About Persopo

By Derek Lakin
Updated on: Jun 27, 2017

Persopo is an online people search service that aggregates public records from federal, state, and county government agencies and delivers it to customers in a fast, safe, and affordable manner, so that they can make more informed decisions about new individuals they meet.

Persopo claims to make it easy to find detailed and important information about anyone using data from all 50 states, including criminal, arrest, and police records, marriage records, background details, and contact information.

This way, Persopo claims you can locate long lost friends and family, find out more about your neighbors, learn if sex offenders live near you, and even protect yourself from dating fraud.

How Does Persopo Work?

In order to begin using Persopo, you simply need to enter the person’s full name, their city, as well as their state on the home page, and then press Search. According to the company, your query will always remain completely confidential, and their top-notch customer care team is always available to help if you have questions.

Once complete, Persopo will display matching results, including the person’s name, age, location, and possible relatives. Then, once you click on the Access Report button, you’ll need to answer three security questions to verify that:

  1. You’re 18 or over and a legal citizen of the U.S.
  2. You agree not to use the information for employment decisions.
  3. You agree not to use the information to blackmail anyone.

Finally, you’ll be required to enter your email address and choose a membership package (more about this in the Pricing section) in order to view the report. Persopo claims that each of their membership options includes unlimited searches and comes with zero hidden fees.

Making personal connections with others is one of the biggest joys in life. But whether you’re looking for someone with whom you lost contact long ago, or to check up on a new person you’re dating, are Persopo’s services worth your hard-earned money? Consider the following:

Where Does Persopo Pull Its Information From?

Similar to other people search companies such as Instant Checkmate, SpyFly, and BeenVerified, Persopo aggregates public records information and combines it into an easy to read report.

The information Persopo pulls includes “documents or pieces of information that are not considered confidential,” and are widely available to anyone with online access. In other words, you have the ability find this information yourself elsewhere, for free.

With this said, the primary benefit that many people search companies claim to provide is saving you the time and hassle of visiting dozens of different state, county, and city websites, and scouring their databases for the exact information you need. Instead, they claim to provide the information you’re looking for in seconds, and to display it a simple report.

Is There Anything that Persopo Can’t Be Used For?

Persopo is not classified as a Consumer Reporting Agency, which means the information you obtain from their site cannot be used for employment, credit or insurance eligibility (including student loans and/or scholarship eligibility), or tenancy.

Instead, if you need information related to any of these services, you’ll have to use a reporting agency approved by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau.

Are Customers Pleased with Persopo’s Services?

Since writing our original article, 15 HighYa readers had provided feedback about their experiences with Persopo, giving the company an average rating of one star. In general, most complaints appeared related to inaccurate or incomplete information in reports, along with recurring monthly charges after an initial trial.

The company had a similar rating on SiteJabber among nearly 100 customer reviews, many of which mirrored those found here on HighYa.

Despite this, Persopo had an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 46 reviews and nearly 70 closed complaints, as of 6/7/17.

With this in mind, it’s important to note that most of the complaints listed against the company are nearly identical to the other people search companies we’ve written about, and aren’t unique to Persopo.

It seems Persopo is focused on improving this type of feedback, though, as a representative reached out to us directly, writing:

“Persopo.com gathers records from federal, state, and county government agencies that hold public records. Unfortunately, we’re not the source of the information, so we can’t guarantee what will or will not be returned.

“We have not gone blind to the negative feedback and are improving customer relations all the time.”

How Much Does Persopo Cost?

Persopo’s services are available through three different membership packages:

  • 1 Month: $19.93/mo
  • 3 Months: $14.93/mo, paid in full upfront at $44.79
  • 6 Months: $9.93/mo, paid in full upfront at $59.58

All membership options include unlimited searches. Remember that your membership will automatically renew when the time comes, so you’ll need to contact the company to cancel in order to prevent this from recurring.

Important note: Unlike many of the other people search companies we’ve reviewed, based on customer feedback, it doesn’t appear that Persopo nickel-and-dimes you for anything beyond basic information.

However, many customers complained that their report took 72 hours (or longer) to be sent to them after performing their initial search. In fact, several customers complained that they never received their reports at all.

According to Persopo, they offer a guaranteed 100% no hassle and no haggle cancellation process. Regarding refunds, the company representative who reached out to us noted: “Each case is different, but the emphasis is always on making the customer happy.”

In order to cancel your Persopo membership, you’ll need to contact customer service at 866-371-2590 or support@persopo.com.

What’s Our Bottom Line About Persopo?

In “The Problem With People Search Websites,” we noted that, since these services pull information from public sources, there are methods of obtaining much of the same information for free—although it might require more time and effort than offered by one of these reports.

Furthermore, it’s been our experience, whether here on HighYa or elsewhere online, that the majority of customer responses to these services have been negative, with frequent complaints citing incomplete/incorrect information in reports and recurring monthly subscriptions.

On the other hand, with think it speaks volumes that a Persopo representative reached out to us directly, noting that they’re actively working on improving this seeming customer dissatisfaction. Here’s what they told us:

“Our goal at Persopo.com is to ensure every customer fully understands what we do, and the reality of the situation, so that every customer, whether they continue to be so or not, never leave with a feeling of being cheated.”

On top of this, it appears that Persopo is willing to offer refunds on a case-by-case basis, so you might not have much more to lose than a few minutes of your time by giving them a try.

Did Persopo’s report deliver the information you were looking for? If not, were you able to process a refund through customer service? Talk about your experience in your very own review below!


Read 35 Persopo Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  32
Bottom Line: 9% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 35
Sort reviews by:

  • Persopo gives you false numbers to call so you can't cancel your subscription.

    • By Joyce Akers,
    • West Virginia,
    • May 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am not satisfied at all with Persopo. I called the number they provided to cancel your monthly subscription. This number they provided me with (1-800-371-2590) takes you on a roller coaster ride of advertisements and free offers. Then after staying on the phone with this crap for 20 minutes listening, they then get on and tell you that this number is no longer in service in my area. They give me another number to call to cancel my subscription (1-800-712-6600). I called this number to cancel and low and behold another host of advertisements and free offers.

    I still cannot cancel my subscription. Please be aware. Now I must contact my bank and cancel my card and wait for my new banking card to arrive because this site gives you the runaround and provides you with false and misleading phone numbers when trying to cancel my subscription. I have learned a valuable lesson today. Never again will I be scammed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 6, 2017

      Company Response from Persopo

      We must say that we apologize for the journey you took. We do see that you have in fact emailed our company previously to cancel your account. The account was canceled at that time. Just for confirmation, your account has been set to cancel and you will see absolutely no further charges from our company moving forward.

      Additionally, we must clarify one thing. You stated that you tried contacting us through a 1-800-371-2590. The reason you did have difficulties would be that our number is 1-866-371-2590. We are an 866, not an 800, the number you called has absolutely no connection with our company in any way, and the 6600 number they provided also has nothing to do with us. We do apologize for such a terrible misunderstanding.

      If you have any other questions or concerns please call customer service directly at 1-866-371-2590. We have representatives standing by, ready to assist you.


  • Persopo is a rip off!

    • By Robert Sean Evans,
    • Good Luck Finding It on Persopo!,
    • Jan 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This report is a total rip off. They charged me $19.95 to tell me what I could've gotten for free in five minutes off of government websites. Addresses? For the criminal records, you still have to sift through hundreds, if not thousands, of names. You have to sift through the criminal records yourself for everyone named John T. Doe in any given town, even after you select the exact person you want to look up. What? Total scam.

    To top it off, they make it IMPOSSIBLE to cancel your subscription for their worthless service. How convenient for them. No cancellation option anywhere on your account information. Thanks, Fox News, for recommending this wonderful service. How much advertising money did Persopo pay you to mention their scam service as credible and legit?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It's garbage.

    • By Janice Ross,
    • California,
    • Nov 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not waste your time or money. I needed some marriage date but it had none.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Complaint

    • By Pamela,
    • Little river south carolina,
    • Aug 21, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried this Persopo to try to locate some info concerning finding my family and all I get is in accurate information, names and address are wrong. I even tried to find out my DMV records as well as marriage information, nothing. 72 hours they said nothing happened, I got the same old excuse about why I'm not getting information. Well you won't be fooling me anymore, you will never be getting another dime from me. I would never recommend you. You stink and you're thieves and liars. Don't anyone get fooled by any of these places about people, phones, address search, criminal records, what ever. They're all scams and they sell your information to other places like Spokeo, Instant Checkmate, Been Verified. Your info is exposed on all these sites, opening it up for identity theft. Close your account, then they can't get your money and they won't scam you. I have learned from this and you will too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Load of garbage

    • By Joseph I.,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Oct 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a subscription to this site after reading that some woman had sued her ex-husband for using this site to find her hidden activity. Apparently, he was able to find out she was cheating because this site was logging her accounts to other websites (such as dating websites). Well, I thought it'd be neat to run a few reports on some of my friends and family, and of course, see what the site had to say about myself.

    For one, this site is very good at knowing your birthday and your family members. But that's it. When I tried to click on criminal records, it had records for someone born in a different year. It showed my birth date correct on the first page, but then it completely backtracked and went with a different person completely on the criminal side of things. It had no record of property owned or any of that sort of thing, nor did it have records of any websites I was on. This was true on EVERY SINGLE PROFILE I SEARCHED. It only would bring up the name, age, and family names. It wouldn't even find the records when it came to criminal activity.

    A complete waste of $20 and a complete waste of time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They are scam artists...incorrect information

    • By RM,
    • New York,
    • Aug 24, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    You cannot trust their search engine's results. They will tell you they have the info you are searching for, and then once you pay, there is nothing there. Do not give them your credit card number, they will bill you forever even after you cancel in writing.

    If you want to loose money you will get better odds at the slot machines. I would never recommend them as the service is a waste of time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of time and money

    The information I looked up first was on someone I already had current information on. What little information I got back was inaccurate, and most of the public information that's available online was not in the report at all.

    I immediately called to cancel and get my money back, but am told I must wait 5 business days for a refund. They took my money in seconds and now want me to wait 5 days to get it back? That's just crap.

    The person I spoke with was interrupting me repeatedly and saying things that were just not factual. Stay away from this site.

    I should've read these reviews before giving them my information. This company is fraudulent.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Inga H.,
    • Miami, FL,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a total scam. It provides you with limited information which you can get for free anywhere else with little effort. It tricks you during the process by asking if you "would like social media results," but they do NOT provide this information. When you call customer service to inquire, the reps are rude and talk down to you, and have NO desire to assist whatsoever, and recite from the script "Our website does not state that we provide that service. It is a survey question." Obviously, I was not the only one calling to complain or was misled by the question, which clearly implies the social media results will be included. Total scam! Save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Onus is on you to stop monthly payments

    • By Carol T.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Sep 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very tough to get out of membership.

    I hadn't even realized I was under contract for several months. Unless you are really going to use this service on a regular basis, I suggest using one that doesn't automatically put you under a contract. Customer service rep, Daniel, was snarky and spoke over me the entire time reading the contract to me. So many companies provide this service, next time I'll pay up for a one time use with a different company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • You can't believe reports!

    • By Paul Sweeney,
    • Arlington, WA,
    • Nov 17, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was checking out someone I had just met. Then I decided to check out myself. It showed a lot of criminal activity and I've never been arrested for anything! At a closer look, I saw that the names matched but the birth dates didn't. Anyone who wanted to look me up would think I was a real scoundrel. Wow, I'm beyond mad!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total rip-off

    • By Claire S.,
    • Maryland,
    • Feb 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't sign up! I signed up for 6 months (dummy) at $59.58 - really lousy site and info. I sent the following email to support at persopo.com:

    "Do not charge my credit card for this purchase. This was a mistake to order. Very minimal, jumbled information - I searched myself and family to see if accurate - no marital info, no property info, criminal records from other names and states- appalling service."

    No answer, of course, so I call 800-481-9168. After explaining I did not want service I was "offered a courtesy" to be charged $19.93 for one month. I said don't want it at all and total refund - transfer me to a supervisor- "they don't take phone calls!" Really, a supervisor that doesn't take customer calls. Oh, and the rep (haha) said it can take up to 72 hours for search info to upload! I better get my $39.65 credit or they'll be sorry they messed with this chick!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 35

Write a Review for Persopo!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Persopo