About Platinum TV Box

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Published on: Nov 10, 2017

According to the website, Platinum TV Box legally streams more than 3,000 Hollywood movies, 200+ live TV channels, and virtually any television show or live sporting event, without paying rental or subscription fees.

The device comes with apps already installed and all cables included—you just have to connect it to your TV using the included HDMI cable, press the power button, connect to a Wi-Fi signal, and you’ll be up and running in minutes. No technical know-how needed.

In less than 10 seconds, the company tells us, you’ll be able to tune into live HD television 24/7 with Platinum TV, watch almost every movie and TV series ever made (including episodes that just aired), and access movies that are still on demand. And it automatically adjusts to your download speed, so every kind of content can be watched immediately.

Is the Platinum TV box really a state-of-the-art, all-in-one entertainment device that will deliver just about any content you want, completely free of charge?

When it comes to spending your hard-earned money, the HighYa team believes that you should be as informed as possible, while always maintaining realistic expectations. So, let’s dive right in and take a look at Platinum TV’s functionality.

How Do Kodi Android Boxes Like Platinum TV Work?

Reporting for AndroidPCReview.com, Tim Wells writes that, whether you call it a “streaming media device, TV box, IPTV box, set top box, media streamer, HTPC, Kodi box, [or] Android TV box,” they’re “all basically the same type of device – something that gets content from your home network or the Internet to your television.”

In the case of Platinum TV, here are the specifics:

  • Weight: 14 oz
  • Dimensions: 5" x 5" x 2"
  • Operating System: Android 6.0 (Marshmallow)
  • Connections: USB 2.0 (4 Slots available), SD/MCC card slot, HDMI
  • Details: 64 Bit CPU, Quad Core Processor, 8GB EMMC FLASH Storage, 1GB DDR3 SDRAM, 3D Graphics Acceleration, Wi-Fi (B/G) or Ethernet, Standard United States 110 AC Plug, 5V power adapter included

According to WirelessHack.org, because the Android operating system is flexible, it can be ideal for devices like Platinum TV. Not only can users add just about any app available on Google Play to their TV box, but the OS is also open source (anyone can gain access to and alter its code), and as a result, is very customizable.

After hooking up your set top box to your TV (typically via an HDMI cable) and connecting it to your Wi-Fi signal, you’ll need to download different applications that will provide access to content. For example, popular streaming options include YouTube (and the more recent YouTube TV), Netflix, Hulu, HBONow, and Sling TV.

One of these apps is Kodi, which, like Android, is also free, open source software. But, instead of acting as an operating system, TechRadar tells us that it “can be used as a centralized media centre, letting you store all of your digital content in a single location and access it from virtually any device you like.”

Now, the important thing to remember here is that most premium streaming services aren’t free. As a result, in addition to the cost of a box like Platinum TV, you’d have to pay a monthly subscription fee to gain access to the content provided by these services (popular/new release movies, TV episodes/series, and so forth).

Bottom line: Can Android combining hardware like Platinum TV Box with downloadable Android apps help you gain access to tons of streaming content? Using a combination of free apps like SnagFilms, Crackle, Popcorn Flix, MovieBox, and TerrariumTV; yes, it’s possible.

However, if you’re expecting to gain access to all the same premium content provided by a traditional cable subscription, but without paying the associated fees, you might end up disappointed. For more, be sure to read Guide to Streaming Video Services: How to Find the Best Subscription.

Before continuing with our discussion of cost, let’s quickly address the legality of these boxes.

Are Kodi Android Boxes Like Platinum TV Legal?

Coming back to the TechRadar link cited above, they emphasize that the Kodi software itself isn’t illegal to use. “However,” they report, “the software can be utilized in such a way as to perform illegal activities, such as accessing live, copyright-protected sports broadcasts, or watching pirated copies of Hollywood films or the latest can’t-miss TV series without paying.”

Basically, third-party companies load "the software onto dedicated hardware devices known as ‘so-called Kodi boxes.' While Kodi doesn't make any such hardware itself, these boxes have become readily available, although online retailers, including Amazon and eBay."

While we’re certainly not saying this is the case with the Platinum TV Box, based on our experience writing about several of these set top boxes, we think it’s a potential red flag that the website advertises the device can “stream virtually any television show, Hollywood movie, or live sports event you want to watch, without having to worry about paying rental fees or monthly subscriptions.”

How Much Does the MQX Platinum TV Box Cost?

You can purchase one Platinum TV box for $45, or two for $80, with free shipping and no ongoing fees. Each order includes:

  • Platinum TV Android 6.0 Streaming Device with Kodi 17.4
  • 5V Power Adapter
  • Quick Setup Guide
  • Remote Control
  • HDMI Cable

Important note: Searching online for ‘MQX Pro’ returned several other retailers selling what appeared to be we didn’t test these devices ourselves) the same Android box, but for as little as $10.

Nonetheless, MQX’s Platinum TV Box comes with a 30-day no questions asked money back guarantee when ordered directly, along with a 12-month hardware warranty, less S&H. In order to request one, customer service can be reached at support@platinumtvbox.com.

What Can We Learn From Customer Reviews For the Platinum TV Box?

The only site where we encountered feedback for the MQX Pro Platinum Box at the time of our research was on Amazon, where dozens of third-party retailers were selling what appeared to be identical devices. Among more than 100 reviews, it had an average combined rating of about 3.5 stars.

There, many complimented its flexibility (lots of apps available, USB/HDMI ports), ease of use, and the ability to stream different content. On the other hand, frequent complaints seemed to revolve around less-than-stellar performance (slow speeds, low video quality (one claimed 1080p max)), and difficult functionality.

The Los Angeles-based company behind the Platinum TV Box of the same name held a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on one closed complaint as of 11/9/17. No details were available.

Are There Other Android/Kodi Set Top Boxes Competing With MQX Platinum TV?

Finding out how many devices are competing with Platinum TV Box is as easy as typing the phrase ‘Kodi Android box’ into your nearest search engine. At the time of our research, online marketplaces like Google Shopping and Amazon returned hundreds of results, most of which were priced somewhere between $20 and $50—putting Platinum TV at the upper end of the spectrum.

And as mentioned in the Pricing section, these same marketplaces also returned several MXQ Pro Platinum TV boxes through third-party retailers for as little as $10.

In other words, you have a lot of options to choose between. How can you make the best possible decision?

How to Choose an Android Kodi TV Box

Cameron Summerson of HowToGeek notes that “this is a really confusing landscape: there are a lot of “fake” Android TV boxes floating around out there, and only a handful of official boxes actually worth considering.” Why?

Without going into unnecessary detail, Cameron explains that, “What these guys are doing is taking the original Android source code—the one that’s meant for phones or tablets—and turning it into a sort of hackjob piece of software that will run on a box that plugs into your TV.”

As a result, in a different AndroidPCReview article, the author advises only choosing Kodi TV boxes that come with a good support network (specifically, “an active forum network with both company representatives and end-users who will gladly help out other users who have issues”), including a warranty.

There should also be regular firmware updates, competitive pricing, and high-quality hardware, although you won’t be able to learn about this last feature until after the device is in your hands. As such, many professionals recommend sticking only with well-known brands.

What does all of this mean for you and Platinum TV?

Our Final Thoughts About the MQX Pro Platinum TV Box

In 3 Easy Steps For Cutting the Cord & Saving Money, we outline there are three main things you’ll need in order to (hopefully) find freedom from expensive cable bills: an Internet connection, hardware that streams content to a device (TV, smartphone, tablet, etc.), and a streaming service like Netflix, HULU, and so forth.

In the instance of Platinum TV, it represents the hardware in this equation (and perhaps the service side as well, depending on the specific apps it comes pre-installed with). But as we discussed earlier, if you’re expecting it to essentially replace all your premium cable content with completely free services, then you’re likely to end up disappointed.

Based on what we learned from AndroidPCReview earlier, the Platinum TV Box isn’t priced outrageously high, and it also comes with a refund policy and warranty. However, the device seemed to come with a mixed online customer reputation, and the company doesn’t provide any specifics about firmware updates.

As such, as consumers ourselves, we might recommend exploring all of your Kodi-based Android set top TV box options before making a decision. And if you ultimately decide to go with the MQX Pro Platinum route, keep in mind that some retailers offered the device for as little as $10 during our research.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

51 Consumer Reviews for Platinum TV Box

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  47
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 51
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Nothing

    • Beardstown, IL,
    • Jun 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Six months ago I paid $77. They said they would email me when they would send my money back. Nothing. No box, no money.

    Copy of letter:

    Thank You For Your Purchase

    Hi Karl:

    Congratulations, you are now on your way to saving a tonne of money every single month and enjoying unlimited TV and movie entertainment. We are now preparing your order and will ship it within 1-2 business days.

    Once your order is ready and shipped we will follow up with a shipping tracking number so you can track your purchase. If you have any questions please don't hesitate to reach out by emailing support@platinumtvbox.com

    IMPORTANT: If you are planning to stream a lot of movies and tv shows live TV/PPV, please protect yourself by using a VPN. We recommend IPVanish. Here is the setup instructions

    Thank you for your purchase,

    Yours Truly,

    PlatinumTV Box

    Copyright 2016 - 2017 PlatinumTVBox - All Rights Reserved

    Unsubscribe

    Thanks,

    Customer Success Manager

    PlatinumTVBox.com

    941 S Vermont Avenue

    Los Angeles, CA 90006

    (626) 671-7552

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Company is not legit

    • Hickory, NC,
    • Jun 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Two boxes were ordered in January 2018, $145.00 payment posted on our bank statement in January 2018 and like many others here, I received no boxes. All excuses were given when we called to check status (i.e. boxes were sent, backlog, refund, etc.). Today (June 21, 2018) I tried the chat line and was cursed at. The listing on my bank statement showed LUO ENTERTAINMENT as the one who collected the money from our bank account through debit. These two companies are scammers! Avoid at all cost!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Never received my refund

    • West Palm Beach, FL,
    • Jun 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I at first typed in 16 boxes and they were nice and called me to make sure. Thank gosh that it was wrong, I only ordered three boxes and a keyboard.

    I got them and didn't have a clue how to make them work, not any real directions in the box. I could never get a hold of them like was promised, so I sent them back within two weeks at my cost. At first, they kept saying they never received them. I called UPS and they gave me the exact day, time, and person name that signed for my return box. When they used to answer their phones, I was told it was not there. I kept telling them it was.

    Finally, they found it and said my refund was being processed. It has been six months and still no refund. I am out $240 and now they don't answer their phones. All you can do is send an email and it says they will get back to you. Six months and no money back. This place is a rip-off, don't lose your money! Don't order. Get it from Amazon if you want to try, that way you will at least get your refund if you really want to try them, but they do not work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Platinum TV is a scam!

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • May 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    What a horrible SCAM! I ordered three boxes since December 2017 and was promised immediate delivery. After payment, they said there was back order. Since then I haven't heard anything from them. When you call, there is an automatic text reply that refers you to live chat. There is no live chat on the website, it is just an advanced SCAM. I have visited their "office in 941 S. Vermont Ave #101 Los Angeles," and it was just a mail station for the SCAM. I am working towards reporting and getting an attorney to file a class action lawsuit in order to stop this SCAM. Please do not fall to their SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Louisiana,
    • May 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchase two Platinum TV Boxes. After I could not get the boxes to perform as they stated, I called and made the appointment for support. After the third session of support, I came to the conclusion that is was a stall tactic. Each twenty minute session was a waste of time. In one of the sessions, I could hear chickens or animals making noise in the background. I feel the stall tactic was intended for the 30-day return policy to expire.

    So, I returned the boxes after struggling to get the RMA. They stated I would receive a refund within five to seven days of the return. I have the return delivery confirmation. Its been over two months. No refund. I have continuously tried to contact the company, with no response from them. I should have checked with the Better Business Bureau before placing my order for the TV boxes. Lesson learned.

    Do NOT deal with these frauds!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    It’s a scam!

    I paid for two boxes three months ago. When I contact them with my invoice, they told me to get lost.

    Do not buy this product. Dragon Box is more money but works great.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    It's a scam

    • Illinois,
    • May 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the Platinum TV Box back in February after seeing the advertisement online. I never received my box, and after several call and emails I finally, I talk to someone, only to hear that the box was lost in transit. And I could now order another one box or request for refund that would take 5 -10 days to process. Very unhappy with this company and suggest that they are removed from Amazon. And eBay.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    I ordered 2 of the platinum tv boxes they said it was shiped on april 18 and i have sent several e-mailos and i have never got an answer and i cant find a phone number. still waiting if anybody has a phone number would you please post it so other people

    I ordered two of the Platinum TV Boxes. They said it was shipped on April 18th and I have sent several emails and I have never gotten an answer, and I can't find a phone number. I am still waiting. If anybody has a phone number would you please post it so other people with a problem can call and see if they can get it cleared up.

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 26, 2018

      Marie

      Here is Platuim TV phone number (626) 671-7572 (Los Angeles, California), you can look up address too. I am also out 240 dollars.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Total scam!

    Do not buy this item. The item was ordered but never received. I contacted support via email and they said it must have been lost and would investigate and send another item at no cost and that I would shortly have a tracking number for the new item. Tracking number was not sent. I called customer service to follow up but no answer. The purchase is now in dispute with my credit card company. I would give zero stars if I could.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 9 people found this review helpful

    They must have made a STELLAR adjustment.

    • Montana,
    • Apr 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased two of these and haven't had ONE minuscule complication. I no idea it was so simple to hook up, operate and explore. When it arrived, the instructions were to simply plug it in and explore. It took a bit of exploration, and when I called for more assistance, they were most responsive and compliant. I have enjoyed a vast array of FREE viewing and boasted about it to family and friends.

    My son has a similar product which came with his new Television, he has to purchase Netflix, I do not, that among a good deal of other differences has compelled him to purchase one like mine. I have no idea where these other reviews come from, but I suggest they check the product. I think they have the wrong address.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    I purchased the TV Box in January. After checking it out, I decided to return the item. It took several emails and weeks to finally get an RMA to return it. After returning it I waited for my refund, as this is what they stated, but none showed up. I checked back with them several times and was told that my refund had been sent to my bank. I kept checking my bank statement and finally contacted the bank. They informed me that this company had not return my payment and they also checked and found this as a scam company. Four months later and I still haven't received my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 51

Write a Review for Platinum TV Box!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review