About Persopo

By Derek Lakin
Updated on: Jun 27, 2017

Persopo is an online people search service that aggregates public records from federal, state, and county government agencies and delivers it to customers in a fast, safe, and affordable manner, so that they can make more informed decisions about new individuals they meet.

Persopo claims to make it easy to find detailed and important information about anyone using data from all 50 states, including criminal, arrest, and police records, marriage records, background details, and contact information.

This way, Persopo claims you can locate long lost friends and family, find out more about your neighbors, learn if sex offenders live near you, and even protect yourself from dating fraud.

How Does Persopo Work?

In order to begin using Persopo, you simply need to enter the person’s full name, their city, as well as their state on the home page, and then press Search. According to the company, your query will always remain completely confidential, and their top-notch customer care team is always available to help if you have questions.

Once complete, Persopo will display matching results, including the person’s name, age, location, and possible relatives. Then, once you click on the Access Report button, you’ll need to answer three security questions to verify that:

  1. You’re 18 or over and a legal citizen of the U.S.
  2. You agree not to use the information for employment decisions.
  3. You agree not to use the information to blackmail anyone.

Finally, you’ll be required to enter your email address and choose a membership package (more about this in the Pricing section) in order to view the report. Persopo claims that each of their membership options includes unlimited searches and comes with zero hidden fees.

Making personal connections with others is one of the biggest joys in life. But whether you’re looking for someone with whom you lost contact long ago, or to check up on a new person you’re dating, are Persopo’s services worth your hard-earned money? Consider the following:

Where Does Persopo Pull Its Information From?

Similar to other people search companies such as Instant Checkmate, SpyFly, and BeenVerified, Persopo aggregates public records information and combines it into an easy to read report.

The information Persopo pulls includes documents or pieces of information that are not considered confidential, and are widely available to anyone with online access. In other words, you have the ability to find this information yourself elsewhere, for free.

With this said, the primary benefit that many people search companies claim to provide is saving you the time and hassle of visiting dozens of different state, county, and city websites, and scouring their databases for the exact information you need. Instead, they claim to provide the information you’re looking for in seconds and to display it a simple report.

Is There Anything That Persopo Can’t Be Used For?

Persopo is not classified as a Consumer Reporting Agency, which means the information you obtain from their site cannot be used for employment, credit or insurance eligibility (including student loans and/or scholarship eligibility), or tenancy.

Instead, if you need information related to any of these services, you’ll have to use a reporting agency approved by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau.

Are Customers Pleased with Persopo’s Services?

On our website, most customer complaints appeared related to inaccurate or incomplete information in reports, along with recurring monthly charges after an initial trial.

The company had a similar rating on SiteJabber among nearly 100 customer reviews, many of which mirrored those found here on HighYa.

Despite this, Persopo had an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 46 reviews and nearly 70 closed complaints, as of 6/7/17.

With this in mind, it’s important to note that most of the complaints listed against the company are nearly identical to the other people search companies we’ve written about, and aren’t unique to Persopo.

It seems Persopo is focused on improving this type of feedback, though, as a representative we talked to stated:

“Persopo.com gathers records from federal, state, and county government agencies that hold public records. Unfortunately, we’re not the source of the information, so we can’t guarantee what will or will not be returned.

“We have not gone blind to the negative feedback and are improving customer relations all the time.”

Pricing

Persopo’s services are available through three different membership packages:

  • 1 Month: $19.93/mo
  • 3 Months: $14.93/mo, paid in full upfront at $44.79
  • 6 Months: $9.93/mo, paid in full upfront at $59.58

All membership options include unlimited searches. Remember that your membership will automatically renew when the time comes, so you’ll need to contact the company to cancel in order to prevent this from recurring.

Unlike many of the other people search companies we’ve reviewed, based on customer feedback, it doesn’t appear that Persopo nickel-and-dimes you for anything beyond basic information.

However, many customers complained that their report took 72 hours (or longer) to be sent to them after performing their initial search. In fact, several customers complained that they never received their reports at all.

According to Persopo, they offer a guaranteed 100% no hassle and no haggle cancellation process. Regarding refunds, the company representative who reached out to us noted: “Each case is different, but the emphasis is always on making the customer happy.”

In order to cancel your Persopo membership, you’ll need to contact customer service at 866-371-2590 or support@persopo.com.

The Bottom Line

Since people search websites pull information from public sources, there are methods of obtaining much of the same information for free—although it might require more time and effort than offered by one of these reports.

Furthermore, it’s been our experience, whether here on HighYa or elsewhere online, that the majority of customer responses to these services have been negative, with frequent complaints citing incomplete/incorrect information in reports and recurring monthly subscriptions.

When we reached out to Persopo for a comment about it, they noted that they’re actively working on improving this customer dissatisfaction.

On top of this, it appears that Persopo is willing to offer refunds on a case-by-case basis, so you might not have much more to lose than a few minutes of your time by giving them a try.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Persopo:
  • 36 Customer Reviews
  • 8% Recommend This Company
1.3 out of 5
5 star: 2% 4 star: 5% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 0% 1 star: 91%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Ex-husband is a female?

    • By Roxanne G.,
    • San Jose, CA,
    • May 31, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Your establishment is so full of it. Really, my ex-husband is a female? No way. Then you say no marriage or divorce records found? Huh, who was I married to for 13 and 1/2 years? Go figure, another company acting like they will get you information and after they take your money...you're back to square one trying to investigate stuff yourself. Stay away from this company, it’s a rip-off.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Your company has nothing that will benefit public
    • You're a ripoff
    • What a joke

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lack of needed info

    • By Rosalie C.,
    • Louisiana,
    • Dec 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I paid for a month's service today in order to get the dates of my marriages in order to get certified certificates. When I clicked on marriages and divorces, there are no records at this time. I feel that I have been scammed. I didn't order this report just to see my prior addresses but that is all I got.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • NOT accurate

    • By Shelley H.,
    • Fort Wayne, IN,
    • Sep 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Tried using this to find a marriage/divorce record of my grandparents. Didn’t find the info I was looking for. I’ve been tried to search myself to see how accurate things were. It had some things right but also had addresses and phone numbers that have never been associated with me and did not have records of my two marriages. How can this be of use when so many things aren’t correct?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Douglas Z.,
    • Parkton, MD,
    • Aug 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered the service and entered a name. All they could provide was an address, which I already had. I was frustrated and tried entering my own name. The results:

    My name was misspelled.

    My current address was wrong.

    My date of birth was wrong.

    My marriage and divorce dates were non-existent.

    Absolutely worthless.

    I called the company to cancel my subscription. The customer service rep started to argue with me. I said I would not enter into a debate, simply cancel my subscription and refund me the $19.93 cost charged to my credit card. She spoke with another person and said it would be done and I would get an email confirmation.

    The email came immediately.

    A week later I get my credit card bill and they only issued a partial refund. I had to waste time disputing the bill.

    The site is a total scam and a waste of your time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unsatisfactory results

    • By K H.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Feb 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If one takes the time to do a search, it would simply mean that you're employing the assistance if a search engine to possibly fill in the blanks! This was not the case with Persopo!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total rip-off

    • By Claire S.,
    • Maryland,
    • Feb 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Don't sign up! I signed up for 6 months (dummy) at $59.58 - really lousy site and info. I sent the following email to support at persopo.com:

    "Do not charge my credit card for this purchase. This was a mistake to order. Very minimal, jumbled information - I searched myself and family to see if accurate - no marital info, no property info, criminal records from other names and states- appalling service."

    No answer, of course, so I call 800-481-9168. After explaining I did not want service I was "offered a courtesy" to be charged $19.93 for one month. I said don't want it at all and total refund - transfer me to a supervisor- "they don't take phone calls!" Really, a supervisor that doesn't take customer calls. Oh, and the rep (haha) said it can take up to 72 hours for search info to upload! I better get my $39.65 credit or they'll be sorry they messed with this chick!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This company is a SCAM

    • By Kimberly G.,
    • Colorado,
    • Nov 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    DO NOT pay to use this site! Not only does it not provide the information they say they will, when you cancel, the service people are rude and VERY UNHELPFUL. When I asked for a refund, I was given the run around then told basically "too bad."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Load of garbage

    • By Joseph I.,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Oct 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought a subscription to this site after reading that some woman had sued her ex-husband for using this site to find her hidden activity. Apparently, he was able to find out she was cheating because this site was logging her accounts to other websites (such as dating websites). Well, I thought it'd be neat to run a few reports on some of my friends and family, and of course, see what the site had to say about myself.

    For one, this site is very good at knowing your birthday and your family members. But that's it. When I tried to click on criminal records, it had records for someone born in a different year. It showed my birth date correct on the first page, but then it completely backtracked and went with a different person completely on the criminal side of things. It had no record of property owned or any of that sort of thing, nor did it have records of any websites I was on. This was true on EVERY SINGLE PROFILE I SEARCHED. It only would bring up the name, age, and family names. It wouldn't even find the records when it came to criminal activity.

    A complete waste of $20 and a complete waste of time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rude

    • By Tina W.,
    • Tennessee,
    • Oct 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The person who answered the phone when I called to cancel my membership because I was being billed that day, did not like that I wanted him to hurry up and wanted to control the conversation, so instead of finishing the call with me, he put me on hold. I had to call back and sit there while he gave his little speech to me so he could be in control of the situation. They need new customer service people and you should be able to call the day it renews and cancel. I would not recommend this to a friend based on that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Onus is on you to stop monthly payments

    • By Carol T.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Sep 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Very tough to get out of membership.

    I hadn't even realized I was under contract for several months. Unless you are really going to use this service on a regular basis, I suggest using one that doesn't automatically put you under a contract. Customer service rep, Daniel, was snarky and spoke over me the entire time reading the contract to me. So many companies provide this service, next time I'll pay up for a one time use with a different company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It is a rip off, waste of money

    • By Ana S.,
    • Denton, TX,
    • Sep 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It is the worse page, just rip off. It didn't give the phone number right of my husband and the address and not any social media information. I did try because on Facebook it said that a wife caught her husband cheating on Match.com thru this page, but it is not true.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 36

Write a Review for Persopo!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Persopo