About Orenda Coffee

By Tyler Cooper
HighYa Staff
Published on: Jul 13, 2017

By integrating smart, app-connected features, the Orenda coffee maker represents a shift that we’ve been observing in consumer electronics for several years now.

In today’s tech-fueled world, the devices that live alongside us are becoming increasingly tailored to our individual preferences. More than ever, we’re connected to them via our smartphones and tablets in ways that even a few short years ago would have been firmly in the realm of science fiction luxury.

Now, the latest wave of innovation is coming to the humble coffee brewer. With Orenda, the company is looking to shake up the way your daily brew is made and enjoyed.

How Orenda Works

Put simply, Orenda is a coffee brewing system that learns your preferences and tailors itself to them.

The device measures 5.5”W x 12.2”L x 15.6”H, weighs about 6.5 pounds, will brew roughly 4-5 cups of coffee per use, and features a slick industrial design, with the main structure (the part that comes in contact with the coffee) made up of stainless steel and borosilicate glass. It utilizes a built-in metal filter, but the company claims that it is also fully compatible with most paper filters as well, if that is your preference.

The way it is described on the product's website, the first time you add beans to the 1.2L glass reservoir, which features a stainless steel burr that allows for a more consistent grind size, Orenda’s built-in sensors will automatically select the ideal settings.

During the brewing process, these sensors will also measure the total coffee dissolved, temperature, grind size, and time, all the while comparing this information to the official SCAA Brewing Control Chart.

After the process is finished, you can then connect to the companion smartphone app (available for Android and iOS operating systems upon launch) via Wi-Fi to rate the brew, weighing in on preferences such as bitterness, texture, caffeine concentration and overall strength. Once this is complete, Orenda will update the next brew to reflect your taste, reportedly leading to a more personalized experience.

Through the app, it looks as though you can even share your favorite recipes, or use popular ones from other users, though official details from the manufacturer are scarce on how this will work in practice at this point. Don’t worry, though; should find yourself without your phone, brewing is as simple as pressing a button on the device itself.

The explainer video shows us that you can make many different types of coffee with the Orenda, from French press, to pour over, iced coffee, and cold brew. The device can even be set up to work with popular automation services, allowing you to sync its functionality with your daily alarm, as well as with the popular Amazon Alexa and Echo devices.

It also works with IFTTT, which is a free web-based service that allows you to connect devices together to work via automation.

Orenda Pricing & Warranty Info

Orenda is currently available for pre-order, with the listed ship date being August 2017 as of the time of this writing. The device’s current price is $399.00, though it is shown to be $499.00 when it officially releases.

It is stated that each device includes a one-year international warranty, though no additional information is provided as to what exactly is covered under this plan. We’ve reached out to both the co-founder and customer support for clarification, and once we get a reply back, we’ll update this information here.

The company also lists that they will ship worldwide, for a flat rate of $35. The makers of Orenda say they will ship you the correct voltage for your country by referencing your delivery address.

Orenda vs. Alternative Brewing Options

As more and more products are released with smart capabilities, you can expect that competition will start to sprout up in all sorts of different niches, and smart coffee brewers are no exception.

Based on our research, there are a number of smart coffee systems that are either releasing this year or are already out on the market, such as the Behmor Connected system and the Smart Coffee Machine. What we found, however, was that none of these various systems promise to deliver the same level of exacting control over the brewing process that the Orenda claims to offer.

Another important note: the Orenda looks like one of the only machines on the market that actually grinds the coffee as well as brews it, allowing for that extra bit of convenience and control. Many of the alternatives require pre-ground coffee beans, with some (like the Mr. Coffee Smart Coffeemaker) even using coffee pods like Keurig's K-Cups instead.

That being said, the Orenda also appears to be the most expensive offering by a fairly wide margin, with many other “smart” brewing systems ranging from $200 all the way down to $80 or so. Many of these devices let you control settings, such as the brewing temperature and number of cups to brew, but none of them show the level of personalization that the Orenda offers.

Only time will tell if these settings truly add an appreciable difference to your daily cup. Ultimately, if you’re in the market for a more highly customizable experience and you have a larger budget, the Orenda might be ideal.

If you’re searching for something on the less-expensive end, though, or you don’t need large amounts of personalization, there are multiple different models that feature automation integration, temperature control, and a basic smartphone app for around half the asking price of the Orenda.

Our Final Thoughts On Orenda

As our devices become more connected to us, we'll be presented with deeper and deeper levels of customization. The Orenda represents this ambition clearly with an intriguing design and a full list of smart customization features that might appeal to coffee lovers who are looking for that sort of thing.

Products that get their start on crowdfunding platforms like Kickstarter sometimes have a rocky road to completion, due to the many hurdles companies must face bringing their ideas to fruition.

Other than the manufacturing delays detailed on the company's crowdfunding page (which the company has addressed in various updates), there doesn’t appear to be anything else standing in the way of bringing the product to market, based on the company’s communication with their customers. With these sorts of projects, however, there's always a degree of risk involved.

So, at the end of the day, can the Orenda truly deliver an unparalleled coffee experience? We’ll have to wait and see when the device officially releases sometime in the near future.


Read 84 Orenda Coffee Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 5 1 star:  75
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 84
Sort reviews by:

  • This is a joke

    • By Aaron S.,
    • Oklahoma,
    • Feb 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a machine online over 3 years ago and still haven’t received anything. Not even an apology. I have reached out countless times and got the run around for a while but then nothing. This is a scam! They still allow for purchases online. Don’t even think about buying. You’re better off with a $10 coffee maker from Walmart.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Love it but the app isn't fully there

    • By Matthew G.,
    • California,
    • Jul 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Only have had this amazing machine for a short amount of time but it's changed the game for me. Cold brew, pour over or french press with the ability to customize! It's amazing. The app is having trouble allowing me to make my own custom cup but I'm able to customize the preset brewing styles slightly. Doesn't matter much because the presets are already great. I've noticed all the bad reviews and want people to give it a shot once they've got themselves in order (app, customer service, and previous orders). It is a start-up company...people invested in a startup, expect errors. Don't know why everyone's acting like they're scamming people. It's a great product and I hope they have a long-lasting company. I've already told all my friends to buy one.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • The most horrible customer experience in my life

    • By Ron G.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • May 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Waited 14 months to receive the coffee maker. All friends and family made jokes about this purchase (since it didn't show up for so long). I get it and it made okay coffee. After about 15 uses total, the grinder stopped working. Communication has been a joke. I made a custom video with the problem with my grinder and 7+ months later still no communication. I'll have to ask someone who is using fireworks if they would blow this thing up for me. At least I would get some satisfaction out of that. Horrible! Go buy something that exists and is proven, not this!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Tim F.,
    • Missouri,
    • May 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    As many reviewers have stated this is a SCAM, do not give them any money or buy from them. I canceled my order and was told I would be issued a refund. After several emails and months of going back and forth with constant broken promises, I came to the conclusion that these people are just SCAM ARTIST. I would recommend you all to stay away from startups and Kickstarter. They are all a waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Biggest waste of time and money!

    • By Treva L.,
    • Virginia,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered June 2017, received March 2018, used once and now it is just taking up counter space. I've been asking for return instructions and a refund from Zendesk...empty promises. I sure learned a lesson on crowdfunding...never again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • SCAM!

    • By Cecile D.,
    • Illinois,
    • Feb 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband purchased this machine two years ago and we have nothing to show for it besides a handful of emails. After the first year and a half, we decided to just ask for a refund, which has never come. He just recently received an email that said they have spent all of their Kickstarter funds and are currently waiting to secure new funding so they can start producing their coffee maker again or refunding people. We hope they are able to secure the funding.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No show - waste of money - SCAM.

    • By Michael S.,
    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this machine in the second half of 2017, it is now early February 2019 and still no delivery. I have emailed numerous times and all you get back is "sorry for the delay." DO NOT BUY this machine! You will be wasting your money, giving it to somebody who is now on a beach, sitting back laughing at us all. It was the first time I did a Kickstarter program and it will be the last. I am now trying to recover my money through the banks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Still waiting...

    • By Josie S.,
    • New Mexico,
    • Jan 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this Orenda months ago with the promise that orders would arrive by Christmas...well, that was a lie. I’m still waiting, and it appears that they’ve shut down pre-orders to deal with their shipping problem. At this point, I don’t even care if the coffee is good or not, I just want my money back, which they won’t do. STAY AWAY from his product! It is a SCAM!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Complete nonsense

    • By Peter J.,
    • Idaho,
    • Jan 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had nothing but bad luck and have yet to get a cup of coffee from this unit. It was a nightmare to put together. Lots of small parts that never show up in the assembly diagrams. Never worked or did what it was claimed to do. The customer service is nonexistent. I've had this for two years and can get the company to do anything about it. It takes months for them to answer emails.

    Do your self a favor and drive over to Starbucks...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great scam

    • By P B.,
    • Kentucky,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like many others, I ordered this many years ago and have yet to receive a device. I own a business and understand how hard startups can be. This is not a legitimate company. This is a scam. Too bad I got taken for a ride also. Word to the wise, do not give them any more money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • There is no warranty.

    • By Jason G.,
    • Michigan,
    • Jan 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased this coffee maker when it was first made available for purchase. It took 18 months to receive it, and when we received the coffee maker, set up with simple. It makes great coffee, we love the coffee maker, however, after just seven weeks, the coffee maker stopped making coffee. The grinder doesn't grind anymore. I've contacted Orenda many many times by telephone (when I could find a number, which didn't work) and by email using an email address from the support department that kept me informed on the shipping. There's been no response, no method of getting warranty support, no method for return, and no method for replacement. I would strongly urge you to stay far away from this company their products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 84

Write a Review for Orenda Coffee!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Orenda Coffee