What Is Oreous Pillow?

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Sep 8, 2017

Developed over the course of two years with sleep experts from around the world, the Italian-made Oreous Pillow uses patented technology to adjust to your preferred thickness and height, potentially leading to reduced neck pain, headaches, and stress, along with a revolutionized sleep experience.

Blended with a soft, 100 percent organic exterior and a cotton interior cover, the website tells us that the pillow is naturally antibacterial, breathable, doesn’t retain heat or odors, and won’t create static.

Based on what we learned from the product’s website, it certainly seems like the Oreous Pillow features some compelling new technology. But since it hasn’t been released yet, should you continue looking at other adjustable pillows, or does it represent the end of your search for a perfect pillow, as mentioned in the promotional video?

Let’s start by taking a closer look at its specifications.

An Under-the-Cover Look at the Oreous Pillow

At the core of the Oreous Pillow are thousands of microloops, which are said to rebound 10X faster than normal memory foam and 1,000X faster than a feather down pillow. This way, however you move around, the company claims you’ll have reliable 360-degree head and neck support.

After reaching out to the company about the specific material, they responded that: “The main material used in the microloops is proprietary, which has the responsiveness of latex, support of memory foam, and softness of feather. No chemical agent has been used in their production, and our team uses the most eco-friendly methods; i.e., using water as an expanding agent instead of CFC gas.”

Another unique feature is that these microloops can be removed, allowing you to perfectly match your height, thickness, and support preferences, down to the micromillimeter. And using the custom cylinder your pillow was shipped in, you’ll be able to store these microloops if you’d like to re-add them at a later date.

Oreous Pillow Microloops ScreenshotIn this screenshot from Oreous Pillow’s crowdfunding video, we can see some of the thousands of microloops contained in the interior cover, which are said to offer customized support and breathability. Image credit: Oreous

Helping the internal microloops flow freely is the interior cover, which is made from breathable 100 percent cotton. The exterior cover, made of Lenpur cellulose fiber derived from specific types of timber, features a naturally luxurious feel the company claims provides the comfort of silk, the touch of cashmere, and the lightness of linen.

It’s also said to be a naturally antibacterial fiber that balances heat production from your body, keeping you cooler in the summer and warmer in the winter.

The cover is Oeko-Tex® Standard 100 certified, which means it’s 100 percent nontoxic and safe, while the company emphasizes that “no unnatural expanding agents, chlorinated hydrocarbons, or CFCs have been used to create the microloops.”

Finally, around the edge of Oreous’ exterior is their 3D mesh band technology, which helps the pillow keep its shape and further promotes air exchange.

Oreous PillowThe exterior of the Oreous Pillow, with its Lenpur cellulose fiber and 3D mesh band technology. Image credit: Oreous

How Much Does the Oreous Pillow Cost?

At the time of this writing, the only way to preorder an Oreous Pillow was through the company’s Indiegogo campaign, with the following perks:

  • 1 Standard Pillow (18"x 28"): $84
  • 1 King Pillow (18"x 34"): $94
  • 2 Standard Pillows: $155
  • 2 King Pillows: $169
  • 5 Standard Pillows: $385
  • 5 King Pillows: $410

Shipping was estimated as sometime during October 2017. We also learned from customer support that the pillow comes with a 30-day refund policy and that three pounds of additional microloops can be purchased from the website for $40.

Are There Any Online Customer Reviews for the Oreous Pillow?

At the time of our research, Oreous’ Indiegogo campaign had earned nearly $370,000—exceeding their original goal by more than 1,300 percent. Before that, their Kickstarter campaign ending June 2, 2017 raised almost $330,000.

Although most Kickstarter updates could only be viewed by backers at the time of our research, it appears there have been some shipping delays, as delivery was originally slated for July 2017. It also appears that some backers have commented on the odor of the Lenpur fabric or microloops, which the company claimed is “a natural smell that does subside after a few days.”

Outside of this, the only other firsthand feedback we encountered was on Sleep Sherpa, who reported that based on what he learned from Kickstarter, the Oreous Pillow matched his expectations. He said it felt softer, similar to a shredded memory foam pillow, but that it recovered faster and was slightly more breathable, “because the loops are big enough to create larger air pockets.”

He noted that, while Oreous contoured well, it didn’t stack up to “some of the higher end shredded foam pillows I have reviewed, so that is a trade off.”

In the end, he concluded:

“The Oreous Pillow is more evolutionary than revolutionary. It is great for people that want quicker recovery than what a typical memory foam pillow can offer but still want some of the benefits that only memory foam can provide, such as superior contouring and pressure relief. I have been sleeping on my Oreous for a weekend and find that it holds its shape well and sleeps cool.”

Note: In Sleep Sherpa’s unboxing video, the shipping canister containing Oreous seemed a little beat up, with some torn exterior wrapping, while the aluminum had a number of dents and folds.

While we don’t expect that customers will exactly use this canister as a showpiece in their home, if yours arrives in a similar condition, it’s probably something you’ll want to hide at the back of your closet—if you plan to remove some of the microloops, of course.

And since this canister isn’t exactly tiny, you’ll need to make sure you have the room to accommodate it.

Lastly, Mark Reissi is CEO and founder of Oreous Pillow, as well as Reissi Mall and Reissi Empire. According to his LinkedIn profile, he’s based out of Sydney, NSW and previously attended the University of Sydney, where he obtained he masters degrees in Commerce and International Studies.

Oreous vs. Other Adjustable Pillows

Browsing online, we found dozens of adjustable pillow options, most of which were filled with shredded memory or latex foam, although several options implement some type of air pump. Another popular option that’s been around for years is buckwheat, millet, or kapok filling, which are all-natural options that can be added or removed as needed.

While we didn’t encounter anything filled with the same microloops as Oreous, among foam pillows, their adjustability methods varied widely, from removing foam directly to pulling out interior layers, or sections. Price-wise, most seemed to fall somewhere between $50 and $150, putting Oreous’ king model squarely in the middle.

Note: Just like no single shirt will fit every person or a single medication will clear up every patient’s symptoms, there isn’t one pillow that will help every consumer achieve a better night’s sleep. After all, your age, weight, body type, preferences, and potential medical conditions can have a big impact on what works for you.

With this key fact in mind, in Top Pillow Picks for Each Position, we discuss that memory foam (the material most similar to Oreous’ microloops, as we learned earlier) can be a solid choice if you’re a restless sleeper since these pillows quickly conform to movements at night.

Outside of material and price, the right pillow for you will largely depend on your preferred sleeping position. For example:

  • Back sleepers should focus on pillows that are fluffy, yet squishy, feature medium firmness and properly cradle the neck.
  • Side sleepers often require pillows that are thicker and very firm, with a design that focuses on cradling the head.
  • On the other hand, stomach sleepers might opt for a very thin pillow—or even none at all, with a maximum amount of softness and malleability.

Granted, since the thickness and support provided by adjustable pillows like Oreous can be changed, it might be the case that they have the ability to meet the sleeping needs of a broader audience.

However, Oreous’ website didn’t provide additional information about the primary materials used in their microloops, or whether or not they might present any allergy concerns for some consumers, so we reached out for more detail.

Our Final Thoughts About the Oreous Pillow

According to the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, sleep plays an important role in good mental and physical health and well-being, as well as in quality life and overall safety. And based on what we’ve learned during our research, pillows can play an integral part in achieving more restorative sleep.

What’s more, adjustable options like the Oreous Pillow might be able to meet the needs and preferences of the widest cross-section of consumers, since they can—at least in theory—conform to the needs of just about any sleeping position.

Despite these potential benefits, there’s simply no way to know if a pillow, adjustable or otherwise, will work for you without sleeping on it, or at least giving it a few test squeezes. And since Oreous is only available online, this is something you won’t get to do before handing over your money.

On top of this, current customers will have to wait until October to receive their pillows, assuming no shipping delays occur. And until we hear back from the company about their refund policy, we can’t know if you’ll be able to recoup your money if Oreous doesn’t meet your needs and preferences.

However, the company was very responsive to our request for additional information and they seem to stand behind their pillow with a 30-day refund policy, although you’ll likely be out a few bucks in return S&H charges.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

16 Consumer Reviews for Oreous Pillow

Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  14
Bottom Line: 13% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 16
Sort reviews by:

  • Terrible experience, terrible company, terrible pillow

    • New York,
    • Jan 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Aside from the horrible experience I had ordering these pillows, the delays, the price increase, etc., all of that could have been forgiven with the right customer service. Instead, my emails received unacceptably rude responses to my concerns and no attempt to resolve any issue. Despite the site claiming that they would go above and beyond to make their customers happy, even giving a full refund, they absolutely refused when I requested one.

    FINALLY, my pillows arrived, and the dissatisfaction just keeps going. There was no extra bag of filler which was promised after they miscalculated the shipping costs, one pillow came with a cheap orange bag, one didn’t. The bag is drawstring so completely impractical for storing extra filling. Not really sure what it’s for if not that.

    The pillow itself is very uncomfortable. We’ve been adding and removing filling for days trying to make it feel good to sleep on, and it’s incredibly frustrating. Neither of us like it. The filling is stringy foam pieces, which don’t appear at all durable. The pillow itself is very hard to get in and out of a pillowcase; it has weird fabric on the edge that makes it stick. Isn’t great at keeping cool, it really doesn’t live up to any of its claims.

    My friend had a MyPillow, which is pretty much the same concept except they arrive perfectly stuffed, they’re comfortable, affordable and the company has a real customer service department who are actually helpful and care about their customers.

    I just hate everything about this pillow and this company. I wish I could get a refund, but I’m sure that will never happen. I am investigating my options through the Better Business Bureau.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Worth the wait!

    Hey guys,

    First thing I want to say is that Indiegogo and Kickstarter are product launch platforms. You are not purchasing an item, you are pledging a donation, and being promised a reward (the product). Generally this product has never been made before and will run into some speed bumps.

    I have waited patiently for my reward (King Size Oreous Pillow) and paid the extra shipping charges that they did not foresee having to charge (International logistics are complicated!). They updated us regularly via CrowDox and Kickstarter updates regarding how off the rails their distribution went and apologized profusely about the delays while promising a high-quality product before Christmas.

    When I started to get impatient, I was emailing Mark via all available channels and did not receive a response. I too started to get a little weary. That being said, I received my pillow this week (12/13/17) and couldn't be any happier.

    This pillow is absolutely everything they promised and then some. I have tried regular polyfill pillows, down pillows, traditional memory foam pillows, ergonomic memory foam, and even the Purple Pillow. None of these pillows were able to be my only pillow (always need some stack or combination for my wide shoulders), and none of them hold up to the weight of my (huge) head without having to be flipped repeatedly during the night. So far, the Oreous Pillow checks all these boxes and is large enough (king size) to never require repositioning.

    Ok, maybe you think I'm being paid to post this because this all sounds too good to be true, but I'm not. I'm just an incredibly thankful and happy customer that can't wait to buy another one for my wife.

    I really hope that you all (above) finally get your pillows, and take the time to update your scathing reviews. The Oreous Pillow is a very high-quality option and fulfills all my complicated pillow requirements while being better than anything I've found on the market.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Oreous scam

    I backed this on Indiegogo in August with a tentative delivery date of October. This story is identical to so many others, as I've yet to receive anything but blatant lies. They have repeatedly said that "they are finalizing shipping" and then nothing. I will be filing a fraud claim against them and I would not recommend anybody to ever do any business with Oreous or Mark Reissi. A scam, pure and simple.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Stay away.

    • Singapore,
    • Dec 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I backed the project on Indiegogo in August with shopping stating in October. It is December now with no news of my pillow. They don't even reply to emails or comments on their page. It's a blatant scam. Stay away.

    I reported the page to Indiegogo but they took no action. Last project to be backed with Indiegogo.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Fraud

    • United Kingdom,
    • Dec 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    As with the other negative reviews here, I ordered via Indiegogo, paid the money, completed the survey and added some extras, paid a bit more and still have nothing at all. I've emailed Oreous twice and I've emailed Mark Reissi directly, none of my emails have been acknowledged or replied to. I've reported the Indiegogo page twice but sill the page exists to rip people off. If you're going to give money away give it to a charity rather than a con artist!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Adjustability

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Dec 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Love my Oreous. They have finally been shipped and I've got mine. It took out some loops because it was too much but it's now amazing. Ordering another through Indiegogo. Pay the extra shipping people! It's worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    No good

    The order should have been delivered a month ago, but I have no pillow and no refund or even an update. These are con artists that probably drive around in Ferraris at our expense. Complete scammers!

    Just as much criticism goes to Kickstarter who couldn't care less that more and more of these fundraisers are scams. Kickstarter doesn't take any responsibility and even lets the Oreous scam team continue scamming people as we speak! Incredible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    No product, no response

    Pillows were due to be shipped in mid-October, which I still have not received. So far no responses to the 4 emails I have sent requesting progress updates. Vague campaign updates stating "all orders have been shipped" numerous times. Checking the comments section of both the Indiegogo and Kickstarter campaigns indicate that most backers have not received their pillows as well including backers who were supposed to receive the product in mid-September.

    At the moment I am certain that the order will not be fulfilled as this appears to be standard business practice for Mark Reissi. He has bad reviews for his furniture business as well.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Crooked jerk

    • New York,
    • Nov 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They stole my money and shipped me nothing. Made lots of promises but never delivered. Will not respond to emails or comments to his backers. It's been months since I backed this product. Fist it was backed by Kickstarter campaign, and then over to Indiegogo to take more money. No one has received anything.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Oreous Pillow alert

    • Palo Alto, CA,
    • Oct 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Mark Reissi will not return your emails or messages. I cannot comment on the pillow because it has not been shipped. Mark Reissi has asked for an additional $40 for shipping after already charging exorbitant shipping costs at the time of the pledge. He will not refund your money. He will not answer your emails unless he thinks he will get more money out of you. It’s amazing that Kickstarter and Indiegogo and others can continue to profit from this guy and have no accountability to his fraud. How is this possible? I doubt that their user agreements would stand up to this level of negligent referral if someone were to test a class action suit against them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    I wish I could rate negative stars!

    Unfortunately, the other reviews are spot on. Backers placed their orders via Kickstarter in good faith of receiving a fabulously (apparently, hyped-up lies) revolutionary pillow.

    We were initially told that since they made so much from backers that we would be getting additional perks. Either extra micro loops (pillow stuffing) to add to our pillows or a micro loop stress ball.

    First red flag, stretch goals could not be honored due to not enough micro loops available.

    Red flag number two, shipping for September would be delayed due to underestimating shipping costs.

    Red flag number three, although, we all had paid for shipping, we get an update that we will have to pony up an additional $19-$36 for shipping before our pillows would be sent. Good news, they love their customers and will provide a loop keeper bag and a discount of the amount of extra shipping paid as a discount on their new product in development.

    Wait? What? Yes, seriously. Emails have been ignored and no pillows have been sent. Mark Reissi/REISSI Empire/REISSI Mall all have negative marks/reviews. If you see any of those names, BEWARE and be FOREWARNED as you will probably be out of your hard-earned money.

    I would have loved to have actually been able to give a product review, but I have not received it, and I backed this project back in May 2017.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 16

Write a Review for Oreous Pillow!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review