• 25 Customer Reviews
  • 20% Recommend This Company
1.8 out of 5
5 star: 12% 4 star: 4% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 12% 1 star: 68%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Ordered but not received

    • By Lawrence L.,
    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Jun 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered this product on 4/3/2018, and I received an order confirmation number of 25422123. As of this date, 5/30/2018, I have received no response nor credit activity to my bank account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Surprise purchase

    • By Sarah T.,
    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Jul 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered these in November 2017. I was told four months later, in March, that they didn’t have enough in stock and my order was being canceled. Then in July of 2018, my account was charged more than I originally agreed to pay with an email saying my order was on its way. When I tried to find a customer service email, to ask why this happened, I couldn’t find one. They don’t have a way for me to ask why I was recharged for an order that they canceled. I feel like I’ve been scammed. 10/10 would not recommend. In fact, I would actively encourage everyone to avoid any dealings with this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ordered eight months ago

    • By Rodney L.,
    • Davison, MI,
    • Jul 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered a set of these headphones before Christmas of 2017 and I just now received them July 2018. In January 2018, when they asked me if I wanted to receive my order when they arrived, I said yes, not knowing it was going to take eight months. I gave up on getting them and ordered another pair of headphones from another company, thinking they were not coming. Wrong, I got them eight months later, so I sent them back and they would not pay for return shipping which cost me $13. They should have paid for the return postage based on the circumstances, but obstinately refused.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worthless!

    • By Thomas M.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Aug 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    These headphones are worthless, they hardly amplify anything at all, and what's worse, their customer service is even more worthless. You will regret buying this piece of crap, and good luck trying to get a refund. I expected a good item to help with my poor hearing, and have been 100% disappointed! I think that I am mostly disappointed with their almost nonexistent customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Knocks out your internet

    • By Cay H.,
    • New Port Richey, FL,
    • Dec 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I got our Own Zone headphones and the problem with them is that if you stream TV, which I know lots of people are going to, that it knocks out your internet. There is no fix to this according to the customer service person I spoke with today. I am sending them back and will post how my experience goes with customer service and getting a refund. I think they need to let people know it will not work if you stream TV!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointed

    • By Diane T.,
    • Chalmette, LA,
    • Dec 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was given a phone number to request a return and refund, but nothing on that line allows for that service. Then I found another line on this site and again was unable to reach anyone even though I called within the specified times listed. I am trying to find out how I can get an authorization to return these headphones (I have two of them and am not interested in keeping them).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Garbage

    • By Melissa I.,
    • California,
    • Feb 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I got this for my dad for Xmas. Forty days later they don't work. The Sharper Image doesn't want to help. Target (where I bought them) won't take them back because it's past 30 days, and I have an expensive paperweight.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Didn't work

    • By James H.,
    • Stansbury Park, UT,
    • Mar 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I could never get the system to work correctly, it never seemed to pair with the base. And, of course, there is no customer service to troubleshoot the system. What a piece of junk. Don't buy this thing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Junk

    • By Angelica G.,
    • California,
    • Apr 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Junk junk junk! I received these as a gift. I was excited to use them but once I connected them all I heard was loud static. I tried connecting them to multiple TVs and it didn’t work. I contacted customer service and the guy instantly knew what I was talking about and said there’s nothing they can do for me. Seriously?! I’d give it negative stars if I could.

    DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Junk

    • By Henry J.,
    • Michigan,
    • Apr 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Wow! You guys should be absolutely ashamed of your reviews! I have had my 2 sets for approximately 6 months. We have used them about 6 times and one port is already broken. Junk, junk, junk. Should have bought the Bose! Talked with customer service and they do not care about customer satisfaction. They even lied and said they really have no complaints on the port. Hah! The reviews say different. For anyone who has invested in this garbage and can't return it Amazon has a universal port for about $20.00. Still have to learn to quit getting scammed by these junk retailers! Can only hope the other port keeps working and the headphones don't fail. Shocks me that they carry the Sharper Image label! Disgusted!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Junk

    • By Wayne W.,
    • San Antonio, TX,
    • May 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Headphones don’t work, just loud static. RCA cable and AUX cable are not options because it’s 2019 and I have a modern television. Headphones are complete junk and useless. Will be returning to store to return this useless piece of junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not a good review

    • By Verlin S.,
    • Indiana,
    • May 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I own 4 sets of Own Zone earphones. I first purchased two sets in July 2018. Used them for 4 months and went south for the winter. Home in May 2019, one set has no sound. When purchased they had a one year replacement warranty. I called the company and was told the warranty is now only 90 days. "I got screwed."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They break after a few months

    • By Jerry G.,
    • Martinez, CA,
    • Jun 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought two of them, and after a few months, they do not function. They will not charge up anymore and are worthless. While they are working for the two months, they do the job. Too bad they do not last. They need to be more durable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great while it lasted

    • By Linda W.,
    • Saint Marys, WV,
    • Jun 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered two of these for Christmas gifts 2018, one for the den and one for the guest room. Initially, one had a damaged charging port. It was replaced. That one just quit after less than 10 hours of use.

    The den set has been used two hours a day, seven days a week since January 2019. It too has now quit. Their reply was "your warranty has expired" but we'll send you a new "updated" set for the same price. My disappointment (putting it mildly) is not the 90-day warranty, but the small amount of use, time-wise. We really enjoyed the product but cannot afford to purchase a new set. I bought the product based on the "Sharper Image" name. I feel "ripped off".

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Transmitters failed

    • By Paul M.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jan 28, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought two. They worked great for a few months. Now neither transmitter works. Customer service would not offer to sell replacement transmitters. I wouldn't buy this product again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible!

    • By Nancy H.,
    • Washington,
    • May 25, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    These headphones are horrible and I want my REFUND! You don't even answer your CS, I'M STILL WAITING ALMOST AN HOUR! Don't buy as I wished I had looked up all the very poor ratings on this. Sharper Image is a big disappointment!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bought two, trying to get one to work

    • By Carroll H.,
    • Tennessee,
    • May 28, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Sounded great. Bought a set at Target. Wouldn't work using ANY of the connectors to ANY TV. Tried multiple TVs. Tried pairing from scratch. Tried doing a manual reset. Went and bought another set thinking maybe the first one had either a bad transmitter or bad earphones.

    Second set did exactly as the first set. Called customer service - stayed on the line on hold for 1 HOUR to the minute, and then they dropped the call. DO NOT waste money or time with these. Very disappointed in Sharper Image - have totally lost respect for that company name.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Customer

    • By Fay C.,
    • New York, NY,
    • Oct 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought two earphones. I only opened one box so far. I will definitely have to open the second box and hope the product does not have any problems. The first product's earphone "on/off" button broke after 4-5 uses.

    Audio rates a 4-5.

    The product is light in weight and immediately brings to mind - cheaply made. However, the lightness is appreciated wearing the earphones. Overall rating: 2.

    Customer service rating: 5.

    Instructions did not have a phone number listed, only email address. Packaging label was not included in the package.

    I had to contact billing statement to obtain phone number.

    Thank heavens American Express lists companies' names and phone numbers on statement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • NO customer service or support

    • By C. R. S.,
    • Georgia,
    • Mar 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased two Own Zone sets that were being closed out by the retailer. One of the headsets has bad static on the right side and is essentially useless. The sets were on close-out and the retailer does not offer a refund or exchange.

    I contacted Own Zone and was informed that "There is nothing we can do." This based on the fact that the item was sold as a closeout. His comment to me was essentially; You paid a reduced price so we won't do anything to help you.

    Must say that the other set purchased works very well and am happy with its performance.

    I do remember when Sharper Image was a respected brand and line of higher-end gadgets and devices. It is sad to see that this is no longer the case. Truly disappointed in the lack of customer and warranty support. Will not purchase Sharper Image branded items again, based solely on the very poor customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointed

    • By Marc B.,
    • New York City, NY,
    • May 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought a pair of Sharper Image Own Zone wireless earphones at Home Goods. The first time I tried them the sound was perfect and I was very happy with it. The next time I went to use them the transmitter would not turn on. I switched USB port with no results. I connected the transmitter to an electrical outlet with no results. Contacted customer service who told me to do what I had done and the rep finally told me to return them to the store. There seemed to be a problem with the transmitter. I exchanged the earphones for another set and explained that the transmitter was not working. The second set lasted three days and the transmitter stopped working. Hope I can get a refund. I'm pretty surprised that Sharper Image would put its name to a poor manufactured item. I will buy wireless earphones but will stay away from Own Zone.

    Problem was that the transmitter was plugged into a USB port on the TV. It was supposed to turn on with the TV and turn off when I shut down the TV.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Broken port charger

    • By Bobby S.,
    • Nebraska,
    • Mar 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After using the Own Zone now for at least 4 months, I one day put the charger cord into the port and it fell inside of the headphones, which means I can no longer charge the headphones and it defeats the purpose of the purchase. And having no address or phone number to see if I can get a replacement leaves me hopeless. They work great, but if a problem arises, you're on your own...not good!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Update

    • By Barbra L.,
    • Arizona,
    • Sep 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Within a week, one of our headsets broke - my husband pressed the "on" button (maybe too hard, he used his fingernail) and the button popped into the headset and could not be retrieved.

    He called the Customer Service number and spoke to "Dave." Dave was very understanding and immediately offered a replacement. He emailed me a return USPS shipping label, and we packaged up the broken headset in the original shipping box with all the paperwork.

    I received confirmation from Own Zone when they received my package, to let me know they would be shipping a replacement. Within 10 days, the replacement arrived.

    As far as my experience with their Customer Service, I feel they did an excellent job. We solved the problem with the loss of sound in the headset when we mute the TV. Our soundbar is now connected to the 3.5mm headset jack, which kills the TV speakers and provides sound through the soundbar. The headset transmitter uses the optical cable, providing sound only to the headset. If we don't want sound in the room, we mute the soundbar; this leaves the headset sound on.

    We are very satisfied with this purchase and the service we received, and I am upgrading my rating to 4 stars.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Sep 12, 2018

    Okay, but misleading instructions

    My husband needs a headset because of some high-frequency hearing loss. For his purposes, the headset works very well. We ordered a second headset for me, thinking we could both tune in to the same transmitter, and each adjust our volume accordingly. The instruction manual states this is possible, and gives directions on how to do this, which do not work. Each headset comes with its own transmitter and only pairs with that. We have tried everything in the manual but did not see the described light signals or hear the beeps described.

    Be aware that if you use the optical cable, the instructions state you will continue to receive sound with the TV muted, but this is not the case, at least for us. If we mute the TV, we lose sound in the headset. We cannot use the RCA cables, because our TV only has Audio In, no Audio Out. I plan to experiment with the 3.5 mm audio jack, since we also have a separate sound bar, which may still work with the TV speakers muted. I would only recommend it to someone who did not need to have two headsets paired to the same transmitter.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Great product

    • By Eric L.,
    • Huntsville, AL,
    • Jul 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered headphones for my mom because most nights the volume on the TV is loud enough that neighbors can hear. I was not sure if this product would solve the problem.

    Well, Mom LOVES them!

    I used the Optical cable supplied and got great sound.

    You will need USB power. Some TVs have a USB built into the TV, but my older VIZO does not. My power strip has USB connections built in for power. Some cell phones use a USB charger, or a cheap one can be purchased.

    Good buy!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Own Zone headphones

    • By Trudie G.,
    • Houma, LA,
    • Oct 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I love these headphones. I am able to watch TV without disturbing hubby’s sleep. They work 100% better than any headphones I have bought before. They are well worth the $59.99 price.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • AWESOME!

    • By Denise H.,
    • Missouri,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered these headphones from Target and received them in 24 hours. My 70-year-old mother loves them and now my dad wants a pair. The sound is phenomenal! She can hear the TV so much better. I will be getting my dad a pair, and maybe one for me!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-25 of 25

Write a Review for Own Zone!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Own Zone