 18 months to settle, on a loan that originally totaled just over $9,000. To further solidify the issue, you can read about similar situations here, here, and here.

In addition, Oasis Legal Finance was sued by the State of Colorado in 2010 for alleged deceptive trade practices and unlicensed lending, which appears to have been upheld by the courts.

Ultimately, Oasis counter-sued, claiming that “the state was improperly trying to regulate them as lenders under the Uniform Consumer Credit Code.” A copy of the court documents can be found here.

What this comes down to is that if you don’t absolutely have to take out a “legal funding” loan, it’s best to avoid them altogether.

Read Next: The Minimalist Guide to Selling Your Structured Settlement

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

70 Consumer Reviews for Oasis Legal Finance

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 2 3 star: 2 2 star: 2 1 star:  56
Bottom Line: 17% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 70
Sort reviews by:

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your time

    • Louisiana,
    • Sep 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you are in desperate need of financial help and relief and plan to attempt to use this company, do yourself a tremendous favor and find another way. The online (fast and simple application) is a joke. I filled it out, and I was very optimistic when I was told that I would be contacted very soon and thought that getting some relief within 24 hours was a huge weight lifted. Within a few hours, I had not heard anything, and I knew that if I were to receive any money within the time frame advertised, there definitely should have been some contact made to get the ball rolling.

    So I decided to online chat them to check on the status. I was then told that they could not verify my attorney information and that I needed to call. I called and gave them the EXACT same information that I submitted online and presto! They could verify it. Quite frustrated, I decided that I would online chat them again the next morning because surely we should be closer to an outcome. On this online chat conversation, I was told that attorney information has to be verified, at which time I explained that I have talked to my attorney and no attempt had even been made yet to verify ANY information. This is also after this company was telling me that it was time critical that I speak with my attorney and let him know that they would be inquiring about my case and to give them permission to do so.

    After all of this, I am then told that they "TRY" to get funds to you within the advertised time frame but it actually takes a couple of days. That would be completely understandable if this is what was advertised and highly outlined as one of the perks of using them, but the fact that there had been NO CONTACT made with my attorney within a day, let me know that there was absolutely no hurry in assisting me or to make the 24-hour mark of me receiving assistance. I decided to retract my application rather than to place any further hope in this company.

    If you value your sanity or you really need assistance in a hurry, please find another source. I wish there was a rating less that one star. I am extremely dissatisfied and disappointed. I should have read the other reviews before deciding to go with OASIS FINANCIAL. So in closing, just don't waste your time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    False advertising

    • Cicero, IL,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Yeah right, even if you lose you don't pay us back, what a crock. What they don't tell you is they review your case and if they don't think it's strong enough to win they decline you. Low to no risk for them, sad they prey on people like that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    This company is robbery without a gun

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Sep 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I completed an application for Legal Funding on September 4, 2018. My situation is, I already received a settlement offer and was just waiting on documents to sign by lawyers to finalize the settlement offer and receive checks. My requested amount was $6000. These fools had the audacity to only offer an insulting $550. EXACTLY. Some BS. Then they have the nerve to charge a "handling fee" for the ridiculous amount they were loaning me, they charge $97 out of that money, leaving me only with $453. They had the nerve to expect a payment amount back of almost $900 by March 2019. And if it passed March 5th of 2019, it was over $1000. These people are crazy. I kindly called my lawyer's office and informed them to disregard their paperwork and called them slim balls and informed them to cancel and remove my application.

    Don’t use this company unless you’re just into GIVING AWAY all your settlement money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    They do not as they say.

    • Lonedell, MO,
    • Sep 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I did get a $500.00 loan but only after I received an offer of $35,000.00, until then I was turned down twice. They would not loan me any money until I had an offer on the table. I would not recommend Oasis Financial to my family or friends. If I could give them a zero rating, I would.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Car accident

    • Cedartown, GA,
    • Aug 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I applied for a $1000 loan at Oasis Financial, only to be told that it was still processing. I only needed the loan to pay for bills because I took out of work for a week because I hurt my back in a car accident that was not my fault. I was on my way to work, I called yesterday, and I was told to call today for an update, only to be told the underwriter was not comfortable loaning me the money. It was a lowdown, plus they gave me a runaround when they should have said no from the start. It's sad how people kick you when you are down.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Oasis Legal Financial services

    • New York City, NY,
    • Aug 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Oasis Legal Financial is nothing but a total scam. Within the last month I had to apply for the same loan 3 times after doing the application process and being told I was approved. They were supposed to send my lawyer the paperwork for my lawyer to sign off on, and when I didn't hear back from anyone, I decided to call Oasis Legal Financial to get an update, only to find out that those idiots never put my loan through and were playing games with me all along.

    Also, I had requested numerous times about their payback interest rates, and they avoided given me that information. What it comes down to is I bit the bullet not having to deal with them. They are not friendly people, they act like they are doing you a favor, you can tell that they are reading from a script. My suggestion to everyone is, stay away from Oasis Legal Financial services.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Oasis Financial

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jul 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This place is a joke, do not go through them, please find someone else. I asked for $650.00 and was approved for $620.00. I was told I would have my money within 4 hours, well, 6 hours later they still had not finished my case. I called and they said it was in the final stages but that they had to contact the previous company I had gone through before (saying it had just come up, which I had told them at the being of the process). I asked them how long it would take and they said they did not know. Once I hung up with them my previous loan company called me and told me they could give me an additional loan and that Oasis was charging me for a $1000.00 loan and only giving me $620.00, so I went through my previous loan company and they had my loan done and my money available within 2 hours.

    The next day I get a text staying that Oasis couldn't give me a loan and the text they sent was very rude. Please don't go through Oasis. If you need a loan go through Signal Funding, they are awesome. Oasis is a joke and overcharges you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Avoid Oasis Financial, they are not here to help you

    • California,
    • Jul 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was in an accident and was able to get a first initial loan with Oasis Financial. They only allowed me $700 with costs $100 for money transfer.

    After further development three months later I asked for a second loan and they keep refusing to help me get any funding. I know I have a good case and they still refuse.

    Avoid this money payday loan company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    This place sucks the big one

    • South Carolina,
    • Apr 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The worst place to go to if you need money from an injury settlement. I called last Thursday and am still waiting, so no 24 to 48-hour cash; false advertising big time. But I do hope they call and say I'm approved because I'm going to say forget it with your 100% interest.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 12, 2018

      LJordan

      This company approved me but I should have known it was a catch at the end because they were asking for personal information, therefore, denied me after approval. This was very humiliating after waiting 8 days, not 48 hours. My concern is that they approve me, and then deny me! So unprofessional, plus when I called for an explanation, the person handling my claim told me that it wasn't available but that's the biggest lie in the book!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Grateful

    I applied, was approved, and had my money all within three hours! The customer service agent wasn't friendly, but she wasn't rude either. The fees and interest are outrageous, but hey, they don't lie about it, and you know that going in. I am VERY satisfied with the speed of which my loan was handled. If you don't want high interest rates and fees, this is not a loan for you, but as I said, all of that is known up front. Thanks Oasis Financial.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Funding

    • Standfordville, NY,
    • Jan 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So I was made an offer for funding based on my car accident case. After signing the agreement, they decided they didn't want to help me at this time after wasting weeks trying to get funding. I needed this funding to help with my housing. Long story short, I was denied payment after I already signed the paperwork and then was never informed that the offer had been retracted. Their only response was "We are sorry you didn't receive the automated email. We will let IT know that it didn't go thru."

    Don't waste your time. Go to a more reputable company like Lending Tree or anyone other than them. Oasis os a joke. I've spent more energy on this only to be denied. False advertising and they're just not a respectable company. I do NOT recommend!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 70

Write a Review for Oasis Legal Finance!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review