About Opendoor

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: May 10, 2019

With more than 40,000 satisfied customers, Opendoor helps you buy, sell or trade-in your home without the hassle of putting it on the market. By purchasing your home from you, Opendoor aims to eliminate the uncertainty of a traditional home sale and provide you with complete control over your moving timeline. Their selling process can be summed up in three steps:

  1. Enter your home’s details to get an offer.
  2. Schedule a free home assessment.
  3. Close and get paid.

It certainly seems like Opendoor has dramatically simplified the home selling and buying process, as claimed on their website. But does that mean they’re the right option for you? We’ll help you come to an informed conclusion, starting with how it works.

How Does the Opendoor Selling Process Work?

As we mentioned a few seconds ago, Opendoor features a three-step process.

1. Requesting an Offer

To request an offer on your home, you’ll start by entering your address on Opendoor’s home page. The company currently buys and sells homes in 20 major cities in the United States, including Atlanta, Las Vegas, Orlando, San Antonio, Portland and Los Angeles.

From there, you’ll input different details about your home (e.g., number of beds/baths, square footage, the condition of kitchen/baths/backyard, renovations, etc.), which shouldn’t take more than a few minutes.

Opendoor's team of real estate experts will then review comparable home sales in your area, market data, and the unique information you provided to send you a no-obligation offer within 24 hours.

The company isn’t a house-flipper, and they don't buy distressed homes. In fact, they’re fairly particular about what types of homes they buy. Here’s what we learned about their criteria from their website (note that criteria differ based on location):

  • Single-family homes
  • Townhomes
  • Duplexes (certain markets)
  • Condos (certain markets)
  • Homes in age-restricted and gated communities (certain markets)
  • Homes that are site-built (not pre-fabricated or mobile)
  • Homes located in our service areas
  • Homes in which the seller has clear ownership of the property (no double escrow)
  • Homes built after 1960
  • Generally, homes where their valuation is between $100K and $500K (range differs by market)
  • Homes that sit on a maximum of a half an acre of land (in some markets, limit is 1 or 1.5 acres)
  • Homes that are not in or near flood zones
  • Homes that are owner-occupied or vacant, not leased, at the time of closing
  • Homes that don’t have any un-permitted additions or significant foundation issues
  • Homes that have a solar lease that was pre-paid prior at or prior to closing
  • Homes that do not have polybutylene plumbing
  • Homes that do not have Masonite woodruff roofs

2. Accepting the Offer

If, after reviewing your offer and associated fees, you decide to accept, Opendoor will schedule a free home assessment. The company will send out a team of its own employees and independent contractors to “verify the condition of your home and identify any repairs that need to be addressed before closing,” including structural, exterior, roofing, plumbing, electrical, insulation and ventilation, and HVAC systems.

If any repair needs are identified during this step, you’ll have the option to complete them yourself, or the company can handle the work and deduct the costs from your net proceeds at closing.

3. Closing Process

After everything has been finalized with the offer and the assessment, Opendoor tells us that they’re ready to sign your contract when you are.

During this process, you’ll be able to choose your closing date (within 10 and 60 days) and Opendoor will handle the rest. You’ll need to have one final walk-through the day before closing in order to verify everything’s in the same condition, and all your belongings have been moved out.

In the meantime, Opendoor will open an escrow account with a national title company, and you’ll need to sign your closing documents. If necessary, a mobile notary can meet you where it’s most convenient.

From there, you’ll be able to get paid in a matter of days. After moving out, Opendoor handles any repairs and gets the home listed and ready for the buyer.

How Does Opendoor’s App Make the Home Buying Process Different?

If you’re looking to buy instead of sell (or perhaps even both, which we’ll talk more about next), Opendoor owns hundreds of homes for sale in the markets where they operate, including those that have yet to hit the market, which can be browsed 24 hours a day on their website and companion iOS and Android app.

Like the site, the app allows home shoppers to view for-sale homes and filter their search by the number of bedrooms and bathrooms, along with the price. App users can also view photos of the homes, save their favorite properties, and receive instant updates.

Most importantly, the app provides buyers with instant access to any of the company's listings between 6 a.m. and 9 p.m., seven days a week, without requiring an appointment. Basically, it acts as a key to your very own open house.

OpenDoor App ScreenshotsUsing a map-based approach, the Opendoor iOS and Android app allows users to search for residential real estate in different markets, view property details, and remotely schedule in-person visitsю

If you find a home you’re interested in, you can get directions through the app, and even speak with an Opendoor Home Advisor for additional information. Once you’ve decided to move forward, a dedicated team member will “work with you from offer to move-in.”

Opendoor’s Trade-In Offer and Mortgage Services

If you’d like to sell your existing home to Opendoor and also purchase any listing on the market in a single transaction, you can opt for their Trade-In service. Here, they align the closing dates of your sale and purchase, allowing you to move only once and carry only one mortgage at a time.

Trade-Ins customers can finance with one of Opendoor’s preferred lending partners, or work with Opendoor Mortgage, an affiliated mortgage brokerage available in certain markets. According to Opendoor Mortgage, customers can get pre-qualified in less than 30 minutes, and can also save one percent off their closing costs.

To learn more about trading in a home with Opendoor, a representative can be reached at tradein@opendoor.com or (888)856-2243.

How Much Does Opendoor Cost?

Requesting an offer from Opendoor is completely free. Even after your home is assessed, you can walk away without penalty or charge.

According to Opendoor’s pricing comparison page, the average seller will pay a 6.7% fee for the transaction. That said, Opendoor’s service charge could fall anywhere between six and 12 percent, which could cancel out some, or all, of these potential savings.

The company offers a 30-day satisfaction guarantee, which stipulates, “If you don't love your home for any reason, [they’ll] buy it back.”

What Can We Learn From Online Customer Feedback for Opendoor?

On their website, more than 50 Opendoor customers had given the company an average rating of 4.8 stars at the time of our research, with many referencing ease of use, speed, fair pricing, and strong customer support.

We found similar ratings and feedback on sites like Google My Business for their Dallas and Phoenix offices.

More than 120 HighYa readers had given Opendoor an average rating of 3.5 stars, and the company had responded directly to complaints.

Between iTunes and Google Play, we encountered well over 100 reviews for Opendoor’s apps, with an average rating of about four stars. Many seemed to appreciate how it allows instant access to any of the company’ listings, as well as its ease of use.

On the other hand, frequent complaints referenced glitches, along with limited market availability. Again, in many instances, a company representative responded to these in an effort to find a resolution.

The company held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on more than 125 customer reviews and two closed complaints at the time of publishing.

Our Final Thoughts About Opendoor

It’s clear that Opendoor has a lot to offer customers, including unique buying and selling services, a mobile app that provides customers with personal open houses, lending partnerships and financing options, competitive pricing, and a 30-day buy-back guarantee on every home they sell.

If you’re on the fence about using their services, obtaining an offer online and/or downloading the Opendoor app are both completely free. So, whether you’re thinking about selling your home or purchasing a new one, you might not have more to lose than a few minutes of your time for giving them a try.

Just keep in mind that Opendoor’s services are currently only available in 20 metropolitan regions. And, even if you live in one of these areas, remember the company has some fairly stringent eligibility criteria, so not every home will qualify.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 134 Opendoor Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 65 4 star: 7 3 star: 2 2 star: 11 1 star:  49
Bottom Line: 54% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 134
Sort reviews by:

  • 52 out 56 people found this review helpful

    Watch out for the opportunistic algorithm.

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jun 28, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Part of their proprietary algorithm seems to be a penalty for not accepting their offer.

    The initial offer I requested out of curiosity, and the number price was actually fair, but I disagreed with their market risk percentage (4.5%).

    So I talked to the agent, forwarded a dozen pictures to show the house was ready (actually planning to list in the next few days) to see if the offer would increase, or the market risk would go down. The second offer came back, $6k less on the offer and market risk raised to 5% (this was inside of 2 days).

    Fast forward, my house has been on the market a few weeks, and I noticed that my estimated value on Zillow had gone up by about $20k from when we had listed based on comps. Since Opendoor's offer was pretty close to what Zillow had estimated initially, I figured if their offer scaled with Zillow, then even with their 'market risk' percentage, it was actually within the range of what I'd consider an acceptable offer. So I submitted for an offer again. (This was a Saturday). I waited and hadn't heard anything by Monday morning, so I submitted again.

    Finally, today, I received two offers, 6 hours apart. Each was about $6k less than the one before, and each had about .5% increase in market risk, so despite the market value improving, their offer decreased by about $18k, and market risk went from a high 4.5% to 6%. Dropping $6k in value and 0.5% increase in Market Risk within 6 hours.

    So if you get an offer, and are on the fence at first, just know that if you come back later, they're going to take advantage of your desperation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 41 out 45 people found this review helpful

    NEVER use this company!

    All of the good reviews are made up from people who work at Opendoor. They are the worst. They take 8%-12% fees! That's twice as much as what realtors take, and realtors are much better than Opendoor. No one can replace an agent. Just no one.

    I can't even begin to tell you how awful Opendoor is. They wrote me an offer for $70k under the market price. I didn't accept, and then I put my house on the market for $85k more, and it went under contract in three days. A friend of mine used Opendoor to buy a property, and they told her everything was fixed and repaired with no issues. She still got her own inspector and they found SO many issues, including issues with the things they said they fixed. She backed out immediately.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 15, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      We know you have a lot of options when it comes to selling your home, and we’re sorry to hear that our fees were higher than you were expecting.

      For more information about our fees, you can visit the fee page below - https://www.opendoor.com/w/faq/what-does-it-cost-to-sell-to-opendoor/.

      Please know that we’re actively working on ways to lower our fees and pass savings along to our customers. We truly appreciate your feedback and we are glad to hear you were able to sell your home in a timely manner on your own. Good luck with your next chapter!


  • 38 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Don't believe the price they offer you

    • Raleigh, NC,
    • May 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company comes across as a homeowner's dream. Do NOT believe this! After an inspection, they come up with ridiculous demands and outrageous prices to mitigate imagined problems. That initial price you offered is only a starting point and not to be believed. Don't waste your money making last-minute repairs because their list will be unreasonable. Take your chances on the open market; you will do much better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 15, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      At Opendoor we aim to offer market value for your home and take a service charge that enables us to provide a streamlined experience and world-class service from offer to closing. As part of this process, we work hard to ensure that our repair asks are transparent and fair to all of our customers.

      You can read more about the types of repairs we commonly ask for here:

      https://www.opendoor.com/blog/what-to-expect-from-opendoors-home-assessment-and-repair-process.

      Please feel free to direct message us if you believe we have overlooked something and we will be happy to take a look. Know that your feedback helps us to create an even better experience for all of our customers moving forward.


  • 37 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Low offer price and high fees

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jan 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received mail from Opendoor and I submitted details online. Their offer is 5-10% lower than the market price and overall the fee is 15% (including 6% broker fee, 6% service fee, etc.).

    It is not worth it to sell your home to Opendoor. Waste of time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 35 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Insulting offer

    • Georgia,
    • Dec 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My home appraised for $190K and they offered me $164K.

    A very insulting offer and a waste of my time. They even acknowledged that other homes in my subdivision sold for at least $180K with comps they disclosed with their miserable offer. A total epic fail!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 33 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Complete waste of time! Fraudulent inspections!

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Dec 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I scheduled a number of home inspections but was told that I would not need to be home during this process. Then, I learned that this requirement does not apply to my state. The inspectors spent less than two minutes on my roof, five minutes in my garage and two hours inside a condo that is less than 1,000 square feet. The lead inspector claimed he could not complete the inspection because of boxes blocking him, but he never mentioned it to me, and I was right there and eager to help! I was never informed of this problem until it was time for him to leave. He spent more time smoking on my patio and on his phone than in my place. I was told that a reinspection would need to be scheduled and that all contents would need to be removed, and that their original offer would be reduced by $10,000. In the meantime, I received two more offers by their competition, with moving assistance and additional perks. We are closing on a lovely OfferPad home today! The OfferPad staff was so kind, professional, and willing to negotiate a fair price without the lies, drama of Opendoor. Max, Mallory, and Sam from Opendoor - you are liars and crooks! God have mercy on you all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 3, 2019

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Didi,

      We are sorry for what sounds like a frustrating experience. Our team would like to take a look at what happened and make sure all issues are escalated and addressed by the proper teams. Please email community@opendoor.com with the address of the property and any additional feedback you would like to share.

    • Feb 6, 2019

      Pat V.

      This is not surprising. They were gonna look at buying my home in Vegas, but they were completely disorganized and didn't care about the homeowner at all. They just want to lowball sellers on a price and sell the house for as much profit as possible. I would never recommend them to anybody. Selling a house is a big deal and emotional, they make it out to be like you are just selling a car or a pair of tennis shoes.


  • 32 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Horrible experience

    • Temecula, CA,
    • Jan 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very happy to go into contract with Opendoor based on the reviews and advertising, however, I was severely blindsided by the assessment. The team of 10 descended on my home as if they had already owned the property. The roofer "expert" removed tiles from my roof and took pictures and did not replace the tiles removed. So, I had to call my homeowners insurance and file a claim. We had several days of rain. They were in my home for over three hours and moved and processed it as if it was a crime scene. Then on top of the 26 thousand upfront fee, they tried to charge me 21 thousand dollars for "repairs." They refused to negotiate anything, and now I have to pay for an attorney for the "assessment" process. They are criminals. Please save yourself and go with a realtor and reputable company. They're not reputable or honest.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 22, 2019

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Nancy,

      We apologize for what sounds like a frustrating experience. Would you be able to send an email to community@opendoor.com with more information so we can take a look at what happened here? Thank you!

    • Jan 23, 2019

      Nancy C.

      Talk to your employees and inspection team. Cliff Tubbs was the representative that I spoke with.

    • Jan 29, 2019

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Nancy,

      We've been able to connect with the team that completed the assessment. Our assessments are intended to be thorough but we do apologize if at any point you felt that our team was working outside of what made you feel comfortable. Please know that your feedback was circulated internally and prioritized as we continue to optimize the experience for buyers and sellers.


  • 34 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Run away when you see an Opendoor sale

    I was looking into buying a house in Arizona, and I didn't want to waste time. I saw a house with Opendoor on the door, and I accessed the house with their code. Note: They now had my contact information.

    I liked the house, and put in a CASH, full asking price offer with 21 days closing. It doesn't get better than that. We sent the offer over, and we got an acknowledgment back that the offer was received. We waited. And waited.

    The time period expired, and my realtor called Opendoor. They claimed they never got the offer. Then, they said they'd look into it and would submit a counter offer, and give us a slight price break (even $200 on a $358,000 house would have been thoughtful). Then, at the end of that day, we get an email ASKING US to re-write the exact offer, at the same price as the first offer. So much for them doing what is customary and writing a counter offer.

    Why are they doing this? I suspect that they are contacting others who texted them for the code and were shopping for a higher bidder. There is no other reasonable explanation. I walked away from it. No house is worth playing games. If you see Opendoor, walk away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 30 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Not a fair and honest experience

    All was good until I was waiting for the inspection report. They said 4-7 days, but I don’t see how that would work if we wanted to close in a few days like they offer. We knew the house needed some work, but nothing major. They estimate up to $8k, and received a repair list for $15k! They “say” they ask for necessary repairs, but charging $25 to tighten a bolt on the stairway railing and $20 to tighten a toilet screw seems totally crazy.

    So we fixed what we could since we were closing in a week, and Aubrey said all repairs were needed two days prior to signing, so clearly don’t want you to be able to fix stuff. And not to mention when I had questions about repairs. Aubrey had no clue how to answer them and had to check with her team every time, and that took forever. She even said she tries to respond to emails within 24 hours. That’s definitely not acceptable in this line of work when people are trying to move and make plans.

    The WORST part of it all is seeing that they DO NOT fix half of the items they list on the repair report you have to pay from your proceeds. A patio roof “needed” fixing, and they charged $2000 for that, which wasn’t done. T,hey charged $300 to replace a shower door, that was NOT done. $300 to fix windows that were NOT done. Seeing your “flipped” house posted on their website and realizing what kind of company they truly are is very frustrating. The work that was done was below average as well. I really feel sorry for the next buyer. PLEASE be cautious of this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 27, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Samantha,

      Thank you for your feedback. Our team has reached out to you to clarify and address your concerns. Please feel free to email us at community@opendoor.com if you have any other questions.

    • Feb 28, 2018

      Samantha Harris

      Yes. Someone contacted me Monday night to discuss this and listened to all my concerns. After, she told me that she would get back to me that night or the next morning. Of course, I'm still waiting for that phone call.

    • Jul 6, 2018

      Chris B.

      Probably the worst experience I have ever gone through/going through. This company has completely dragged out everything they possibly could on their end. They have two excuses, “we are upfront about a 24-48 hour response time”, and “keep in mind we are corporate”. It’s not my problem Opendoor that you are slow. This line of business needs speed. I wouldn’t recommend this company to my worst enemy and no way would I EVER do business with them again.

      Save yourself and don’t sell or buy from them. You will REGRET it.


  • 31 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Dissatisfied experience

    • Raleigh Durham, NC,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently purchased a home that Opendoor was selling. Opendoor does not follow through on due diligence items, lies about repairs that were deemed necessary, does not complete work they agreed to do, does not respond to realtor emails in a timely manner. Buying a home should be a wonderful experience. They did not close for me on time due to several errors on their part. I received deed five days after closing and repairs are still not made three weeks later. Opendoor is a complete disaster and I would never recommend using them to anyone, buyer or seller.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 3, 2019

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Barbara,

      Would you be able to email community@opendoor.com with more information? We would like to look into your issue further. Thank you!


  • 31 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Waste of time

    • Texas,
    • Nov 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sent me postal letter stating an offer range and interest in buying. I wasted time trading emails and providing information. They then made up some excuse and said not interested after the initial letter declaring otherwise. Find an agent or sell it yourself. Don't waste your time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 134

Write a Review for Opendoor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review