Perfecter Fusion Styler Review: Does It Really Work or Just Hype?

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: May 28, 2014

The Perfecter Fusion Styler is an “As Seen on TV” all-in-one hair styler brush that claims to give you salon results in just 3 minutes, including instant shine, volume, and body. In addition, the Perfecter is claimed to fully heat in as little as one minute, and to remain cool to the touch while in use.

The Perfecter Fusion Styler was invented by stylist Maria McCool, and is manufactured by Tristar Products based out of Fairfield, NJ, a company that specializes in a wide variety of “As Seen on TV” products. Tristar holds a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite having more than 1,000 closed complaints over the past three years.

Regarding the Perfecter Fusion Styler specifically, we’ve accumulated more than 100 customer reviews about the product over the past several months, and have found that the overwhelming majority are negative. With this in mind, the most common complaints are as follows:

Failure to work as advertised. This includes everything from not performing properly to severe hair tangling. In fact, more than one HighYa reviewer claimed that the Perfecter Fusion Styler became so entangled in their hair that it actually had to be cut out.

Poor quality construction. This includes everything from suddenly ceasing to turn on after 20-30 days, to teeth breaking and falling off after a very short period of time.

Extreme difficulty obtaining a refund. A very common theme running throughout HighYa customer reviews includes extremely long wait times (over 30 minutes), sudden hang-ups, needless transfers to other departments, constant “upsells” and rebates aimed at convincing you not to process a refund, and much more. Essentially, the company appears to create as much distraction as possible prior to authorizing a refund.

To add insult to injury, even once the manufacturer has signed for the package, numerous complaints claimed that the company will deny ever having received it. More often than not, customers appear to have addressed the problem with their credit card company long before a solution was offered by the manufacturer (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

Finally, several customers even claimed that their credit card information was compromised soon after placing their order, which resulted in hundreds of dollars in fraudulent charges (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

How the Perfecter Fusion Styler Works

The Perfecter Fusion Styler is claimed to combine a curling iron, flat iron straightener, dryer, and heated round brush into one easy to use device. In fact, the manufacturer claims that the Perfecter is “the most revolutionary, new hair care tool ever invented,” and that its fusion styling technology results in ceramic heat that helps shine and smooth your hair, while the ionic technology helps fight frizz, hydrate, and heal your hair.

The Perfecter Fusion Styler can be used on two temperature settings: Low (356 degrees) for thin or fine hair, and high (392 degrees) for thick or coarse hair. Despite this heat, the Perfecter website claims that the bristles never become hot to the touch, which even allows you to use both hands for greater styling control.

The Perfecter Fusion Styler is claimed work with all hair types, and to be as easy to use as brushing your hair.

Perfecter Fusion Styler Pricing and Refund Policy

The Perfecter Fusion Styler is priced at three payments of $33.33 (total of $99.99), plus free shipping and handling. On top of this, you’ll also receive three free gifts (a $40 claimed value):

  • Thermal travel case
  • Detangle brush
  • 3 styling clips

In addition, you’ll also be able to enroll in the Calista Tools autoship program, which means you’ll receive one bottle of Achieve 10 styling cream for just $7.99 S&H. Beginning 30 days from your original order, you’ll start receiving a new bottle of Achieve 10 once per month, and your credit card will be charged $19.99 each time.

Next, you can also choose an extended 2-year warranty for $3.99 per payment ($11.97 single pay), or a 4-year warranty for $6.99 per payment ($20.97 single pay). Keep in mind that if you’re a CT, NJ, NV, NY, or PA resident, you’ll also be subject to state sales tax.

Finally, you can pay an additional $14.99 for FedEx Express shipping, $19.99 for 2-Day, and $29.99 for Overnight.

All Perfecter Fusion Stylers come with a 60-day, “no questions asked” money back guarantee (see more about this in the following section). Unfortunately, no other information about this guarantee is provided on the product’s website.

Bottom Line on the Perfecter Fusion Styler

Based on our research, as well as the more than 100 Perfecter Fusion Styler customers who took the time to write a review on HighYa, we feel fairly confident stating that the product is a scam.

As we noted above, the vast majority of HighYa reviews give the product just one star and include complaints of poor quality, failure to work as advertised, extraordinarily bad customer service, fraudulent credit card charges, and an almost impossible ability to receive a refund.

While this is a common occurrence for “As Seen on TV” products, and there are only a handful of manufacturers for thousands of products, it seems to be especially bad with the Perfecter Fusion Styler.

Furthermore, most hair devices intended to perform more than one function often fail to do any of them adequately. In layman’s terms, they just don’t work, and the Perfecter appears to be no different.

After all is said and done, we strongly recommend against placing an order for the Perfecter Fusion Styler. Based on the hundreds of customer reviews we’ve encountered during our research—both on HighYa and elsewhere—it doesn’t work like you may think it does, it won’t last very long, and you’ll likely throw your hands up in frustration long before successfully obtaining a refund. Instead, save your time and your hard-earned money.

» Related: How to Pick the Best Flat Iron for Your Hair Type & Budget

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 181 Perfecter Fusion Styler Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 29 4 star: 12 3 star: 6 2 star: 17 1 star:  117
Bottom Line: 24% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 181
Sort reviews by:

  • 49 out 49 people found this review helpful

    No one year warranty

    • North Carolina,
    • Oct 23, 2013

    My device worked exactly 3 and a half months and then stopped heating and because they said their warranty is only 3 months, they would not replace it. If they really believed in this product they would replace it up to one year like most others.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 42 out 45 people found this review helpful

    Money down the drain

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jun 20, 2015

    I feel that Perfector is a joke. These things are not worth two pennies. They don't even get hot enough to curl your hair.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 42 out 44 people found this review helpful

    They talked me into sending it back - it's a scam

    • California,
    • Jun 23, 2015

    I am writing about the "Perfecter" which I got hooked into by one of their teaser commercials. I can see how this might work better with short hair but with shoulder length hair or longer it is a complete nightmare. I even went and had my hair cut to a sorter length of a couple inches below my shoulders and it still does not work well. I have straight hair and I have yet (even with the help of friends) cannot make it work on my hair.

    I called the customer service after a months of trying to make it work and they talked me into keeping it a little longer and maybe cutting my hair to make it easier to use (not something they tell you in the infomercials)! I have tried called several times to get authorization to send it back and they keep telling me it is no longer in the 60 day warranty. First of all they are going on the date that it shipped not the day that I received and first opened it and tried.

    Secondly, they talked me into giving it more time and that was a huge mistake on my part. I let to much time go by and now they are refusing. Also, the operators are in the Caribbean, lots of noise in the background, they talk really fast and it is easy to tell that they are not interested in my end result, just getting off the phone and getting to the next caller.

    I am 64 years old and should know better. This experience has definitely cured my from ever ordering anything ever again. This is what they mean by getting "burned" by a product.

    They do a good job hooking you in and then turn you on to someone who is out of the country. My mistake, I thought that the inventor would care. I rate this product a -one star.  Patti M

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 32 out 34 people found this review helpful

    A piece of crap!

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jun 23, 2015

    This product does not work at all. It doesn't straighten hair, it doesn't curl it, nothing! It's a complete waste of money. Sometimes you try a product and it sort of does something but it's not up to your satisfaction. Well this is not the case, It simply doesn't work at all. It also burned my hair!

    I'm returning this immediately. Hope I don't get any issues returning this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 25 out 29 people found this review helpful

    not worth it a penny

    • United States,
    • Nov 19, 2013
    This is a scam it does not do a darn thing. I am returning immediately!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 36 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Not Recommended

    • Norman, OK,
    • Jun 23, 2015

    I would not recommend this product. It does not work as advertised. When I called to return it, the lady told me it didn't work because I didn't purchase the product that goes with it. They did not say on TV, that you needed the hair product in order for the Perfecter to work.

    She said she would send me a complimentary bottle to try with the Perfecter. I never received the product!

    In addition, she tried to sell me more stuff. I had trouble even getting off the phone from her pushy sales tactics. I finally had to get very firm with her, but she would not give me a return number, which is required in order to return the Perfecter.

    I called the Perfecter company again just today to get a return number so that I could return the Perfecter. Once again, I had trouble getting the lady to give me a number so that I could return the Perfecter.

    I had to get upset before she told me she'd transfer me. But before she transferred me, would I be interested in...and she tried to sell me some Genie bras. I finally raised my voice and told her I am not interested in anything. I just want to return the perfecter.

    Finally, she transferred me and I got the number I need in order to return this thing.

    By the way, you have to pay for shipping to return the Perfecter.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 39 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Don't purchase the Perfecter!

    • Wausau, WI,
    • Jun 23, 2015

    Within a couple of times of trying to use the Perfecter, I had burned my fingers and got my hair so tangled up in the brush that I had to literally pull it out along with some of my hair. The curls I did manage to create only lasted about 2 to 3 hours and then went limp and straight.

    No matter what the infomercials tell you, they are very misleading and false. Because I had this non-curling iron for over 60 days and had not kept the original box, I could not return it and was told that I would get no refund. After talking to three reps and being on hold for over an hour, they agreed to refund me $15.00. I had paid $99.99 for this product. Insisting that this was not acceptable, they agreed to refund 1/3 of what I had paid and credit my card for that amount.

    Whether or not this happens remains to be seen. I have filed a complaint with my credit card and they will investigate. Do not yet know the outcome but I do know that the non-Perfecter will be picked up by my refuse company and disposed of.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 25 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Would not recommend

    • Virginia ,
    • Nov 23, 2013

    Gets tangled up in long hair. Does NOT curl. Complete waste of money. Do yourself a favor and spend this money on a nice massage or something for yourself.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 29 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Very poor quality

    • California,
    • Dec 7, 2013

    After 90 days when the warranty ran out, the tines started breaking off. Another few weeks and I will have no brush left. Of course they won' t either repair or replace it. It works well on my short hair but it's a piece of junk, certainly not worth the price..

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 31 out 32 people found this review helpful

    rip off for long hair

    • Chicago,
    • Dec 9, 2013

    This product does not work on long hair. It gets tangled in the brush. Maybe it works on short hair....

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Not good, do not buy

    • California,
    • Dec 14, 2013

    I phoned to place an order, a recording came on, they not only wanted to sell the perfecter but a lot of other things I was not interested in. I became so angry not being able to speak to a real person I hung up, called another phone number, which connected me to Costa Rica. Then I really became upset, why is everything handled in another country!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 181

Write a Review for Perfecter Fusion Styler!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review