Read 83 Orenda Coffee Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 6)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 5 1 star:  74
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 56-66 of 83
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    First cups - not bad - not great either.

    Update. After using this for a few weeks, I have gone back to my Mr. Coffee coffee maker. The grinder spews out grounds onto the counter with every cup, no matter how I position things. The coffee grounds pile up on one side of the brew chamber, and you have to jiggle the chamber to get the grounds distributed, which disturbs the sensors that regulate how the machine brews. The coffee amount dispensed varies from 6 ounces to 10 ounces. I have had coffee brewing, which overflowed the brew chamber and never dispensed. I had to unplug the machine to stop it adding even more water. If I run a cleaning cycle after every cup, I don't run into that problem anymore, but what a waste of water. None of the filters I tried really fit the machine well, as I am always finding coffee grounds outside of the filter.

    I really wanted to love this machine, and it is physically beautiful with it's brushed steel and gleaming glass. But it just doesn't function well for its intended purpose - making coffee.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Mar 28, 2018

    First cups - not bad

    Considering the difficulties getting the glass manufactured to specifications, I can understand the shipping delays. However, the lack of communication caused concern that this was indeed a scam.

    Inspect your glass before assembling the coffee maker - if your glass is chipped, don't use it. I have seen a couple of reviews indicating that the water tank was leaking due to chipped glass.

    My Orenda arrived during the week and I put it together today. It was packed very nicely. The manual is not as useful as it could be; there is nothing that lists all of the parts, the instructions are not precise or detailed enough. I have a piece left that I can't for the life of me figure out where it goes. And a cleaning brush.

    There are no instructions on what the icons on the control screen mean. There are three; the Wi-Fi symbol, a water droplet, and a coffee cup. Press the water droplet to run a cleaning cycle, press the coffee cup to brew a cup (it took me too long to figure out that the droplet was for the cleaning cycle). Wi-Fi right now is meaningless as the app is not yet available.

    It took me a long time to figure out that I had to remove the water funnel to get the water tank in. The print instruction for that is very small, but it is there. I can't figure out what the deal is with getting the line on the water tank aligned with the brewer. I put it in so that they lined up after the tank was in, the video I saw later lines them up first and then seats the tank. Makes no difference that I can see.

    Brewing a cup of coffee without the app is easy. Add coffee beans, add water, put a cup on the tray, and press the coffee cup icon until it vibrates.

    Without the app, you can't make any alterations to how the coffee brews. The first cups were decent but had a bit of sediment. For future cups, I will use a paper filter in addition to the metal filter.

    So far, so good.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    The machine finally got here after waiting more than a year. The IOS app isn't ready. Why didn't they get this ready well before is beyond me. So they sent out the machine preset. The machine uses too much coffee. The mug is half full, and the coffee is lukewarm. I have sent numerous emails and received no reply. I want my money back. This is a joke! I wish someone would reply.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Don’t buy it yet!

    I ordered in June 2017 (for delivery in September) from their website, which didn’t make their Kickstarter origins or the unfinished state of the product clear at all. Now in March 2018, the first units have been finally delivered in the US, but it will take at least another month before I hear anything. The reviews so far are not good.

    The app, a centerpiece of their marketing, still hasn’t been released despite the 21st of March deadline and there has (as usual) been little to no communication.

    It seems that, out of the box, the machine has one recipe pre-programmed, but it may not be the same one for each machine. The most common experience seems to be a grind/brew time of 6 minutes for the lucky and 12 minutes for the unlucky. During this procedure, water seems to be recirculated from the bottom of the brewer to a secondary outlet at the top, which seems more like old-fashioned percolation than any kind of modern coffee-making. Perhaps it’s some kind of a cold brew technique, but we can only guess as the company has been completely silent. Many people have found the end result lukewarm. Some have found the coffee OK, some nice, some undrinkable. Variable taste or variable hardware?

    The grinder also can shoot grounds out the side of the machine, and when dispensing coffee into a cup at the end, some coffee can also end up on your counter.

    One person has reported leaking, and one person has got shocks from the machine. Statistically, this might not be worrying, but the lack of a clear response is.

    None of this sounds like the high-quality product we were promised.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Horrible design (after hands-on experience)

    • Los Gatos, CA,
    • Mar 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'll skip the shipping part because many people have complained here about that. But one thing I wanted to point out is that I communicated with them for a refund before they shipped since we were waiting too long and we bought a Breville coffee machine (love it by the way). I also got someone called Jade communicating with me, back and forth for a few months, every time I asked for a refund, they waited for a while then emailed me back with their official blog/update link, and stating my unit is on the way to the US or whatever. The last time we communicated regarding this issue, they finally said that my unit had left China and on the way to the US, hence my fund cannot be returned, while their website had no information about no refund policy. Not sure if it's even legal.

    After all those BS, I was hoping the actual product would be great. And I finally got it delivered and used it yesterday. Oh boy, is that a horrible design. The manual is very confusing, on the English writing-level, some misleading instructions. After I finally figured everything out, I started the brewing session. The so-called brewing chamber, which holds grounded coffee powders has quite a big gap between where the powder comes out and the actual cup (to be fair, this is what they showed on their website), the powders just flew out and sprinkled everywhere on my counter, and the chamber itself. I was using a paper filter the way they instructed, the powders also got into the gap between the chamber wall and the paper filter, a lot. That wasted lots of coffee.

    And after the session was done, I checked the chamber, some powders weren't even wet! Now moving on, the distance from the bottom of the chamber (metal filter) and the dry tray isn't very tall, it can bearly fit a 16oz mug (one of those tall ones sold at Starbucks). The default brewing setting seems to be 8oz (their app is not available yet, so not sure how to change that). After the session was done, the coffee splashed everywhere inside the cup; I can't imagine how bad my counter will be (on top of the coffee powders already there) if I chose 12oz or 14oz.

    Lastly, in order to pour water into the reservoir, there is a tray at the top, you pull it out and pour water into the tray, then the water will drop into the reservoir. But the tray is very shallow, so you have to 1) use a kettle, or anything that is easy to control how water comes out, a mug won't work, and 2) pour slowly; otherwise, the water will fill out the tray way faster and overflow.

    Overall, regardless of how they keep slipping the shipping deadline, very bad communications. And the product itself is so poorly designed and would only bring a headache to your life.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Orenda: Looks nice, unfulfilled Promises, big disappointment

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Mar 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Yesterday, Friday 23rd, March 2018, the Orenda Coffee maker which was purchased on the 18th of June 2017 arrived at my flat. I was super excited and unboxed it, set it up and brewed my first cup. As I was unboxing the machine, I found that the parts are authentic to the promise. The water beaker is glass, the brewing chamber is glass, and while it is not possible to see inside the machine, the promise that the beans, water, and coffee only ever come into contact with glass and stainless steel continue to hold promise and offer a point of difference to other machines not the market that are made largely of plastic. The assembly is easy and once assembled, it looks so amazing, modern and cool sitting on my kitchen counter (wish I knew if there was a way to post a photo here).

    Sadly, the coffee maker could not be more disappointing. I wish I could post a video here from the brewing process to provide more visuals on the description below. Why is it so disappointing?

    The first and foremost reason is the brewing temperature. Prior to ordering, I corresponded with the Orenda team to find out what the brewing temperature was because this is a critical factor in brewing a delicious cup of coffee (you can Google this and you will find a German-made machine from Technivorm). The Orenda support team told me it is controllable by the user to a temperature up to 121 degrees Fahrenheit. That was a blatant lie. Now as I check the FAQs on their website, the brewing temperature is a paltry 99 degrees, which yields a somewhat tepid cup of coffee. Another reason the cup of coffee you end up drinking is so tepid is because the machine circulates the water through the coffee grounds continuously for about 2 - 3 minutes to get the brew strength higher. The brewing basket is glass and is open around the top so heat escapes and is absorbed by the glass. The end result is a very disappointing and tepid cup of coffee.

    The second major fail is that when the machine is grinding the beans and the beans are being dispensed into the brewing chamber, because there is a gap around the top of the brewing chamber, there are coffee grounds all over the kitchen counter, and the grounds are sticking to all parts of the machine, likely attracted by some sort of static electricity on the surface of the machine itself. So there is always a lot of clean up required after using the machine. Honestly, if the machine were brewing the perfect cup of coffee, I might overlook this, but since the end product is so sub-par, it is not worth the effort.

    The third major fail is the amount of grounds. I cannot find any way to regulate the amount of grounds being dispensed into the brewing chamber. It is not discussed in the user manual, and I cannot find anything on the Orenda website. This is the other major factor in brewing the perfect cup of coffee.

    The fourth disappointment is the original marketing of the machine said it did not require filters. This is now only partially true, there is a stainless steel permanent filter embedded in the base of the brewing chamber. And it is easily cleanable. But in the instruction book and FAQs, Orenda now advises to purchase and use paper filters. Without paper filters, the company refers to the coffee as "French Press," which means there is a certain level of superfine grounds remaining in your cup of coffee after you drink it and some of those will find their way into the coffee you are drinking. With the filter, Orenda refers to this as "Pour Over." I ordered the filters from Amazon. I will update the review after I try those.

    The fifth disappointment is there is no app. That is one of the biggest selling points. The app lets you control the machine, but there is no indication of when the app will be available and what you can actually control the app. And when the app is available, the machine will work with only the slower and outdated 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, which I no longer have. My Wi-Fi is faster 5 GHz.

    The sixth inconsistency is that the FAQs say you can use any kind of bean in the machine. In the instruction manual that comes with the machine, it says on page 11: "Warning: Do not use espresso coffee beans, only regular coffee beans. To prevent the grinder from jamming, do not use unroasted or oily beans." If you are a coffee connoisseur, then you know that some of the best, most flavourful beans are those that are oily.

    Yesterday (Friday 23rd, March 2018), after brewing my first cup of coffee and making all these disappointing discoveries, I emailed Orenda Support (which still has the company's original name: support@auromabrewing.com which they could not use because of trademark infringement). I am awaiting their response to how these failures can be remedied.

    To recap:

    1. Low brewing temperature which cannot be regulated.

    2. Amount of ground beans leaves a mess to clean up.

    3. Amount of ground beans cannot be regulated.

    4. The machine requires the use of paper filters unless you like French Press.

    5. No app to operate the machine, and it works with only slow wifi (2.4GHz).

    6. Espresso or "oily" beans are not allowed.

    I am very unhappy that I was swindled out of $434 (including shipping) for a product that is so far from what was promised. If I could give a no star review, I would.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 10 people found this review helpful

    They kept their word

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Mar 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Truthfully, I thought it was a scam like many others here, however, without a lack of communication they say it would ship, and it did!

    I got mine last night and can’t wait to make my first brew. Will it work? I will most likely come back here with my verdict. The machine is beautiful by the way.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Finally arrived and it works well (not a scam!)

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Mar 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like many, I have been concerned about the extended delivery time for this product. The lack of communication from the company as the months past was also a problem for me.

    That all being said, my Orenda Coffee maker arrived today. It doesn’t appear that the iOS app is available yet, or at least I couldn’t find it in the App Store or from the website. So, I made a cup of coffee without the app, which was as simple as pressing a single button. I have to say that it made a great cup of coffee, with very little effort on my part. I have been a coffee aficionado for many years and have prepared coffee in pretty much any way you can do it, and I was pleased with the cup the Orenda produced. I look forward to the app being released to see what else the Orenda can do, and the reason I give the product four stars is because the iOS app is not yet available.

    Personally, I can put aside the slow delivery and poor communication since I now have the product and it seems to be of very high-quality; the materials are metal and glass, and the aesthetics are appealing to me. Having participated in a number of crowdfunded product launches in recent years, I can say I have experienced worse and I have experienced better with regards to delivery and being kept up-to-date on progress and challenges.

    The bottom line is, I think the Orenda product is great, and if they can get the customer service part of the equation dialed-in, then I think they will do well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Run the other way!

    • Denville, NJ,
    • Mar 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We ordered the unit in June 2017 through the website (linked from a Facebook ad). I was totally unaware that this was a Kickstarter project. I, like others, was charged the $434 upfront. I have had several communications from the company replete with ship dates, production and customs delays, shipping problems, port problems, holiday problems, etc. I have also communicated with someone named "Jade" on Instant Messenger, assurance was made, and ship dates were reiterated. My recent several requests for a refund were ignored.

    I have contacted Visa, and they will be refunding my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Garbage

    Yep, I'm one of the first morons to buy this piece of garbage. It's been a year, and no piece of garbage has been delivered to my door. The first report was delivery in May 2017, then June, then September, then October, then December, then January, and now March. Even if this mythical machine ends up being the best device in the known universe, I will never, ever purchase anything from these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Orenda Coffee machine

    • South Carolina,
    • Feb 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Orenda Coffee machine is 100%, without a doubt a SCAM.

    If not, why wouldn't they give me a refund when requested, when the coffee machine was told shipped and due to arrive end of December and now, 2/3/18, was told just being shipped?!

    I ordered on 11/2/17 and paid with a credit card. I received a confirmation email. I emailed Auroma Brewing (Orenda) on 11/25 asking for the status. The return email stated it would be receiving by end of December or earlier. I asked if I could change the shipping address as it was a Christmas gift. They happily accepted the new address. Then when our daughter, the intended recipient, followed up she was told the end of February delivery.

    I then emailed requesting a refund, and they replied with "it is on its way." All correspondence stopped.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Orenda is a scam! Stay away!

    I ordered and paid for in full Orenda Coffee Maker in January of 2017 with the promise to have the product delivered in a few months. It is now 13 months later, and I have not received a product. I have contacted them three times to request a refund, and they have not responded to any of these requests. There is no way to contact an actual person via phone. They just ignore the emails they don't want to deal with. At this point, I have no option but to dispute the charge with my credit card company and let them handle it.

    Stay away from this company and save yourself the headaches! There are other better products out there by now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 56-66 of 83

Write a Review for Orenda Coffee!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review