About Oasis Financial

As their name implies, Oasis Financial specializes in lawsuit and legal funding services targeted toward individuals who need to liquefy cash related to pending legal settlements.

The company claims to be the “largest and most recognized national brand in legal finance providing non-recourse lawsuit funding to consumers involved in personal injury litigation,” and to be a fast and efficient method of obtaining the cash you need.

In business since 2002, Oasis Legal Finance is based out of Chicago, IL, and is a founding member of American Legal Finance Association (ALFA).

The company holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, which is based on 13 closed complaints over the past three years.

Based on our research, the most common complaints we encountered cited high fees, which in some instances amounted to more than the final settlement (read more about this in the Bottom Line section).

How Oasis Financial Works

Like Peachtree Settlement Funding, JG Wentworth, Annuity.org, and others, Oasis Financial can help you liquefy future payments related to structured settlements, and turn it into a lump sum cash payment.

Unlike these other companies, though, Oasis Financial specializes in lawsuit and legal funding.

For example: If you’re involved in a personal injury suit and find yourself unemployed for a period of time, your obligations don’t stop. You may have a mortgage, car note, medical and legal bills, and more, all of which need to be paid each month.

With this in mind, Oasis Financial claims to have “a simple, fast and efficient streamlined funding process” that can provide you with the cash you need, in exchange for “selling” them the future payments related to a pending settlement. This is how it works:

  1. You submit your application and give Oasis Financial permission to speak with your attorney, who will then contact them to see whether or not your case qualifies.
  2. Your lawyer will prepare documents relevant to your case, including retainer agreements, incident reports, medical bill summaries, and so forth.
  3. If Oasis Financial's “team of legal, business and financial professionals” deems your case to be strong, funding will proceed from there. For full details, see the company’s Funding Overview.

Oasis Financial Pricing

According to the Oasis Financial website, applying is free, and there are no upfront costs. The company also claims that, because the process is not a traditional loan, your credit rating has no impact on your approval, which can often be obtained in 2 days.

Fees associated with your future payment purchase often vary and will need to be discussed with the company at 877-333-6675 or via an online form.

Pros

  • Claims to be the “largest and most recognized national brand in legal finance.”
  • Claims that if you don’t win your case, there’s nothing to repay.
  • Extensive website with very detailed information about the legal funding process.
  • A rating with the Better Business Bureau.

Cons

  • Numerous customer complaints involving high fees, in some instances, totaling more than the final settlement amount.

Bottom Line – Should you Use Oasis Financial Finance?

Keep in mind that, while the cash provided by Oasis Financial technically doesn’t constitute a loan, if you don’t repay it quickly, large fees and high interest rates can quickly add up.

In fact, according to this NY Times article from 2011, because legal lending “remains unregulated in most states,” they are “unrestrained by laws that cap interest rates,” which “often exceed 100 percent a year.”

This means that if your case doesn’t conclude soon after taking out your “loan,” you could end up paying thousands in interest.

As a testament to this, one of the individuals mentioned in the article owed Oasis Legal Finance more than $23,000 after it took their case 18 months to settle, on a loan that originally totaled just over $9,000. To further solidify the issue, you can read about similar situations here, here, and here.

In addition, Oasis Legal Finance was sued by the State of Colorado in 2010 for alleged deceptive trade practices and unlicensed lending, which appears to have been upheld by the courts.

Ultimately, Oasis counter-sued, claiming that “the state was improperly trying to regulate them as lenders under the Uniform Consumer Credit Code.” A copy of the court documents can be found here.

What this comes down to is that if you don’t absolutely have to take out a “legal funding” loan, it’s best to avoid them altogether.

Read Next: The Minimalist Guide to Selling Your Structured Settlement


Read 165 Oasis Financial Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 3.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 80 4 star: 9 3 star: 6 2 star: 3 1 star:  67
Bottom Line: 58% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 165
Sort reviews by:

  • Money when I needed it most.

    • California,
    • Oct 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was at a loss for what to do because I was almost broke. Then I called my lawyer and he shot me over to Oasis Financial and you got me what I needed and just in time to also save my 5 years of AAA membership. Thank you Oasis.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Right on time

    • Texas,
    • Oct 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm pleased with my experience. The timely responses and the short amount of time it took to receive the funds from Oasis! I only had to answer several questions and Oasis pretty much handled the rest...

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Very poor company

    • South Carolina,
    • Oct 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went through the entire process, signed documents as well as my attorney. I was told I would be receiving funding to my bank. I got a call to verify the loan but then said it was declined without a reason. Very poor and will not recommend to anyone. The interest is very high as well. Do your homework before calling these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Liars liars

    Due to financial hardship because of an accident that I had in 2015, Oasis Financial sent me a denial and then my attorney called them so they finally decided to loan me $350. Well, I signed all the documents and being homeless in my car blowing up yesterday so just imagine the distress that I'm in, and the distress they put on me today. They never wired me the $350, they blatantly lied, had me thinking that I was going to have a place to rest my head at night and eat for me and my family. Do not trust these people with anything. I'm going to every News Channel, I'm calling the Better Business Bureau on them because whatever happened to "if you don't win you don't pay', that's their slogan. But then again, they are liars. I wish there was a spot for negative stars because I would give them a negative everywhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Full of crap

    • Florida,
    • Oct 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Oasis gave me money that was lower than requested. Then I went to pick up my money transfer. Western Union for some reason canceled it. I was told that Friday I would receive the funds by Tuesday through overnight checking. Tuesday came, still nothing. I called Oasis and was told my case was back in processing. They have not made this easy at all. Then you have to pay out of your loan to get the money sent to you. I suggest going elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Speedy results

    • Thomson, GA,
    • Oct 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    During this process of being out of work and no type of money coming in from nowhere, I was really starting to feel I was going to lose my house and my lawyer knew this but failed to tell us so. If it hadn’t been for my boyfriend googling for ways that could help us save our house in our time of need, we would have been homeless until he came across Oasis that helped us so quick and fast that I thought it was too good to be true that gave us our money within a couple of hours. I really and truly appreciate this company. I am truly grateful for my on-time services. It’s just that $95 charge plus $20 for priority shipping but when you about to lose everything and you don’t know when the next time or how soon you’ll see anything else, you do what has to be done.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • First time

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Oct 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It was okay, they called me a lot, like more than I needed, and I was quoted something and got a lower advance than I was told I was to receive. I’m okay with that, it’s just something to point out. Other people might not be. I’m just not sure if it was worth it but I’ll find out soon enough.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Amazing

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Oct 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very fast approval. I got my money the same day and I’m thankful for their help while I’m unable to work, due to my car accident last month has left me unable to work and I’m under a doctor's care.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Professional, caring and follow up.

    • Marengo, IL,
    • Oct 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the second time I’ve worked with Oasis and the professionalism, caring, and speediness of my emergency, was phenomenal both times.

    The paperwork was explained so I could understand when I received it on my phone and after everything was finalized, I received a call to follow up on if there were any issues. My response was "no way, everything was perfect."

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • I have never been more thankful

    • Moore, OK,
    • Oct 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First of all, the crash was horrific and Oasis Financial made it more comfortable. The household bills still needed to be paid and I am in no position to work. I had a few forms to read and sign and my money was ready. No intrusive questions at a time when all anyone wanted was answers to my tragedy. Thank you so much especially to the woman that stayed late and walked me through the process. Every baby step I make these days are a mountain conquered. I cannot worry about how much this will set me back financially. Oasis Financial, Sandy is the specialist I’d like you to know is the most kind and patient person. We even share a birthday month. Way to make me relax. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I even referred my close friend to you and she is singing your praises too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Oasis is where it's at!

    • Illinois,
    • Oct 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    For anyone looking for a little cash or a lot of cash to help them get by until their settlement comes, this is absolutely the place to go! They had my money in my bank account in less than a week! Thanks Oasis!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 165

Write a Review for Oasis Financial!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review