Perfecter Fusion Styler Review: Does It Really Work or Just Hype?

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: May 28, 2014

The Perfecter Fusion Styler is an “As Seen on TV” all-in-one hair styler brush that claims to give you salon results in just 3 minutes, including instant shine, volume, and body. In addition, the Perfecter is claimed to fully heat in as little as one minute, and to remain cool to the touch while in use.

The Perfecter Fusion Styler was invented by stylist Maria McCool, and is manufactured by Tristar Products based out of Fairfield, NJ, a company that specializes in a wide variety of “As Seen on TV” products. Tristar holds a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite having more than 1,000 closed complaints over the past three years.

Regarding the Perfecter Fusion Styler specifically, we’ve accumulated more than 100 customer reviews about the product over the past several months, and have found that the overwhelming majority are negative. With this in mind, the most common complaints are as follows:

Failure to work as advertised. This includes everything from not performing properly to severe hair tangling. In fact, more than one HighYa reviewer claimed that the Perfecter Fusion Styler became so entangled in their hair that it actually had to be cut out.

Poor quality construction. This includes everything from suddenly ceasing to turn on after 20-30 days, to teeth breaking and falling off after a very short period of time.

Extreme difficulty obtaining a refund. A very common theme running throughout HighYa customer reviews includes extremely long wait times (over 30 minutes), sudden hang-ups, needless transfers to other departments, constant “upsells” and rebates aimed at convincing you not to process a refund, and much more. Essentially, the company appears to create as much distraction as possible prior to authorizing a refund.

To add insult to injury, even once the manufacturer has signed for the package, numerous complaints claimed that the company will deny ever having received it. More often than not, customers appear to have addressed the problem with their credit card company long before a solution was offered by the manufacturer (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

Finally, several customers even claimed that their credit card information was compromised soon after placing their order, which resulted in hundreds of dollars in fraudulent charges (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

How the Perfecter Fusion Styler Works

The Perfecter Fusion Styler is claimed to combine a curling iron, flat iron straightener, dryer, and heated round brush into one easy to use device. In fact, the manufacturer claims that the Perfecter is “the most revolutionary, new hair care tool ever invented,” and that its fusion styling technology results in ceramic heat that helps shine and smooth your hair, while the ionic technology helps fight frizz, hydrate, and heal your hair.

The Perfecter Fusion Styler can be used on two temperature settings: Low (356 degrees) for thin or fine hair, and high (392 degrees) for thick or coarse hair. Despite this heat, the Perfecter website claims that the bristles never become hot to the touch, which even allows you to use both hands for greater styling control.

The Perfecter Fusion Styler is claimed work with all hair types, and to be as easy to use as brushing your hair.

Perfecter Fusion Styler Pricing and Refund Policy

The Perfecter Fusion Styler is priced at three payments of $33.33 (total of $99.99), plus free shipping and handling. On top of this, you’ll also receive three free gifts (a $40 claimed value):

  • Thermal travel case
  • Detangle brush
  • 3 styling clips

In addition, you’ll also be able to enroll in the Calista Tools autoship program, which means you’ll receive one bottle of Achieve 10 styling cream for just $7.99 S&H. Beginning 30 days from your original order, you’ll start receiving a new bottle of Achieve 10 once per month, and your credit card will be charged $19.99 each time.

Next, you can also choose an extended 2-year warranty for $3.99 per payment ($11.97 single pay), or a 4-year warranty for $6.99 per payment ($20.97 single pay). Keep in mind that if you’re a CT, NJ, NV, NY, or PA resident, you’ll also be subject to state sales tax.

Finally, you can pay an additional $14.99 for FedEx Express shipping, $19.99 for 2-Day, and $29.99 for Overnight.

All Perfecter Fusion Stylers come with a 60-day, “no questions asked” money back guarantee (see more about this in the following section). Unfortunately, no other information about this guarantee is provided on the product’s website.

Bottom Line on the Perfecter Fusion Styler

Based on our research, as well as the more than 100 Perfecter Fusion Styler customers who took the time to write a review on HighYa, we feel fairly confident stating that the product is a scam.

As we noted above, the vast majority of HighYa reviews give the product just one star and include complaints of poor quality, failure to work as advertised, extraordinarily bad customer service, fraudulent credit card charges, and an almost impossible ability to receive a refund.

While this is a common occurrence for “As Seen on TV” products, and there are only a handful of manufacturers for thousands of products, it seems to be especially bad with the Perfecter Fusion Styler.

Furthermore, most hair devices intended to perform more than one function often fail to do any of them adequately. In layman’s terms, they just don’t work, and the Perfecter appears to be no different.

After all is said and done, we strongly recommend against placing an order for the Perfecter Fusion Styler. Based on the hundreds of customer reviews we’ve encountered during our research—both on HighYa and elsewhere—it doesn’t work like you may think it does, it won’t last very long, and you’ll likely throw your hands up in frustration long before successfully obtaining a refund. Instead, save your time and your hard-earned money.

» Related: How to Pick the Best Flat Iron for Your Hair Type & Budget


Read 181 Perfecter Fusion Styler Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 29 4 star: 12 3 star: 6 2 star: 17 1 star:  117
Bottom Line: 24% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 181
Sort reviews by:

  • 49 out 49 people found this review helpful

    No one year warranty

    • North Carolina,
    • Oct 23, 2013

    My device worked exactly 3 and a half months and then stopped heating and because they said their warranty is only 3 months, they would not replace it. If they really believed in this product they would replace it up to one year like most others.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 48 out 53 people found this review helpful

    Product works, warranty is a joke

    • Columbus, OH,
    • Aug 7, 2015

    I like the Perfecter, it does what it says it will do, what I don't like is the 60 and 90 day warranty. Not a year or more, but only those days. I was told you can purchase a warranty for 11.99.

    Isn't a 100.00 enough to pay for it already without having to purchase one for 11.99?

    I'm thinking about returning it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 43 out 46 people found this review helpful

    It does not work as described.

    • Austin, TX,
    • Jan 4, 2014

    My hair is thin and it won't hold the curl at all. I do much better with my hot rollers. My hair gets tangled up when I try to leave it in a bit longer so it would do SOMETHING.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 42 out 45 people found this review helpful

    Money down the drain

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jun 20, 2015

    I feel that Perfector is a joke. These things are not worth two pennies. They don't even get hot enough to curl your hair.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 42 out 44 people found this review helpful

    They talked me into sending it back - it's a scam

    • California,
    • Jun 23, 2015

    I am writing about the "Perfecter" which I got hooked into by one of their teaser commercials. I can see how this might work better with short hair but with shoulder length hair or longer it is a complete nightmare. I even went and had my hair cut to a sorter length of a couple inches below my shoulders and it still does not work well. I have straight hair and I have yet (even with the help of friends) cannot make it work on my hair.

    I called the customer service after a months of trying to make it work and they talked me into keeping it a little longer and maybe cutting my hair to make it easier to use (not something they tell you in the infomercials)! I have tried called several times to get authorization to send it back and they keep telling me it is no longer in the 60 day warranty. First of all they are going on the date that it shipped not the day that I received and first opened it and tried.

    Secondly, they talked me into giving it more time and that was a huge mistake on my part. I let to much time go by and now they are refusing. Also, the operators are in the Caribbean, lots of noise in the background, they talk really fast and it is easy to tell that they are not interested in my end result, just getting off the phone and getting to the next caller.

    I am 64 years old and should know better. This experience has definitely cured my from ever ordering anything ever again. This is what they mean by getting "burned" by a product.

    They do a good job hooking you in and then turn you on to someone who is out of the country. My mistake, I thought that the inventor would care. I rate this product a -one star.  Patti M

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 42 out 45 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy

    • Texas,
    • Jan 8, 2014

    I bought to see if it would work on my fine, thin hair. It did not work at all. I sent back, return receipt . Thank goodness I did. They did not want to refund my money. They kept saying they did not receive it. I had the signed receipt. They still said the didn't receive. I had to call my credit card company. I gave them all of my information. And I finally got a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 40 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Do Not Purchase This Product

    • Calgary, Alberta,
    • Jun 12, 2015

    Like many other people, I decided to purchase this product. The infomercial made it look so easy and the results really nice. The first and only time I ever used it - it got so badly stuck in my hair. I thought I would have to cut it out. When I finally yanked it out of my hair, there was a big chunk of hair wrapped around the Perfector from my head. I packaged it up and am now returning it.

    The fun began when I called Customer Service. It is unbelievable that it is not a toll free number. Of course, the whole conversation to find out how to return it, took about 10 minutes. The first person who answered asked me my name, address, email and why I was returning it. She asked me for the order number. I looked all over the box and found a number that had the order number written before it. When I gave it to her, she said, 'that is not the order number. She said she had to transfer me to a Specialist? I was left on hold for 5+ minutes. When the second person answered, she asked my name, address, email and why I was returning it. Didn't I just go through that? She gave me a number that was as long as my arm and when I looked at the box, it was on the box. I was to ensure that number was on the box when I return it.

    So, now I have to pay the return postage and the long distance phone call. Definitely not worth the money or the hassle. Terrible product. Terrible customer service. I will go back to my $49 Conair hair dryer/hot air brush - thank you very much!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 39 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Don't purchase the Perfecter!

    • Wausau, WI,
    • Jun 23, 2015

    Within a couple of times of trying to use the Perfecter, I had burned my fingers and got my hair so tangled up in the brush that I had to literally pull it out along with some of my hair. The curls I did manage to create only lasted about 2 to 3 hours and then went limp and straight.

    No matter what the infomercials tell you, they are very misleading and false. Because I had this non-curling iron for over 60 days and had not kept the original box, I could not return it and was told that I would get no refund. After talking to three reps and being on hold for over an hour, they agreed to refund me $15.00. I had paid $99.99 for this product. Insisting that this was not acceptable, they agreed to refund 1/3 of what I had paid and credit my card for that amount.

    Whether or not this happens remains to be seen. I have filed a complaint with my credit card and they will investigate. Do not yet know the outcome but I do know that the non-Perfecter will be picked up by my refuse company and disposed of.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 38 out 39 people found this review helpful

    The people writing Positive reviews are all working at Perfecter

    • Colorado,
    • Jun 24, 2015

    I am missing huge chunks of my hair because this system tangles it up and rips your hair. The customer service reps seemed like they didn't give crap about this product or their job. A bunch of fools. There will soon be somebody who sue's them due to the loss of hair, deprivation, and junk they received while getting this product. Do not buy, it is a scam. They will take your credit card number and use it else where.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 37 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Product works but now the prongs are breaking

    • Millbury, MA,
    • Nov 28, 2013
    I ordered the perfecter styler back in July so I had it for 5 months now. I do like using the perfecter and it works great on my hair. I use it a lot and now the brush prongs are breaking off. So no I would not recommend this to a friend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 37 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Don't give them your bank card number.

    • Georgia,
    • Jun 24, 2015

    I ordered two of these and I like the product fine. Problem is they took my first payment out then my bank card number was hacked and so I had to cancel my card number. They called me and I informed them I don't have a bank debit card anymore and they told me the only form of payment they could accept was a debit card. I offered to pay the full remaining balance by check and they wouldn't accept that either.

    Then I purchased a prepaid visa debit card to pay the balance owed of $119 and called them back to pay it off and though wouldn't accept it as payment either. All they seem to be concerned about is getting a bank account debit card number.

    I think this is a scam to get your numbers and they are giving the numbers to other companies and hackers. All I know is they either mail me a bill and I will send then a money order or they just will not get paid. Also they don't want returns either.

    I don't recommend ordering anything from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 181

Write a Review for Perfecter Fusion Styler!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review