About Orbitrim

Billed as “the perfect solution for the perfect yard,” the Orbitrim is a metal grass trimmer blade that’s claimed to feature a patent pending safety ring to protect flowers and trees while you’re trimming.

In addition, Orbitrim is claimed to also make edging, trimming hedges, and cutting thick, heavy grass quick and simple, while easily attaching to most gas trimmers in seconds. As such, Orbitrim claims that their revolutionary design “makes caring for your yard easier than ever.”

But once you cut through all the marketing hype, is Orbitrim worth your hard-earned money? Consider the following:

Orbitrim’s Unique Design

While the Orbitrim Trimmer design is unlike anything we’ve reviewed before, based on the product’s commercial, it appears that you have to come over the top of the grass in order to cut it (versus trimming/edging in a side-to-side motion with traditional string trimmers), which could take some getting used to.

And until that time, it might take several passes to achieve the same result as your trust string trimmer. Even then, we could imagine that Orbitrim might consistently miss individual blades of grass, which could quickly become frustrating if you’re especially picky about the look of your lawn.

Who Might Benefit Most by Using the Orbitrim Trimmer?

Given this, we might think that Orbitrim is ideal for those who have small, compact yards with numerous flowerbeds and other sensitive plants, where traditional lawnmowers may not fit and string trimmers may easily damage sensitive vegetation. If you’re using Orbitrim on anything larger, we could imagine that the over-and-down motion could translate into added time, as well as extra wear and tear on your arms and wrists.

And if you were inclined to use Orbitrim on one part of your yard and a traditional string trimmer on the other, taking each head off and reattaching might waste more time than it saves.

What Happens When Orbitrim Needs to Be Sharpened?

We’re not informed what type of metal Orbitrim is crafted from, or how long you can reasonably expect its sharp edges to last.

However, once the time comes, Orbitrim’s outer “safety ring” might make the sharpening process more laborious.

No Customer Feedback for Orbitrim

Orbitrim was a very new product at the time of our research (URL registered March 2015) and didn’t have any online customer reviews available.

We did learn that the manufacturer is based out of Boynton Beach, FL, although they weren’t listed with the Better Business Bureau.

Orbitrim Pricing & Refund Policy

One Orbitrim trimming blade is priced at $19.95 plus $6.95 S&H, and comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges.

In addition, Orbitrim is claimed to come with a lifetime guarantee, even if the damage is your fault.

In order to request a refund or process a warranty claim, you’ll need to contact customer service at 561-739-8219.

Will Orbitrim Make Your Yard Work Easier?

Chopping to the point: Overall, it appears that the main benefits associated with Orbitrim are that you 1) don’t have to constantly replace string, and 2) that you won’t have to worry about damaging flowers and other plants. However, if you have anything other than a small yard with numerous shrubs and flowerbeds, the over-and-down motion necessary to use the Orbitrim—and the fact that you’ll need a socket to change it out—might not be worth the added effort.

For additional ideas on making your yard work easier this spring and summer, be sure to read our 5 Tips For Achieving the Greenest Grass on the Block article!


Read 54 Orbitrim Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 0 1 star:  53
Showing 1-11 of 54
Sort reviews by:

  • 173 out 179 people found this review helpful

    Orbitrim is a scam

    • New Jersey,
    • Jun 16, 2015

    I ordered Orbitrim trimmer more than a month ago. I got an order confirmation. I checked their website and there was no way to track the order except by calling them. Well that always ended up in me leaving a message and almost never getting a call back. One time I got in touch with their customer support and was told that I will be receiving the item by the end of the week. That week passed and there was no item. I called again several times and was finally lucky to get in touch with customer support. He told me that due to the wrong parts received, the item was not shipped. He gave me two choices: either to cancel the order or wait another six weeks. I obviously wanted to cancel and I told him I needed a cancellation confirmation email to which he agreed. Again, no email. After doing some research, I found another one of their websites and got their email address. IsSent an email for cancellation of the order and confirmation email. Almost after one day, I got the following message:

    This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification.

    THIS IS A WARNING MESSAGE ONLY.

    YOU DO NOT NEED TO RESEND YOUR MESSAGE.

    Delivery to the following recipients has been delayed.

    This clearly indicates that this is a fraud. All those who have placed an order please do something quickly to recover your money and apprehend these scum bags.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 98 out 105 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Yakima, WaA,
    • Aug 17, 2015

    I ordered an Orbitrim on 7/1/15. It is now 8/12/15, and it has not arrived.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 49 out 51 people found this review helpful

    Orbitrim

    • Greensburg, PA,
    • May 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product would not attach to my Craftsman trimmer. There is no threaded post on my trimmer to bolt the Orbitrim to. They say it works on almost any trimmer – not mine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 54 out 56 people found this review helpful

    Bad vibration

    The vibration was so bad I could hardly hold on to the weed eater. I removed it and put it back in the box to return it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 43 out 44 people found this review helpful

    Shipping is BS!

    After being hit for an extra $10 because Hawaii is the "red-headed stepchild" of the US, this DESPITE my ordering the 4-pack that states FREE SHIPPING. After they've had my money 4 days already, I get a note from FedEx telling me that it is finally on the way but it will take 20 days to get here! Why?

    I would say this Company is a SCAM SUPREME!!!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 44 out 45 people found this review helpful

    Misrepresented

    • Mason, MI,
    • May 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have 4 acres three of which is horse pasture and 1 is lawn/natural landscape. I took them at their word when they said this could be used in commercial applications. I have an Echo commercial trimmer with a straight shaft. I purchased the Delux stainless steel blade thinking this would last longer and be the best choice for my yard. I just got finished using it for about an hour and here are my results. It is so heavy I thought the trimmer was going to melt down. The shaft area was so hot you couldn't touch it. It put a very excessive load on my trimmer.

    Second, In the hour that I ran it, my trimmer used about twice as much gas. Next, It was so heavy and vibrates way to much. After 1 hour it almost killed me. If you've got regular little grass it may work fine but don't go after any weeds or tough grass, it won't cut it. As soon as I rest up and can use my arms again I'm pulling it off and putting back on the string. I wasted $35.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 51 out 51 people found this review helpful

    Safety hazard when it flies off trimmer like a saucer!

    • Crossville, TN,
    • May 25, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received this unit in early May 2016. I installed it on my Troy Built gas trimmer. I used it twice. It cut ok, but when I let go of the trigger, the motor would pulsate trying to slow down but the Orbitrim head would not slow at the same rate which caused the head to unscrew itself and fly off. Therefore, it was causing a real safety hazard!

    I think this idea needs to be rethought. I called in for a refund. Back to the string method (a lot safer).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 66 out 66 people found this review helpful

    Replacing my speedfeed head with an Orbitrim

    • OH,
    • May 25, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    What a joke. Paid $20 for this at K-mart and wished I would have given my money to the homeless! It wasn't bad installing, however it would barely cut warm butter. Decided to put my old head back on and that's when the PAIN started. The nut starting slipping inside the plastic and WOULD NOT loosen up. I got frustrated after 30 minutes and beat the HELL out of it. It did come off finally. Needless to say I can't return this piece of crap since I destroyed it. The only satisfaction I got from this is when I was beating it with a hammer. My suggestion is to buy a GOAT, they will do a better job.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 57 out 57 people found this review helpful

    Orbitrim sucks

    • Charleston, West Virginia,
    • May 25, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got this big piece of crap today, and it doesn't cut long weeds at all. The only thing it does well is throw grass in your face, I'm going to pack it up and send it back. I would rather fight with trimmer string, at least that works. I rate this a -10.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 41 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Does not work

    Bought this item thinking it would work. Installed it on Weed Eater Feather Lite trimmer. Made it heavier and the trimmer would not run, it was unbalanced. Tried to remove it from the trimmer head, the bolt housing is stripped and the bolt will not unscrew, cheap plastic. Save your money and buy a Rino trimmer head, same price, better results.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 49 out 50 people found this review helpful

    Not as advertised

    • Averill Park, NY,
    • Jun 2, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ordered online, but found that it was backordered until the end of June. I called and canceled my order, but not without a lot of double talk from the customer service person. I went to True Value and bought it. Put on my Homelite trimmer and it immediately sheared the driveline. It is very heavy and acts like a flywheel.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 54

Write a Review for Orbitrim!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review