About Orbitrim

Billed as “the perfect solution for the perfect yard,” the Orbitrim is a metal grass trimmer blade that’s claimed to feature a patent pending safety ring to protect flowers and trees while you’re trimming.

In addition, Orbitrim is claimed to also make edging, trimming hedges, and cutting thick, heavy grass quick and simple, while easily attaching to most gas trimmers in seconds. As such, Orbitrim claims that their revolutionary design “makes caring for your yard easier than ever.”

But once you cut through all the marketing hype, is Orbitrim worth your hard-earned money? Consider the following:

Orbitrim’s Unique Design

While the Orbitrim Trimmer design is unlike anything we’ve reviewed before, based on the product’s commercial, it appears that you have to come over the top of the grass in order to cut it (versus trimming/edging in a side-to-side motion with traditional string trimmers), which could take some getting used to.

And until that time, it might take several passes to achieve the same result as your trust string trimmer. Even then, we could imagine that Orbitrim might consistently miss individual blades of grass, which could quickly become frustrating if you’re especially picky about the look of your lawn.

Who Might Benefit Most by Using the Orbitrim Trimmer?

Given this, we might think that Orbitrim is ideal for those who have small, compact yards with numerous flowerbeds and other sensitive plants, where traditional lawnmowers may not fit and string trimmers may easily damage sensitive vegetation. If you’re using Orbitrim on anything larger, we could imagine that the over-and-down motion could translate into added time, as well as extra wear and tear on your arms and wrists.

And if you were inclined to use Orbitrim on one part of your yard and a traditional string trimmer on the other, taking each head off and reattaching might waste more time than it saves.

What Happens When Orbitrim Needs to Be Sharpened?

We’re not informed what type of metal Orbitrim is crafted from, or how long you can reasonably expect its sharp edges to last.

However, once the time comes, Orbitrim’s outer “safety ring” might make the sharpening process more laborious.

No Customer Feedback for Orbitrim

Orbitrim was a very new product at the time of our research (URL registered March 2015) and didn’t have any online customer reviews available.

We did learn that the manufacturer is based out of Boynton Beach, FL, although they weren’t listed with the Better Business Bureau.

Orbitrim Pricing & Refund Policy

One Orbitrim trimming blade is priced at $19.95 plus $6.95 S&H, and comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges.

In addition, Orbitrim is claimed to come with a lifetime guarantee, even if the damage is your fault.

In order to request a refund or process a warranty claim, you’ll need to contact customer service at 561-739-8219.

Will Orbitrim Make Your Yard Work Easier?

Chopping to the point: Overall, it appears that the main benefits associated with Orbitrim are that you 1) don’t have to constantly replace string, and 2) that you won’t have to worry about damaging flowers and other plants. However, if you have anything other than a small yard with numerous shrubs and flowerbeds, the over-and-down motion necessary to use the Orbitrim—and the fact that you’ll need a socket to change it out—might not be worth the added effort.

For additional ideas on making your yard work easier this spring and summer, be sure to read our 5 Tips For Achieving the Greenest Grass on the Block article!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 54 Orbitrim Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 0 1 star:  53
Showing 1-11 of 54
Sort reviews by:

  • 173 out 179 people found this review helpful

    Orbitrim is a scam

    • New Jersey,
    • Jun 16, 2015

    I ordered Orbitrim trimmer more than a month ago. I got an order confirmation. I checked their website and there was no way to track the order except by calling them. Well that always ended up in me leaving a message and almost never getting a call back. One time I got in touch with their customer support and was told that I will be receiving the item by the end of the week. That week passed and there was no item. I called again several times and was finally lucky to get in touch with customer support. He told me that due to the wrong parts received, the item was not shipped. He gave me two choices: either to cancel the order or wait another six weeks. I obviously wanted to cancel and I told him I needed a cancellation confirmation email to which he agreed. Again, no email. After doing some research, I found another one of their websites and got their email address. IsSent an email for cancellation of the order and confirmation email. Almost after one day, I got the following message:

    This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification.

    THIS IS A WARNING MESSAGE ONLY.

    YOU DO NOT NEED TO RESEND YOUR MESSAGE.

    Delivery to the following recipients has been delayed.

    This clearly indicates that this is a fraud. All those who have placed an order please do something quickly to recover your money and apprehend these scum bags.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 98 out 105 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Yakima, WaA,
    • Aug 17, 2015

    I ordered an Orbitrim on 7/1/15. It is now 8/12/15, and it has not arrived.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 91 out 95 people found this review helpful

    Keep your money.

    It does not work as advertised. Mine was grey and not black and a smaller ball underneath. A hint of things to come. The outer ring has a hollow slot all the way around it. It collects up debris and becomes heavier and out of balance. Worst of all, the blades must be sharpened with a file, A LOT!

    Debris gathers up in the blade and ring corners and it stops the cutting efficiency no matter how much you sharpen the blade the grass balls up in the corners. It becomes very heavy and your trimmer motor will struggle to spin it at full speed. The outer ring will scratch your lawn furniture or what ever it spins against.

    There is no return policy. When I called the phone number, there is only order options. This $36.90 is bound for the trash can.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 91 out 92 people found this review helpful

    Dangerous

    • Minnesota ,
    • Nov 1, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the Orbitrim, thought it would be wonderful for weeding around our small trees. There was difficulty attaching it to our trimmer, but finally got it running. The Orbitrim worked great for short grasses but not at all for anything tall, had to try and cut from the top.

    Yesterday it started vibrating and the next thing I knew, a section of the ring flew off. We searched for quite some time and finally found the section bent and twisted.

    Ring is just formed material, not solid. Someone could have been injured if hit by this piece of metal.

    This is a great idea but it really does need more quality control. I will see how it goes getting a refund on this poorly made product. Don't imagine they would like any injury lawsuits.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 89 out 89 people found this review helpful

    Orbitrim

    • Broadford Victoria, Australia,
    • Dec 2, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I fitted Orbitrim and it shook like crazy, it cut very short grass for about 15 seconds and kept cutting out my machine because of it being out of balance. The people that advertise this rubbish should be accountable for this B.S. They should give everybody their money back, including the freight. They should be ashamed. Don't buy this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 87 out 88 people found this review helpful

    Sorry plastic design.

    • Alexandria, Louisiana,
    • Oct 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    The plastic design that holds a nut doing a high rpm just flew off of the weed eater hitting me in the leg. Good thing it as a safety ring. My leg might be all cut up. Reminds me of those old spinner helicopter blades you can't control. And just look out here it comes. Also the grass does load up in the opening and on the blades. Good idea, bad design. Do not buy. And if you have, be careful. If it comes off it goes wild, could hurt someone seriously.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 79 out 81 people found this review helpful

    Definately NOT worth the frustration

    • Vineland, NJ,
    • Aug 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Orbitrim is a piece of junk. The blade is off balance and causes the trimmer to stall before it gets and speed going. It would cost too much to return it to Orbitrim for a refund so I'm out the cost of purchase and shipping. Live and learn. Good idea just poorly executed. Someday, someone who knows how to invent quality product will figure out an effortless way to edge a lawn. Until then, I will still with my string trimmer. I would highly recommend you NEVER purchase the Orbitrim. You WILL regret the waste of money and time. I gave it 1 star because 0 star was not an option.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 79 out 80 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the effort

    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Jan 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was excited to see a product that looked as though it would be helpful at cutting and trimming the edges around my lawn and ordered one. That is where the excitement ended. I received it in due course without any instructions on attaching it to my Ryobi trimmer. I had to google it to find suitable instructions. They were clear and concise and enabled me to attach it.

    I then started the Ryobi up and tried to do the edges near the fence and path. I then found all the design faults. It wouldn't go to the edges and left the edges and lawn looking untidy. Sparks flew from it when I touched the concrete path edges creating a fire hazard (it was a 39 degree Celsius day when I tested it). It does what the advertisement says, but it doesn't do what the user wants. The advertisement only shows part of the things that a lawn edger does. I went back to using the Ryobi supplied head. If anyone wants an OrbiTrim used once for the cost of the postage, contact me, otherwise, it's going out with the recycle rubbish.

    I have given this a one-star rating only because I can't leave it empty.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 79 out 79 people found this review helpful

    Orbitrim, a very dangerous and useless device

    • Perth, WA,
    • Jan 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is one of the worst devices that I've come across. The spacers are useless and cause the trimmer to vibrate dangerously. I had to machine up a spacer on the lathe to get it sound, not an option for most.

    Now, regarding the cutting ability. First of all, it is useless on long grass or wispy dry grass. I got it to somewhat trim sound, short lawn, but what a waste of time. I tried it on a soft hedge, only to tangle and jam, which makes it (once again) useless. I tried it on a soft, small Rosemary bush and in one blink, the blade snapped on a small 5 mm piece of green wood.

    A one-star rating is far too high for this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 76 out 79 people found this review helpful

    As Seen on TV Junk

    • Southwestern, KY,
    • Oct 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received the unit, instructions, and Orbitrim in a timely manner. I had issues with trying to figure out how to assemble it on my trimmer. Finally got it with help. I used the Orbritrim one time and unless you place the Orbitrim right over the grass in its holes you cannot cut anything. I would love to meet the engineer for this product and just ask "What were you thinking?" Or have him/her be here when I tried to use it and ask "Really? REALLY?"

    Now let's see how the return goes. Will follow up with another feedback when I go through this process.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 75 out 77 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    My title should explain my experience. First of all let me say As Seen on TV, QVC, HSN, etc., prey on the old and lonely, they are housebound for whatever reason and watching this crap, which should be called "too good to be true," because that's what it is. My 92-year-old dad thought the trimmer head would be just what he needed, he likes to "weed-eat" from his wheelchair. It does not work as shown, 1st the weeds have to be dry so unless you live in the desert forget it. Next, you have to push it straight down which he can't do from his chair. Then there's the money back guarantee, when I called to return it they said no it's been too long, try to find someone to sell it to. So my message to Orbitrim, I hope there a special place in hell for those who prey and swindle old people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 54

Write a Review for Orbitrim!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review