About Persopo

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Jun 27, 2017

Persopo is an online people search service that aggregates public records from federal, state, and county government agencies and delivers it to customers in a fast, safe, and affordable manner, so that they can make more informed decisions about new individuals they meet.

Persopo claims to make it easy to find detailed and important information about anyone using data from all 50 states, including criminal, arrest, and police records, marriage records, background details, and contact information.

This way, Persopo claims you can locate long lost friends and family, find out more about your neighbors, learn if sex offenders live near you, and even protect yourself from dating fraud.

How Does Persopo Work?

In order to begin using Persopo, you simply need to enter the person’s full name, their city, as well as their state on the home page, and then press Search. According to the company, your query will always remain completely confidential, and their top-notch customer care team is always available to help if you have questions.

Once complete, Persopo will display matching results, including the person’s name, age, location, and possible relatives. Then, once you click on the Access Report button, you’ll need to answer three security questions to verify that:

  1. You’re 18 or over and a legal citizen of the U.S.
  2. You agree not to use the information for employment decisions.
  3. You agree not to use the information to blackmail anyone.

Finally, you’ll be required to enter your email address and choose a membership package (more about this in the Pricing section) in order to view the report. Persopo claims that each of their membership options includes unlimited searches and comes with zero hidden fees.

Making personal connections with others is one of the biggest joys in life. But whether you’re looking for someone with whom you lost contact long ago, or to check up on a new person you’re dating, are Persopo’s services worth your hard-earned money? Consider the following:

Where Does Persopo Pull Its Information From?

Similar to other people search companies such as Instant Checkmate, SpyFly, and BeenVerified, Persopo aggregates public records information and combines it into an easy to read report.

The information Persopo pulls includes “documents or pieces of information that are not considered confidential,” and are widely available to anyone with online access. In other words, you have the ability find this information yourself elsewhere, for free.

With this said, the primary benefit that many people search companies claim to provide is saving you the time and hassle of visiting dozens of different state, county, and city websites, and scouring their databases for the exact information you need. Instead, they claim to provide the information you’re looking for in seconds, and to display it a simple report.

Is There Anything that Persopo Can’t Be Used For?

Persopo is not classified as a Consumer Reporting Agency, which means the information you obtain from their site cannot be used for employment, credit or insurance eligibility (including student loans and/or scholarship eligibility), or tenancy.

Instead, if you need information related to any of these services, you’ll have to use a reporting agency approved by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau.

Are Customers Pleased with Persopo’s Services?

Since writing our original article, 15 HighYa readers had provided feedback about their experiences with Persopo, giving the company an average rating of one star. In general, most complaints appeared related to inaccurate or incomplete information in reports, along with recurring monthly charges after an initial trial.

The company had a similar rating on SiteJabber among nearly 100 customer reviews, many of which mirrored those found here on HighYa.

Despite this, Persopo had an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 46 reviews and nearly 70 closed complaints, as of 6/7/17.

With this in mind, it’s important to note that most of the complaints listed against the company are nearly identical to the other people search companies we’ve written about, and aren’t unique to Persopo.

It seems Persopo is focused on improving this type of feedback, though, as a representative reached out to us directly, writing:

“Persopo.com gathers records from federal, state, and county government agencies that hold public records. Unfortunately, we’re not the source of the information, so we can’t guarantee what will or will not be returned.

We have not gone blind to the negative feedback and are improving customer relations all the time.”

How Much Does Persopo Cost?

Persopo’s services are available through three different membership packages:

  • 1 Month: $19.93/mo
  • 3 Months: $14.93/mo, paid in full upfront at $44.79
  • 6 Months: $9.93/mo, paid in full upfront at $59.58

All membership options include unlimited searches. Remember that your membership will automatically renew when the time comes, so you’ll need to contact the company to cancel in order to prevent this from recurring.

Important note: Unlike many of the other people search companies we’ve reviewed, based on customer feedback, it doesn’t appear that Persopo nickel-and-dimes you for anything beyond basic information.

However, many customers complained that their report took 72 hours (or longer) to be sent to them after performing their initial search. In fact, several customers complained that they never received their reports at all.

According to Persopo, they offer a guaranteed 100% no hassle and no haggle cancellation process. Regarding refunds, the company representative who reached out to us noted: “Each case is different, but the emphasis is always on making the customer happy.”

In order to cancel your Persopo membership, you’ll need to contact customer service at 866-371-2590 or support@persopo.com.

What’s Our Bottom Line About Persopo?

Chopping to the point: In The Problem With Online People Searches, we noted that, since these services pull information from public sources, there are methods of obtaining much of the same information for free—although it might require more time and effort than offered by one of these reports.

Furthermore, it’s been our experience, whether here on HighYa or elsewhere online, that the majority of customer responses to these services have been negative, with frequent complaints citing incomplete/incorrect information in reports and recurring monthly subscriptions.

On the other hand, with think it speaks volumes that a Persopo representative reached out to us directly, noting that they’re actively working on improving this seeming customer dissatisfaction. Here’s what they told us:

“Our goal at Persopo.com is to ensure every customer fully understands what we do, and the reality of the situation, so that every customer, whether they continue to be so or not, never leave with a feeling of being cheated.”

On top of this, it appears that Persopo is willing to offer refunds on a case-by-case basis, so you might not have much more to lose than a few minutes of your time by giving them a try.

Did Persopo’s report deliver the information you were looking for? If not, were you able to process a refund through customer service? Talk about your experience in your very own review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

23 Consumer Reviews for Persopo

Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  20
Bottom Line: 13% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 23
Sort reviews by:

  • Satisfactory

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jun 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I see lots of people upset with rudeness, but I didn't have that issue. I needed a simple phone number, and I found it. I was on the site for all of two minutes, and my phone call to cancel lasted about the same time. No problem or poor service experienced. Maybe they're under new management, or maybe I got lucky. But I enjoyed my experience.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Four out of five

    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Jun 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Service could be a tad more comprehensive, and the phone lines took a few minutes longer than expected to connect. Customer service reps were definitely helpful and polite, always a good sign. I would recommend them to anyone who wants a quick checkup on someone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • Denver, CO,
    • May 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Persopo is one of the greatest scams of the 21st Century. I can't get money back from them, and I have been unable to even log in. I have called several times. Yesterday I spoke to Elizabeth, and she was understanding. Today I spoke to Cindy, and she even tried to log in and could not. She did not know what the problem was nor could she fix it. They both have offered a week's refund. I should be getting at least a year's refund. Since I rarely use it, I tried to get on a year ago, and since I couldn't, I went to another subscriber that I use and forgot about the problem.

    They tell you before they connect you with someone that they are recording. Well, it is a two-way street as I have been recording my conversations with them.

    Beware, beware of Persopo!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Seen worse

    Lots of the reviews on this site are pretty typical for public record sites. I've subscribed to three of this same type of site. People seem to think this is Google or FBI and that's just unrealistic. I got more info here than at another public search site, and some give nothing. I found the site a tad laggy, but that may have been my ancient mac. One key point I want to mention was the service reps at Presopo are much more polite than the other sites I signed up to. I did recommend this site to a friend, and she had mixed results as well, but at least the reps were polite to both of us at this establishment!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Inaccurate information

    The information the site provides is inaccurate. I am glad that I paid just a $1 for a trial with a Visa gift card which had a balance of just $3. The information they provide doesn't match my name. It was someone else's name.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Persopo is a rip off!

    • Good Luck Finding It on Persopo!,
    • Jan 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This report is a total rip off. They charged me $19.95 to tell me what I could've gotten for free in five minutes off of government websites. Addresses? For the criminal records, you still have to sift through hundreds, if not thousands, of names. You have to sift through the criminal records yourself for everyone named John T. Doe in any given town, even after you select the exact person you want to look up. What? Total scam.

    To top it off, they make it IMPOSSIBLE to cancel your subscription for their worthless service. How convenient for them. No cancellation option anywhere on your account information. Thanks, Fox News, for recommending this wonderful service. How much advertising money did Persopo pay you to mention their scam service as credible and legit?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Waste of time and money

    The information I looked up first was on someone I already had current information on. What little information I got back was inaccurate, and most of the public information that's available online was not in the report at all.

    I immediately called to cancel and get my money back, but am told I must wait 5 business days for a refund. They took my money in seconds and now want me to wait 5 days to get it back? That's just crap.

    The person I spoke with was interrupting me repeatedly and saying things that were just not factual. Stay away from this site.

    I should've read these reviews before giving them my information. This company is fraudulent.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    They say you get what you pay for and that is true with this site.

    I picked it because it was so much cheaper than other sites. It is cheaper for a reason. It is because they basically give information you can find yourself online. I ran several different checks on different people and didn't get what I needed on any of them. It gave me addresses and phone numbers, which I can get from online phone books. It did have some criminal history but I wanted marriage and divorce records, and it didn't have them on a single report. I can understand if they couldn't find records on one person every now and then but not on one single report? I'm sorry but it sounds fishy.

    I only gave it one star because there was no option for zero. I always try to look for something positive in any situation, and the only good thing I can say here is that the customer service reps were helpful when I called.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Persopo gives you false numbers to call so you can't cancel your subscription.

    • West Virginia,
    • May 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am not satisfied at all with Persopo. I called the number they provided to cancel your monthly subscription. This number they provided me with (1-800-371-2590) takes you on a roller coaster ride of advertisements and free offers. Then after staying on the phone with this crap for 20 minutes listening, they then get on and tell you that this number is no longer in service in my area. They give me another number to call to cancel my subscription (1-800-712-6600). I called this number to cancel and low and behold another host of advertisements and free offers.

    I still cannot cancel my subscription. Please be aware. Now I must contact my bank and cancel my card and wait for my new banking card to arrive because this site gives you the runaround and provides you with false and misleading phone numbers when trying to cancel my subscription. I have learned a valuable lesson today. Never again will I be scammed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 6, 2017

      Mike M, Supervisor

      We must say that we apologize for the journey you took. We do see that you have in fact emailed our company previously to cancel your account. The account was canceled at that time. Just for confirmation, your account has been set to cancel and you will see absolutely no further charges from our company moving forward.

      Additionally, we must clarify one thing. You stated that you tried contacting us through a 1-800-371-2590. The reason you did have difficulties would be that our number is 1-866-371-2590. We are an 866, not an 800, the number you called has absolutely no connection with our company in any way, and the 6600 number they provided also has nothing to do with us. We do apologize for such a terrible misunderstanding.

      If you have any other questions or concerns please call customer service directly at 1-866-371-2590. We have representatives standing by, ready to assist you.

    • Sep 7, 2017

      Ross Murray

      BOOM, and drop that mic! Awesome. Polite but a well-deserved rebuttal! Bravo. It's in my line of work of auto collateral recovery. This is a blessing, a friend told me about this website and loves it. As for the price? If it works, it's beyond a bargain.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Total rip off

    I can't believe I fell for this one. The $1 trial fee turned into a $29.93 monthly rip off, for something I never even used! When I confronted their "service" people about the charges, they offered to refund the last five billings, with no questions asked. I contacted my credit card security, and they would provide a refund for four billings.

    I am reporting this outfit to my State's Attorney General for a review and possible fraud charges, which in this state can result in treble damages. Don't use or even think about using this "service."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 6, 2017

      Mike M, Supervisor

      We are sorry for your experience Richard. When you signed up, you selected the checkbox that completely explained your billing plan, acknowledging that you understand that billing. It states that if you don’t contact us to let us know you no longer want a membership, your trial membership to our site becomes a monthly membership at a rate of $29.93 per month.

      You can also find that information in the email confirmation we sent after registering. We do understand that mistakes are made. We are glad you see that we did, in fact, bend over backward to accommodate you with even more credit than your own card service would attempt.

      If you have any other questions or concerns please call customer service directly at 1-866-371-2590, or email support@persopo.com. We have representatives standing by, ready to assist you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Waste of your hard-earned money!

    • Massachusetts,
    • Feb 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I paid for a comprehensive report on top of paying for a membership. They gave me information that I could have looked up on Google for free!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 6, 2017

      Mike M, Supervisor

      We definitely understand your frustration with a service, when you did not see the information that you were hoping for. Unfortunately, the nature of our service is not the location of specific records for specific people. The service that we provide is a membership to perform unlimited searches of our existing and continually updating the database of public records on over 320 million Americans. Since we are not the source of these records, but a resource, we have no control over what records may or not show.

      In short, you can think of it like a library. They have an existing and continually updated resource of information. Like them, we cannot guarantee to have a piece of information (books). Also, like a library, we are unable to edit or create new information and can only order new information created by the source. So, the statement of us not having information that you believe should show is similar to stating that a library doesn't have a book that you were able to purchase from the publisher.

      While we understand that this can make it difficult to locate information that you want and in some cases, desperately need, it is the reality of what public record is and how it operates. We do apologize for any inconveniences experienced. Should you have any further questions or concerns, please call customer service directly at 1-866-371-2590 or email support@persopo.com. We have representatives standing by, ready to assist you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 23

Write a Review for Persopo!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review