About Orenda Coffee

By Tyler Cooper
HighYa Staff Published on: Jul 13, 2017

By integrating smart, app-connected features, the Orenda coffee maker represents a shift that we’ve been observing in consumer electronics for several years now.

In today’s tech-fueled world, the devices that live alongside us are becoming increasingly tailored to our individual preferences. More than ever, we’re connected to them via our smartphones and tablets in ways that even a few short years ago would have been firmly in the realm of science fiction luxury.

Now, the latest wave of innovation is coming to the humble coffee brewer. With Orenda, the Auroma Brewing Company is looking to shake up the way your daily brew is made and enjoyed.

How Orenda Works

Put simply, Orenda is a coffee brewing system that learns your preferences and tailors itself to them.

The device measures 5.5”W x 12.2”L x 15.6”H, weighs about 6.5 pounds, will brew roughly 4-5 cups of coffee per use, and features a slick industrial design, with the main structure (the part that comes in contact with the coffee) made up of stainless steel and borosilicate glass. It utilizes a built-in metal filter, but the company claims that it is also fully compatible with most paper filters as well, if that is your preference.

The way it is described on the product's website, the first time you add beans to the 1.2L glass reservoir, which features a stainless steel burr that allows for a more consistent grind size, Orenda’s built-in sensors will automatically select the ideal settings.

During the brewing process, these sensors will also measure the total coffee dissolved, temperature, grind size, and time, all the while comparing this information to the official SCAA Brewing Control Chart.

After the process is finished, you can then connect to the companion smartphone app (available for Android and iOS operating systems upon launch) via Wi-Fi to rate the brew, weighing in on preferences such as bitterness, texture, caffeine concentration and overall strength. Once this is complete, Orenda will update the next brew to reflect your taste, reportedly leading to a more personalized experience.

Through the app, it looks as though you can even share your favorite recipes, or use popular ones from other users, though official details from the manufacturer are scarce on how this will work in practice at this point. Don’t worry, though; should find yourself without your phone, brewing is as simple as pressing a button on the device itself.

The explainer video shows us that you can make many different types of coffee with the Orenda, from French press, to pour over, iced coffee, and cold brew. The device can even be set up to work with popular automation services, allowing you to sync its functionality with your daily alarm, as well as with the popular Amazon Alexa and Echo devices.

It also works with IFTTT, which is a free web-based service that allows you to connect devices together to work via automation.

Now, if you’ve been following this brewing system’s development over the past couple years, the top question on your mind at this point might be: Are there any meaningful differences between the original Auroma and this re-branded Orenda?

How Does Orenda Compare To Auroma?

The original Auroma brewing system got its start on the popular crowdfunding website Kickstarter in November of 2015, going on to raise over $231,448 from more than 600 backers over the course of its campaign.

We’ve previously covered Auroma here at HighYa, but the co-founder of the company behind the brewing machine let us know via email that the name was changed in order to navigate various trademarking issues.

Compared to the original, there appear to be two main differences with the Auroma: First, the company states that there is no plastic whatsoever that comes into contact with the coffee itself. On the previous product’s Kickstarter page, they note that it features BPA-free plastic as well as glass in its design.

Second, the original design was only compatible with Kalita Wave paper filters, while the updated version reportedly features a built-in metal filter that’s also compatible with most paper filters.

Are there any price differences between the original and Orenda?

Orenda Pricing & Warranty Info

Orenda is currently available for pre-order, with the listed ship date being August 2017 as of the time of this writing. The device’s current price is $399.00 (the same as the earlier Auroma), though it is shown to be $499.00 when it officially releases.

It is stated that each device includes a one-year international warranty, though no additional information is provided as to what exactly is covered under this plan. We’ve reached out to both the co-founder and customer support for clarification, and once we get a reply back, we’ll update this information here.

The company also lists that they will ship worldwide, for a flat rate of $35. The makers of Orenda say they will ship you the correct voltage for your country by referencing your delivery address.

Orenda vs. Alternative Brewing Options

As more and more products are released with smart capabilities, you can expect that competition will start to sprout up in all sorts of different niches, and smart coffee brewers are no exception.

Based on our research, there are a number of smart coffee systems that are either releasing this year or are already out on the market, such as the Behmor Connected system and the Smart Coffee Machine. What we found, however, was that none of these various systems promise to deliver the same level of exacting control over the brewing process that the Orenda claims to offer.

Another important note: the Orenda looks like one of the only machines on the market that actually grinds the coffee as well as brews it, allowing for that extra bit of convenience and control. Many of the alternatives require pre-ground coffee beans, with some (like the Mr. Coffee Smart Coffeemaker) even using coffee pods like Keurig's K-Cups instead.

That being said, the Orenda also appears to be the most expensive offering by a fairly wide margin, with many other “smart” brewing systems ranging from $200 all the way down to $80 or so. Many of these devices let you control settings, such as the brewing temperature and number of cups to brew, but none of them show the level of personalization that the Orenda offers.

Of course, without using the device ourselves, only time will tell if these settings truly add an appreciable difference to your daily cup. Ultimately, if you’re in the market for a more highly customizable experience and you have a larger budget, the Orenda might be ideal.

If you’re searching for something on the less-expensive end, though, or you don’t need large amounts of personalization, there are multiple different models that feature automation integration, temperature control, and a basic smartphone app for around half the asking price of the Orenda.

Our Final Thoughts On Orenda

As our devices become more connected to us, we'll be presented with deeper and deeper levels of customization. The Orenda represents this ambition clearly with an intriguing design and a full list of smart customization features that might appeal to coffee lovers who are looking for that sort of thing.

However, while the product is currently available for pre-order, it has not yet started to ship--nor has the previous iteration, the Auroma, which was first announced back in 2015. However, the product’s creators have been fairly communicative with backers via bi-monthly or so updates, discussing the problems that have held production up, including having to switch glass factories late in the game due to a quality standards issue.

As we’ve reported in the past, products that get their start on crowdfunding platforms like Kickstarter sometimes have a rocky road to completion, due to the many hurdles companies must face bringing their ideas to fruition.

Other than the manufacturing delays detailed on the Auroma’s crowdfunding page (which the company has addressed in various updates), there doesn’t appear to be anything else standing in the way of bringing the product to market, based on the company’s communication with their customers. With these sorts of projects, however, there's always a degree of risk involved.

So, at the end of the day, can the Orenda truly deliver an unparalleled coffee experience? We’ll have to wait and see when the device officially releases sometime in the near future.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

36 Consumer Reviews for Orenda Coffee

Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  30
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 36
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 32 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    This will be a great product with a tiny bit more tweaking

    • Lovettsville, VA,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After months and months...and months of frustration waiting for this machine to arrive, I finally received it. Aesthetically, it is a beautiful piece of craftsmanship.

    The frustration didn't end once I got the machine though. They obviously hired some junior developers to create the app. If you're on an iPhone (mine is a 6...shut up it still works great), the first thing you may notice is that on the login/register new account page, the background images scroll by ridiculously fast. Not a huge deal, they just need to adjust one value in the code and that'll be fixed. The next thing that irked me was that when you register a new account, your password is not hidden. This is also not a huge issue because it only does this for registering the account. It does hide your password when you log in regularly.

    Now, I ran into an issue where the app would crash every time I tried to connect the machine to WiFi. It took a full day dealing with support to get the issue resolved. I do have to give their support a thumbs up because they were very responsive and a day to consult with the developers and come back with a suggested solution is not bad at all.

    Their suggested solution was to try registering a new fake account using any email address and password. Having been a software developer myself, I'm not sure why this worked, but it did. There is definitely some buggy code that needs to be fixed. After registering with the fake account and getting the machine connected, I could then log off the fake account and log back in with my regular account.

    Now for the brewing. The first cup of coffee I brewed when I didn't have the app setup correctly yet was worrisome. It ground a TON of beans, which really filled the brewing chamber. Yes, I did get some grounds that popped out of the chamber, but it wasn't a lot and it didn't go everywhere. Needless to say, that first cup of coffee was STRONG!

    Cut to this morning as I sip my third cup of coffee. I started the brew as I was still laying in bed and it was just about done when I came down to the kitchen. The adjusted strength was perfect for me. There were no flakes outside the brew chamber. All is right and good with the world. Don't worry about the grounds piling up on one side of the chamber. The water will fill the chamber and mostly level it out.

    This will never be your go-to machine for a QUICK cup of coffee as the brewing cycle takes a while. However, the intent of this machine is to brew a GOOD cup of coffee, not a quick one. You want a quick cup of coffee, go with a Keurig. Overall, I'd say the pain and suffering of getting this machine and setting it up were worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (10)
    View all 10 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 28, 2017

      Greg Kyser

      Did you ever get it?

    • Jan 21, 2018

      Ethan Hanna

      Did you ever get the product for which you paid $400?

    • Jan 24, 2018

      Michael Collins

      You're posting to "balance the reviews"? Reviews are supposed to help other consumers decide whether or not to purchase a product. The company has, at BEST been incompetent, and at worst, is committing fraud. You trying to "balance the reviews" is only steering people in the wrong direction.

    • Jan 27, 2018

      Patrick Wells

      When you can do better at introducing a brand new product based solely on crowdfunding with the dedication to quality that these guys have been putting into this, then I will agree with you. I'm now supposed to get my tracking number at the beginning of February. I'm not even going to complain about how long it's taking to get the product shipped over from China.

      It has to go by boat and it's not like they have their own dedicated cargo ships. They also have to deal with customs. Since they just started the shipping adventure in December, I'd be pleasantly surprised if they actually were ready to go from their west coast distribution center in a couple of weeks.

    • Feb 15, 2018

      Mitch

      You lose any credibility here for posting this. How much more ridiculous could anyone be to "balance out" the reviews so even more people might get scammed. This just crossed my feed from last year or so, thinking it had seemed interesting at the time. I decided to check out whether folks had received it and what they thought about it. Did the company send you any pictures of the production process? Are they upfront about the delays? Have you received your coffeemaker yet? If not, you are an accessory to a fraud and I hope they investigate your interest. You are abusing and ignorant of how these reviews work.

    • Mar 7, 2018

      Patrick Wells

      Oh no! I'm not credible in the eyes of some guy named Mitch! Whatever shall I do, I can't go on with life anymore. Oh wait, I know what I'll do. I'll enjoy coffee from my Orenda coffee machine which is currently on its way to Salt Lake City for final FDA inspection before it gets shipped the final leg to my door later this month.

      Yes, they have been upfront about the delays and they are perfectly understandable delays for a company that is focused on a quality product. They just sent an update today to let us know that the first shipment had arrived at the port in Oakland and is now on its way to their warehouse in Salt Lake City. So, my five stars still stands.

    • Mar 24, 2018

      Seán Ó Séaghdha

      I was quite prepared to give them the benefit of the doubt, but I wonder how you feel about it, now that people have started receiving units that don’t work in a variety of ways, i.e. Now that there’s something to review, maybe you should revisit your review?

    • Apr 11, 2018

      Michael Ward

      It was crowdfunding for you. It wasn't for me. I bought it from the website, there is no reference that crowdfunding had not been fulfilled and the customer service has stopped responding. How can you positively review a product that you haven't received? I'd like to understand that because "balancing out" isn't a reason for a review.

    • Apr 15, 2018

      Robert

      This is a deceitful review for a product that has never been received or used. Highya, this review should be deleted.

    • Apr 18, 2018

      Patrick W.

      Good lord, you people are so ready to jump all over people for trying to do a nice thing and cut a company some slack. Relax already, I'm changing my review to one star because I can't cut them any more slack. They've gone above and beyond being a total disappointment, and they have completely stopped responding to customer support messages.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Apr 18, 2018

    Changing my review

    I can’t defend these guys anymore. I was supposed to get one of the first 40 units. They’ve supposedly shipped the second batch, and I’m still waiting. They stopped shipments to fix a problem that seems like they should have caught during their product testing. Their support has completely stopped responding to emails. Don’t waste your money on this.

    (read moreread less...)
    • Previous review
    • Dec 12, 2017

    Balancing out the reviews

    I completely understand the frustration of ordering a product and still not having received it many months later. However, this is a product that is going through the growing pains of starting from nothing. People that ordered one should have understood that this is a crowd-source funded product that was still being designed and tweaked when they first ponied up the money.

    I, too, am in the same boat of having ordered the product early in the year and still haven't received it. I got their email stating it was being shipped from China to their warehouse and I'd get a tracking number once it was shipped out from there. I appreciate the fact that they are so dedicated to the product meeting or exceeding their quality expectations rather than them shipping the product as soon as possible with faulty components. I will continue being patient and I know I I will be thrilled with this thing when it finally arrives.

    So, I am putting in an initial review of five stars to balance a little of the negativity from other people. I'm not saying their negative reviews aren't valid or are unwarranted, I just think it's only fair to give a brand new product a little bit of slack. I'll add a new review of the actual product once I receive it.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scammers Beware

    • Florida,
    • Jul 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ordered years ago. They just keep lying. It's coming. It's being shipped. On and on. They refuse to refund. I've never dealt with a company that lies as much as these clowns. They just keep making new promises. No one has received their machines.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Beware!

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Jun 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this machine over a year ago. Multiple promises of delivery dates have been made and not kept. I grew tired of waiting and canceled my order and asked for a refund. Three weeks have passed and I have not received my refund. I think the company is probably broke and therefore customer service for the machine in the future will be nonexistent. I have reported the company to the FBI for wire fraud.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Florida,
    • Jun 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They take money in advance and lie to customers. Products that have shipped have been reviewed poorly. Email response is useless, and they do not provide a phone number to contact them.

    Look at BBB reviews and know that many have filed complaints with their state Attorney Generals. Do NOT buy this or deal with this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Birmingham, AL,
    • May 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    There is nothing good to say. They quickly take your money. For $400 you get excuses, no communication, no refund, no coffee maker. Each time they communicate, which is NOT very often, they apologize and say they'll do better. Really amazing that the still are making representations to the public that they are delivering a product in a timely fashion. Horrific customer service. Perhaps even criminal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    BAD company

    I purchased the Orenda coffee maker over one year ago. They took my money real fast, but no product. I was first promised a July 2017 delivery, then an August 2017 delivery, then promised a fall 2017 delivery. Then promised a November delivery, then promised a January 2018 delivery, then promised mid-February delivery, then promised an April 2018 delivery. I sent an email demanding a refund, and they outright refused to send me one. They said if I get the machine and I am not happy with it I can return it for a full refund. I am already unhappy with it so refund my money NOW. And what do you mean "if" I get the machine? Walk away from these scammers, no, run.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    It has been a year

    • Wilmington, DE,
    • Apr 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been waiting for over a year. Now no response at all. I've been promised delivery six times, missed the date, and then had a lame excuse. Now I read that those who did receive theirs, it produces little more than a weak, warm cup of coffee and there is no app as advertised. I am so disappointed. I am so upset. My first Kickstarter where I got taken.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy this coffee maker!

    If I could rate this -5, I would!

    I contributed to Kickstarter for the Orenda Coffee Maker in April 2017. After months of waiting, I asked for my $400 back and to cancel the order, and they replied "the money is not refundable as it has been given to the developers and I could return the product for a refund after I received it."

    I received the coffee maker on March 13, 2018! I opened the box and could tell someone had used this before. I immediately contacted the company two times, with no response.

    I did try the maker after that, and what a piece of crap, it didn't grind right, the coffee was lukewarm, and the coffee tasted like plastic (they even have something on their website saying the brewing doesn't come in contact with any plastic, so there must be complaints). I should have pitched it but ended up donating it.

    What a sucker I was. Save your money and buy something reliable!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    First cups - not bad - not great either.

    Update. After using this for a few weeks, I have gone back to my Mr. Coffee coffee maker. The grinder spews out grounds onto the counter with every cup, no matter how I position things. The coffee grounds pile up on one side of the brew chamber, and you have to jiggle the chamber to get the grounds distributed, which disturbs the sensors that regulate how the machine brews. The coffee amount dispensed varies from 6 ounces to 10 ounces. I have had coffee brewing, which overflowed the brew chamber and never dispensed. I had to unplug the machine to stop it adding even more water. If I run a cleaning cycle after every cup, I don't run into that problem anymore, but what a waste of water. None of the filters I tried really fit the machine well, as I am always finding coffee grounds outside of the filter.

    I really wanted to love this machine, and it is physically beautiful with it's brushed steel and gleaming glass. But it just doesn't function well for its intended purpose - making coffee.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Mar 28, 2018

    First cups - not bad

    Considering the difficulties getting the glass manufactured to specifications, I can understand the shipping delays. However, the lack of communication caused concern that this was indeed a scam.

    Inspect your glass before assembling the coffee maker - if your glass is chipped, don't use it. I have seen a couple of reviews indicating that the water tank was leaking due to chipped glass.

    My Orenda arrived during the week and I put it together today. It was packed very nicely. The manual is not as useful as it could be; there is nothing that lists all of the parts, the instructions are not precise or detailed enough. I have a piece left that I can't for the life of me figure out where it goes. And a cleaning brush.

    There are no instructions on what the icons on the control screen mean. There are three; the Wi-Fi symbol, a water droplet, and a coffee cup. Press the water droplet to run a cleaning cycle, press the coffee cup to brew a cup (it took me too long to figure out that the droplet was for the cleaning cycle). Wi-Fi right now is meaningless as the app is not yet available.

    It took me a long time to figure out that I had to remove the water funnel to get the water tank in. The print instruction for that is very small, but it is there. I can't figure out what the deal is with getting the line on the water tank aligned with the brewer. I put it in so that they lined up after the tank was in, the video I saw later lines them up first and then seats the tank. Makes no difference that I can see.

    Brewing a cup of coffee without the app is easy. Add coffee beans, add water, put a cup on the tray, and press the coffee cup icon until it vibrates.

    Without the app, you can't make any alterations to how the coffee brews. The first cups were decent but had a bit of sediment. For future cups, I will use a paper filter in addition to the metal filter.

    So far, so good.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    The machine finally got here after waiting more than a year. The IOS app isn't ready. Why didn't they get this ready well before is beyond me. So they sent out the machine preset. The machine uses too much coffee. The mug is half full, and the coffee is lukewarm. I have sent numerous emails and received no reply. I want my money back. This is a joke! I wish someone would reply.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don’t buy it yet!

    I ordered in June 2017 (for delivery in September) from their website, which didn’t make their Kickstarter origins or the unfinished state of the product clear at all. Now in March 2018, the first units have been finally delivered in the US, but it will take at least another month before I hear anything. The reviews so far are not good.

    The app, a centerpiece of their marketing, still hasn’t been released despite the 21st of March deadline and there has (as usual) been little to no communication.

    It seems that, out of the box, the machine has one recipe pre-programmed, but it may not be the same one for each machine. The most common experience seems to be a grind/brew time of 6 minutes for the lucky and 12 minutes for the unlucky. During this procedure, water seems to be recirculated from the bottom of the brewer to a secondary outlet at the top, which seems more like old-fashioned percolation than any kind of modern coffee-making. Perhaps it’s some kind of a cold brew technique, but we can only guess as the company has been completely silent. Many people have found the end result lukewarm. Some have found the coffee OK, some nice, some undrinkable. Variable taste or variable hardware?

    The grinder also can shoot grounds out the side of the machine, and when dispensing coffee into a cup at the end, some coffee can also end up on your counter.

    One person has reported leaking, and one person has got shocks from the machine. Statistically, this might not be worrying, but the lack of a clear response is.

    None of this sounds like the high-quality product we were promised.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 36

Write a Review for Orenda Coffee!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review