• 37 Customer Reviews
  • 8% Recommend This Service
1.3 out of 5
5 star: 2% 4 star: 5% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 0% 1 star: 91%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Complaint

    • By Pamela,
    • Little river south carolina,
    • Aug 21, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I tried this Persopo to try to locate some info concerning finding my family and all I get is in accurate information, names and address are wrong. I even tried to find out my DMV records as well as marriage information, nothing. 72 hours they said nothing happened, I got the same old excuse about why I'm not getting information. Well you won't be fooling me anymore, you will never be getting another dime from me. I would never recommend you. You stink and you're thieves and liars. Don't anyone get fooled by any of these places about people, phones, address search, criminal records, what ever. They're all scams and they sell your information to other places like Spokeo, Instant Checkmate, Been Verified. Your info is exposed on all these sites, opening it up for identity theft. Close your account, then they can't get your money and they won't scam you. I have learned from this and you will too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They are scam artists...incorrect information

    • By RM,
    • New York,
    • Aug 24, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    You cannot trust their search engine's results. They will tell you they have the info you are searching for, and then once you pay, there is nothing there. Do not give them your credit card number, they will bill you forever even after you cancel in writing.

    If you want to loose money you will get better odds at the slot machines. I would never recommend them as the service is a waste of time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • You can't believe reports!

    • By Paul Sweeney,
    • Arlington, WA,
    • Nov 17, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was checking out someone I had just met. Then I decided to check out myself. It showed a lot of criminal activity and I've never been arrested for anything! At a closer look, I saw that the names matched but the birth dates didn't. Anyone who wanted to look me up would think I was a real scoundrel. Wow, I'm beyond mad!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your money!

    Overall Experience:

    No information is provided except the persons name (which you already entered), previous addresses and a birth date. When questioned, customer service says the records of their information have to be digital to appear. Why wouldn't they tell you that BEFORE asking you to pay?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Useless

    • By Joe,
    • Ohio,
    • May 5, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    All you get is phone number and address. Then they tell you to wait up to you 72 hours. I got no more info than I get from my white page app. This isn't for me!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Was looking for a marraige certificate

    • By N A Atiya,
    • Aug 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This site provide useless or no information, it is definitely a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor Results, poor customer service

    • By Tracy,
    • Georgia,
    • Sep 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The results were incomplete as compared to similar services. The customer service rep was rude and kept cutting me off when I tried to speak. Don't waste your money. ZERO STARS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Run away as fast as you can

    Overall Experience:

    I only wish I had looked up the reviews for Persopo before I subscribed. I learned a good lesson, that's for sure. As all reviews have commented, nothing is shown on this site that I could not have been found on a free site. Moreover, when I tried to sign in immediately after logging in, using my newly minted password and e-mail address, I was told that one or both were wrong. When attempting to contact the company by phone, no luck there.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It's garbage.

    • By Janice Ross,
    • California,
    • Nov 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Do not waste your time or money. I needed some marriage date but it had none.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay away!

    • By Jessica,
    • Albany, NY,
    • Jan 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Not only did their reports show misinformation and incomplete information, but they sold my email address. 12 hours after signing up I had received 32 spam emails, all similar in nature about loan services! Now almost 24 hours later, it's just gotten worse.

    I've never seen such spam before. I called their "Customer Support, " and they told me they don't sell email address. Yeah, right!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Tom,
    • Santa Clarita, CA,
    • Feb 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They offered a "report" for a dollar as I was about to leave the website. I took the bait, and the search revealed my full name and phone number for one dollar. What a waste!

    Then, they immediately charged me $29.95 on my credit card after promising a trial. They now have my credit card info, and I can't access it at their website, so I can't delete my account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't be fooled

    • By Noel,
    • Bridgeport, CT,
    • Feb 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    First of all, half the information isn't there. I mean public information!

    Secondly, they are rude on the phone when you cancel. The woman I spoke to must have thought she was in a street fight instead of a customer service representative helping a customer. She never let me get a word in when I said I had thought I had already canceled and was still getting billed. I mean, she was nasty. I guess it's the kind of company that values that kind of "customer service" representative. I learned my lesson.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of your hard-earned money!

    • By Amanda,
    • Massachusetts,
    • Feb 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I paid for a comprehensive report on top of paying for a membership. They gave me information that I could have looked up on Google for free!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 6, 2017

      Company Response from Persopo

      We definitely understand your frustration with a service, when you did not see the information that you were hoping for. Unfortunately, the nature of our service is not the location of specific records for specific people. The service that we provide is a membership to perform unlimited searches of our existing and continually updating the database of public records on over 320 million Americans. Since we are not the source of these records, but a resource, we have no control over what records may or not show.

      In short, you can think of it like a library. They have an existing and continually updated resource of information. Like them, we cannot guarantee to have a piece of information (books). Also, like a library, we are unable to edit or create new information and can only order new information created by the source. So, the statement of us not having information that you believe should show is similar to stating that a library doesn't have a book that you were able to purchase from the publisher.

      While we understand that this can make it difficult to locate information that you want and in some cases, desperately need, it is the reality of what public record is and how it operates. We do apologize for any inconveniences experienced. Should you have any further questions or concerns, please call customer service directly at 1-866-371-2590 or email support@persopo.com. We have representatives standing by, ready to assist you.


  • Total rip off

    Overall Experience:

    I can't believe I fell for this one. The $1 trial fee turned into a $29.93 monthly rip off, for something I never even used! When I confronted their "service" people about the charges, they offered to refund the last five billings, with no questions asked. I contacted my credit card security, and they would provide a refund for four billings.

    I am reporting this outfit to my State's Attorney General for a review and possible fraud charges, which in this state can result in treble damages. Don't use or even think about using this "service."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 6, 2017

      Company Response from Persopo

      We are sorry for your experience Richard. When you signed up, you selected the checkbox that completely explained your billing plan, acknowledging that you understand that billing. It states that if you don’t contact us to let us know you no longer want a membership, your trial membership to our site becomes a monthly membership at a rate of $29.93 per month.

      You can also find that information in the email confirmation we sent after registering. We do understand that mistakes are made. We are glad you see that we did, in fact, bend over backward to accommodate you with even more credit than your own card service would attempt.

      If you have any other questions or concerns please call customer service directly at 1-866-371-2590, or email support@persopo.com. We have representatives standing by, ready to assist you.


  • Persopo gives you false numbers to call so you can't cancel your subscription.

    • By Joyce Akers,
    • West Virginia,
    • May 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am not satisfied at all with Persopo. I called the number they provided to cancel your monthly subscription. This number they provided me with (1-800-371-2590) takes you on a roller coaster ride of advertisements and free offers. Then after staying on the phone with this crap for 20 minutes listening, they then get on and tell you that this number is no longer in service in my area. They give me another number to call to cancel my subscription (1-800-712-6600). I called this number to cancel and low and behold another host of advertisements and free offers.

    I still cannot cancel my subscription. Please be aware. Now I must contact my bank and cancel my card and wait for my new banking card to arrive because this site gives you the runaround and provides you with false and misleading phone numbers when trying to cancel my subscription. I have learned a valuable lesson today. Never again will I be scammed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 6, 2017

      Company Response from Persopo

      We must say that we apologize for the journey you took. We do see that you have in fact emailed our company previously to cancel your account. The account was canceled at that time. Just for confirmation, your account has been set to cancel and you will see absolutely no further charges from our company moving forward.

      Additionally, we must clarify one thing. You stated that you tried contacting us through a 1-800-371-2590. The reason you did have difficulties would be that our number is 1-866-371-2590. We are an 866, not an 800, the number you called has absolutely no connection with our company in any way, and the 6600 number they provided also has nothing to do with us. We do apologize for such a terrible misunderstanding.

      If you have any other questions or concerns please call customer service directly at 1-866-371-2590. We have representatives standing by, ready to assist you.


  • Don't waste your money

    Overall Experience:

    They say you get what you pay for and that is true with this site.

    I picked it because it was so much cheaper than other sites. It is cheaper for a reason. It is because they basically give information you can find yourself online. I ran several different checks on different people and didn't get what I needed on any of them. It gave me addresses and phone numbers, which I can get from online phone books. It did have some criminal history but I wanted marriage and divorce records, and it didn't have them on a single report. I can understand if they couldn't find records on one person every now and then but not on one single report? I'm sorry but it sounds fishy.

    I only gave it one star because there was no option for zero. I always try to look for something positive in any situation, and the only good thing I can say here is that the customer service reps were helpful when I called.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of time and money

    Overall Experience:

    The information I looked up first was on someone I already had current information on. What little information I got back was inaccurate, and most of the public information that's available online was not in the report at all.

    I immediately called to cancel and get my money back, but am told I must wait 5 business days for a refund. They took my money in seconds and now want me to wait 5 days to get it back? That's just crap.

    The person I spoke with was interrupting me repeatedly and saying things that were just not factual. Stay away from this site.

    I should've read these reviews before giving them my information. This company is fraudulent.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Persopo is a rip off!

    • By Robert Sean Evans,
    • Good Luck Finding It on Persopo!,
    • Jan 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This report is a total rip off. They charged me $19.95 to tell me what I could've gotten for free in five minutes off of government websites. Addresses? For the criminal records, you still have to sift through hundreds, if not thousands, of names. You have to sift through the criminal records yourself for everyone named John T. Doe in any given town, even after you select the exact person you want to look up. What? Total scam.

    To top it off, they make it IMPOSSIBLE to cancel your subscription for their worthless service. How convenient for them. No cancellation option anywhere on your account information. Thanks, Fox News, for recommending this wonderful service. How much advertising money did Persopo pay you to mention their scam service as credible and legit?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Inaccurate information

    Overall Experience:

    The information the site provides is inaccurate. I am glad that I paid just a $1 for a trial with a Visa gift card which had a balance of just $3. The information they provide doesn't match my name. It was someone else's name.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rip off

    • By S. J. Hughes,
    • Denver, CO,
    • May 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Persopo is one of the greatest scams of the 21st Century. I can't get money back from them, and I have been unable to even log in. I have called several times. Yesterday I spoke to Elizabeth, and she was understanding. Today I spoke to Cindy, and she even tried to log in and could not. She did not know what the problem was nor could she fix it. They both have offered a week's refund. I should be getting at least a year's refund. Since I rarely use it, I tried to get on a year ago, and since I couldn't, I went to another subscriber that I use and forgot about the problem.

    They tell you before they connect you with someone that they are recording. Well, it is a two-way street as I have been recording my conversations with them.

    Beware, beware of Persopo!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Inga H.,
    • Miami, FL,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is a total scam. It provides you with limited information which you can get for free anywhere else with little effort. It tricks you during the process by asking if you "would like social media results," but they do NOT provide this information. When you call customer service to inquire, the reps are rude and talk down to you, and have NO desire to assist whatsoever, and recite from the script "Our website does not state that we provide that service. It is a survey question." Obviously, I was not the only one calling to complain or was misled by the question, which clearly implies the social media results will be included. Total scam! Save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Read the fine print

    • By Curtis B.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Aug 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I used this site in October 2017 and thought I had only joined for one month for $19.99 and charged it on a rarely used card with only electronic statements. On August 23, 2018, I looked over my credit card statement online to see what my balance was and noticed a charge to Persopo for $19.99. I looked all my statement back in Oct 2017 and was charged every month, November to August, a total of ten months totaling $199.90.

    When tried to cancel this account, which I didn't use for the entire ten months, I discovered there was no way to cancel it online and I had to call. When I asked for them to cancel my account and get a refund the on this service that I clearly hadn't used, they gave me $9 back! I know! I should have read the fine print I was checking off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It is a rip off, waste of money

    • By Ana S.,
    • Denton, TX,
    • Sep 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It is the worse page, just rip off. It didn't give the phone number right of my husband and the address and not any social media information. I did try because on Facebook it said that a wife caught her husband cheating on Match.com thru this page, but it is not true.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Onus is on you to stop monthly payments

    • By Carol T.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Sep 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Very tough to get out of membership.

    I hadn't even realized I was under contract for several months. Unless you are really going to use this service on a regular basis, I suggest using one that doesn't automatically put you under a contract. Customer service rep, Daniel, was snarky and spoke over me the entire time reading the contract to me. So many companies provide this service, next time I'll pay up for a one time use with a different company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rude

    • By Tina W.,
    • Tennessee,
    • Oct 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The person who answered the phone when I called to cancel my membership because I was being billed that day, did not like that I wanted him to hurry up and wanted to control the conversation, so instead of finishing the call with me, he put me on hold. I had to call back and sit there while he gave his little speech to me so he could be in control of the situation. They need new customer service people and you should be able to call the day it renews and cancel. I would not recommend this to a friend based on that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Load of garbage

    • By Joseph I.,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Oct 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought a subscription to this site after reading that some woman had sued her ex-husband for using this site to find her hidden activity. Apparently, he was able to find out she was cheating because this site was logging her accounts to other websites (such as dating websites). Well, I thought it'd be neat to run a few reports on some of my friends and family, and of course, see what the site had to say about myself.

    For one, this site is very good at knowing your birthday and your family members. But that's it. When I tried to click on criminal records, it had records for someone born in a different year. It showed my birth date correct on the first page, but then it completely backtracked and went with a different person completely on the criminal side of things. It had no record of property owned or any of that sort of thing, nor did it have records of any websites I was on. This was true on EVERY SINGLE PROFILE I SEARCHED. It only would bring up the name, age, and family names. It wouldn't even find the records when it came to criminal activity.

    A complete waste of $20 and a complete waste of time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This company is a SCAM

    • By Kimberly G.,
    • Colorado,
    • Nov 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    DO NOT pay to use this site! Not only does it not provide the information they say they will, when you cancel, the service people are rude and VERY UNHELPFUL. When I asked for a refund, I was given the run around then told basically "too bad."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 37

Write a Review for Persopo!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Persopo