Read 83 Orenda Coffee Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 5 1 star:  74
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 83
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Neat idea - lousy execution

    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This item shipped about 14 months, months after my initial "it is on its way" email from Orenda. While they promptly answered every email, they also promptly lied on every email. "Ships next week." "It has shipped." "It is on the boat from Shanghai." When it did arrive, it surprised both me and Orenda...

    The Orenda app doesn’t work completely. Can you get a cup? Yes. Will it save preferences? No. Can you program to brew in the morning to wake you up? No. Can you stop the process? No.

    The machine...looks cool - makes a great counter decoration. It is LOUD when it grinds. Ground coffee falls out of the grinder onto the counter. Messy. If you JUST lightly brush the top where the LED lights are - it starts grinding a cup. To stop this? You have to unplug the unit.

    Overall - not ready for prime time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Still waiting, no machine

    • Sulphur, LA,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered years ago, still no machine. Very disappointed. Has anyone started a lawsuit to try to get our money back? How can they continue to sell when they have not delivered on the ones ordered over two years ago yet?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Texas,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a scam.

    The device wasn’t delivered after more than two years. They offer continued apologies and four weeks to delivery, followed by another four weeks, etc.

    I assume they did produce a very small number of machines, never on a remotely commercial scale, and now they are continuing with a scam, only no machine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    A messy waste of time and money

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Dec 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this in January of 2017 and received it in July of 2018. When I finally received it, I was able to get the app working right away, and brew coffee. The included French Press and Pour Over recipes both used a TON of coffee and resulted in very small and weak cups of coffee. Easy, the whole point of this thing is to be able to control the whole process precisely from the app, and even see other people’s recipes.

    Well, you can kind of customize things. You can create a recipe, using metric temperatures (even though F is shown), and select the amount of grounds (though I don’t think the scale is accurate, and time, up to three minutes, or total dissolved solids, depending on mode). There is no sharing, and the only way to edit the recipes is by selecting make stronger or more caffeine kick, not by altering the temp or time...there is no community sharing either.

    The end results after a bunch of trial and effort is a decent cup of coffee. I still think it uses tons of coffee, but you can get a decent cup of coffee out of the machine.

    The drawbacks are:

    1. It periodically loses the WiFi connection, and requires you to create another account with another email address, and you lose your recipes.

    2. It is messy. It kind of spews grounds and splashes coffee everywhere.

    3. About once a month it becomes hopelessly clogged and you have to take the bottom cover off the grinder (two screws) and chisel out the ground mess. The process isn’t that bad, but should be easier if this is a regular occurrence (which it is). It is only a couple of Torx screws, and requires you to empty the water (takes forever since it only seems to clog with a full water chamber). I use a bamboo skewer, the included brush, and a small shop vac to clean the "chute" and make sure the grinder can spin freely again.

    Note: Sometimes it is just a bean feed issue from the hopper and you can use a small zip tie to jostle the beans in the feeder.

    4. The coffee alarm or timed brewing does not work.

    Conclusion: Would I buy it again? No. Do I use it? Yes. But it is an over $400 reminder of why the saying "if something seems to good to be true, it probably is."

    If you are somewhat handy and have money to waste, this will result in a decent cup of coffee and an almost constant source of aggravation.

    Enjoy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    • Louisiana,
    • Dec 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It has been two years since September 2018 and still nothing but poor thoughtless emails telling how sorry they are for not delivering! Next to the last email said it would come in shipment for August 2018. In late September, I asked where my order was and another thoughtless reply:

    Eden (Orenda)

    Nov 27, 19:21 PST

    Hi Lon,

    We're sorry for the delay. Your order has been forwarded to the fulfillment department to ship out your order. However, they are experiencing a delay that can take up to two weeks.

    Thank you for understanding.

    Kind regards,

    Eden

    Interesting, since it's been well over four weeks since their last reply. You can see what I see it's a total scam! BEWARE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Dec 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It has been a year and a half and I never received it, in spite of shallow promises.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    AVOID. Complete scam. No machine, no refund.

    • USA,
    • Nov 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    See title of review. Still waiting after about 18 months. I do not understand how their website is still up. Complete fraud of a company that issues fake updates. Buy a good Pour-Over system.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Don’t do it

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Nov 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sorry to be on repeat, but the product took an additional year to arrive. With boilerplate responses trying my patience and knowing that a refund would not happen, I accepted the delivery.

    I’ll be honest, the product seems very well built and looks good on the counter. Unfortunately, it was too tall to be placed below cabinets, so we had to find a new location.

    Being pretty doesn’t matter, how is the coffee/app?

    I set up the WiFi and unbelievably it brewed the coffee. Damn, that is a loud machine, and what is with all the grounds being deposited outside the filter and on the counter? The taste seemed very weak, so I used that fancy app to brew very strong. Nope, the same weak coffee and felt I was drinking tea. I used daily for a couple of weeks and had to redo WiFi connection several times.

    I couldn’t get over the mess, weak coffee, and sketchy app. It’s now tossed in a cabinet in the event my real machine (Jura) has a sudden technical issue, and I need an emergency cup of tea - err coffee.

    What a waste of $400.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    It is a piece of crap and notwithstanding promises to take product back and refund purchase price, they never honored that representation.

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Nov 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I won't bother to go into detail other than to say, like other reviews have commented upon, their represented delivery did not occur, and it was several months late in arriving - many broken promises. Next, it did not perform anywhere near representations. Loud, messy, poor quality, not efficient in operation.

    The only positive: it looks pretty on the counter. I have been engaged in email exchange for 8 months on return. They have no telephone number so you can only have email exchange (when they decide to respond, usually a month or so after inquiry). They are dishonest and a fraud.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great coffee, horrible service.

    • Austin, TX,
    • Nov 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just over two years after the "promise date," the machine arrived. I was able to try it out for 4 carafes of great coffee before it quit working correctly - coffee would grind, but the water never filled the brewing chamber. An email to Support was quickly answered with information on cleaning the grinder area. Having already viewed the poor quality video, I went through a pretty complex cleaning process again - still no luck.

    I shot a video to upload to Support and - it's a miracle, it magically worked! At least one time, anyway. When it wouldn't work after that, I took it apart again and (I'll admit) I was overzealous and took out two additional screws in the grinder area. A very bad choice on my part, as the screws won't tighten and the grinder is now useless.

    Another email to Support was quickly replied to with "return the unit, and it will be reassembled for you," but NO return instructions or shipping address. Now, a MONTH and several more emails later, I still can't get a shipping address for return.

    2.5 or 3 stars for the coffee maker. Zero stars for support/service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Garbage

    • Fairfield, CA,
    • Nov 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    What a garbage machine! I am on my third machine that Orenda has sent us. The grinder plugs up, the glass cracks, and the app does not work. After waiting over a year for this product, you would have figured they did some sort of R&D on this. Nope. Just hosed a lot of people with $60 worth of garbage for $300+.

    Another Kickstarter company that should have done more research before they took a product to market.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 83

Write a Review for Orenda Coffee!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review