About Perfect Water Purifier

The Perfect Water Purifier (also known as the Clearly Filtered Water Pitcher) is claimed to use cutting-edge, high-powered purifying filters to provide you with the best tasting water that’s been stripped of as many chemicals as possible.

In order to accomplish this, each Perfect Water Purifier is claimed to feature dual-action gravity filters (more about this next) containing activated carbon. This carbon works to pull the water through the filter, while catching up to 71 harmful chemicals on a molecular level, including fluoride, heavy metals, and bacteria. However, the Perfect Water Purifier/Clearly Filtered Water Pitcher is claimed to keep all the healthy minerals in tact, including calcium, magnesium, zinc, and more.

Once the water is filtered though the Perfect Water Purifier, it remains in a 100% BPA-free, medical-grade plastic pitcher until you’re thirsty and ready to use.

With this said, let’s take a closer look at exactly how the Perfect Water Purifier’s filter works.

How Does the Perfect Water Purifier Claim to Work?

According to the company, the Perfect Water Purifier uses gravity to pull the water through an activated carbon filter containing “contaminant-catching micropores.” This activated carbon is claimed to be ionically charged, with holes that are 2.0 microns in size. And when contaminants pass through these holes, the carbon’s natural electrical charge “grabs” them, “sticks them to the filter,” and removes them from your drinking water.

Then, underneath the carbon filter is a second organic filter (known as NatClean) that contains dozens of layers with thousands of natural “micro-channels” that also catch and absorb heavy metals, fluoride, and pharmaceutical contaminants, while allowing good minerals and pure water to pass through. And although the NatClean’s layers are contained in a very small area, the company claims that one filter contains enough surface area to cover half a football field.

In total, four of these activated carbon/NatClean combinations are contained in each Perfect Water Purifier filter.

What is Activated Carbon?

Derived from charcoal, activated carbon “is a form of carbon processed to have small, low-volume pores that increase the surface area available for absorption or chemical reactions.”

In addition to the water filtration provided by the Perfect Water Purifier, activated carbon is also used for groundwater remediation, air purification, capturing volatile organic compounds (VOCs), and more.

Water Filtration vs. Water Purification

Regardless of whether a filter contains activated carbon or not though, it’s important to distinguish here between filtration and purification, since you’ll often see them used interchangeably when doing your research.

According to OffTheGridNews, water filtration is “the process of ridding water of any impurities through a physical barrier, chemicals, or a biological process.” On the other hand, purification is defined as removing “all bacterial components from water without attending to undesirable chemicals and minerals.”

As such—despite what it’s name might lead you to believe—the Perfect Water Purifier only filters water, but does not purify it based on the standard definition of the word.

How Does the Perfect Water Filter Compare to Other Filtration Pitchers?

Referencing only function (we’ll talk about pricing in a moment), Perfect Water Purifier looks much like options from popular manufacturers such as Brita and Pur. Not only this, but the Perfect Water Purifier’s gravity filter also works much the same as the competition.

The difference, it would seem, is the fact that Perfect Water Purifier’s filters are made with organic, activated coconut carbon that’s better for the environment and contain uniform hole sizes, which allows more contaminants to be caught. According to the company, other manufacturers tend to use lower-quality carbon that features pores of all sizes, which means that the water molecules are only cleaned when they move through the small holes. As a result, because liquids follow the path of least resistance, these molecules often go through the bigger holes and aren’t “cleaned.”

Also, most of the competition’s filters only include one block of activated carbon, but not the second layer of NatClean filters. However, much of the competition does use BPA-free plastics, similar to Perfect Water Purifier.

From a performance aspect though, based on the demo videos on the product’s website, the additional filtration provided by the Perfect Water Purifier appears to translate into slower filling times.

Clearly Filtered Water Pitcher’s Price

From a pricing standpoint, it might be the case that the Perfect Water Purifier’s improved performance will cost you. This is because most of the competition is priced much lower than the Perfect Water Purifier; in some instances well over half the cost. The Perfect Water Purifier’s replacement filters are also priced much higher than the competition, although they only need to be replaced once every 6 months (most of the competition’s filters should be replaced every 2 months or so).

Does the Perfect Water Purifier Work as Well as it Claims?

The Perfect Water Purifier website displays lab test results from a study conducted by The Agriculture Commissioner of the County of Los Angeles during March 2006, which showed that the filters almost completely removed 71 different chemicals from tap water.

In addition, there are a few different video demonstrations on the Perfect Water Purifier site showing how it can filter everything from muddy water to Gatorade.

Do Customers Think the Perfect Water Purifier Works Well?

At the time of our research, the majority of online reviews for the Perfect Water Purifier/Clearly Filtered Water Pitcher were from independent bloggers who received a complimentary pitcher in exchange for an unbiased review. Unsurprisingly, many of these reviews were positive, and often cited ease of use and better tasting water.

However, the Perfect Water Purifier had a total of 16 Amazon reviews as of 4/2/15, with an average rating of 4 stars. Common compliments appeared to reference ease of use, improved water taste, and reduced contaminant levels. On the other hand, some of the most common complaints referenced difficulty filling in the sink, awkward cover design, failure to work as advertised, and high price.

From a company perspective, the Clearly Filtered Water Pitcher is manufactured by Perfect Aqua Purifier, LLC based out of Austin, TX. However, the company is not listed with the Better Business Bureau.

Perfect Water Purifier Pricing & Refund Policy

If ordered directly through the manufacturer, the Perfect Water Purifier is priced at $69.95 plus free shipping.

A replacement filter is priced at $49.95 and will need to be changed out, on average, once every 6 months. Ultimately, the company claims this will provide you with about 200 gallons of purified water.

With your order, you’ll also receive a free report titled the Fluoride Free Water Blueprint.

Important note: Perfect Water Purifier’s VIP program allows you to save 20% on filters, while having them shipped directly to your door once every six months (essentially their version of an autoship program).

If you decide to purchase through the Perfect water Purifier’s landing page, there isn’t any option to enroll in the VIP program, and there’s no indication in the Terms and Conditions that you’ll be automatically signed up after completing your order. However, VIP enrollment is an option when checking out through the company’s main website.

The Perfect Water Purifier comes with a 90-day refund policy, less S&H charges or a $15 restocking fee (whichever is greater), although the company claims you’ll still get to keep the pitcher. In addition, the Perfect Water Purifier comes with a lifetime warranty for the pitcher, regardless of how it breaks.

In order to request a refund or cancel your autoship enrollment, you’ll need to contact customer service at (877) 404-7240.

Should You Buy the Perfect Water Purifier?

Chopping to the Point: Based on data provided by the company, it appears that the Perfect Water Purifier will remove many more contaminants from your drinking water than some of the competition. However, this added benefit will cost you, as the Perfect Water Purifier system is priced 2-3 times higher than other manufacturers, and replacement filters can cost 4-5 times as much.

If you’re thinking about purchasing a Perfect Water Purifier though, we might recommend first having your water tested to determine if you even need one in the first place.


Read 93 Perfect Water Purifier Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 11 4 star: 4 3 star: 0 2 star: 4 1 star:  74
Bottom Line: 17% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 93
Sort reviews by:

  • 25 out 26 people found this review helpful

    To scam or not to scam! Buyer beware.

    • Peterborough, NH,
    • Aug 14, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    After reading reviews on this site and on Amazon, I have seen that there a lot of folks who feel they have been scammed by Perfect Water Purifier, in Austin, Texas. I am having a similar experience. The one where you think you are ordering the pitcher and filter, but the company first just billed me for an extra filter. My order was for the pitcher/filter system, with one extra filter, due to my careful reading of the pop up site I determined that two filters, not one every two months, would suffice me and my wife to have good drinking water.

    Now, I have been billed a month later, in June, for the actual pitcher, and then recently, in July for another filter which arrived yesterday on August 7. When I first ordered the pitcher/filter and one extra filter, the price seemed to be a total of $69.95. I was able to exchange numerous emails with customer support, and even spoke to a stubborn support person (I will withhold her name for now), who agreed to refund me for the filter that just arrived. I asked this person to send me info on my purchase, and she did.

    She emailed me the three invoices related to my purchase(s). She also emailed me, at my request, a copy of the pop up add that I had supposedly responded to in making my original purchase in May. However, I am sure it is not the same pop up I had responded to in May. There was no way to order an extra filter, which I had done, and had gotten in my order that, yes, it did arrive a bit late. There was only one page to this screenshot that she had sent me, so I tried clicking on the button at the bottom of the page that would indicate that I wanted to make a purchase.

    I was careful not to enter any information on the first page, so I would not be charged for anything if I got to the second page. There wasn't a second page. Okay. No big deal. However, I did get a message thanking me for making my purchase, with the same order number as my original order. So, I sent another email to my support person, in Austin, telling her to be sure that I was not to be billed again for making another purchase. Finally, I decided to write yet another email to my support person, after hours, demanding a refund of $49.95, based on the expected price of my original order (including a second filter).

    I had also noticed their 3 month Guarantee, no questions asked, for a refund of all my charges, in exchange for my returning all the products I had received. I am still within the three month period. I am hoping for the $49.95 refund even though the pitcher and filter seem like good products from my limited experience and the many positive reviews I've read. I agree that the company either might have a scam going, getting you to buy into their two month "get a new filter automatically: for another $49.95 each time, when you make your original purchase, then later charging you for the pitcher at $69.95. Or their ordering procedures are confusing and incorrect.

    I wish HighYa, or someone else would investigate this company. So, the bottom line is that I have found the pitcher/filter system to be at least okay, but the business practices are either out of whack, or a real scam. As I said before, I was able to communicate with customer support quite easily, both by email and by phone, but she (the support person) was not very supportive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Culver City, California,
    • Nov 2, 2015

    I have tried contacting this company both by email and phone and nobody ever responds. I have left messages asking them to cancel autoship of filters but to no avail. I guess it is time to take legal action. Stay far away from this scam, it's a rip-off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Never received

    • Spartanburg, SC,
    • Jun 9, 2015

    I ordered the Perfect Water Purifier over two weeks ago and it never arrived. Attempts to contact them have been difficult. So, the Perfect Water Purifier has a less than perfect delivery system. Now trying to get a refund. Good luck to me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Perfect Water Purifier - A BIG SCAM

    • Orange County, California,
    • Jun 19, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the Perfect Water Purifier for $ 69.99 about 2 weeks back along with a Filter Replacement Plan every 2 months costing $49.99. I was promised that the Shipment would arrive in about 10-14 Business days.

    However after the order was placed, I did not get any email about the shipment information or any kind of Tracking Number of my product. So I waited for about 2 weeks before I called their Customer Service number (877-404-7240).

    But when I called their Customer Service number, there was an automated voice message saying that either they are too busy helping other customers or I had called after their normal business hours and so I should leave a voice message and someone will get back to me. So I proceeded to leave a detailed voice message about my expected shipment, however even after a couple of days no one bothered to return the call.

    I also emailed their Customer Service Email - support@perfectwaterpurifier.com with the relevant details and found that my emails were bouncing back and it seemed like it was not a valid email address.

    At this point I immediately called my Credit Card Company and disputed the charges and got a credit for them.

    This company is a BIG SCAM and they are out to get their hands on whatever money they can. So stay away from this marketing trap and the very smooth and slick audio visual presentation they have out there to lure unsuspecting customers like you and me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Good Water Filter, but COMPANY SCAM.

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Nov 20, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have terrible chlorine and fluoride in the Phoenix municipal water system, so I bought a Berkey Light gravity filter long ago. When I was taken to the promo page for the water pitcher from an email, I checked it out thoroughly, and even waited 3 days before looking at everything carefully about "conditions" to get this water pitcher for $9.95 shipping! NADA about automatically enrolling me into a pricey automatic filter program! NOTHING.

    So, I went for it, and when it came, I was pleasantly surprised that it uses the same kind of filtering system as my Berkey Light, but in a convenient counter-top pitcher. Great water.

    Perusing their website, I saw how expensive there filters were--$69 per single filter. They recommend changing them out every 2 months, NOT the 6 months like other people have said. So, I did some web searching and discovered that Seychelle​ water pitcher is the original developer and manufacturer who private brands their pitcher for 3rd party companies, like Perfect Water. On a Q & A page, Seychelle even admits that their replacement filters at $24 each will fit the Perfect Water Pitcher, since they made it. $24 vs $69?

    Two days ago I got an email from Perfect Water Pitcher support team thanking me for my purchase and letting me know that on the 15th, my bank account will be billed for $149 for 3 replacements. I immediately called them and got sent to VM, and I've been emailing them to CANCEL my subscription and send me the return address to send the pitcher back or be charged $69.95 for it. Of course NOW they do not respond pr acknowledge me.

    On their website under TERMS & CONDITIONS in TINY print, they say the program can be cancelled art ANY time, and to send the pitcher back to avoid the charges. They do NOT have their RETURN merchandise address anywhere on their site and will not respond to provide it. The interesting part is that when I checked out all the info before agreeing to accept this pitcher, I did NOT see anything about an auto ship program. It's as if they sent me to a BOGUS page without that info. I would NEVER have signed up for it if I had read that information. In fact, in this website review, they state that when a person signs up for this pitcher, they are taken to a page that does NOT have any info about an autoship program. THAT IS ILLEGAL.

    Perfect Water Pitcher dba Perfect Aqua Purifier, LLC is a scam company. The pitcher is great, so if you want one, buy it from Seychelle​ who has better prices and a line of other related products. Stay away from this company or anyone giving it to you for free with just $9.95 shipping.

    Anyone want to get a class-action suit against them?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 22 people found this review helpful

    RIP OFF

    • Sinking Spring, PA,
    • Jan 2, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is a rip off. I ordered a pitcher for $9.95 and on the same day I read the reviews and called to cancel. This was about 3 hours after I ordered it. I got a voice message and left my account # and told them to cancel my order. The following day, I called them at exactly the time they opened (9am CST) and spoke with some one named Nick who said he had to check with shipping to see if the pitcher was shipped. He said he would get back to me but never did. I tried calling back several times but all I ever got was an answering message, which my calls were never returned. The next thing I received a notice my pitcher was shipped. I wrote them emails stating I was sending back the pitcher and would refuse delivery. I also informed them that if they charged my card for any other item I would bring charges against them. As of now, I will probably have to dispute the charge on my card. Don't, I repeat DON'T order this rip off scam. Get the zero water pitcher. Stay away from this scam. You will be glad you did.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Sneaky Marleting Practice

    • New York,
    • Oct 29, 2015

    I agree with Ronald as I've had similar experience. I never subscribed to receive 3 months of over priced filters. They sent me a screenshot of the promotional ad I enrolled in, and they are lying about it. I too was very careful to read everything on the page. The only time they mentioned a subscription was in an email AFTER I had made payment. With such deceptive practices, how can anyone believe it's a good product? If it were, they would not have to stoop to these nefarious methods.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Don't Get Suckered - Scam.

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Nov 6, 2015

    I am ashamed to say I got suckered into the scam and sent for the "free" pitcher (I only paid $9.95 for shipping and handling), only to receive an email saying my card will be charged $150 every 6 months ($300 a year are you kidding me?). Nowhere in the infomercial do they say that they will charge your card automatically for these outrageously overpriced filters. I have been trying now for several days to contact them via email and phone but to no avail. No one calls me, No one emails me. I am now going to have to cancel my debit card so I don't get charge the $150 in 3 months for a product I don't want. Don't get suckered like I did.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    DON'T fall for this scam

    • Dayton NV,
    • Jan 11, 2016

    Big time scam, say free just pay shipping and handling. Never received the pitcher but did receive a big hit on my credit card of 149.95 for filters for an item I never received. Took 10 phone calls and almost 1 hour on hold to finally talk to some one that was no help at all. They told me to return the pitcher which I never received and to return the filters when they arrive at my cost. Told me to check with Post Office to find out why I never received the product. Asked to talk with a supervisor, but they are all too busy to talk, but they could put in a request to have a supervisor contact me at a later date, date and time are unknown. I do know they should be really glad that I don't live close to them. DO NOT FALL FOR THIS SCAM. Thank God my bank is helping me out on this and the bank also stated I am not the first person to come in looking for help.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    I felt scammed!

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jan 2, 2016

    Yet another company who misleads their consumer. Very unfortunate that they communicate a $9.95 promotion to try the filter but does not leave it up to the consumer to decide if they want to buy more.

    If their product was so 'perfect', they would not need to do this in order to keep their company afloat. Great products sell themselves and no gimmicks are needed to grow your business.

    Bad play Perfect Water Purifier. You will not be around for long. What comes around goes around.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Oklahoma ,
    • Jan 14, 2016

    I fell for an offer to pay for shipping and receive the pitcher for free, but it automatically enrolled me in the filters which cost $149.85 for a three month period. The company asked I ship back the pitcher and the unused filters for a refund and now refuses to pay the refund. This is a scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 93

Write a Review for Perfect Water Purifier!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review