About Old Republic Home Protection

Founded in 1974 and based out of San Ramon, CA, Old Republic Home Protection provides comprehensive home warranty plans for the repair or replacement of major in-home systems. The company claims to be focused on customer satisfaction, and on being your “home warranty company for a lifetime.”

Even though Old Republic Home Protection has 701 closed complaints with the Better Business Bureau over the past three years, they still maintain an A+ rating. From a customer satisfaction standpoint, the company appears to have an overwhelmingly negative reputation, with the most common complaints citing contractors who are only concerned about getting their Trade Call Fee, as well as poor customer service.

Old Republic Home Protection Plans, Pricing, & Refund Policy

Similar to American Home Shield, Old Republic Home Protection sells a variety of home protection plans intended to provide parts, repair, and replacement coverage for some of the most common types of losses. Unlike AHS though, Old Republic’s home protection plans are covered on a “named peril”—versus “all risk”—basis. In other words, if something isn’t specifically listed in your Old Republic contract, it isn’t covered.

As the third largest national home warranty company, Old Republic Home Protection provides coverage in close to 30 states across the U.S., and pricing can vary by location. When performing our research, we chose Old Republic’s home state of California, and based our quote on a property less than 5,000 sqft, and that was a resale (e.g. not new construction).

Plans, all of which include a $60 Trade Call Fee, are as follows:

  • Standard – $275.00/year – Includes coverage for specific portions of your heating, plumbing, and electrical systems, including some appliances.
  • Ultimate Protection with A/C – $175.00/year – Everything included in the Standard package, with expanded coverage for in-home systems.
  • Ultimate Protection – No A/C - Includes Kitchen Refrigerator - $375.00/year – Same as above, without coverage for your A/C system, but with coverage for your kitchen refrigerator.
  • Platinum Protection with A/C – $450.00/year - Everything included in the Standard package, with expanded coverage for in-home systems.
  • Platinum Protection – No A/C - Includes Kitchen Refrigerator - $450.00/year - Everything included in the Platinum package, without coverage for your A/C system, but with coverage for your kitchen refrigerator.

Whichever plan you choose, you’ll also have the ability to add additional coverage for your A/C system (if not already included), swimming pool and spa equipment, roof leaks, septic tanks, and more. For a complete rundown of all programs and coverages, please click here.

All Old Republic polices last for 12 months, and will need to be manually renewed in order to continue coverage. However, rates are constantly fluctuating, so don’t be surprised to see your premium increase, even if you haven’t filed any claims. According to the company’s website, as your home’s major systems age, the likelihood of a malfunction increases, therefore necessitating an increase in your premium. In layman’s terms, this means that your first year’s premium will likely be your lowest, and will increase most years thereafter.

How Old Republic Home Protection Works

After deciding which Old Republic Home Protection plan works for you and completing your purchase, your coverage will go into effect. If one of your covered systems malfunctions, you’ll need to complete a 24/7 service request by calling the company directly at (800) 972-5985, or by submitting a request through their website. Unlike American Home Shield, it appears Old Republic Home Protection offers emergency service, should something malfunction outside of normal business hours.

Similar to American Home Shield, however, Old Republic Home Protection uses independent contractors that have been “carefully screened to meet our stringent service standards.” Once the contractor arrives at your home, you’ll be required to pay them the standard $60 Trade Call Fee, at which point they’ll assess the cause of the problem. Once found, and if it is something that’s covered under your specific Protection Plan, work will begin.

Like many other home warranty companies, there are hundreds of online complaints stating that contractors hired by Old Republic Home Protection are “bottom of the barrel.” In other words, they appear to be most interested in collecting their fee and moving on to the next customer, regardless of whether or not your problem was solved. It’s also important to note that Old Republic considers a claim “closed” if past 30 days. This means that even if the same problem reoccurs in the same part of a system that was previously repaired, you will be responsible for another Trade Call Fee. This has led many consumers to the conclusion that contractors have even less incentive to perform proper repairs.

Pros:

  • In business for more than 40 years.
  • Third largest national home warranty company, and operates in almost 30 states.
  • Several different plans that provide varying levels of coverage.
  • Claim to provide only high-quality contractors that are focused on customer satisfaction.

Cons:

  • Original rate is considered “introductory,” and will almost certainly increase upon renewal—even if you’ve never made a claim.
  • Coverage is provided on a named perils basis, which can be more confusing and restrictive than all-risk policies.
  • Almost all online complaints cite contractors who were more interested in getting paid than solving the underlying problem.
  • Many customers have expressed frustration after making numerous calls for the same problem, only to be subjected to Trade Call Fees each time.

Read 19 Old Republic Home Protection Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  18
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 19
Sort reviews by:

  • WORST EVER

    • By Ryan W.,
    • Auburn, GA,
    • Jan 7, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had them check our heat since it went out in late December (low 30s at night).

    He finally showed up after 3 days only to tell me the entire "zoning board was out and the warranty won't cover it." You know my unit is only 8 years old...so I tried to fix it myself and paid hundreds to fix it myself on Amazon. Paid hundreds...couldn't fix it. Called a legit company and they told me it was the fuse. They replaced it and left. $75 later I can't wait to replace them. NEVER AGAIN. Happy New Year from my New Years' party from the warm house.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Completely unacceptable service

    • By Jordan G.,
    • Laguna Niguel, CA,
    • Jan 2, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am extremely frustrated and disappointed with Old Republic's service.

    Renewed my policy online for the 3rd year in a row and continued my Ultimate coverage plus AC. My original policy when I purchased the home included roof repair coverage.

    Upon renewing, I was never given an option to add or remove the roof coverage, so I assumed it was included.

    Come rainy season, my roof has a leak. "No problem," I think to myself, "my home warranty will cover it!" Oh, how wrong I was.

    See, their online system is buggy, meaning it NEVER gave me the option to either select or deselect coverage for roof repairs. It made it seem as if it was rolled into my Ultimate protection.

    NOPE. They inform me that just because THEIR system didn't inform me of the coverage THEY provide, I am out of luck.

    But OF COURSE, they would be happy to add the coverage back on AFTER I get the roof repaired out of pocket.

    This is a very shady way of doing business. I hope someone from the company reads this and helps me rectify the problem ASAP. I am one unhappy customer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst warranty company!

    • By Felita G.,
    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Sep 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    If I could've submitted this with no stars, I would. The warranty came under the condo I purchased, so I have no choice but to use them until the term runs out. I am currently experiencing problems with my AC not staying cool in my home. I've placed numerous work orders with Old Republic, have AC technicians come fix it. The AC is 19 years old and I was told that it should be replaced but Old Republic refuses to replace the inside unit because to them "it still works", even though it is not cooling my home. I've expressed to them how hot it's been in my home and that I have a pet. Old Republic just keeps sending technicians to come replace parts but not the unit itself. This is the worst warranty protection to have.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Useless

    • By April B.,
    • Surprise, AZ,
    • Aug 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Useless! The AC is under manufacturer warranty so you cover nothing...I paid the service call fee and never even got a quote for repair! Simply it is not covered! I managed to get ahold of someone and was told you "might" cover labor not covered by the manufacturer. Total repair bill $1700 (manufacturer covered the part), PLUS an additional $75 service call fee, which never even got me a quote! To date, no one will return my calls!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Drainage clean out

    • By Julia B.,
    • Texas,
    • Oct 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called them and they assured me that they would take care of the problem. It took all day long, at least 10 hours, before the plumber showed up. Once he showed up, the first thing he asked me was "have you paid the trade call fee," so I went, called his office and paid the fee with my debit card. He stayed another 10 minutes just to tell me that he could not help me, got back in his truck with his helper, and left.

    I want a refund, I want my money back. He left me without any water, my sinks, my toilets were all clogged, he didn't even try to help me.

    Old Republic, you got to do better, or Old Republic, you got to do better than this. I've been with you now for almost 10 years and paying you faithfully. For your customers that are faithful to you, you need to be faithful to them. Look at your plans and raise your standards of business.

    This is not even worth a rating, I give you zero stars. You let me down. It was raining...46-degree weather...I get it, you should not have lead me to think you would repair and not keep your word. I am very disappointed.

    Your plumbing services suck...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No, no, just no!

    • By Carol R.,
    • Thibodaux, LA,
    • Sep 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a warranty in 2016 for my 12-year-old home. I was having no issues but thought I'll probably have to start replacing things eventually. Please note that I live alone and take excellent care of my home but at some point, things are just going to give out.

    2017: On a Wednesday, I discovered my water heater was leaking. I immediately called ORHP. They told me someone would be sent that day. Nope. I called back and then received an email, not even a phone call, that they do not have any plumbers in my area. I was told to go on my own and find a plumber. I had one come on Friday. He informed me that it couldn't be fixed (I already knew that), he quoted me a price to replace it. ORHP informed me that it probably wouldn't be approved until sometime the following week. I explained that the tank was leaking and could burst. I pointed out that they had my money and now I was being penalized because they didn't have service people in my area! They did approve it that day and I paid for everything and received my reimbursement in about a week. At that time, I asked them if this was going to be standard or if they had actual service people in my area. Oh, no, they assured me they had people in the area. Again; NOPE!

    I renewed my policy in September 2017.

    2018: South Louisiana, June...temps in the triple digits. A/C seems to be struggling, the house is pretty darn warm, and A/C is not shutting off. I made that call to ORHP. No problem, they are sending someone right out. Nope. Yes, that word will be used a lot during this review. I called them the next day and then received an email (again) saying they really don't have anyone in my area, go ahead and call someone and we'll automatically approve anything up to $500. Okay, this is looking like just a slight aggravation. Nope.

    I called an A/C company who came out and informed me that the unit had multiple issues because of the age and needed to be replaced. Uh, oh, I knew the real fun was about to begin. Another one-hour phone call to ORHP. I was then told to send an estimate and they needed to speak to the technician. He spent an hour on the phone and even sent pictures. One week and multiple phone calls later...hey, I have (you guessed it!), another email! This one stated that they won't cover the type of unit the A/C company sells, they will only cover Goodman, Lennox or Carrier as replacements. Wait, what? Another one-hour phone call.

    Me: "You knew from day one what kind of units the company uses. Why did you wait a week to give me this info?"

    ORHP: "That's the way it is. Start over with a new company; it's too much money."

    Enter A/C company #2. The unit must be replaced, it can't be fixed. Here are three quotes; one unit (the least expensive) is almost identical to the first quote; the second unit, higher than all the others; third unit in the middle. The A/C company is on the phone for an hour with ORHP. By now, I know they are definitely stalling. I speak to a rep who informs me that they will not pay for a secondary drip pan (just keep the old ne that is rusted out), and they will not pay to flush the lines. Seriously? I asked where does it say that flushing the lines is not covered? His response? "Do you need me to read your policy for you?"

    Okay, now I'm about as fed up as I can get. I responded, "I have the policy in my hands, I actually read very well and nowhere does it state that line flush is not covered." He then tells me that I have a standard policy, not a premium policy. Nope. I totally paid for a premium, and regardless, either policy does not state that line flush is not covered.

    At this point, I do not wish to speak to this man again, so I ask for a supervisor who informs me that the only thing not covered is the drip pan. So that's $40, and I'll pay that, no problem. Well, nope. It's not that easy because you see, this still has to be approved. So while I thought I couldn't get more frustrated, I actually could.

    After phone calls EVERY DAY to ORHP for over one week, they finally agreed to pay. Not for the cheapest unit, mind you, but for the unit, that was the same price as the original quote! That process took two full weeks.

    Did I finally get my new A/C? Yes. Did I get my reimbursement? Yes. Will I deal with them again? NOPE! That's probably a good thing because today (come on, guess!) I received an email! This one was telling me they will not renew my policy. I really don't think I'll be crying myself to sleep over that email!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst customer service ever

    Me and my husband purchased our home 7 months ago. We purchased a home that was built in 1976, so it was important for us to have a home warranty. My mom is a real estate agent and had sold thousands of warranties with Old Republic.

    About 2 months ago we woke up one morning and our house was almost 80 degrees and not cooling off. We have a 6-month-old baby (4 months old at the time), so we immediately called Old Republic to request that someone come and look at our AC unit. It was a Saturday morning, and we were told no one could help us until Monday, even after informing them we had a 4-month-old child living in our home.

    It took us almost a week to get anyone out to our home, and the first company they sent didn't even do HVAC. They were a handyman company. Once we showed how frustrated we were, they allowed us to have our own HVAC person come out.

    Fast forward, we have now had 3 different HVAC specialists at our home and 2 certified electricians. We have determined that our AC unit is pulling a lot more power then it should, which is causing it to trip our breaker. Old Republic just keeps trying to send out additional technicians every time we call. They won't give us a straight answer, and just keep telling us they have to send out a new person. We've had 5 different people out a total of 6 times, and they still want to keep sending out individuals. Despite the fact that they have been told if we replaced the unit it would stop tripping the breaker. Old Republic refuses to do anything until someone can tell them what is making it do that. But no one can figure it out.

    Now we are so beyond frustrated, it has been almost 2 months, and we need this issue fixed before it causes additional issues. So we are now paying the $2500 to replace our unit, even though we have a home warranty in place. Not to mention every time I've called their company the people I talk to tell me I am wrong and I don't know what I'm talking about. They are rude, refuse to let me talk to a manager, and tell me I'm impossible to work with. I'm pretty sure letting 5 individuals come to my home over and over again is being pretty patient.

    I would NEVER recommend anyone ever use this company. I can not believe the level of terrible customer service we have received.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Garbage

    • By Kyle C.,
    • Arizona,
    • Jun 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Absolute garbage. I had my A/C unit go out on a weekday at 8 p.m. I called and was told I will get an on-call person to come out. No call was made to me. No one came out.

    I called again at 5:01 am the next morning and was told they have assigned a company and they open at 7:00 am and will contact me ASAP. I had to call them at 7:30 and was told they will come out the NEXT DAY between 6:00-8:00 pm. Wow, okay, well, I'll get someone else to come out then.

    I called Old Republic back and got a voicemail stating if the time-frame is not good enough to schedule a third party come out and please call if it's over $500. I hung up, called a local A/C company and they were able to come out within a few hours. Later that day Old Republic called me stating that they have someone else that can come that day. This is after I already scheduled someone else and took my time off work to get this done. I went through the process, the cost was $665, I called Old Republic, and they said they don't know the cost but will contact me ASAP with the reimbursement.

    It comes to today, 11 days after everything, and no call (obviously), so I called them to get the information that a check is being sent for $137. I argued with them with the fact that they never contacted me back about having someone that can do it that day until after they told me I had to get someone myself to get it done today. Over the phone they even told me well, I could have canceled with the third party once we told you we had someone for you. Are you joking me? Why would I cancel with a company that has this crap together and will actually come out to my house ASAP when its 111 degrees F outside compared to a company that will randomly hire someone who said they will come in two days? Looking up the parts that were replaced for my A/C are over $250 by themselves.

    This company is a joke among all other home warranties. I will be waiting for a manager to contact me back about this (holding my breath) to see if they will make this right.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not there for you when you REALLY need them

    • By Sara C.,
    • Niceville, FL,
    • May 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have held onto Old Republic coverage anticipating the day our pool equipment would finally break. Well, old age and wear and tear hit and lo and behold, Old Republic sent out a "technician" who couldn't even be bothered looking into our equipment far enough to see what the problem was. He gave a bogus cause and left. We called Old Republic and asked for another technician to be sent out which they refused.

    Needless to say, when you finally need a $2500 piece of equipment replaced, Old Republic refuses to honor their warranty. They just lost a customer who has faithfully spent over $1,200/year for 5 years in coverage fees as we won't renew our contract with them next month. Shame on you, Old Republic.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total scam

    I filed a claim. The first 5 people I spoke with said it was covered. After tons of work and finding a tradesman to quote and deal with them, they received the bill and suddenly it wasn't covered. They lie and cheat. Feds need to investigate their practices. Not the first time this has happened to them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Paid my bill in full, then they charged me more after the fact, TWICE!

    I had a problem with my pool. Old Republic sent someone out to fix it. Of course, that part wasn't under warranty. The repairman said it is with several other companies, but not this one. So I had to pay out of pocket about $200 for a fuze instead of a $60 trade call. I asked multiple times if this was everything I owed. Did this include my trade call fee? They told me yes.

    Months later I get collection notices from Old Republic telling me I owe a trade call fee! I explained the situation and told them I have the receipt they still told me I have to pay. So I paid $60 over the phone. Three days later they sent me another letter saying I owe $85! I called and asked why?! She said she sees I paid the $60 but now I owe a $25 collection fee! The only letter I got stating it was from a collection company was the last letter, dated AFTER I already paid the bill that I don't believe I owed in the first place!

    I told the lady I had just paid the bill! When I called, why didn't they take the $85 then? This is now twice they have come after me for more money AFTER I have already paid in full! On top of it, it was a fuze! It should have been $20 total. So I asked her "How do I know if I pay this bill that they won't come after me again asking for more?"

    It's disgusting! I did not pay the extra $25 because there was no supervisor to speak with. I trusted the last two people I paid, and they keep gouging me. Supposedly, a supervisor will call me back, but she told me the supervisor is still going to make me pay.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 19

Write a Review for Old Republic Home Protection!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Old Republic Home Protection