• 84 Customer Reviews
  • 6% Recommend This Product
1.2 out of 5
5 star: 1% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 5% 1 star: 89%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This is a joke

    • By Aaron S.,
    • Oklahoma,
    • Feb 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased a machine online over 3 years ago and still haven’t received anything. Not even an apology. I have reached out countless times and got the run around for a while but then nothing. This is a scam! They still allow for purchases online. Don’t even think about buying. You’re better off with a $10 coffee maker from Walmart.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Love it but the app isn't fully there

    • By Matthew G.,
    • California,
    • Jul 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Only have had this amazing machine for a short amount of time but it's changed the game for me. Cold brew, pour over or french press with the ability to customize! It's amazing. The app is having trouble allowing me to make my own custom cup but I'm able to customize the preset brewing styles slightly. Doesn't matter much because the presets are already great. I've noticed all the bad reviews and want people to give it a shot once they've got themselves in order (app, customer service, and previous orders). It is a start-up company...people invested in a startup, expect errors. Don't know why everyone's acting like they're scamming people. It's a great product and I hope they have a long-lasting company. I've already told all my friends to buy one.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • The most horrible customer experience in my life

    • By Ron G.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • May 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Waited 14 months to receive the coffee maker. All friends and family made jokes about this purchase (since it didn't show up for so long). I get it and it made okay coffee. After about 15 uses total, the grinder stopped working. Communication has been a joke. I made a custom video with the problem with my grinder and 7+ months later still no communication. I'll have to ask someone who is using fireworks if they would blow this thing up for me. At least I would get some satisfaction out of that. Horrible! Go buy something that exists and is proven, not this!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Tim F.,
    • Missouri,
    • May 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    As many reviewers have stated this is a SCAM, do not give them any money or buy from them. I canceled my order and was told I would be issued a refund. After several emails and months of going back and forth with constant broken promises, I came to the conclusion that these people are just SCAM ARTIST. I would recommend you all to stay away from startups and Kickstarter. They are all a waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Biggest waste of time and money!

    • By Treva L.,
    • Virginia,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered June 2017, received March 2018, used once and now it is just taking up counter space. I've been asking for return instructions and a refund from Zendesk...empty promises. I sure learned a lesson on crowdfunding...never again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • SCAM!

    • By Cecile D.,
    • Illinois,
    • Feb 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My husband purchased this machine two years ago and we have nothing to show for it besides a handful of emails. After the first year and a half, we decided to just ask for a refund, which has never come. He just recently received an email that said they have spent all of their Kickstarter funds and are currently waiting to secure new funding so they can start producing their coffee maker again or refunding people. We hope they are able to secure the funding.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No show - waste of money - SCAM.

    • By Michael S.,
    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered this machine in the second half of 2017, it is now early February 2019 and still no delivery. I have emailed numerous times and all you get back is "sorry for the delay." DO NOT BUY this machine! You will be wasting your money, giving it to somebody who is now on a beach, sitting back laughing at us all. It was the first time I did a Kickstarter program and it will be the last. I am now trying to recover my money through the banks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Still waiting...

    • By Josie S.,
    • New Mexico,
    • Jan 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered this Orenda months ago with the promise that orders would arrive by Christmas...well, that was a lie. I’m still waiting, and it appears that they’ve shut down pre-orders to deal with their shipping problem. At this point, I don’t even care if the coffee is good or not, I just want my money back, which they won’t do. STAY AWAY from his product! It is a SCAM!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Complete nonsense

    • By Peter J.,
    • Idaho,
    • Jan 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had nothing but bad luck and have yet to get a cup of coffee from this unit. It was a nightmare to put together. Lots of small parts that never show up in the assembly diagrams. Never worked or did what it was claimed to do. The customer service is nonexistent. I've had this for two years and can get the company to do anything about it. It takes months for them to answer emails.

    Do your self a favor and drive over to Starbucks...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great scam

    • By P B.,
    • Kentucky,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Like many others, I ordered this many years ago and have yet to receive a device. I own a business and understand how hard startups can be. This is not a legitimate company. This is a scam. Too bad I got taken for a ride also. Word to the wise, do not give them any more money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • There is no warranty.

    • By Jason G.,
    • Michigan,
    • Jan 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased this coffee maker when it was first made available for purchase. It took 18 months to receive it, and when we received the coffee maker, set up with simple. It makes great coffee, we love the coffee maker, however, after just seven weeks, the coffee maker stopped making coffee. The grinder doesn't grind anymore. I've contacted Orenda many many times by telephone (when I could find a number, which didn't work) and by email using an email address from the support department that kept me informed on the shipping. There's been no response, no method of getting warranty support, no method for return, and no method for replacement. I would strongly urge you to stay far away from this company their products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lying is not acceptable in ANY business

    • By Jim T.,
    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Looking at the other reviews on this page tells me that the company is aware of the shortcomings, both on a product and delivery level. I've sent 4-5 emails asking a delivery date (which was supposed to be the end of November 2018), and they answered the first two, only saying they had received my emails (so not really a response). Anyhow, it's clear after they delivered their first and apparently second batch, knowing that things weren't working right, so not addressing the refund requests by customers, or exchanging faulty units simply means they are FRAUDULENT! Stay away...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Neat idea - lousy execution

    • By David M.,
    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This item shipped about 14 months, months after my initial "it is on its way" email from Orenda. While they promptly answered every email, they also promptly lied on every email. "Ships next week." "It has shipped." "It is on the boat from Shanghai." When it did arrive, it surprised both me and Orenda...

    The Orenda app doesn’t work completely. Can you get a cup? Yes. Will it save preferences? No. Can you program to brew in the morning to wake you up? No. Can you stop the process? No.

    The machine...looks cool - makes a great counter decoration. It is LOUD when it grinds. Ground coffee falls out of the grinder onto the counter. Messy. If you JUST lightly brush the top where the LED lights are - it starts grinding a cup. To stop this? You have to unplug the unit.

    Overall - not ready for prime time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Still waiting, no machine

    • By Carol T.,
    • Sulphur, LA,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered years ago, still no machine. Very disappointed. Has anyone started a lawsuit to try to get our money back? How can they continue to sell when they have not delivered on the ones ordered over two years ago yet?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Oscar G.,
    • Texas,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is a scam.

    The device wasn’t delivered after more than two years. They offer continued apologies and four weeks to delivery, followed by another four weeks, etc.

    I assume they did produce a very small number of machines, never on a remotely commercial scale, and now they are continuing with a scam, only no machine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A messy waste of time and money

    • By Jeff P.,
    • Tampa, FL,
    • Dec 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered this in January of 2017 and received it in July of 2018. When I finally received it, I was able to get the app working right away, and brew coffee. The included French Press and Pour Over recipes both used a TON of coffee and resulted in very small and weak cups of coffee. Easy, the whole point of this thing is to be able to control the whole process precisely from the app, and even see other people’s recipes.

    Well, you can kind of customize things. You can create a recipe, using metric temperatures (even though F is shown), and select the amount of grounds (though I don’t think the scale is accurate, and time, up to three minutes, or total dissolved solids, depending on mode). There is no sharing, and the only way to edit the recipes is by selecting make stronger or more caffeine kick, not by altering the temp or time...there is no community sharing either.

    The end results after a bunch of trial and effort is a decent cup of coffee. I still think it uses tons of coffee, but you can get a decent cup of coffee out of the machine.

    The drawbacks are:

    1. It periodically loses the WiFi connection, and requires you to create another account with another email address, and you lose your recipes.

    2. It is messy. It kind of spews grounds and splashes coffee everywhere.

    3. About once a month it becomes hopelessly clogged and you have to take the bottom cover off the grinder (two screws) and chisel out the ground mess. The process isn’t that bad, but should be easier if this is a regular occurrence (which it is). It is only a couple of Torx screws, and requires you to empty the water (takes forever since it only seems to clog with a full water chamber). I use a bamboo skewer, the included brush, and a small shop vac to clean the "chute" and make sure the grinder can spin freely again.

    Note: Sometimes it is just a bean feed issue from the hopper and you can use a small zip tie to jostle the beans in the feeder.

    4. The coffee alarm or timed brewing does not work.

    Conclusion: Would I buy it again? No. Do I use it? Yes. But it is an over $400 reminder of why the saying "if something seems to good to be true, it probably is."

    If you are somewhat handy and have money to waste, this will result in a decent cup of coffee and an almost constant source of aggravation.

    Enjoy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • SCAM

    • By Lon P.,
    • Louisiana,
    • Dec 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It has been two years since September 2018 and still nothing but poor thoughtless emails telling how sorry they are for not delivering! Next to the last email said it would come in shipment for August 2018. In late September, I asked where my order was and another thoughtless reply:

    Eden (Orenda)

    Nov 27, 19:21 PST

    Hi Lon,

    We're sorry for the delay. Your order has been forwarded to the fulfillment department to ship out your order. However, they are experiencing a delay that can take up to two weeks.

    Thank you for understanding.

    Kind regards,

    Eden

    Interesting, since it's been well over four weeks since their last reply. You can see what I see it's a total scam! BEWARE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By James C.,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Dec 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It has been a year and a half and I never received it, in spite of shallow promises.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • AVOID. Complete scam. No machine, no refund.

    • By J J.,
    • USA,
    • Nov 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    See title of review. Still waiting after about 18 months. I do not understand how their website is still up. Complete fraud of a company that issues fake updates. Buy a good Pour-Over system.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don’t do it

    • By Jason S.,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Nov 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Sorry to be on repeat, but the product took an additional year to arrive. With boilerplate responses trying my patience and knowing that a refund would not happen, I accepted the delivery.

    I’ll be honest, the product seems very well built and looks good on the counter. Unfortunately, it was too tall to be placed below cabinets, so we had to find a new location.

    Being pretty doesn’t matter, how is the coffee/app?

    I set up the WiFi and unbelievably it brewed the coffee. Damn, that is a loud machine, and what is with all the grounds being deposited outside the filter and on the counter? The taste seemed very weak, so I used that fancy app to brew very strong. Nope, the same weak coffee and felt I was drinking tea. I used daily for a couple of weeks and had to redo WiFi connection several times.

    I couldn’t get over the mess, weak coffee, and sketchy app. It’s now tossed in a cabinet in the event my real machine (Jura) has a sudden technical issue, and I need an emergency cup of tea - err coffee.

    What a waste of $400.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It is a piece of crap and notwithstanding promises to take product back and refund purchase price, they never honored that representation.

    • By Cliff S.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Nov 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I won't bother to go into detail other than to say, like other reviews have commented upon, their represented delivery did not occur, and it was several months late in arriving - many broken promises. Next, it did not perform anywhere near representations. Loud, messy, poor quality, not efficient in operation.

    The only positive: it looks pretty on the counter. I have been engaged in email exchange for 8 months on return. They have no telephone number so you can only have email exchange (when they decide to respond, usually a month or so after inquiry). They are dishonest and a fraud.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great coffee, horrible service.

    • By Kim R.,
    • Austin, TX,
    • Nov 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Just over two years after the "promise date," the machine arrived. I was able to try it out for 4 carafes of great coffee before it quit working correctly - coffee would grind, but the water never filled the brewing chamber. An email to Support was quickly answered with information on cleaning the grinder area. Having already viewed the poor quality video, I went through a pretty complex cleaning process again - still no luck.

    I shot a video to upload to Support and - it's a miracle, it magically worked! At least one time, anyway. When it wouldn't work after that, I took it apart again and (I'll admit) I was overzealous and took out two additional screws in the grinder area. A very bad choice on my part, as the screws won't tighten and the grinder is now useless.

    Another email to Support was quickly replied to with "return the unit, and it will be reassembled for you," but NO return instructions or shipping address. Now, a MONTH and several more emails later, I still can't get a shipping address for return.

    2.5 or 3 stars for the coffee maker. Zero stars for support/service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Garbage

    • By Shannon G.,
    • Fairfield, CA,
    • Nov 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    What a garbage machine! I am on my third machine that Orenda has sent us. The grinder plugs up, the glass cracks, and the app does not work. After waiting over a year for this product, you would have figured they did some sort of R&D on this. Nope. Just hosed a lot of people with $60 worth of garbage for $300+.

    Another Kickstarter company that should have done more research before they took a product to market.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total scam!

    • By Kristen D.,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Nov 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    So, I bought this on Kickstarter two years ago. They first said it was going to be delivered to us in February of this year. February passed, then they said, well, it was not delivered to you in February, it was on a boat from China in February, you'll get it by June. June passes, no coffee maker. Now it's shipping July 18th, we'll send your tracking number after that. Well, now it's NOVEMBER. I could swim from China faster than this "boat" that they say is on its way here. Now they are saying - wow, we missed your ship date (yeah by a year), we need to check into that. I am demanding a refund. Don't get sucked into this!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your money

    • By Matthew J.,
    • Texas,
    • Oct 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I'll be honest, this device has been the biggest waste of $400. It is nothing like advertised, it spills coffee grounds everywhere, grinds WAY too much coffee even in smallest 10g setting, and cleanup is a nightmare. Each cup easily takes 15 minutes of prep, brew, and cleanup. A simple pour-over device for $30 works way better. The app is horrid, you can't edit recipes and in general does the bare minimum an app should do. They need to stop selling this as I truly feel conned out of money. A total nightmare.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A waste of money

    • By Chris S.,
    • Washington DC,
    • Oct 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After receiving the machine a year later than promised, I have had nothing but problems with it. Customer service responds to emails promptly but has yet to replace my cracked water reservoir. Instead, they feed me excuses.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Charlie B.,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Oct 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After waiting a year, I received a non-working piece of steel and plastic. More than that, after contacting the bot that serves as their "customer service dept," I have not been able to get a refund or return this piece of junk. Thank God I bought it on my Amex; they are working the dispute now. Stay away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 84

Write a Review for Orenda Coffee!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Orenda Coffee