• 84 Customer Reviews
  • 6% Recommend This Product
1.2 out of 5
5 star: 1% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 5% 1 star: 89%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • No product

    • By Robert Jackson,
    • Bonita Springs, FL,
    • Nov 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Is this company Orenda Coffee a con game or are they real? I ordered mine in July 2017 and have not received it or heard from them. At least if it is a real product, they should update me on delivery.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Orenda has failed to deliver, literally

    • By Jerry Landry,
    • California,
    • Oct 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Promising a delivery date in August, it is currently October 25th, and my coffee maker has not yet arrived. It is looking more and more like Orenda is another fraudulent or incompetent start-up since they are unable to even complete a business transaction. They took my money, and after several months have not delivered their product. Please, don't let them take your money too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Another broken promise

    Overall Experience:

    I ordered on their website in March 2017 with a June ship date. Never did their website mention this was a Kickstarter project. I just assumed that they order by the container when they have enough orders to fill the container.

    Here it is November 20th, and I still don't have it. To add insult on top of it all, on October 5th I was given a confirmed shipping of the week of November 12th.

    On November 17th, I sent a request to follow up and on November 19th I got a reply saying hopefully by the end of December I should have a tracking number!

    I don't want a tracking number, I want the unit!

    They have a great looking website, but the product itself? Who knows!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Can't believe I ordered in April and still don't have it in November

    • By Liz,
    • Georgia,
    • Nov 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I don't really care that they keep updating us with all their problems and issues and delays. I ordered in April expecting to wait, sure, but not until after November 15. I was even told in OCTOBER that I would be in the first batch to ship last week. Still no notice of shipping.

    Long story short, I wish I had saved my money and my time and hassle watching over this thing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • More excuses and more supposed delays

    • By John Collier,
    • Franklin Lakes, NJ,
    • Jan 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have now lost faith in this company and in my expectations of ever receiving my coffee machine. I prepurchased the coffee maker in December 2016 with the expectation of receiving it in June. Manufacturing issues pushed delivery out to the end of October for web purchases. Their reason was perfectly reasonable, and I too commended them for maintaining high-quality standards. In November, I was informed that my unit was made and would be shipped during the week of November 12th. On December 11th I was informed that my unit was made and was on its way:

    "We are delighted to inform you that your Orenda has been made and is on its way to you!

    Your order is being shipped via ocean freight (in batches), and the tracking number will be assigned once the container reaches our California warehouse for individual shipments ... We expect to have all the tracking information to you by end-December, if not earlier."

    However, in mid-December, I received their update that informed us that they did not ship out all of the units as previously communicated because of holiday shipment issues and not getting into the queue (https://www.orendacoffee.com/pages/november-december-update). Upon emailing them, I found that my unit had not been shipped and would be shipped in January with the expectation of it hitting the US in February.

    Why did they wait so long to inform us that our units would not be on the ship? Also, what happened to the Kickstarter units that were supposed to ship before those of us who ordered via their website? Not a peep from one of them regarding receipt or reviews. If anybody has received one, please post here.

    Their website states that they have sold out of their first two batches and the third batch would ship at end of February (https://www.orendacoffee.com/). If you are considering purchasing a unit, I recommend waiting until people start posting that they received theirs (and whether the wait was worth it). Something smells here, and it is not coffee.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • How can you rate a product when there is no product?

    • By Bryan,
    • Illinois,
    • Sep 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    You read that correctly! How can you rate a product when there is no finished product!? They should be rated at zero stars. Stars are for product ratings. Currently, this is just a concept with a company trying to figure out how to navigate the manufacturing process in China which is very difficult. Oh, and at their customers' expense. (They don't tell you this when you make the purchase).

    Ok, so they started out on Kickstarter under another name. If you purchased this way, you know what you were getting into. However, we purchased in July of 2017 with a ship date of August 2017, believing there was a product. It wasn't a Kickstarter environment that we purchased on/in. When asked for a shipping date we received this update link:

    https://www.orendacoffee.com/pages/august-update

    Update, is that what they are selling it as? To me, it reads, "We don't know how to go from prototype to an actually working acceptable unit ready for consumers." We are told it will ship in October. My question is that if it is shipping in October is it being manufactured today? It would have to be drop shipped to meet that date! Yet they are selling another batch slated for December shipping when their August order hasn't even shipped and isn't until October. Did the ORIGINAL version on Kickstarter ever ship? So this is the third sale of this product? I am confused. Does anyone have one? Then they send us is this stupid update. It's stupid because they sell it as an update. They sell it as if they won't accept poor craftsmanship. As if they will only accept the highest standards. Wait Orenda, you mean you are taking orders yet haven't figured out how to make the actual product and did not disclose this to the consumer up front in your “beautiful” advertising? Is this even legal? Had their web page said this I would have never placed the order.

    No matter what good intentions Orenda has, they are R&Ding off the backs of actual customers and not telling them this up front. Their own "updates" clearly show they aren't ready to ship. Companies usually invest their own money into R&D. They get investors to take the chance and give them a percentage for the risk. It appears we have a "beautiful concept" with plenty of money spent on "beautiful advertisement" for a product that has yet to be manufactured and tested successfully.

    Don't believe me? Their August update states, "40 machines ready by the end of August/start of September shipped to early unit testers.” Ready to ship early units to testers! Did you catch that?

    I was hesitant to place my original ad because all the reviews of this product are reviews of the concept! Not the finished product. My scam radar was up, but I took a chance and put it on a card with protection. I ended up getting a refund. It took them several days to issue it. They responded with in hours when I asked about a shipping update.

    Even if the product is phenomenal, this isn’t the way to do business!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I can't believe I'm still waiting on this thing.

    Overall Experience:

    I placed my order in the summer. Shipping was supposed to happen in August. When I didn't hear anything, I checked back in September. I was told they had production issues and October was the new ship date. It is now November. And with such production issues, I have little hope that this machine will be either durable or work properly. What a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They deserve zero stars!

    • By Monica,
    • Utah,
    • Nov 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered my Orenda in July and they took my full payment. They said it would ship in August. Then in August, they said it would ship in September. Then in September, it was supposed to ship in October. Then in October, they said November. Then I requested a refund.

    Now they are refusing to refund my money! They sent me an update that a unit for me has “shipped” on ocean freight in mid-November and will be arriving sometime in late December. Then once it arrives in their warehouse in late December, they’ll give me a tracking number and actually ship it to me. This is absolutely ridiculous, and they still refuse to refund my money.

    They are a scam that never delivers an actual product! This company takes your money and doesn’t give you anything in return!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It's one big con job

    • By Thom Rogers,
    • Summit, NJ,
    • Nov 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered this coffee maker on April 17, 2017. They said it would ship in June. No, wait, we mean August. No wait, we mean September. No, wait...

    Well, I got tired of waiting, and on November 5th, I sent them an email notifying them that if I did not receive the machine within the next two weeks, I was canceling the order. I immediately got an email back apologizing for all the delays and I would be one of the first 40 to be shipped. That was 16 days ago. I just sent them my last email informing that I had contacted American Express and they would be refunding my $434.

    It's one giant con game. Don't get suckered in.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I got scammed too!

    • By Ethan Hanna,
    • Orlando, FL,
    • Jan 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I paid for it in June of 2017. Over the months, I’ve gotten a lot of excuses (sold out of the first batch, it’s on a cargo ship, etc.). It’s now January 2018, and I still don’t have the coffee maker. I think this is a total scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Con job or just crappy planning

    • By John Schedler,
    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Feb 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Ok, so I’ve read the reviews, and so far no one has commented they love their machine. So I have to assume there are none.

    I ordered beginning of April 2017. They said they would ship in August. Then Fall, then Winter, and now Spring. Ok, so either they are frauds with good marketing or just a really BAD company with poor engineers and managers.

    You all are right; they shouldn’t have taken money prior to shipping (definite bad sign). They started with crowd funding (definite bad sign). They refuse to commit to any delivery date (definite bad sign). They continually blow sunshine and flowers up everyone’s behind, stringing everyone along and well past any recourse from credit card refunds (planned strategy).

    So I’ve contacted their registered agent in Delaware, who’s address is listed on the transaction. I’ve contacted Shopify, who’s phone number is listed on the transaction. And I’ve notified American Express about both Orenda and Auroma Coffee and the complaints mounting against them. I suggest anyone who is out money to do the same.

    Here is the info that showed on my purchase:

    SP * ORENDA

    1521 Concord Pike #303

    Wilmington, DE 19803

    888.746.7439

    The address is Delaware registered agent - info@delawareregisteredagent.com

    ‭(302) 288-0670‬

    The phone number goes to Shopify.

    They are both involved in the transactions so feel free to call and demand action.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Run away

    • By Teri Springer,
    • Kalamazoo, MI,
    • Jan 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am not sure where their physical location is, but it's NOT where they claim (1521 Concord Pike, City of Wilmington, DE, 19803, not there, never have been). That right there tells me they are a fraud.

    I got suspicious when they immediately charged me for the maker when I ordered last summer (I don't pay until something is ready to ship so that, if it doesn't ship, I can contact my bank to refuse the charge). Yes, I got my money back (they had no choice, I gave them 72 hours to refund it, or I would do a chargeback).

    A friend also ordered last July. He's still waiting. His bank filed a claim, but it's well past the deadline, so all they can do is ask for the money back (they can't just take it back), so he's out over $450. When he asks when he's getting his machine he is told "the first two orders sold out" and the third run is getting ready to ship. Well, ordering in July of 2017 he should have been in the second run, at least.

    Nope, it's a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Egregious!

    Overall Experience:

    Disclaimer: This is the problem, rant, and review of a lucky and privileged person, able to afford a $400 coffee maker.

    That said, this business is ridiculous. I believe another person said they are in over their heads, but the problem is they are trying to go from zero to a billion. As a startup, they need to focus on proving out a business concept and machine, not learn how to engineer and get it built in one of the lowest quality, highest scam, slowest manufacturing environments in the world: China. Only India may be worse.

    At $400 a machine, get it built in the US. How much money and time have you lost trying to get this built in China? How many customers have you pissed off? Absolutely, margins will be lower at the start but prove the business, build a quality product, establish a place in the market, then look for an opportunity to increase margin and grow the business.

    I give two stars instead of one because they care enough not to ship a total piece of garbage, it at least needs to work, which I'm assuming is the cause of the delays. But I take away the rest of the stars for the overzealous communications, poor business strategy in manufacturing, inevitable delays (as a consumer, we really don't care why), and them having my $400 about a year without so much as an update without me having to pull one out of them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Order never shipped

    • By Lynn Graham,
    • New Braunfels, TX,
    • Jan 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered the coffee maker April 2017. I kept receiving dates for shipment then excuses why it did not ship. I called to deny the credit card charge, but it was over 60 days and they could not help. I have sent to the company to ask for a refund and received NO RESPONSE. This is a total scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Crooks

    Overall Experience:

    I ordered it in September, paid in full, and am still waiting for it. I contact them constantly, threatening to get a lawyer, and they give the same email over and over saying it is on a ship! What a joke. What ship? A spaceship?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I got scammed too

    Overall Experience:

    I ordered in August. The full amount was taken by the company. Update after update. I requested a refund multiple times finally in January. No response. Amex says that they are only supposed to take the money when the item ships. Questionable whether this is legit. Do not buy it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Orenda Coffee machine

    • By Diane Love,
    • South Carolina,
    • Feb 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Orenda Coffee machine is 100%, without a doubt a SCAM.

    If not, why wouldn't they give me a refund when requested, when the coffee machine was told shipped and due to arrive end of December and now, 2/3/18, was told just being shipped?!

    I ordered on 11/2/17 and paid with a credit card. I received a confirmation email. I emailed Auroma Brewing (Orenda) on 11/25 asking for the status. The return email stated it would be receiving by end of December or earlier. I asked if I could change the shipping address as it was a Christmas gift. They happily accepted the new address. Then when our daughter, the intended recipient, followed up she was told the end of February delivery.

    I then emailed requesting a refund, and they replied with "it is on its way." All correspondence stopped.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • BAD company

    Overall Experience:

    I purchased the Orenda coffee maker over one year ago. They took my money real fast, but no product. I was first promised a July 2017 delivery, then an August 2017 delivery, then promised a fall 2017 delivery. Then promised a November delivery, then promised a January 2018 delivery, then promised mid-February delivery, then promised an April 2018 delivery. I sent an email demanding a refund, and they outright refused to send me one. They said if I get the machine and I am not happy with it I can return it for a full refund. I am already unhappy with it so refund my money NOW. And what do you mean "if" I get the machine? Walk away from these scammers, no, run.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Garbage

    Overall Experience:

    Yep, I'm one of the first morons to buy this piece of garbage. It's been a year, and no piece of garbage has been delivered to my door. The first report was delivery in May 2017, then June, then September, then October, then December, then January, and now March. Even if this mythical machine ends up being the best device in the known universe, I will never, ever purchase anything from these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Run the other way!

    • By Teresa T,
    • Denville, NJ,
    • Mar 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We ordered the unit in June 2017 through the website (linked from a Facebook ad). I was totally unaware that this was a Kickstarter project. I, like others, was charged the $434 upfront. I have had several communications from the company replete with ship dates, production and customs delays, shipping problems, port problems, holiday problems, etc. I have also communicated with someone named "Jade" on Instant Messenger, assurance was made, and ship dates were reiterated. My recent several requests for a refund were ignored.

    I have contacted Visa, and they will be refunding my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scammers Beware

    • By Harlan K.,
    • Florida,
    • Jul 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Ordered years ago. They just keep lying. It's coming. It's being shipped. On and on. They refuse to refund. I've never dealt with a company that lies as much as these clowns. They just keep making new promises. No one has received their machines.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It has been a year

    • By Henri du Pont,
    • Wilmington, DE,
    • Apr 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've been waiting for over a year. Now no response at all. I've been promised delivery six times, missed the date, and then had a lame excuse. Now I read that those who did receive theirs, it produces little more than a weak, warm cup of coffee and there is no app as advertised. I am so disappointed. I am so upset. My first Kickstarter where I got taken.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Mike Bell,
    • Birmingham, AL,
    • May 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    There is nothing good to say. They quickly take your money. For $400 you get excuses, no communication, no refund, no coffee maker. Each time they communicate, which is NOT very often, they apologize and say they'll do better. Really amazing that the still are making representations to the public that they are delivering a product in a timely fashion. Horrific customer service. Perhaps even criminal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Orenda is a scam! Stay away!

    Overall Experience:

    I ordered and paid for in full Orenda Coffee Maker in January of 2017 with the promise to have the product delivered in a few months. It is now 13 months later, and I have not received a product. I have contacted them three times to request a refund, and they have not responded to any of these requests. There is no way to contact an actual person via phone. They just ignore the emails they don't want to deal with. At this point, I have no option but to dispute the charge with my credit card company and let them handle it.

    Stay away from this company and save yourself the headaches! There are other better products out there by now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Orenda: Looks nice, unfulfilled Promises, big disappointment

    • By Robert,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Mar 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Yesterday, Friday 23rd, March 2018, the Orenda Coffee maker which was purchased on the 18th of June 2017 arrived at my flat. I was super excited and unboxed it, set it up and brewed my first cup. As I was unboxing the machine, I found that the parts are authentic to the promise. The water beaker is glass, the brewing chamber is glass, and while it is not possible to see inside the machine, the promise that the beans, water, and coffee only ever come into contact with glass and stainless steel continue to hold promise and offer a point of difference to other machines not the market that are made largely of plastic. The assembly is easy and once assembled, it looks so amazing, modern and cool sitting on my kitchen counter (wish I knew if there was a way to post a photo here).

    Sadly, the coffee maker could not be more disappointing. I wish I could post a video here from the brewing process to provide more visuals on the description below. Why is it so disappointing?

    The first and foremost reason is the brewing temperature. Prior to ordering, I corresponded with the Orenda team to find out what the brewing temperature was because this is a critical factor in brewing a delicious cup of coffee (you can Google this and you will find a German-made machine from Technivorm). The Orenda support team told me it is controllable by the user to a temperature up to 121 degrees Fahrenheit. That was a blatant lie. Now as I check the FAQs on their website, the brewing temperature is a paltry 99 degrees, which yields a somewhat tepid cup of coffee. Another reason the cup of coffee you end up drinking is so tepid is because the machine circulates the water through the coffee grounds continuously for about 2 - 3 minutes to get the brew strength higher. The brewing basket is glass and is open around the top so heat escapes and is absorbed by the glass. The end result is a very disappointing and tepid cup of coffee.

    The second major fail is that when the machine is grinding the beans and the beans are being dispensed into the brewing chamber, because there is a gap around the top of the brewing chamber, there are coffee grounds all over the kitchen counter, and the grounds are sticking to all parts of the machine, likely attracted by some sort of static electricity on the surface of the machine itself. So there is always a lot of clean up required after using the machine. Honestly, if the machine were brewing the perfect cup of coffee, I might overlook this, but since the end product is so sub-par, it is not worth the effort.

    The third major fail is the amount of grounds. I cannot find any way to regulate the amount of grounds being dispensed into the brewing chamber. It is not discussed in the user manual, and I cannot find anything on the Orenda website. This is the other major factor in brewing the perfect cup of coffee.

    The fourth disappointment is the original marketing of the machine said it did not require filters. This is now only partially true, there is a stainless steel permanent filter embedded in the base of the brewing chamber. And it is easily cleanable. But in the instruction book and FAQs, Orenda now advises to purchase and use paper filters. Without paper filters, the company refers to the coffee as "French Press," which means there is a certain level of superfine grounds remaining in your cup of coffee after you drink it and some of those will find their way into the coffee you are drinking. With the filter, Orenda refers to this as "Pour Over." I ordered the filters from Amazon. I will update the review after I try those.

    The fifth disappointment is there is no app. That is one of the biggest selling points. The app lets you control the machine, but there is no indication of when the app will be available and what you can actually control the app. And when the app is available, the machine will work with only the slower and outdated 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, which I no longer have. My Wi-Fi is faster 5 GHz.

    The sixth inconsistency is that the FAQs say you can use any kind of bean in the machine. In the instruction manual that comes with the machine, it says on page 11: "Warning: Do not use espresso coffee beans, only regular coffee beans. To prevent the grinder from jamming, do not use unroasted or oily beans." If you are a coffee connoisseur, then you know that some of the best, most flavourful beans are those that are oily.

    Yesterday (Friday 23rd, March 2018), after brewing my first cup of coffee and making all these disappointing discoveries, I emailed Orenda Support (which still has the company's original name: support@auromabrewing.com which they could not use because of trademark infringement). I am awaiting their response to how these failures can be remedied.

    To recap:

    1. Low brewing temperature which cannot be regulated.

    2. Amount of ground beans leaves a mess to clean up.

    3. Amount of ground beans cannot be regulated.

    4. The machine requires the use of paper filters unless you like French Press.

    5. No app to operate the machine, and it works with only slow wifi (2.4GHz).

    6. Espresso or "oily" beans are not allowed.

    I am very unhappy that I was swindled out of $434 (including shipping) for a product that is so far from what was promised. If I could give a no star review, I would.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Junk

    Overall Experience:

    The machine finally got here after waiting more than a year. The IOS app isn't ready. Why didn't they get this ready well before is beyond me. So they sent out the machine preset. The machine uses too much coffee. The mug is half full, and the coffee is lukewarm. I have sent numerous emails and received no reply. I want my money back. This is a joke! I wish someone would reply.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not buy this coffee maker!

    Overall Experience:

    If I could rate this -5, I would!

    I contributed to Kickstarter for the Orenda Coffee Maker in April 2017. After months of waiting, I asked for my $400 back and to cancel the order, and they replied "the money is not refundable as it has been given to the developers and I could return the product for a refund after I received it."

    I received the coffee maker on March 13, 2018! I opened the box and could tell someone had used this before. I immediately contacted the company two times, with no response.

    I did try the maker after that, and what a piece of crap, it didn't grind right, the coffee was lukewarm, and the coffee tasted like plastic (they even have something on their website saying the brewing doesn't come in contact with any plastic, so there must be complaints). I should have pitched it but ended up donating it.

    What a sucker I was. Save your money and buy something reliable!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 84

Write a Review for Orenda Coffee!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Orenda Coffee