Odyssey Blanket Review: Does It Work and Is It Worth It?

By HighYa Editorial Team
Published on: Dec 17, 2019

The Odyssey Blanket is a weighted blanket meant to help offset anxiety and ADHD symptoms, and provide better sleep.

If you struggle with falling asleep because you’re anxious or you can’t stop your mind from racing, you’re not alone. Data indicates that around one out of four people has a hard time falling asleep and nearly 70% of us have sleep issues at least once a week.

Weighted blankets have become a popular way to combat these sleep issues. Odyssey Blanket says the weight of their blanket provides a sense of peace and calmness that offsets our worries and helps us fall asleep faster.

This review will help you decide if the Odyssey Blanket is the right remedy for your sleep issues.

Scientific Efficacy: Do Weighted Blankets Work?

The Odyssey is a twin-size, square-stitched cotton blanket the manufacturer fills with small ceramic balls that make the blanket weigh around 15 pounds.

When you pull the blanket over you, the weight mimics a hug or swaddling, two things that tend to calm down adults and children.

In theory, this feeling of calmness helps you fall asleep faster and sleep more soundly than if you used a comforter or sheet.

When you buy a product like the Odyssey Blanket, your goal is to find a solution for your sleep issues.

Our analysis of existing research indicates that while there aren’t a high number of studies about weighted blankets, the ones medical experts often cited are promising.

People with anxiety, ADHD, and those dealing with autism all experienced lower levels of anxiety and varying levels of better sleep when using a weighted blanket.

Yet while the results are promising, Dr. Maegan Pisman, a board-certified behavior analyst and adjunct instructor at Pepperdine University, says the studies, in general, aren’t exhaustive enough to conclusively say weight blankets will help you.

“It is important to recognize that although some individuals may report experiencing improvements as a result of using these products, it does not mean there is a direct causal relationship between their use and symptom reduction,” Dr. Pisman told us.

That being said, if you decide to use a weighted blanket, the studies we reviewed used either 30-pound blankets or suggested that you use a blanket that weighs at least 10% of your body weight.

That weight limit is lower than the average weight of American men and women: around 200 and 170 pounds, respectively. For you, this means you might experience diminished benefits from the Odyssey Blanket.

Also, much of the research about weighted blankets focuses on children with ADHD or autism, or adults with anxiety issues.

Side Effects of Using a Weighted Blanket

As you consider if the Odyssey Blanket is right for you, it’s important for you to understand the side effects of using one. These side effects relate to specific health conditions as well as a mental-health drawback you may not immediately recognize.

It Could Make Breathing Issues Worse

Harvard Health advises people with sleep apnea or respiratory issues to talk with their doctor before using a weighted blanket. The extra weight on your lungs and chest could exacerbate your existing breathing problems.

It Could Keep You from Solving Your Anxiety Problems

Stephanie Woodrow, a Maryland-based licensed clinical professional counselor, said that weighted blankets can help with anxiety but they could impede your ability to cope.

“With lots of different tools or devices, whether it be apps or weighted blankets or teas, what we’re doing is teaching ourselves that we can’t handle those emotions and those internal experiences and that we need those external factors in order to handle those things,” she said.

For example, if you’re in a meeting at work and begin to feel anxious, you can’t wrap yourself in a blanket Woodrow observed.

Therefore, she said, you need to get to the root of the anxiety issues you face.

“For people who don’t have an anxiety disorder but struggle with anxiety, even having one or two sessions with a therapist who specializes in anxiety, just learning some new information can be incredibly beneficial,” she said.

Pricing

All prices include free shipping:

  • $99.95 for one
  • $179.95 for two
  • $249.95 for three
  • $319.95 for four

If you aren’t satisfied with your Odyssey Blanket, you have 90 days to make a return.

How the Odyssey Blanket Compares to Popular Weighted Blankets

Weighted blankets have become a popular product because of the number of people dealing with sleep issues like you.

The following list helps you see how the Odyssey Blanket compares to three other twin-size weighted blankets that Amazon shoppers purchase often and rate highly:

  • Odyssey Blanket: $99.95, 15 lbs.
  • RelaxBlanket: $45.90 to $59.90, 7 to 25 lbs.
  • Syrinx: $39.90, 15 lbs
  • YnM: $64.90 to $79.50, 12 to20 lbs.

A few things to consider as you make your choice is that the Odyssey Blanket only has one size, weight, and color. If you want any variety in these options, you’ll need to expand your search. The three brands we listed above have multiple options for color, weight, and size.

The Bottom Line

As you search for a way to fall asleep easier and achieve more comfort during your sleep, weighted blankets present a promising option.

In the past 15 years, several studies show that weighted blankets helped people with a variety of health issues. Anxiety went down. Stress went down. Sleep quality went up.

If you’re dealing with anxiety or ADHD, there’s a chance this blanket can help you calm yourself down enough to fall asleep.

However, the blanket’s relatively light weight (15 lbs.) and single size make it limited in its ability to help you if you weigh more than 150 lbs. and want a blanket for your queen or king bed.

Finally, this blanket is meant to help with the way anxiety and ADHD impede your sleep. It is not meant to be a cure for either condition.

If you don’t address the underlying condition, you won’t solve the sleep issues for which the Odyssey Blanket is a temporary solution.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Odyssey Blanket:
  • 11 Customer Reviews
  • 45% Recommend This Product
2.8 out of 5
5 star: 36% 4 star: 9% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 9% 1 star: 45%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Not an odyssey for me!

    • By Rosemary G.,
    • Berwyn, IL,
    • Oct 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Too bulky and heavy for a petite person to put on the bed when I make up the bed or uncover coverlet at night.

    How long for the full effect to kick in? I have used it for three nights and still only sleep 3-4 hours.

    I also take an anti-anxiety med to boot!

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • False advertising for effects
    • If it takes a while to really kick in, should have a disclaimer
    • It is bulky and heavy for a petite person

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Life changing!

    • By Sherry P.,
    • Nashville, TN,
    • Oct 13, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I was totally surprised by how this blanket has literally changed my life! Since I received it, I only wake up ONCE during the night! (The only reason I wake up is to, of course, go to the bathroom.) At least four to five months before using the weighted blanket, I was waking up every single night, unable to go back to sleep. I no longer do this. I don't need a nap during the day like before. This blanket is exactly what I needed!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible time sleeping

    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased this blanket because I do not sleep well at all, I sleep one or two hours and am wide awake. Happens all night.

    The previous reviews sucked me into ordering it, well, guess what? It was horrible. I think I slept less with it.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Made me hot

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Odyssey Blanket

    • By CJ W.,
    • Sep 29, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    It doesn't seem to help me fall asleep, but once asleep it seems that I stay asleep longer. I feel it was worth the cost since it does appear to help staying asleep.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Sleep Longer
    • Hard to clean
    • Hard to throw across the bed
    • Hard to store because of the weight

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I'm Sleeping Better Than Ever

    • By Maryellen B.,
    • Jupiter, FL,
    • Sep 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    I have always been a light sleeper. As I've aged, getting to sleep and staying asleep has become more of a problem. It takes me sometimes hours to fall asleep, and if I awaken for any reason, it might take me hours to fall back to sleep. My mind is a busy place and once awake, it's right on point thinking about everything!

    I 've tried meditation, and prayer, doing a mindless activity, CBD oil, GABA, 5-HTP, chamomile and other soothing teas, lavender oil, etc. They all work to a certain point and in their own way. But with the pandemic, I found that a certain level of anxiety had crept into my picture and intensified my sleep problems.

    So when I saw the ad for the Odyssey Weighted blanket, I decided it wouldn't hurt to try it. I've had it several months now, and my sleep experience has improved to where I am finally getting what I consider the best sleep I can ever remember having! I go to sleep quickly, my mind doesn't wander. Because of my age and medication, I still get up to go to the bathroom during the night, but now I fall right back to sleep. And my sleep is deep and satisfying. Thank you, Odyssey!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Gives me a wonderful sleep experience
    • Even though it's 15lbs., sometimes it hurts my arthritic hands when I have to move it around.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Only one night so far

    • By Lynda D.,
    • Garland, Texas,
    • Sep 18, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I got my Odyssey blanket yesterday. I was very skeptical. I have anxiety and I wake up it seems like every hour at night and can't get back to sleep. I can't sleep when I am hot. Also I have this anxiety where when certain things touch me or if I'm constricted in anyway, my anxiety is thru the roof.

    I went to bed around 9:00 last night with the blanket and fell asleep right away. I got up to use the bathroom twice, but went right back to sleep when I got back in bed. I don't remember waking up anymore during the night. I'm the one that usually grabs her phone in the middle of the night and watches Tik Tok until I think I can go to sleep. But after one night with this blanket I was amazed on how well I slept.

    It is a very heavy blanket, it was a workout unfolding and putting it on the bed. But so far worth it. Also, did not make me Hot at all during the night.

    Pros and Cons:

    • I went to sleep quickly
    • I stayed asleep thru most of the night
    • It didn't make me hot
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Bait & Switch

    • By Shelley E.,
    • Delano, MN ,
    • Sep 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Website says blanket is Cotton Linen - I ordered based on that but what I received was a 100% Polyester blanket.

    I have requested refund and of course just get runaround. I can pay $20 to send it back and they will reimburse me minus the S&H. What a racket. Asked for email for legal department and heard nothing back. This is such a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Overrated

    • By Connie M.,
    • California,
    • Jul 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Extremely small. Not worth the price. Would have returned but they take shipping and handling after you pay to send it back. Walmart has the same thing for $20. Don't do it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Odorless, high-quality product.

    • By Sylvia E.,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • May 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was very pleased to find that this weighted blanket has absolutely no odor. The grey material has a soft, smooth feel. The blanket is very heavy, and hard to manage for that reason. I find it works well just to pull one corner of it over my stomach. It provides a secure, comforting feeling. I sleep on my back, so the blanket stays in place, with no need for readjusting. I've been using it every night for about a month and sleeping soundly. A few days ago I put it into a duvet to keep it clean during the warmer weather.

    Do I recommend this blanket for others? I see there are less expensive ones for sale on the internet, but what do they smell like? Most people can tolerate odors better than I can, so they may have other priorities.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Still no refund

    • By Lloyd E.,
    • Bellevue, MI,
    • Apr 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Sent blanket back via USPS (26mar20-950581143121083119419) to High Point, NC. Item was received (26mar20-a5cc59098861). I would like my refund - blanket is way too heavy. I would like my refund or I am going to BBB. I know they will get my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Misleading and deceitful pictures

    • By Sonny N.,
    • Hillsboro, OR,
    • Mar 30, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Your pictures are misleading and deceitful. All the pictures show it like you could actually wrap it and shows it is big. I am a small man and I could not even wrap it comfortably. It is a joke. It is not a blanket it is more like a throw. This is why they never show you the actual measurements of the blankets when you are ordering. I think it is a waste of money for the price they charge.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 11

Write a Review for Odyssey Blanket!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Odyssey Blanket