About Persopo

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Jun 27, 2017

Persopo is an online people search service that aggregates public records from federal, state, and county government agencies and delivers it to customers in a fast, safe, and affordable manner, so that they can make more informed decisions about new individuals they meet.

Persopo claims to make it easy to find detailed and important information about anyone using data from all 50 states, including criminal, arrest, and police records, marriage records, background details, and contact information.

This way, Persopo claims you can locate long lost friends and family, find out more about your neighbors, learn if sex offenders live near you, and even protect yourself from dating fraud.

How Does Persopo Work?

In order to begin using Persopo, you simply need to enter the person’s full name, their city, as well as their state on the home page, and then press Search. According to the company, your query will always remain completely confidential, and their top-notch customer care team is always available to help if you have questions.

Once complete, Persopo will display matching results, including the person’s name, age, location, and possible relatives. Then, once you click on the Access Report button, you’ll need to answer three security questions to verify that:

  1. You’re 18 or over and a legal citizen of the U.S.
  2. You agree not to use the information for employment decisions.
  3. You agree not to use the information to blackmail anyone.

Finally, you’ll be required to enter your email address and choose a membership package (more about this in the Pricing section) in order to view the report. Persopo claims that each of their membership options includes unlimited searches and comes with zero hidden fees.

Making personal connections with others is one of the biggest joys in life. But whether you’re looking for someone with whom you lost contact long ago, or to check up on a new person you’re dating, are Persopo’s services worth your hard-earned money? Consider the following:

Where Does Persopo Pull Its Information From?

Similar to other people search companies such as Instant Checkmate, SpyFly, and BeenVerified, Persopo aggregates public records information and combines it into an easy to read report.

The information Persopo pulls includes “documents or pieces of information that are not considered confidential,” and are widely available to anyone with online access. In other words, you have the ability find this information yourself elsewhere, for free.

With this said, the primary benefit that many people search companies claim to provide is saving you the time and hassle of visiting dozens of different state, county, and city websites, and scouring their databases for the exact information you need. Instead, they claim to provide the information you’re looking for in seconds, and to display it a simple report.

Is There Anything that Persopo Can’t Be Used For?

Persopo is not classified as a Consumer Reporting Agency, which means the information you obtain from their site cannot be used for employment, credit or insurance eligibility (including student loans and/or scholarship eligibility), or tenancy.

Instead, if you need information related to any of these services, you’ll have to use a reporting agency approved by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau.

Are Customers Pleased with Persopo’s Services?

Since writing our original article, 15 HighYa readers had provided feedback about their experiences with Persopo, giving the company an average rating of one star. In general, most complaints appeared related to inaccurate or incomplete information in reports, along with recurring monthly charges after an initial trial.

The company had a similar rating on SiteJabber among nearly 100 customer reviews, many of which mirrored those found here on HighYa.

Despite this, Persopo had an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 46 reviews and nearly 70 closed complaints, as of 6/7/17.

With this in mind, it’s important to note that most of the complaints listed against the company are nearly identical to the other people search companies we’ve written about, and aren’t unique to Persopo.

It seems Persopo is focused on improving this type of feedback, though, as a representative reached out to us directly, writing:

“Persopo.com gathers records from federal, state, and county government agencies that hold public records. Unfortunately, we’re not the source of the information, so we can’t guarantee what will or will not be returned.

“We have not gone blind to the negative feedback and are improving customer relations all the time.”

How Much Does Persopo Cost?

Persopo’s services are available through three different membership packages:

  • 1 Month: $19.93/mo
  • 3 Months: $14.93/mo, paid in full upfront at $44.79
  • 6 Months: $9.93/mo, paid in full upfront at $59.58

All membership options include unlimited searches. Remember that your membership will automatically renew when the time comes, so you’ll need to contact the company to cancel in order to prevent this from recurring.

Important note: Unlike many of the other people search companies we’ve reviewed, based on customer feedback, it doesn’t appear that Persopo nickel-and-dimes you for anything beyond basic information.

However, many customers complained that their report took 72 hours (or longer) to be sent to them after performing their initial search. In fact, several customers complained that they never received their reports at all.

According to Persopo, they offer a guaranteed 100% no hassle and no haggle cancellation process. Regarding refunds, the company representative who reached out to us noted: “Each case is different, but the emphasis is always on making the customer happy.”

In order to cancel your Persopo membership, you’ll need to contact customer service at 866-371-2590 or support@persopo.com.

What’s Our Bottom Line About Persopo?

In “The Problem With People Search Websites,” we noted that, since these services pull information from public sources, there are methods of obtaining much of the same information for free—although it might require more time and effort than offered by one of these reports.

Furthermore, it’s been our experience, whether here on HighYa or elsewhere online, that the majority of customer responses to these services have been negative, with frequent complaints citing incomplete/incorrect information in reports and recurring monthly subscriptions.

On the other hand, with think it speaks volumes that a Persopo representative reached out to us directly, noting that they’re actively working on improving this seeming customer dissatisfaction. Here’s what they told us:

“Our goal at Persopo.com is to ensure every customer fully understands what we do, and the reality of the situation, so that every customer, whether they continue to be so or not, never leave with a feeling of being cheated.”

On top of this, it appears that Persopo is willing to offer refunds on a case-by-case basis, so you might not have much more to lose than a few minutes of your time by giving them a try.

Did Persopo’s report deliver the information you were looking for? If not, were you able to process a refund through customer service? Talk about your experience in your very own review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

30 Consumer Reviews for Persopo

Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  27
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 30
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is a SCAM

    • Colorado,
    • Nov 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    DO NOT pay to use this site! Not only does it not provide the information they say they will, when you cancel, the service people are rude and VERY UNHELPFUL. When I asked for a refund, I was given the run around then told basically "too bad."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Load of garbage

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Oct 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a subscription to this site after reading that some woman had sued her ex-husband for using this site to find her hidden activity. Apparently, he was able to find out she was cheating because this site was logging her accounts to other websites (such as dating websites). Well, I thought it'd be neat to run a few reports on some of my friends and family, and of course, see what the site had to say about myself.

    For one, this site is very good at knowing your birthday and your family members. But that's it. When I tried to click on criminal records, it had records for someone born in a different year. It showed my birth date correct on the first page, but then it completely backtracked and went with a different person completely on the criminal side of things. It had no record of property owned or any of that sort of thing, nor did it have records of any websites I was on. This was true on EVERY SINGLE PROFILE I SEARCHED. It only would bring up the name, age, and family names. It wouldn't even find the records when it came to criminal activity.

    A complete waste of $20 and a complete waste of time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Rude

    • Tennessee,
    • Oct 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The person who answered the phone when I called to cancel my membership because I was being billed that day, did not like that I wanted him to hurry up and wanted to control the conversation, so instead of finishing the call with me, he put me on hold. I had to call back and sit there while he gave his little speech to me so he could be in control of the situation. They need new customer service people and you should be able to call the day it renews and cancel. I would not recommend this to a friend based on that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Onus is on you to stop monthly payments

    • New Jersey,
    • Sep 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very tough to get out of membership.

    I hadn't even realized I was under contract for several months. Unless you are really going to use this service on a regular basis, I suggest using one that doesn't automatically put you under a contract. Customer service rep, Daniel, was snarky and spoke over me the entire time reading the contract to me. So many companies provide this service, next time I'll pay up for a one time use with a different company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    It is a rip off, waste of money

    • Denton, TX,
    • Sep 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is the worse page, just rip off. It didn't give the phone number right of my husband and the address and not any social media information. I did try because on Facebook it said that a wife caught her husband cheating on Match.com thru this page, but it is not true.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Read the fine print

    • New Jersey,
    • Aug 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used this site in October 2017 and thought I had only joined for one month for $19.99 and charged it on a rarely used card with only electronic statements. On August 23, 2018, I looked over my credit card statement online to see what my balance was and noticed a charge to Persopo for $19.99. I looked all my statement back in Oct 2017 and was charged every month, November to August, a total of ten months totaling $199.90.

    When tried to cancel this account, which I didn't use for the entire ten months, I discovered there was no way to cancel it online and I had to call. When I asked for them to cancel my account and get a refund the on this service that I clearly hadn't used, they gave me $9 back! I know! I should have read the fine print I was checking off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Miami, FL,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a total scam. It provides you with limited information which you can get for free anywhere else with little effort. It tricks you during the process by asking if you "would like social media results," but they do NOT provide this information. When you call customer service to inquire, the reps are rude and talk down to you, and have NO desire to assist whatsoever, and recite from the script "Our website does not state that we provide that service. It is a survey question." Obviously, I was not the only one calling to complain or was misled by the question, which clearly implies the social media results will be included. Total scam! Save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Satisfactory

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jun 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I see lots of people upset with rudeness, but I didn't have that issue. I needed a simple phone number, and I found it. I was on the site for all of two minutes, and my phone call to cancel lasted about the same time. No problem or poor service experienced. Maybe they're under new management, or maybe I got lucky. But I enjoyed my experience.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Four out of five

    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Jun 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Service could be a tad more comprehensive, and the phone lines took a few minutes longer than expected to connect. Customer service reps were definitely helpful and polite, always a good sign. I would recommend them to anyone who wants a quick checkup on someone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • Denver, CO,
    • May 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Persopo is one of the greatest scams of the 21st Century. I can't get money back from them, and I have been unable to even log in. I have called several times. Yesterday I spoke to Elizabeth, and she was understanding. Today I spoke to Cindy, and she even tried to log in and could not. She did not know what the problem was nor could she fix it. They both have offered a week's refund. I should be getting at least a year's refund. Since I rarely use it, I tried to get on a year ago, and since I couldn't, I went to another subscriber that I use and forgot about the problem.

    They tell you before they connect you with someone that they are recording. Well, it is a two-way street as I have been recording my conversations with them.

    Beware, beware of Persopo!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Seen worse

    Lots of the reviews on this site are pretty typical for public record sites. I've subscribed to three of this same type of site. People seem to think this is Google or FBI and that's just unrealistic. I got more info here than at another public search site, and some give nothing. I found the site a tad laggy, but that may have been my ancient mac. One key point I want to mention was the service reps at Presopo are much more polite than the other sites I signed up to. I did recommend this site to a friend, and she had mixed results as well, but at least the reps were polite to both of us at this establishment!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 30

Write a Review for Persopo!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review