About Orenda Coffee

By Tyler Cooper
HighYa Staff Published on: Jul 13, 2017

By integrating smart, app-connected features, the Orenda coffee maker represents a shift that we’ve been observing in consumer electronics for several years now.

In today’s tech-fueled world, the devices that live alongside us are becoming increasingly tailored to our individual preferences. More than ever, we’re connected to them via our smartphones and tablets in ways that even a few short years ago would have been firmly in the realm of science fiction luxury.

Now, the latest wave of innovation is coming to the humble coffee brewer. With Orenda, the Auroma Brewing Company is looking to shake up the way your daily brew is made and enjoyed.

How Orenda Works

Put simply, Orenda is a coffee brewing system that learns your preferences and tailors itself to them.

The device measures 5.5”W x 12.2”L x 15.6”H, weighs about 6.5 pounds, will brew roughly 4-5 cups of coffee per use, and features a slick industrial design, with the main structure (the part that comes in contact with the coffee) made up of stainless steel and borosilicate glass. It utilizes a built-in metal filter, but the company claims that it is also fully compatible with most paper filters as well, if that is your preference.

The way it is described on the product's website, the first time you add beans to the 1.2L glass reservoir, which features a stainless steel burr that allows for a more consistent grind size, Orenda’s built-in sensors will automatically select the ideal settings.

During the brewing process, these sensors will also measure the total coffee dissolved, temperature, grind size, and time, all the while comparing this information to the official SCAA Brewing Control Chart.

After the process is finished, you can then connect to the companion smartphone app (available for Android and iOS operating systems upon launch) via Wi-Fi to rate the brew, weighing in on preferences such as bitterness, texture, caffeine concentration and overall strength. Once this is complete, Orenda will update the next brew to reflect your taste, reportedly leading to a more personalized experience.

Through the app, it looks as though you can even share your favorite recipes, or use popular ones from other users, though official details from the manufacturer are scarce on how this will work in practice at this point. Don’t worry, though; should find yourself without your phone, brewing is as simple as pressing a button on the device itself.

The explainer video shows us that you can make many different types of coffee with the Orenda, from French press, to pour over, iced coffee, and cold brew. The device can even be set up to work with popular automation services, allowing you to sync its functionality with your daily alarm, as well as with the popular Amazon Alexa and Echo devices.

It also works with IFTTT, which is a free web-based service that allows you to connect devices together to work via automation.

Now, if you’ve been following this brewing system’s development over the past couple years, the top question on your mind at this point might be: Are there any meaningful differences between the original Auroma and this re-branded Orenda?

How Does Orenda Compare To Auroma?

The original Auroma brewing system got its start on the popular crowdfunding website Kickstarter in November of 2015, going on to raise over $231,448 from more than 600 backers over the course of its campaign.

We’ve previously covered Auroma here at HighYa, but the co-founder of the company behind the brewing machine let us know via email that the name was changed in order to navigate various trademarking issues.

Compared to the original, there appear to be two main differences with the Auroma: First, the company states that there is no plastic whatsoever that comes into contact with the coffee itself. On the previous product’s Kickstarter page, they note that it features BPA-free plastic as well as glass in its design.

Second, the original design was only compatible with Kalita Wave paper filters, while the updated version reportedly features a built-in metal filter that’s also compatible with most paper filters.

Are there any price differences between the original and Orenda?

Orenda Pricing & Warranty Info

Orenda is currently available for pre-order, with the listed ship date being August 2017 as of the time of this writing. The device’s current price is $399.00 (the same as the earlier Auroma), though it is shown to be $499.00 when it officially releases.

It is stated that each device includes a one-year international warranty, though no additional information is provided as to what exactly is covered under this plan. We’ve reached out to both the co-founder and customer support for clarification, and once we get a reply back, we’ll update this information here.

The company also lists that they will ship worldwide, for a flat rate of $35. The makers of Orenda say they will ship you the correct voltage for your country by referencing your delivery address.

Orenda vs. Alternative Brewing Options

As more and more products are released with smart capabilities, you can expect that competition will start to sprout up in all sorts of different niches, and smart coffee brewers are no exception.

Based on our research, there are a number of smart coffee systems that are either releasing this year or are already out on the market, such as the Behmor Connected system and the Smart Coffee Machine. What we found, however, was that none of these various systems promise to deliver the same level of exacting control over the brewing process that the Orenda claims to offer.

Another important note: the Orenda looks like one of the only machines on the market that actually grinds the coffee as well as brews it, allowing for that extra bit of convenience and control. Many of the alternatives require pre-ground coffee beans, with some (like the Mr. Coffee Smart Coffeemaker) even using coffee pods like Keurig's K-Cups instead.

That being said, the Orenda also appears to be the most expensive offering by a fairly wide margin, with many other “smart” brewing systems ranging from $200 all the way down to $80 or so. Many of these devices let you control settings, such as the brewing temperature and number of cups to brew, but none of them show the level of personalization that the Orenda offers.

Of course, without using the device ourselves, only time will tell if these settings truly add an appreciable difference to your daily cup. Ultimately, if you’re in the market for a more highly customizable experience and you have a larger budget, the Orenda might be ideal.

If you’re searching for something on the less-expensive end, though, or you don’t need large amounts of personalization, there are multiple different models that feature automation integration, temperature control, and a basic smartphone app for around half the asking price of the Orenda.

Our Final Thoughts On Orenda

As our devices become more connected to us, we'll be presented with deeper and deeper levels of customization. The Orenda represents this ambition clearly with an intriguing design and a full list of smart customization features that might appeal to coffee lovers who are looking for that sort of thing.

However, while the product is currently available for pre-order, it has not yet started to ship--nor has the previous iteration, the Auroma, which was first announced back in 2015. However, the product’s creators have been fairly communicative with backers via bi-monthly or so updates, discussing the problems that have held production up, including having to switch glass factories late in the game due to a quality standards issue.

As we’ve reported in the past, products that get their start on crowdfunding platforms like Kickstarter sometimes have a rocky road to completion, due to the many hurdles companies must face bringing their ideas to fruition.

Other than the manufacturing delays detailed on the Auroma’s crowdfunding page (which the company has addressed in various updates), there doesn’t appear to be anything else standing in the way of bringing the product to market, based on the company’s communication with their customers. With these sorts of projects, however, there's always a degree of risk involved.

So, at the end of the day, can the Orenda truly deliver an unparalleled coffee experience? We’ll have to wait and see when the device officially releases sometime in the near future.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

80 Consumer Reviews for Orenda Coffee

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 5 1 star:  72
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 80
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Biggest waste of time and money!

    • Virginia,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered June 2017, received March 2018, used once and now it is just taking up counter space. I've been asking for return instructions and a refund from Zendesk...empty promises. I sure learned a lesson on crowdfunding...never again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    SCAM!

    • Illinois,
    • Feb 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband purchased this machine two years ago and we have nothing to show for it besides a handful of emails. After the first year and a half, we decided to just ask for a refund, which has never come. He just recently received an email that said they have spent all of their Kickstarter funds and are currently waiting to secure new funding so they can start producing their coffee maker again or refunding people. We hope they are able to secure the funding.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    No show - waste of money - SCAM.

    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this machine in the second half of 2017, it is now early February 2019 and still no delivery. I have emailed numerous times and all you get back is "sorry for the delay." DO NOT BUY this machine! You will be wasting your money, giving it to somebody who is now on a beach, sitting back laughing at us all. It was the first time I did a Kickstarter program and it will be the last. I am now trying to recover my money through the banks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Still waiting...

    • New Mexico,
    • Jan 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this Orenda months ago with the promise that orders would arrive by Christmas...well, that was a lie. I’m still waiting, and it appears that they’ve shut down pre-orders to deal with their shipping problem. At this point, I don’t even care if the coffee is good or not, I just want my money back, which they won’t do. STAY AWAY from his product! It is a SCAM!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Complete nonsense

    • Idaho,
    • Jan 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had nothing but bad luck and have yet to get a cup of coffee from this unit. It was a nightmare to put together. Lots of small parts that never show up in the assembly diagrams. Never worked or did what it was claimed to do. The customer service is nonexistent. I've had this for two years and can get the company to do anything about it. It takes months for them to answer emails.

    Do your self a favor and drive over to Starbucks...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great scam

    • Kentucky,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like many others, I ordered this many years ago and have yet to receive a device. I own a business and understand how hard startups can be. This is not a legitimate company. This is a scam. Too bad I got taken for a ride also. Word to the wise, do not give them any more money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    There is no warranty.

    • Michigan,
    • Jan 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased this coffee maker when it was first made available for purchase. It took 18 months to receive it, and when we received the coffee maker, set up with simple. It makes great coffee, we love the coffee maker, however, after just seven weeks, the coffee maker stopped making coffee. The grinder doesn't grind anymore. I've contacted Orenda many many times by telephone (when I could find a number, which didn't work) and by email using an email address from the support department that kept me informed on the shipping. There's been no response, no method of getting warranty support, no method for return, and no method for replacement. I would strongly urge you to stay far away from this company their products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Lying is not acceptable in ANY business

    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Looking at the other reviews on this page tells me that the company is aware of the shortcomings, both on a product and delivery level. I've sent 4-5 emails asking a delivery date (which was supposed to be the end of November 2018), and they answered the first two, only saying they had received my emails (so not really a response). Anyhow, it's clear after they delivered their first and apparently second batch, knowing that things weren't working right, so not addressing the refund requests by customers, or exchanging faulty units simply means they are FRAUDULENT! Stay away...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Neat idea - lousy execution

    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This item shipped about 14 months, months after my initial "it is on its way" email from Orenda. While they promptly answered every email, they also promptly lied on every email. "Ships next week." "It has shipped." "It is on the boat from Shanghai." When it did arrive, it surprised both me and Orenda...

    The Orenda app doesn’t work completely. Can you get a cup? Yes. Will it save preferences? No. Can you program to brew in the morning to wake you up? No. Can you stop the process? No.

    The machine...looks cool - makes a great counter decoration. It is LOUD when it grinds. Ground coffee falls out of the grinder onto the counter. Messy. If you JUST lightly brush the top where the LED lights are - it starts grinding a cup. To stop this? You have to unplug the unit.

    Overall - not ready for prime time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Still waiting, no machine

    • Sulphur, LA,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered years ago, still no machine. Very disappointed. Has anyone started a lawsuit to try to get our money back? How can they continue to sell when they have not delivered on the ones ordered over two years ago yet?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Texas,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a scam.

    The device wasn’t delivered after more than two years. They offer continued apologies and four weeks to delivery, followed by another four weeks, etc.

    I assume they did produce a very small number of machines, never on a remotely commercial scale, and now they are continuing with a scam, only no machine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 80

Write a Review for Orenda Coffee!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review