• 345 Customer Reviews
  • 90% Recommend This Service
4.6 out of 5
5 star: 83% 4 star: 5% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 1% 1 star: 8%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • My lawyer decided not to even go to court for me

    • By Pete Gurdal,
    • Childress County, TX,
    • Nov 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I hired Off The Record for a speeding ticket I received in Childress, Texas and thought they would hire a good representative for me. I will sadly say they did not hire a good lawyer for me. They accepted the deferral offer from the court and sent it to me. I asked if he was going to court and his assistant said: "No there is no need to because he was already given the plea offers and options from the court." $300 for deferred disposition with 90 days unsupervised probation. Pay $175 fine or go to court.

    Anyone probably could've accepted the offer from the court. I did not need to pay $175 to Off The Record to find out. I started to question my decision on hiring Off The Record. They said the lawyer made a counter offer for "$200 with 30 days, but that wasn't received very well at all." I found it despicable that they hardly even tried to help with my case.

    Outcomes for me:

    - I would have saved money if I did not hire Off The Record.

    - I thought the lawyer would have at least gone to court and contested the fine.

    - I believe when they try to make a deal out of court, the court does not accept it as seriously as in court.

    Slow down in any city or county when you are on any highway because they need the money. A little FYI.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ticket

    • By Batcho K.,
    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Mar 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Off The Record is the worst solution for your ticket. You will end up paying $299 for their service and your ticket will be more. I got an $80 ticket in New Jersey, I could not go to court so I tried Off The Record. I ended up paying $299 for service and also my ticket became $345. It is an absolute disaster, I would not recommend it to anyone, not even to my enemy. They are just robbing you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • New York residents, do not use this

    Overall Experience:

    The attorney assigned to my case only worked with the district attorney's office and the only offer I had was to pay $400 for the traffic diversion plus the $200 I paid to Off The Record. They will not reimburse if you can pay the fine for the diversion program. I am paying $600 for going 15 MPH over the speed limit in a work zone. Anyone can call or go to a DA website and do the same thing. I had them look into my case prior to payment and said I should defiantly fight this ticket with them. I found many reviews of other customers having horrible experiences. Do yourself a favor and just pay the fine and leave the middlemen out of this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not use Off The Record

    • By William B.,
    • California,
    • Mar 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Off The Record promised a 92% success rate. That is false. OTR is a platform designed to have you ripped off twice, first by paying them double the cost of my ticket, and then later telling me that they were not successful in solving my case. I believe that they would use part of the money I already paid them for the cost of my ticket and the balance for their service. They decided to keep the full amount and told me that I had to make another payment to the court. I will not recommend OTR to anyone. Please people, learn from my experience, do not use this service. It will be best for you to handle it yourself, you will spend less money and time if possible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hated it

    • By Danielle G.,
    • California,
    • Jun 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I absolutely hate this service. I feel so lied to. I just got off the phone with my insurance which doubled because this ticket did not come off my record. The lawyer I was assigned wasn't helpful at all and gave me a number that is even working to figure out what happened in court on my own. I am crying right now because I feel like I was scammed and now a judge will probably not help me because my ticket is so old. Do not ever use this service! Negative stars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Possible scam

    • By Eddie T.,
    • California,
    • Jun 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Hello everyone. I've been trying to use this site for a speeding I recently received. I have left multiple voicemails and emails with no response. Just like everyone else, before spending $300 plus, I would like to hear their company’s process on fighting tickets. I would not recommend this app/site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Speeding ticket

    • By Zunair A.,
    • New York,
    • Nov 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Got a speeding ticket, could have had it reduced to 2 points if I had just mailed in a non guilty plea. But ended up paying $299 for the lawyer and still getting the same result and still having to pay the ticket.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total scam

    • By Elliott W.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Feb 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They boast some 97% success rate or some bull crap like that. What they don't tell you is that apparently that includes the traffic school option. Well, I don't need to pay your lawyers $200+ PLUS my fine PLUS extra money in court fees just to take an option that I could've done initially by myself. I am super skeptical of half the reviews on here. Yes, some look real, but some really don't.

    Caveat emptor and read the fine print y'all. Pretty scammy if you ask me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Guilty

    • By Dzengis R.,
    • New York,
    • May 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Guilty, no help, like a lottery - if they win, they win. It's a gimmick, waste of the money, probably I was going to do better. I asked him numerous times to change the date, did not, it made it worse for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The worst experiences ever

    • By Isaiah C.,
    • Queens, NY,
    • Dec 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    First, the only time they communicate with you is when you pay them, there was no communication. Also, the day before my case no one contacted me, I had to keep emailing the site. Then after the case, I had to go on DMV and find out I got 3 points. Then, later on that night, the lawyer wrote me. I could have handled this myself. I do not recommend anyone from NY to deal with this company, terrible service, and they did not refund my money. Thumbs down.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They are the worst

    • By Joshua R.,
    • New York,
    • May 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Off The Record does not communicate well and they do nothing but take your money. All their website reviews are fake. Just get a real lawyer. I was found guilty because of them and had points and fees. Waste of time. No way they have 92% success.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Useless lawyers and misleading "success" rate

    • By Codrin N.,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jul 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I received a speeding ticket in North Pacific District Court (South Bend, Washington) and I used Off The Record to find a lawyer to contest the ticket in court. Off The Record assigned "Yranela & Associates, PLLC" to my case. I contested the ticket and I received a court date for August 2019. Instead of representing me in court "Yranela & Associates" decided that the best choice is to accept the prosecutor's office offer for the diversion program. You pay the prosecutor's office a flat fee of $200 and you agree to not get another ticket for a 1-year period. If you do, the ticket will be re-filed. This is an automatic offer that anybody who contests their tickets receive. So I did, I pay "Yranela & Associates" $250? They shouldn't have accepted my case if they knew they cannot help. Unfortunately, Off The Record didn't allow me to rate my experience with "Yranela & Associates" and it lists my case as a success: "Your ticket was dismissed." This is misleading. No wonder Off The Record has such a high success rate. They know that the dismissal through the diversion program is a temporary measure. Don't use Off The Record if you have a ticket in the North Pacific District Court. They might have better lawyers covering other areas.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A piece of crap

    • By Daine P.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Sep 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My lawyer lost the case and I ended up paying my fine, extension fee, traffic school, and they refused to give my money back. They are saying I was granted a traffic school and will not go to my record but it's an original option if you get the ticket.

    This site is crap. They said it's a 100% money-back guarantee but you will NEVER get your money back, even you lose your case.

    I could only pay $250 fine plus traffic school, but now, I paid $218 for this site and I need to pay $30 (extension fee which my lawyer requested) plus $256 plus traffic school, which equals $504 plus traffic school.

    Thank you Off The Record for wasting my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lawyer did not show up in court

    • By Daniel T.,
    • Louisiana,
    • Feb 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Unfortunately, I did not have a good experience with them, as the designated lawyer did not show up in court and I had to go on my own because also she did nor reply for over a month.

    Of course Off The Record did not return money either.

    Bad luck. Consider it for tour case.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible experience

    • By Seth D.,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Sep 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    So my case took about six months as the lawyer kept pushing back the trial for reasons unbeknownst to me. Once the case was over, the lawyer claimed that he was able to reduce the ticket to a non-moving violation resulting in zero points, but the same fine.

    Cool, the points were what concerned me. I check my GA MVR report a few days later and see I was found guilty on the original charge with 3 points. I follow up with Off The Record and go back and forth with the lawyer.

    They finally issued me a refund, but will only issue it to the original card I paid with - a card I canceled about 5 months prior to the refund. I ask Off The Record if they will provide a different refund method; the answer is no.

    Long story short, they claim they sent the refund back to the original card and I need to contact the issuer to get my money back. Problem is, I don't know if it was a Chase or Citi card; so I contact both and neither have a record of receiving a credit from OTR.

    TL;DR: I did not get my fine or points reduced, and I did not get a refund. Scam company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Better off without their services

    • By Ernest Y.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Eight months later, I ended up paying the fine, plus their charge, which was roughly equivalent to the fine. Plus extension fees and Traffic School.

    What a waste of time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not sure what I paid for here

    • By Sarah F.,
    • New York,
    • Jun 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am not sure what I paid for here. I got a ticket for "improper cell phone use" that carried a $150 fine and 5 points on my license. I have an otherwise clean record and haven't had a ticket in at least 5 years. I paid Off The Record and it seems like all they provided was a body in court. Full fine and all the points. What a waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Off The Record lost my case and didn’t refund me

    • By Bader A.,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Aug 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Off The Record lost my case and never refunded me despite saying they would. I have contacted them repeatedly to no avail. They ignore messages and do not respond to queries. They are bad lawyers and dishonest.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible business

    • By Hector R.,
    • CALIFORNIA,
    • Feb 26, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Terrible! This business is a complete joke! Absolutely do not trust this business. I'll explain; I received a speeding ticket. I was doing 89 mph on a 65-mph freeway. That calculates to 24 mph over the speed limit. If the speed is under 25 mph, you qualify for traffic school, I know that already. The fine for the infraction was $367, and an option to take traffic school for $59, for a total of $426. The lawyer that went to court for me, did a crap job, because I was still found guilty and the court is now charging me $461. I contacted Off The Record to establish getting my refund and was told that I do not qualify for a refund because I received the option of traffic school. I tried arguing that I already had the option of traffic school and the lawyer did not earn it. Off The Record argued back saying that the lawyer did earn me traffic school because traffic school isn't guaranteed. What a total crock! So, I lost the $200 Off The Record fee and not have to pay the courts $461, for a grand total of $661! I could've only paid $426 and been done.

    Also, if Off The Record comes back and says "once you make the option to fight a ticket, you waive the right to traffic school." They can shove it! All the lawyer did is keep asking for extensions for the court date. I filed with Off The Record on July 31, 2019, the lawyer pushed this to February 6, 2020. I received a letter from the County on July 20, 2019 stating that I qualify for traffic school. Being an experienced lawyer, he could've told me that the ticket was a wash and that he had no real tactics to fight it and that I would be better off paying the fine that they gave me along with traffic school. Nope, they stole $200 from me.

    I urge everyone reading this to not do business with Off The Record. If I could attach all the documentation I have to this review, I would; to prove what I ask stating is 100% real and accurate.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ticket lowered to half and no point on my record

    • By Raul M.,
    • Santa Clarita, CA,
    • Oct 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Good company, my ticket was lowered to half and no point on my record.

    The only bad thing is that it took like 6 months to get resolved.

    We paid around $250 for the service, so it was like paying for half of the ticket, and I believe it is worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • It's a scam

    • By Dave E.,
    • Texas,
    • Oct 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Do not use this service, it's a scam. This is supposed to be their number, 8446872946, but if you have problems, they do not answer. I repeat, DO NOT use this SERVICE. It's a scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great end-to-end service

    • By Andrey S.,
    • New York, NY,
    • Dec 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Great, simple, fully managed service. "Fire and forget" style. You send the ticket photo, you get your case dealt with. Very convenient. Got ticket reduced from 4 points to 0. Would definitely use again (I hope I will not have to though).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible service

    • By Manny M.,
    • New York,
    • Jan 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The lawyer didn’t even attempt to fight it all the way. They took my case only to let me know after that the jurisdiction doesn’t reduce speed or fines because of judge's orders. Also, I did not get a refund as promised. Get a lawyer the traditional way.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Alec L.,
    • Oregon,
    • Jun 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If you want to pay more for your ticket and be abused by customer support, then I highly recommend this service!

    I had to pay $150 more using this service. They called it a success because they were able to get me traffic school in California. I live in Oregon. We don't have a points system in Oregon.

    They also claimed I am not eligible for a refund because they successfully litigated my case. Even though the outcome is clearly within the bounds of their money back guarantee.

    Avoid at all cost.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam, scam, stay away from these thieves!

    • By Julio F.,
    • California,
    • Jun 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I paid $279 for the service from Off The Record. They are a complete scam. Stay away. They took my money and did not provide the service. In the fine print, they state that if we do not win your case but we manage to get you traffic school we keep the money. In my case, they kept promising me to win the case of refunding me the money. Before paying for their service I had traffic school. They said they went to court for me and lost an easy case. They would not refund me the money because they got me traffic school which is a fine print in the contract. Beware and stay away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great service!

    • By Steven M.,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jul 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I got a speeding ticket doing 77mph in a 60mph zone on a night where I thought I'd be kind and drive my drunk friend home - this was a $189 ticket.

    I used Off The Record and they got my ticket reduced to a non-moving violation of $85, which is a win for me not being on my record and doesn't affect my insurance.

    I have to say I was one of the people that weren't sure about this service but it really does work great! Plus they offer you a money-back guarantee if they don't get it reduced, so what do you have to lose?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Beyond useless

    • By Ray E.,
    • Tampa, FL,
    • Aug 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was given a speeding ticket that I could have just paid, but instead, I hired Off The Record. Instead of fighting it, the attorney made a deal with the crooks of the government and returned a "Withheld Adjudication" which is just fancy speak for still paying the government the same amount, plus now it goes on my record for 2 years, it is pretty much the same as pleading guilty as is the "no contest" plea. Anyone about to go through this mess, I would say fight it yourself or hire your own attorney that actually wants to put up a fight. Another option is to look up marcstevens.net and order his packet to fight the jurisdiction of the ticket (before you enter any plea). I read the reviews that said the same thing I am saying but I didn't listen, and now the same exact thing happened.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 345

Write a Review for Off The Record!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Off The Record