About Orenda Coffee

By Tyler Cooper
HighYa Staff Published on: Jul 13, 2017

By integrating smart, app-connected features, the Orenda coffee maker represents a shift that we’ve been observing in consumer electronics for several years now.

In today’s tech-fueled world, the devices that live alongside us are becoming increasingly tailored to our individual preferences. More than ever, we’re connected to them via our smartphones and tablets in ways that even a few short years ago would have been firmly in the realm of science fiction luxury.

Now, the latest wave of innovation is coming to the humble coffee brewer. With Orenda, the Auroma Brewing Company is looking to shake up the way your daily brew is made and enjoyed.

How Orenda Works

Put simply, Orenda is a coffee brewing system that learns your preferences and tailors itself to them.

The device measures 5.5”W x 12.2”L x 15.6”H, weighs about 6.5 pounds, will brew roughly 4-5 cups of coffee per use, and features a slick industrial design, with the main structure (the part that comes in contact with the coffee) made up of stainless steel and borosilicate glass. It utilizes a built-in metal filter, but the company claims that it is also fully compatible with most paper filters as well, if that is your preference.

The way it is described on the product's website, the first time you add beans to the 1.2L glass reservoir, which features a stainless steel burr that allows for a more consistent grind size, Orenda’s built-in sensors will automatically select the ideal settings.

During the brewing process, these sensors will also measure the total coffee dissolved, temperature, grind size, and time, all the while comparing this information to the official SCAA Brewing Control Chart.

After the process is finished, you can then connect to the companion smartphone app (available for Android and iOS operating systems upon launch) via Wi-Fi to rate the brew, weighing in on preferences such as bitterness, texture, caffeine concentration and overall strength. Once this is complete, Orenda will update the next brew to reflect your taste, reportedly leading to a more personalized experience.

Through the app, it looks as though you can even share your favorite recipes, or use popular ones from other users, though official details from the manufacturer are scarce on how this will work in practice at this point. Don’t worry, though; should find yourself without your phone, brewing is as simple as pressing a button on the device itself.

The explainer video shows us that you can make many different types of coffee with the Orenda, from French press, to pour over, iced coffee, and cold brew. The device can even be set up to work with popular automation services, allowing you to sync its functionality with your daily alarm, as well as with the popular Amazon Alexa and Echo devices.

It also works with IFTTT, which is a free web-based service that allows you to connect devices together to work via automation.

Now, if you’ve been following this brewing system’s development over the past couple years, the top question on your mind at this point might be: Are there any meaningful differences between the original Auroma and this re-branded Orenda?

How Does Orenda Compare To Auroma?

The original Auroma brewing system got its start on the popular crowdfunding website Kickstarter in November of 2015, going on to raise over $231,448 from more than 600 backers over the course of its campaign.

We’ve previously covered Auroma here at HighYa, but the co-founder of the company behind the brewing machine let us know via email that the name was changed in order to navigate various trademarking issues.

Compared to the original, there appear to be two main differences with the Auroma: First, the company states that there is no plastic whatsoever that comes into contact with the coffee itself. On the previous product’s Kickstarter page, they note that it features BPA-free plastic as well as glass in its design.

Second, the original design was only compatible with Kalita Wave paper filters, while the updated version reportedly features a built-in metal filter that’s also compatible with most paper filters.

Are there any price differences between the original and Orenda?

Orenda Pricing & Warranty Info

Orenda is currently available for pre-order, with the listed ship date being August 2017 as of the time of this writing. The device’s current price is $399.00 (the same as the earlier Auroma), though it is shown to be $499.00 when it officially releases.

It is stated that each device includes a one-year international warranty, though no additional information is provided as to what exactly is covered under this plan. We’ve reached out to both the co-founder and customer support for clarification, and once we get a reply back, we’ll update this information here.

The company also lists that they will ship worldwide, for a flat rate of $35. The makers of Orenda say they will ship you the correct voltage for your country by referencing your delivery address.

Orenda vs. Alternative Brewing Options

As more and more products are released with smart capabilities, you can expect that competition will start to sprout up in all sorts of different niches, and smart coffee brewers are no exception.

Based on our research, there are a number of smart coffee systems that are either releasing this year or are already out on the market, such as the Behmor Connected system and the Smart Coffee Machine. What we found, however, was that none of these various systems promise to deliver the same level of exacting control over the brewing process that the Orenda claims to offer.

Another important note: the Orenda looks like one of the only machines on the market that actually grinds the coffee as well as brews it, allowing for that extra bit of convenience and control. Many of the alternatives require pre-ground coffee beans, with some (like the Mr. Coffee Smart Coffeemaker) even using coffee pods like Keurig's K-Cups instead.

That being said, the Orenda also appears to be the most expensive offering by a fairly wide margin, with many other “smart” brewing systems ranging from $200 all the way down to $80 or so. Many of these devices let you control settings, such as the brewing temperature and number of cups to brew, but none of them show the level of personalization that the Orenda offers.

Of course, without using the device ourselves, only time will tell if these settings truly add an appreciable difference to your daily cup. Ultimately, if you’re in the market for a more highly customizable experience and you have a larger budget, the Orenda might be ideal.

If you’re searching for something on the less-expensive end, though, or you don’t need large amounts of personalization, there are multiple different models that feature automation integration, temperature control, and a basic smartphone app for around half the asking price of the Orenda.

Our Final Thoughts On Orenda

As our devices become more connected to us, we'll be presented with deeper and deeper levels of customization. The Orenda represents this ambition clearly with an intriguing design and a full list of smart customization features that might appeal to coffee lovers who are looking for that sort of thing.

However, while the product is currently available for pre-order, it has not yet started to ship--nor has the previous iteration, the Auroma, which was first announced back in 2015. However, the product’s creators have been fairly communicative with backers via bi-monthly or so updates, discussing the problems that have held production up, including having to switch glass factories late in the game due to a quality standards issue.

As we’ve reported in the past, products that get their start on crowdfunding platforms like Kickstarter sometimes have a rocky road to completion, due to the many hurdles companies must face bringing their ideas to fruition.

Other than the manufacturing delays detailed on the Auroma’s crowdfunding page (which the company has addressed in various updates), there doesn’t appear to be anything else standing in the way of bringing the product to market, based on the company’s communication with their customers. With these sorts of projects, however, there's always a degree of risk involved.

So, at the end of the day, can the Orenda truly deliver an unparalleled coffee experience? We’ll have to wait and see when the device officially releases sometime in the near future.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

52 Consumer Reviews for Orenda Coffee

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 4 1 star:  46
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 52
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 42 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    An expensive mistake

    • Lovettsville, VA,
    • Sep 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After two months of using this machine, I decided to take it apart, put it back in the box and put it down in the basement until I get the nerve to put it where it actually belongs...in the trash. What a waste of time, money, and a lot of patience. This thing leaked water, is super loud when grinding, and threw ground flakes out around the machine. I let customer service know about the issues, and all they did was refer me to their troubleshooting videos, which were useless. Save your money. This was a good concept that was poorly designed and executed from beginning to end.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (11)
    View all 11 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 28, 2017

      Greg Kyser

      Did you ever get it?

    • Jan 21, 2018

      Ethan Hanna

      Did you ever get the product for which you paid $400?

    • Jan 24, 2018

      Michael Collins

      You're posting to "balance the reviews"? Reviews are supposed to help other consumers decide whether or not to purchase a product. The company has, at BEST been incompetent, and at worst, is committing fraud. You trying to "balance the reviews" is only steering people in the wrong direction.

    • Jan 27, 2018

      Patrick Wells

      When you can do better at introducing a brand new product based solely on crowdfunding with the dedication to quality that these guys have been putting into this, then I will agree with you. I'm now supposed to get my tracking number at the beginning of February. I'm not even going to complain about how long it's taking to get the product shipped over from China.

      It has to go by boat and it's not like they have their own dedicated cargo ships. They also have to deal with customs. Since they just started the shipping adventure in December, I'd be pleasantly surprised if they actually were ready to go from their west coast distribution center in a couple of weeks.

    • Feb 15, 2018

      Mitch

      You lose any credibility here for posting this. How much more ridiculous could anyone be to "balance out" the reviews so even more people might get scammed. This just crossed my feed from last year or so, thinking it had seemed interesting at the time. I decided to check out whether folks had received it and what they thought about it. Did the company send you any pictures of the production process? Are they upfront about the delays? Have you received your coffeemaker yet? If not, you are an accessory to a fraud and I hope they investigate your interest. You are abusing and ignorant of how these reviews work.

    • Mar 7, 2018

      Patrick Wells

      Oh no! I'm not credible in the eyes of some guy named Mitch! Whatever shall I do, I can't go on with life anymore. Oh wait, I know what I'll do. I'll enjoy coffee from my Orenda coffee machine which is currently on its way to Salt Lake City for final FDA inspection before it gets shipped the final leg to my door later this month.

      Yes, they have been upfront about the delays and they are perfectly understandable delays for a company that is focused on a quality product. They just sent an update today to let us know that the first shipment had arrived at the port in Oakland and is now on its way to their warehouse in Salt Lake City. So, my five stars still stands.

    • Mar 24, 2018

      Seán Ó Séaghdha

      I was quite prepared to give them the benefit of the doubt, but I wonder how you feel about it, now that people have started receiving units that don’t work in a variety of ways, i.e. Now that there’s something to review, maybe you should revisit your review?

    • Apr 11, 2018

      Michael Ward

      It was crowdfunding for you. It wasn't for me. I bought it from the website, there is no reference that crowdfunding had not been fulfilled and the customer service has stopped responding. How can you positively review a product that you haven't received? I'd like to understand that because "balancing out" isn't a reason for a review.

    • Apr 15, 2018

      Robert

      This is a deceitful review for a product that has never been received or used. Highya, this review should be deleted.

    • Apr 18, 2018

      Patrick W.

      Good lord, you people are so ready to jump all over people for trying to do a nice thing and cut a company some slack. Relax already, I'm changing my review to one star because I can't cut them any more slack. They've gone above and beyond being a total disappointment, and they have completely stopped responding to customer support messages.

    • Aug 25, 2018

      Rebecca S.

      Well, you kind of asked for it. A review to balance out truthful negative reviews defeats the purpose of an honest assessment. Why would you want to do something nice for a company that takes money, no, change that to steals money from its customers and not delivers product or refunds? Great, change your review and dump the 'balanced' one.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Jul 20, 2018

    This will be a great product with a tiny bit more tweaking

    After months and months...and months of frustration waiting for this machine to arrive, I finally received it. Aesthetically, it is a beautiful piece of craftsmanship.

    The frustration didn't end once I got the machine though. They obviously hired some junior developers to create the app. If you're on an iPhone (mine is a 6...shut up it still works great), the first thing you may notice is that on the login/register new account page, the background images scroll by ridiculously fast. Not a huge deal, they just need to adjust one value in the code and that'll be fixed. The next thing that irked me was that when you register a new account, your password is not hidden. This is also not a huge issue because it only does this for registering the account. It does hide your password when you log in regularly.

    Now, I ran into an issue where the app would crash every time I tried to connect the machine to WiFi. It took a full day dealing with support to get the issue resolved. I do have to give their support a thumbs up because they were very responsive and a day to consult with the developers and come back with a suggested solution is not bad at all.

    Their suggested solution was to try registering a new fake account using any email address and password. Having been a software developer myself, I'm not sure why this worked, but it did. There is definitely some buggy code that needs to be fixed. After registering with the fake account and getting the machine connected, I could then log off the fake account and log back in with my regular account.

    Now for the brewing. The first cup of coffee I brewed when I didn't have the app setup correctly yet was worrisome. It ground a TON of beans, which really filled the brewing chamber. Yes, I did get some grounds that popped out of the chamber, but it wasn't a lot and it didn't go everywhere. Needless to say, that first cup of coffee was STRONG!

    Cut to this morning as I sip my third cup of coffee. I started the brew as I was still laying in bed and it was just about done when I came down to the kitchen. The adjusted strength was perfect for me. There were no flakes outside the brew chamber. All is right and good with the world. Don't worry about the grounds piling up on one side of the chamber. The water will fill the chamber and mostly level it out.

    This will never be your go-to machine for a QUICK cup of coffee as the brewing cycle takes a while. However, the intent of this machine is to brew a GOOD cup of coffee, not a quick one. You want a quick cup of coffee, go with a Keurig. Overall, I'd say the pain and suffering of getting this machine and setting it up were worth it.

    (read moreread less...)
    • Previous review
    • Apr 18, 2018

    Changing my review

    I can’t defend these guys anymore. I was supposed to get one of the first 40 units. They’ve supposedly shipped the second batch, and I’m still waiting. They stopped shipments to fix a problem that seems like they should have caught during their product testing. Their support has completely stopped responding to emails. Don’t waste your money on this.

    (read moreread less...)
    • Previous review
    • Dec 12, 2017

    Balancing out the reviews

    I completely understand the frustration of ordering a product and still not having received it many months later. However, this is a product that is going through the growing pains of starting from nothing. People that ordered one should have understood that this is a crowd-source funded product that was still being designed and tweaked when they first ponied up the money.

    I, too, am in the same boat of having ordered the product early in the year and still haven't received it. I got their email stating it was being shipped from China to their warehouse and I'd get a tracking number once it was shipped out from there. I appreciate the fact that they are so dedicated to the product meeting or exceeding their quality expectations rather than them shipping the product as soon as possible with faulty components. I will continue being patient and I know I I will be thrilled with this thing when it finally arrives.

    So, I am putting in an initial review of five stars to balance a little of the negativity from other people. I'm not saying their negative reviews aren't valid or are unwarranted, I just think it's only fair to give a brand new product a little bit of slack. I'll add a new review of the actual product once I receive it.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Piece of crap machine

    • Torrance, CA,
    • Sep 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Mine worked about five times and then stopped working. Even when it did work it was very noisy. I've emailed about shipping it back for a refund several times, and they keep saying they're going to take care of it but it's been about six months now and I still have a useless, broken coffee maker sitting in my office. I wouldn't buy if I were you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Awful machine, and worse customer service

    • Texas,
    • Sep 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The machine is a piece of crap and doesn't work. If you ask for a refund, all they do is lie to you and say it's been sent to the mythical management team. I rinse and repeat, and nothing has happened in months, except the same lies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    It's a mess

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Sep 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    For starters, the switch is not on the side... instead, the power cord is making it near impossible to look nice anywhere in your kitchen. In fact, it has no power switch, so you will likely need to connect it to a smart switch nearby to allow you to turn it on and off easily. Other than that, the biggest design flaws, besides that, you cannot setup Wi-Fi for it unless you have the one golden iPhone it "might" work with (and not just any iPhone because there might only be one that actually works with it) is that the main water tank is not removable to fill or empty. Actually, it often leaks from the threading the glass cylinder is screwed into. Pure genius, a coffee maker you cannot easily fill or empty.

    Moving on to the grinder, it is more of a house shaker, louder then a jackhammer on your counter. That is "if" it works. Most people's unit has irreversibly jammed itself in the first week of ownership and then was moved to the closet. If you do manage to accept all these issues you have a small chance of getting a decent cup but the firmware might glitch and just start doing anything random. Since you can't connect to Wi-Fi, it will never get fixed. It retains a half liter of water between brews so plan to spend half your time purging and rinsing the lines before and after your brew.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    They stole my money

    • Minnesota,
    • Sep 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The took my money, didn't deliver the product, and won't issue me a refund. It's been years now. They act like criminals and this is a Ponzi scheme. From what I have heard from the very few other people who actually got a machine, they are ALL broken and malfunctioning.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Do not fall for this scam

    • Newburgh, IN,
    • Sep 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    On May 8, 2017, I made the mistake of preordering an "Orenda" coffee machine. It was to be delivered in two to three months. I also noted that it had a money-back guarantee that if you were not satisfied, your money would be refunded plus the shipping charge. Then the months of setbacks and excuses began from Auroma putting off all inquiries with bizarre explanations of what the holdup was.

    Since there was such a delay someone started a Facebook page called "Auroma Customers," and many people joined and shared their horror stories about how poorly the company had handled public relation, not updating information and whether this was a scam or not. And 2018 came along; no one had received their machine. People started asking for refunds and I was among them. I believe it was in March. I would get emails and messages on "messenger" which furnished apologies and more promises that deliveries were occurring and still nothing. Through the summer more apologies. Now it is August 24, 2018, and I don't even get apologies and excuses. Not even a lie. They've gone dark.

    Originally the machine I ordered was to cost $434, which is what I paid. There was a provision that if you used a code "VIPNEW," you would receive a rebate of $100. I messaged them that I had neglected this and was told, no problem, which my credit card would be credited. I'm still not sure if it ever was. I told them that $334.00 is not a lot of money and that I really never expected to see it again. They were frauds and incompetent. I even wrote to the Attorney General of Indiana who managed to contact the company, (they ran out of a virtual office in Delaware and had no real address or phone, though it would appear they were actually in Vancouver, BC.). The attorney general contacted me relaying a message from Auroma that they would be willing to ship me a coffee maker or refund my money. I said give me the refund. That was the last I heard from the attorney general.

    Since then, I have been bugging Auroma every week or two but have nothing to report other than a few more apologies and that my request for a refund has now been given prioritized expediting, whatever that means. Since it's been six months at least since I asked for a refund, I am not holding my breath. I can't believe they are still taking pre-orders for this travesty. Most of those who finally got machines couldn't get them to work, many arrived broken, and the rest had leaks, and the software app proved to be so erratic they couldn't brew coffee. Long story short, the company bit off a lot more than it could chew, and those of us who paid for it paid dearly and had to eat the cost.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Never received - scam

    • New York,
    • Sep 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a scam. Do not buy. I purchased in March 2017 from their website. I still do not have the item nor a refund. As all others have noted - lots of automated responses and promises. Be advised.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • El Paso, TX,
    • Sep 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I waited for two years. I finally received it, and it spits coffee grounds all over the kitchen. Instructions are sketchy...nothing about how to stop this. There are some parts but no information as to where they go on the machine. Customer support is non-existent. It looks great, but it does not function as promised. A piece of very expensive JUNK.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Scam of the century, stay away from Auroma Orenda

    • Pittsford, NY,
    • Aug 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased one these coffee makers two years ago for $334. Have I seen it? No. Have I seen a refund? No. What company takes customers money and not deliver in a timely manner. A few people received machines, but they openly commented on its poor quality and inoperability. In other words, they were sent junk that doesn't work. Over 90% of customers have asked for refunds, but these crooks hired a third party (Zendesk) to tell customers their refund is in the process when it obviously is not. They use a virtual storefront in the US as their headquarters, but they are actually located in Canada. There is no phone number to reach them and they refuse to speak to the customers. These disgusting individuals are laughing their way to the bank with our money, while we deal with our frustration of being ripped-off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    This is a scam, do not buy

    • New York,
    • Aug 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered Orenda in April 2017, the machine never arrived. I requested a refund in April 2018 and nothing, their support sends apologetic emails, saying they are waiting for management to approve it. Complete crap! Stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Buyers beware

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Aug 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After waiting 16 months for this connected coffee pot to come in, it did not work as advertised. The app will not connect, and the remote scheduling does not work for me. Their customer service was extremely slow due to product delay. I was hoping when the product finally arrived it would live up to the hype. Sadly I was disappointed once again. I have been trying to return my machine for a refund for the last four weeks with no reply from their support team except an acknowledgment of receipt of my request.

    It looks like I’m out $400. I will never do business with this company again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 52

Write a Review for Orenda Coffee!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review